Jenna Sutela and Markus J. Buehler in conversation with Stefanie Hessler

Holobiont von Jenna Sutela Courtesy of the Artist @ Jenna Sutela

Sun, 12/06/2020

Online


Montreal

New Nature: Artist X Scientist Talks

New Nature: Artist X Scientist Talks
December 6, 2020 at 12:00 Uhr EDT / 18:00 Uhr CET online.
Jenna Sutela in conversation with Markus J. Buehler, moderated by Stefanie Hessler.
Free, upon registration.
 
Jenna Sutela's work "Holobiont" is part of New Nature Vitrines, an exhibition in Berlin, Montréal and New York. Her works "Nam-Gut" and "nimiia cétiï" can be seen at feldfuenf in Berlin from 23 to 29 November 2020.

The artist talk is part of the public programme proposed by New Nature,
an initiative by the Goethe-Institut Montreal, realized with the support of the Federal Foreign Office of Germany. 


Artist Jenna Sutela works with words, sounds, and other living media, such as bacteria and slime mold, with an interest in biological and computational systems. Sutela's recent work explores interspecies communication, aspiring to connect with a world beyond our consciousness. For example, using machine learning, she has given a voice to Bacillus subtilis, a bacterium thriving both in the human microbiome and outer space.

Materials scientist and composer of experimental music Markus J. Buehler has developed a method for expressing molecular vibrations in audible space. As part of a collaboration through MIT Center for Art, Science & Technology, Buehler and Sutela are experimenting with amplifying the waves of emotional molecules in everyday activities. Here, water will play a central role.

Stefanie Hessler is a curator and writer whose work focuses on ecologies, technology, and expanded notions of life and non-life. She is the curator of the 17th MOMENTA Biennale in Montreal (2021), titled Sensing Nature, and the director of Kunsthall Trondheim in Norway, where she recently curated an exhibition by Sutela including the video work nimiia cétiï based on Sutela’s experiments with Bacillus subtilis.

Together, Buehler, Hessler and Sutela will discuss their respective work at the intersection of science, art, and technology. They will raise questions of how to sense the natural world and its intimacies with technology at a time when boundaries between the natural and the artificial, the material and the spiritual, are more fluid than ever.
 

About New Nature

New Nature is a series of encounters over the course of 2020 between contemporary artists, filmmakers, immersive and VR creators, technologists, and climate scientists from Canada, Germany, Mexico and the US. The project is an initiative by the Goethe-Institut Montreal, realized with the support of the Federal Foreign Office of Germany, in partnership with the National Film Board of Canada, Centre Phi, Milieux Institute at Concordia University, Museum of the Moving Image, Massive Science, XR HUB Bavaria, UnionDocs Center for Documentary Art and Retune - Creative Technology Platform.
To find out more visit: www.goethe.de/canada/newnature


           

Back

Online-Künstler*innengespräch Jenna Sutela und Markus J. Buehler im Gespräch mit Stefanie Hessler

Holobiont by Jenna Sutela Courtesy of the Artist @ Jenna Sutela

So, 06.12.2020

Online


Montreal

New Nature: Kunst- und Wissenschaftsgespräche

New Nature: Kunst- und Wissenschaftsgespräche
6. Dezember 2020 um 12.00 Uhr EDT / 18.00 Uhr CET Online.
Gespräch zwischen Jenna Sutela und Markus J. Buehler, moderiert von Stefanie Hessler.
Teilnahme kostenlos.
 
Jenna Sutela's Arbeit "Holobiont" ist Teil von New Nature Vitrines, einer Ausstellung in Berlin, Montréal und New York. Ihre Arbeiten "Nam-Gut" und "nimiia cétiï" sind vom 23. bis 29. November 2020 in den Vitrinen des Berliner Ausstellungsraums feldfuenf zu sehen.

Das Gespräch ist Teil des öffentlichen Programms von New Nature, einer Initiative des Goethe-Instituts Montreal, realisiert mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Die Künstlerin Jenna Sutela arbeitet mit Worten, Klängen und anderen lebenden Medien, wie Bakterien und Schleimpilzen, und interessiert sich für biologische und rechnergestützte Systeme. Sutelas jüngste Arbeit erforscht die Interspezies-Kommunikation und strebt nach einer Verbindung mit einer Welt jenseits unseres Bewusstseins. Mit Hilfe des maschinellen Lernens hat sie zum Beispiel dem Bacillus subtilis, einem Bakterium, das sowohl im menschlichen Mikrobiom als auch im Weltraum gedeiht, eine Stimme gegeben.

Der Materialwissenschaftler und Komponist experimenteller Musik Markus J. Buehler hat eine Methode entwickelt, um Molekülschwingungen im hörbaren Raum auszudrücken. Im Rahmen einer Zusammenarbeit über das MIT Center for Art, Science & Technology experimentieren Bühler und Sutela mit der Verstärkung der Wellen von emotionalen Molekülen in alltäglichen Aktivitäten. Dabei wird Wasser eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

Stefanie Hessler ist Kuratorin und Autorin, deren Arbeit sich auf Ökologien, Technologie und erweiterte Vorstellungen von Leben und Nicht-Leben konzentriert. Sie ist Kuratorin der 17. MOMENTA Biennale in Montreal (2021) mit dem Titel Sensing Nature und Direktorin der Kunsthall Trondheim in Norwegen, wo sie kürzlich eine Ausstellung von Sutela kuratiert hat, darunter die Videoarbeit nimiia cétiï, die auf Steles Experimenten mit Bacillus subtilis basiert.

Gemeinsam werden Bühler, Hessler und Sutela ihre jeweilige Arbeit an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Kunst und Technologie diskutieren. Sie werden die Frage aufwerfen, wie man die natürliche Welt und ihre Intimität mit der Technologie in einer Zeit wahrnehmen kann, in der die Grenzen zwischen dem Natürlichen und dem Künstlichen, dem Materiellen und dem Geistigen fließender denn je sind.
 

Über New Nature

New Nature ist eine Reihe von Begegnungen im Laufe des Jahres 2020 zwischen zeitgenössischen Künstler*innen, Filmemacher*innen, VR-Gestalter*innen, Technolog*innen und Klimawissenschaftler*innen aus Deutschland, Kanada, Mexiko und den USA. Es handelt sich um eine Initiative des Goethe-Instituts Montreal und wird mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes der Bundesrepublik Deutschland realisiert. Zu den Partnern gehören das National Film Board of Canada, das Centre Phi, das Milieux Institute der Concordia University, XR Hub Bavaria, das Museum of the Moving Image – Science on Screen sowie UnionDocs Center for Documentary Art, Massive Science und Retune-Creative Technology Platform.

Mehr Information: www.goethe.de/kanada/newnature


 

Zurück