Library
Lending

Circulation Photo: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias

If you live in Ottawa, you can borrow documents from the library of the Goethe-Institut Montréal thanks to our remote lending service. Thus, you have access to a selection of current print and audiovisual documents in German, French and English. Consult our library catalog below to find it all!

In our collection, you'll find an up-to-date selection of printed and audiovisual media in German, English and French to keep you informed about the latest trends and current issues. Our collection specializes in the following subjects: literature, German learning, film, theater, dance, comics, electronic music and green architecture.

Despite the distance, we can offer you:

  • German-language books
  • Translations of German authors into English and French
  • Access to learning material
  • Reference works and dictionaries
  • German newspapers and specialist journals
  • CDs: music and audiobooks
  • DVDs/Videos
You'll find more information about our remote loan service under "Remote lending service".  
 

The library is open to the general public. If you live in Ottawa, in the province of Québec outside Montreal or in the Atlantic provinces, you can borrow documents from the Goethe-Institut Montréal library by writing an email to: Bibliothek-montreal@goethe.de

To borrow books and other materials, you need a valid library membership. To obtain one, email us your name, address, phone number and email address along with your loan request.  
 

Library Membership fees

Regular fee  $15 / year
Senior citizens, students,
and unemployed persons
$7 / year
Teenagers (13-17 years old):  $7 / year
Students of the Goethe-Institut   

Friends of Goethe of the Goethe-Institut Montreal
Free for one year

Registration for a child under 12 years of age is made under the name and responsibility of one of their parents (regular or reduced fee if applicable), who is responsible for the child's subscription privileges.

Loan periods
  • 4 books and 4 CDs: 4 weeks 
  • 2 learning methods: 4 weeks
  • 4 newspapers/magazines: 2 weeks
  • 4 DVDs or Videos: 1 week 

Renewals
With the exception of items that have been reserved by another patron, items may be renewed THREE times (except for learning methods, which can only be renewed ONCE). You can renew your loans per telephone or email (see "Address and opening hours"). You will soon be able to renew your loans online by yourself; an announcement will be made to notify you.

Return of the documents 
The Goethe-Institut will cover the postal charges for the mailing but not for the return.

Bibliothek
Ausleihe

Ausleihe Foto: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias

Falls Sie in Ottawa leben, können Sie durch die Fernleihe der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Montréal Dokumente ausleihen. Auf diese Weise haben Sie Zugang zu aktuellen Print- und audiovisuellen Dokumenten in Deutsch, Französisch und Englisch. Ziehen Sie den Online-Katalog zu Rate, um alles zu finden!

In unseren Räumen finden Sie eine aktuelle Auswahl an Print- und audiovisuellen Medien in deutscher Sprache und in französischer und englischer Übersetzung, mit der wir Sie auf Trends und zeitgenössische Themen aufmerksam machen möchten. Unsere Fokusthemen sind: Literatur, Deutsch als Fremdsprache, Kino, Theater, Tanz, Comics, elektronische Musik und grüne Architektur.

Sie finden bei uns

  • Deutschsprachige Bücher
  • Übersetzungen deutscher Autoren ins Französische und ins Englische
  • Nachschlagewerke und Lexika
  • Deutsche Zeitungen, Zeitschriften und Fachzeitschriften
  • CDs: Musik und Hörbücher
  • DVDs/Videos
Mehr Informationen zur Fernleihe finden Sie unter "Fernleihe".
 

Die Bibliothek ist öffentlich. Wenn Sie in Ottawa, in der Provinz Québec außerhalb von Montréals Gebiet oder in den Atlantikprovinzen wohnen, können Sie trotzdem Medien aus der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Montréal ausleihen, indem Sie eine Email an folgende Adresse schreiben: Bibliothek-montreal@goethe.de

Ein gültiges Abonnement ist erforderlich um auszuleihen. Um ein Mitglied unserer Bibliothek zu werden, schicken Sie uns bitte Ihren Name, Adresse, Telefonnummer und Emailadresse mit Ihrer Fernleihanfrage per E-Mail.
 

Tarife

 Normaler Tarif    15 $ jährlich 
SeniorInnen, Studierende, und Arbeitssuchende  7 $ jährlich 
Jugendliche (13-17 Jahre)   7 $ jährlich 
KursteilnehmerInnen des Goethe-Instituts   Kostenlos für ein Jahr
Freunde des Goethe-Instituts  Kostenlos für ein Jahr
Die Einschreibung eines Kindes unter 12 Jahren wird im Namen, und auf Verantwortung und Rechnung eines Elternteiles (regulärer oder reduzierter Tarif, je nachdem, was Anwendung findet) vorgenommen. Diese Person trägt auch die Verantwortung für die Pflichten des Abonnements.

Ausleihfristen
4 Bücher, und 4 CDs: 4 Wochen
2 Lernmethoden: 4 Wochen
4 Magazine: 2 Wochen
4 DVDs oder Videos: 1 Woche

Verlängerungen
Mit Ausnahme von Medien, die von anderen Benutzern vorgemerkt wurden, können Medien DREIMAL verlängert werden (Lernmethoden können allerdings nur EINMAL verlängert werden). Sie können Ihre Ausleihe per Telefon oder E-Mail verlängern. (Siehe "Adresse und Öffnungszeiten"). In Kürze werden Verlängerungen auch Online möglich sein. Sie werden hierzu noch gesondert informiert.

Rückgabe der Dokumente
Das Goethe-Institut übernimmt die Portokosten für die Sendung, nicht für die Rücksendung.