Film Screening "Victoria"

Victoria © Senator Film Verleih

Thu, 10/13/2016

TIFF Bell Lightbox

350 King St. W.
Toronto

GOETHE FILMS: fHEISTy Women Robbing Banks

Co-presented by The MUFF Society,
a community that champions women in film.

From Bonnie Parker to Patty Hearst, women have been robbing banks with cunning and callousness. GOETHE FILMS investigates female criminal gumption from Tykwer's 1998 classic RUN LOLA RUN that launched Franka Potente’s international career to last year’s one-shot Berlin wonder VICTORIA.


VICTORIA (Germany 2015, 138 min), directed by Sebastian Schipper, with Laia Costa, Frederik Lau & Franz Rogowski

Berlin International Film Festival 2015
TIFF 2015
Winner of the German Film Awards 2015 in six categories


Victoria, a young Spanish woman, dances through the Berlin scene with abandon. She meets a group of four friends outside a club and they quickly get chatting. Victoria takes a fancy to one of them and they slip away at the first opportunity. But their tender flirting is rudely interrupted by the others because for them, the night is far from over. To settle an old debt they have to pull off a dodgy deal and decide that Victoria, of all people, should drive the getaway car. What began as a game suddenly becomes dead serious.

In one single continuous take, VICTORIA tells the story of a breathless night on the streets of Berlin, where apparently random events coalesce into a dramatic tour de force.



"A lively and engrossing exercise in creative swagger." - Sight & Sound

Sebastian Schipper was born in Hanover in 1968 and studied acting in Munich, where he subsequently spent two years in the Munich Kammerspiele ensemble. He has appeared in films by Sönke Wortmann, Tom Tykwer, Romuald Karmakar and Anthony Minghella. His directing debut, GIGANTIC, for which as in all his other directing work he also wrote the screenplay, won the German Film Prize in 2000. This, and his next two films, A FRIEND OF MINE and SOMETIME IN AUGUST – his interpretation of Goethe’s ‘Elective Affinities’ –, all screened at the Berlinale.

All GOETHE FILMS are open to audiences 18+

Part of the Goethe-Institut's focus on German Film
 

Back

Film „Victoria“

Victoria © Senator Film Verleih

Do, 13.10.2016

TIFF Bell Lightbox Toronto

350 King St. W.
Toronto

GOETHE FILMS: fHEISTy Women Robbing Banks

Co-präsentiert von The MUFF Society,
eine Gemeinschaft, die Frauen im Filmbereich unterstützt.


Ob Bonnie Parker oder Patty Hearst: Bankräuberinnen gehen oft mit List und Gefühlslosigkeit an ihr Werk. GOETHE FILMS untersucht den Wagemut weiblicher Krimineller, von Tykwers 1998 Klassiker LOLA RENNT, dem Startpunkt Franka Potentes internationaler Karriere, zur letztjährigen Berliner One-Take-Sensation VICTORIA.

VICTORIA (Deutschland 2015, 138 Min.), Regie Sebastian Schipper mit Laia Costa, Frederik Lau & Franz Rogowski

Berlinale 2015
TIFF 2015
Gewinner von sechs Deutschen Filmpreisen


Selbstverloren tanzt die junge Spanierin Victoria durch die Berliner Szene. Vor einem Club lernt sie vier Kumpel kennen und man kommt schnell ins Gespräch. Victoria interessiert sich für einen von ihnen und sie setzen sich bei erster Gelegenheit von der Gruppe ab. Ihr zarter Flirt wird jedoch jäh von den anderen unterbrochen, denn für die Kumpel ist diese Nacht noch lange nicht zu Ende. Um eine alte Schuld zu begleichen, müssen sie ein krummes Ding durchziehen ausgerechnet Victoria soll die Rolle der Fahrerin übernehmen. Aus Spiel wird plötzlich Ernst.

In einer einzigen Plansequenz skizziert VICTORIA die Geschichte einer atemlosen Nacht in den Straßen Berlins, in der sich scheinbar beiläufige Ereignisse zu einer dramatischen Tour de force verdichten.



„Eine lebendige und fesselnde Übung in kreativer Verwegenheit.“ - Sight & Sound

Sebastian Schipper wurde 1968 in Hannover geboren und absolvierte seine Schauspielausbildung absolvierte in München wo er anschließend zwei Jahre lang Ensemblemitglied bei den Münchner Kammerspielen war. Er trat in Filmen von Sönke Wortmann, Tom Tykwer, Romuald Karmakar und Anthony Minghella auf. Sein Regiedebüt ABSOLUTE GIGANTEN, für das er wie bei allen seinen Regiearbeiten auch das Drehbuch schrieb, wurde 2000 mit dem Deutschen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet. Seine nächsten Filme, EIN FREUND VON MIR und MITTE ENDE AUGUST, seine Interpretation von Goethes „Wahlverwandtschaften“, präsentierte die Berlinale.

Alle GOETHE FILMS sind freigegeben ab 18 Jahren

Teil des Goethe-Institut Schwerpunkts Deutscher Film
 

Zurück