Frequently Asked Questions
German Courses

viele Fragezeichen auf Papier © Colourbox

Questions about language classes at the Goethe-Institut Toronto?

Please read here for more information about some of the most frequently asked questions about our courses. If you cannot find the answer you are looking for here, please contact germancourses-toronto@goethe.de

Our Classes

Although exact term dates and courses offered may vary, the Goethe-Institut Toronto generally offers courses at the following times:

Nine-Week Courses: January, April, and September
Four-Week Courses: June and July
Thirteen-Week Courses (Saturdays): January, April, and September
Learning is an individual process. How much time you need to attain a certain level depends on various and individual factors: your commitment, your time input, and your taking advantage of additional practice resources.

Should you already have studied one or more languages, you may learn German faster. It makes a big difference if you participate in a language course in your home country or in Germany, where you will be exposed to the German language outside the classroom.

As a rough guideline, we estimate it will take the following amount of instruction to complete each language level:

A1 : approx. 60-150 hours (80-200 TU*)
A2 : approx. 150-260 hours (200-350 TU*)
B1 : approx. 260-490 hours (350-650 TU*)
B2 : approx. 450-600 hours (600-800 TU*)
C1 : approx. 600-750 hours (800-1000 TU*)
C2 : approx. 750+ hours (1000+ TU*)

* TU = Teaching Unit; a teaching unit consists of 45 minutes of instruction.
 
The Goethe-Institut Toronto is the official cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany. This means that we focus on German language and culture. Our instructors teach with modern and innovative methods that are effective for language learning. These methods create classes that are entertaining, interactive, and fun. Our classrooms are equipped with modern tech - smartboards instead of blackboards.  At the Goethe-Institut Toronto, we offer you a flexible learning experience: we offer not only classic face-to-face instruction, but also blended learning. This combines face-to-face and online instruction, ideal for learners with an active and busy schedule.
If you are unsure which level is right for you, we welcome you to write a placement test. Please send an e-mail to Nicole Knapp.

The online placement test can take up to one hour to complete and must be completed in a single sitting. In some cases, we may ask you to have a short phone interview with one of our instructors to confirm placement.
 
Students aged 12 and up are welcome to take classes with us. We offer young learners courses, which are designed for students aged 12-17. Learners who are 17 or older may take adult courses. 
 
Unfortunatley, we currently do not offer German clases for children.

See here for more details.
 
If you live too far from a Goethe-Institut to take a face-to-face class, you can still participate in our Online Group Course or take individual lessons via Deutsch Online Live.
 
There is no difference with regards to the progress you will make in a face-to-face versus a blended course - both are designed to cover the same essential content. Although you will not have as much face time in a blended course, the format is designed to make use of in-class and out-of-class time differently in such a way that you will still have the same opportunities to develop your language skills.

Payment

Please review our current terms and conditions for more information regarding our cancellation policies.

Attendance

Yes. You can sign up for a course until the end of the first week of classes.

There is no minimum attendance required to attend a course, but students who do not attend at least 70% of their classes will not be eligible for a certificate of participation at the end of the semester.
Although we do not offer make-up classes, you have many resources at your disposal to help you catch up if you miss a class. Every course is connected to an online classroom, where your instructor will post announcements, homework, and lesson notes. If you need help catching up, during each semester, you may make book an individual class (Please email germancourses-toronto@goethe.de to arrange the class).
 

Assessment

While you are not required to take an exam at the end of your class, we encourage you to sign up for one of our official Goethe-Zertifikat exams, which will provide you with an internationally-recognized certificate to prove your language abilities.

More Information on our exams
 
All students who attend at least 70% of their classes, and (for courses with an online component) complete at least 70% of their assignments will receive a certificate of participation for their course.

Our teachers

All instructors at the Goethe-Institut are required to demonstrate a minimum of C1 level proficiency in the German language.

Oft gestellte Fragen
Deutschkurse

lot of question marks on white papers © Colourbox

FRragen über Sprachkurse am Goethe-Institut Toronto?

Wir informieren Sie hier über allgemeine und oft gestellte Fragen zu unseren Sprachkursen. Wenn Sie weitere Fragen haben, kontaktieren Sie germancourses-toronto@goethe.de

Unsere Kurse

Obwohl genaue Daten und angebotene Kurse jedes Semester anders sind, bietet das Goethe-Institut Toronto grundsätzlich folgende Kurse an:

9-wöchige Kurse: Ab Januar, April und September
4-wöchige Kurse: Ab Juni und Juli
13-wöchige Kurse (Samstagkurse): Ab Januar, April und September
Lernen ist ein individueller Prozess. Wie viel Zeit Sie persönlich benötigen, um eine Niveaustufe zu erreichen, hängt von verschiedenen, auch individuellen Faktoren ab: von Engagement, Zeiteinsatz und Nutzung zusätzlicher Übungsangebote.

Wenn Sie schon eine oder mehrere Sprachen gelernt haben, lernen Sie Deutsch meist schneller. Es spielt eine große Rolle, ob Sie an einem Sprachkurs in Ihrem Heimatland oder in Deutschland teilnehmen, wo Sie auch außerhalb des Unterrichts Deutsch hören und sprechen können.

Unten erfahren Sie, wie lange Sie ungefähr benötigen, um jedes Sprachniveau zu erreichen, abhängig von Vorkenntnissen und Lernvoraussetzungen:

A1 : ca. 60-150 Stunden (80-200 UE*)
A2 : ca. 150-260 Stunden (200-350 UE*)
B1 : ca. 260-490 Stunden (350-650 UE*)
B2 : ca. 450-600 Stunden (600-800 UE*)
C1 : ca. 600-750 Stunden (800-1000 UE*)
C2 : ca. 750+ Stunden (1000+ UE*)

* UE = Unterrichtseinheiten; Eine Unterrichtseinheit besteht aus 45 Minuten Unterricht.
 
Das Goethe-Institut Toronto ist das offizielle Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Das heißt, dass unser Fokus auf der deutschen Sprache und Kultur liegt. Unsere Lehrkräfte unterrichten mit modernen und innovativen Methoden, die effektiv beim Sprachenlernen sind. Dabei gestalten sie auch einen unterhaltsamen und interaktiven Unterricht, der Spaß macht. Unsere Klassenräume sind mit moderner Technologie ausgestattet - Kreidetafel war gestern. Am Goethe-Institut Toronto können Sie zudem flexibel lernen: Wir bieten den klassischen Präsenzunterricht, aber auch Blended Learning Kurse an. Das ist ein Mix aus Präsenz- und Online-Phasen und perfekt für jeden, der einen lebendigen Alltag hat. Es gibt viele Gründe, warum unsere Kurse so besonders sind. 
Wenn Sie unsicher sind, welches Niveau das Richtige für Sie wäre, sollten Sie unseren Einstufungstest machen. Hierzu senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail an Nicole Knapp.

Der Online-Einstufungstest kann bei höheren Sprach-Niveaus bis zu einer Stunde dauern, und muss in einer einzigen Sitzung abgeschlossen werden. In einigen Fällen bitten wir darum, dass Sie ein Telefongespräch mit einer unserer Lehrkräfte halten, um Ihre Einstufung zu bestätigen
Bei uns können grundsätzlich Jugendliche ab 12 Jahren teilnehmen. Wir bieten Jugendkurse an, die für Lernende von 12-17 Jahren geeignet sind. Ab 17 Jahren kann man einen Erwachsenenkurs belegen.
Momentan bieten wir leider keinen Kinderkurs an. 

Hier finden Sie weitere Infos.
 
Wenn Sie keinen Präsenzkurs bei uns Im Institut belegen können, können Sie auch an einem Online Gruppenkurs teilnehmen oder Individualunterricht über Deutsch Online Live machen.
Es gibt keinen Unterschied zwischen Präsenzkursen und Blended-Learning-Kursen in Hinsicht auf Lernergebnisse - bei beiden Kursarten lernt man gleich viel. Obwohl sie nicht so viel Präsenzunterricht in einem Blended-Learning-Kurs haben, benutzt das Format Präsenzzeit und das Lernen zu Hause so, dass man die gleichen Möglichkeiten hat, seine Sprachkenntnisse zu entwickeln.

Bezahlung

Lesen Sie bitte unsere aktuellen Geschäftsbedingungen, um mehr über Rücktritt, Stornierung, und Umbuchung zu erfahren.

Anwesenheit

Es gibt keine Mindestanforderung für die Anwesenheit, um einen Kurs belegen zu dürfen. Aber eine Teilnahmebestätigung erhalten Sie nur, wenn Sie 70% im Kurs anwesend sind.
TeilnehmerInnen können nur die vereinbarten Sitzungen ihres eigenen Kurses besuchen. Viele Hilfsmittel stehen Ihnen allerdings zur Verfügung, wenn Sie Unterstützung brauchen, wenn Sie eine Sitzung verpasst haben. Jeder Kurs hat einen Online-Kursraum, in dem Ihre Lehrkraft Nachrichten, Hausaufgaben und Inhalt des Unterrichts postet. Wenn Sie noch weitere Unterstützung brauchen, können Sie eine Individualstunde buchen (kontaktieren Sie bitte germancourses-toronto@goethe.de, um diese zu vereinbaren).

Beurteilung

Obwohl Sie keine Prüfung am Kursende machen müssen, können Sie gerne eine unserer offiziellen Goethe-Zertifikat Prüfungen machen, die Ihnen ein weltweit anerkanntes Sprachzertifikat anbieten, um Ihre Sprachkenntnisse nachweisen zu können.
 
Mehr über unsere Sprachprüfungen
Alle TeilnehmerInnen, die an mindestens 70% der Kurs-Sitzungen anwesend waren, bekommen eine Teilnahmebestätigung für den Kurs. Bei Blended Learning Kursen (Kurse mit Online-Anteil) müssen zudem mindestens 70% der Online-Aufgaben erledigt werden.
 

Unsere Lehrkräfte

Bei allen Lehrkräften am Goethe-Institut ist es erforderlich, deutsche Sprachkenntnisse auf mindestens C1 Niveau nachweisen zu können.