Film Screening "Banklady"

Banklady © StudioCanal

Thu, 10/06/2016

TIFF Bell Lightbox

350 King St. W.
Toronto

GOETHE FILMS: fHEISTy Women Robbing Banks

Co-presented by The MUFF Society,
a community that champions women in film.

From Bonnie Parker to Patty Hearst, women have been robbing banks with cunning and callousness. GOETHE FILMS investigates female criminal gumption from Tykwer’s 1998 classic RUN LOLA RUN that launched Franka Potente’s international career to last year’s one-shot Berlin wonder VICTORIA.


BANKLADY (Germany 2013, 118 min), directed by Christian Alvart, with Nadeshda Brennicke, Ken Duken & Charly Hübner

Gisela Werler leads a humdrum middle-class life, no different from that of countless other young women in West Germany in the 1960s. But things change when she meets the charming cab driver and bank robber Hermann. She begs him to take her with him on his bank heists – and proves to be a gifted, if not quite cold-blooded, robber of her own. It’s the beginning of a notorious new duo, the Bonnie and Clyde of suburban Hamburg, and the start of Gisela Werler’s secret life as the “Banklady”.

Based on the true story of Germany’s first female bank robber, BANKLADY relates the sudden transformation of a shy wallflower into one of the most notorious criminals of the 1960s.



"An exciting action drama, garnished with a serving of romance. This film is the German answer to Bonny and Clyde." - Berliner Zeitung

Christian Alvart was born in Jugenheim in 1974 and began developing a fascination and love for cinema and television in his youth. In 1999 he wrote, produced and directed his debut film CURIOSITY & THE CAT, followed by screenplays for the TV series DER PUMA and WOLFF'S REVIER. Alvart worked as director, author and co-producer of the multiple award-winning film ANTIBODIES, and directed the Hollywood production CASE 39 with Renée Zellweger, and PANDORUM with Dennis Quaid.

All GOETHE FILMS are open to audiences 18+

Part of the Goethe-Institut's focus on German Film

Back

Film „Banklady“

Banklady © StudioCanal

Do, 06.10.2016

TIFF Bell Lightbox Toronto

350 King St. W.
Toronto

GOETHE FILMS: fHEISTy Women Robbing Banks

Co-präsentiert von The MUFF Society,
eine Gemeinschaft, die Frauen im Filmbereich unterstützt.

Ob Bonnie Parker oder Patty Hearst: Bankräuberinnen gehen oft mit List und Gefühlslosigkeit an ihr Werk. GOETHE FILMS untersucht den Wagemut weiblicher Krimineller, von Tykwers 1998 Klassiker LOLA RENNT, dem Startpunkt Franka Potentes internationaler Karriere, zur letztjährigen Berliner One-Take-Sensation VICTORIA.


BANKLADY (Deutschland 2013, 118 Min.), Regie Christian Alvart, mit Nadeshda Brennicke, Ken Duken & Charly Hübner

Gisela Werler führt ein ganz normales Mittelklasseleben, genau wie das von zahllosen anderen jungen Frauen im Westdeutschland der 1960er. Doch ihre Träume scheinen endlich in greifbare Nähe zu rücken als sie den charmanten Taxifahrer und Bankräuber Hermann kennenlernt. Sie fleht ihn an, sie mit auf einen seiner Raubzüge zu nehmen und beweist ihr Talent als begabte, wenn auch nicht gerade kaltblütige, Räuberin. Es ist die Geburt eines berüchtigten Duos, den Bonny und Clyde der Hamburger Vorstädte. Und es ist der Anfang von Gisela Werlers geheimem Leben als „Banklady“.

Basierend auf der wahren Geschichte von Gisela Werler, Deutschlands erster weiblicher Bankräuberin, erzählt BANKLADY von der plötzlichen Verwandlung eines schüchternen Mauerblümchens in eine der berüchtigtsten Verbrecherinnen der 1960er Jahre.



„Spannendes Action-Drama, garniert mit einer Portion Lovestory! Dieser Film ist die deutsche Antwort auf Bonnie & Clyde" - Berliner Zeitung

Christian Alvart wurde 1974 in Jugenheim geboren und entwickelte schon in seiner Jugend eine Faszination und Liebe für Film und Fernsehen. 1999 entstand sein Debütfilm CURIOSITY & THE CAT, bei dem er auch für Drehbuch und Produktion verantwortlich war. Daraufhin schrieb er Drehbücher für die Serien DER PUMA und WOLF’S REVIER und arbeitete als Regisseur, Autor und Produzent an dem preisgekrönten Film ANTIKÖRPER. Alvart führte bei den Hollywoodfilmen CASE 39 mit Renée Zellweger und PANDORUM mit Dennis Quaid Regie.

Alle GOETHE FILMS sind freigegeben ab 18 Jahren

Teil des Goethe-Institut Schwerpunkts Deutscher Film

Zurück