Film Screening EUFFTO 2017: "Goodbye Berlin" by Fatih Akin

Filmfoto Goodbye Berlin © STUDIOCANAL © STUDIOCANAL

Sat, 11/18/2017

The Royal Cinema

608 College St.
Toronto

A Canadian premiere at European Union Film Festival

Presented by the Goethe-Institut

PG rating (German 12+ recommendation) - families welcome 

GOODBYE BERLIN 
(TSCHICK, Germany, 2016, 93 min), directed by Fatih Akin, based on the book by Wolfgang Herrndorf, with Tristan Göbel, Anand Batbileg, Alexander Scheer, and others
 
EFA Young Audience Award 2017
Best Youth Film at Bavarian Film Award 2017
Special Award at New Faces Award 2017

German Film Critics Association Awards 2017 Nominee
Rated “culturally valuable” by the German Film Rating Commission


The much-lauded adaptation of Wolfgang Herrndorf's bestseller "Tschick": 14-year-old Maik comes from a well-off albeit dysfunctional family. Deemed a bore and outsider at school, he doesn't stand a chance to get noticed by his secret love. His classmate Andrej Tschichatschow, nicknamed "Tschick", is also an outsider, but for different reasons: He is a migrant kid living in impoverished conditions in Berlin-Marzahn and often causes trouble. Eventually, the two dissimilar boys become friends, and when Maik spends the summer holidays at home alone, Tschick comes up with an idea: With a stolen car, he wants to take Maik on a trip to see his grandfather in Wallachia, Romania. Thus begins an adventurous journey through East Germany, as the two soon lose their way.
 


“That’s how good a German roadmovie can be.” – welt.de

“Fatih Akin’s cheerful roadmovie unobtrusively celebrates non-conformism.” – zeit.de

“Fatih Akin succeeded in creating a truthful and almost vintage coming-of-age comedy-drama, celebrating the great freedom of an adventurous summer.” – epd-film


Fatih Akin (born 1973 in Hamburg) is a German filmmaker who lives and works in Hamburg. He studied Visual Communications at the University of Fine Arts in Hamburg. After directing various short films, Akin became the shooting star of German film with his debut "Short Sharp Shock" (1998), which garnered nine awards, including the Bronze Leopard at Locarno Film Festival. In 2004, he won the Golden Bear at the Berlinale for his celebrated German-Turkish drama "Head On" and became, at the age of 30, one of the most influential European directors. He then achieved international success with the drama "The Edge of Heaven" (2007), for which he won Best Screenplay at Cannes, as well as the European Film Award and the German Film Award. For his following film "Soul Kitchen" (2009), Akin was awarded the Special Prize of the Jury at the Venice Film Festival. The Goethe-Institut Toronto honoured his productive output with a retrospective in 2013. Akin's latest feature film "In the Fade" (2017) premiered at Cannes and received the Best Actress award for German actress Diane Kruger.


Wolfgang Herrndorf was born in Hamburg in 1965 and died 2013 in Berlin. For his novel “Tschick” (2010), which was translated into 24 languages, he received the German Literature Prize. Both his diary “Arbeit und Struktur” (2013) and the unfinished novel “Bilder deiner großen Liebe” (2014) were published posthumously. 

The original soundtrack includes some of the best current German singers and bands, including Beginner, Beatsteaks, Fraktus, and K.I.Z. 

If you want to secure a seat at any of the EUFF screenings, you can book in advance through the EUFF web site in November. Advance reservation is a $10 donation to the festival (all service fees included). General Admission remains free to all films on a first-come, first-served basis.
 
Part of the Goethe-Institut’s focus on German Film 

For more Fatih Akin, join the free Goethe-Institut Deutscher Filmklub screening & discussion of his music film and documentary “Crossing the Bridge – the Sound of Istanbul” on November 24. 

Back

Film EUFFTO 2017: „Tschick" von Fatih Akin

Filmfoto Tschick © STUDIOCANAL © STUDIOCANAL

Sa, 18.11.2017

The Royal Cinema

608 College St.
Toronto

Kanadische Premiere beim European Union Film Festival

Präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut

PG Altersfreigabe (FSK 12) - Familien sind herzlich willkommen

TSCHICK
(Deutschland, 2016, 93 Min), Regie Fatih Akin, basierend auf dem Buch von Wolfgang Herrndorf, mit Tristan Göbel, Anand Batbileg, Alexander Scheer u.a.

EFA Young Audience Award 2017
Bester Jugendfilm beim Bayerischen Filmpreis 2017
Sonderpreis beim New Faces Award 2017
Prädikat besonders wertvoll

 
Die vielgelobte Verfilmung des gleichnamigen Bestsellers von Wolfgang Herrndorf. Der 14-jährige Maik stammt aus einem wohlhabenden, aber zerrütteten Elternhaus. Bei seinen Mitschülern gilt er als Langweiler und Außenseiter, weshalb er bei seiner heimlichen Liebe keine Chance hat. Auch sein aus Russland stammender Mitschüler Andrej Tschichatschow, kurz "Tschick" genannt, ist ein Außenseiter, aber aus anderen Gründen: Er lebt in verwahrlosten Verhältnissen in Berlin-Marzahn und benimmt sich öfters daneben. Die beiden ungleichen Jungs freunden sich an, und als Maik von seinen Eltern in den Sommerferien alleine zu Hause zurückgelassen wird, hat Tschick eine Idee: In einem gestohlenen Lada will er mit Maik zu seinem Großvater in die Walachei in Rumänien fahren. Damit beginnt eine abenteuerliche Odyssee quer durch Ostdeutschland, denn die beiden kommen schnell von ihrem Weg ab.



„So gut kann ein deutsches Roadmovie sein.“ – welt.de

„Fatih Akins gut gelauntes Roadmovie feiert ganz unaufdringlich den Nonkonformismus.“ – zeit.de

„Fatih Akin hat einen zugleich wahrhaftig und fast altmodisch anmutenden Coming-of-Age-Film gemacht, der die große Freiheit eines Abenteuersommers im geklauten Lada feiert.“ – epd-film
 

Fatih Akin (geboren in 1973 in Hamburg) ist ein deutscher Regisseur, der in Hamburg lebt und arbeitet. Er studierte Visuelle Kommunikation an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg. Nachdem er mehrere Kurzfilme drehte, wurde er mit seinem Debut "Kurz und schmerzlos" (1998) zum Shootingstar des deutschen Films. 2004 wurde er auf der Berlinale für sein gefeiertes deutsch-türkisches Drama "Gegen die Wand" mit dem Goldenen Bären ausgezeichnet und wurde, im Alter von 30 Jahren, einer der einflussreichsten Regisseure in Europa. Internationalen Erfolg erzielte er mit dem Drama "Auf der anderen Seite" (2007), für das er den Preis für das Beste Drehbuch beim Cannes Festival sowie den Europäischen und den Deutschen Filmpreis erhielt. Sein Film "Soul Kitchen" (2009) gewann den Jurypreis beim Venice Film Festival. Das Goethe-Institut Toronto würdigte sein produktives Schaffen 2013 mit einer Retrospektive. Akin's neuster Spielfilm "Aus dem Nichts" (2017) feierte im Rahmen der Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Cannes seine Weltpremiere und gewann den Preis Beste Darstellerin für Diane Kruger in der Hauptrolle.  


Wolfgang Herrndorf wurde 1965 in Hamburg geboren und starb 2013 in Berlin. Für seinen Roman „Tschick“ (2010), der in 24 Sprachen übersetzt wurde, erhielt er den Deutschen Literaturpreis. Das Tagebuch „Arbeit und Struktur“ (2013) und „Bilder deiner großen Liebe“ (2014) wurden posthum veröffentlicht.

Der Originalsoundtrack enthält einige der besten aktuellen Musiker aus Deutschland, unter anderem Beginner, Beatsteaks, Fraktus und K.I.Z. 

Wenn Sie sich für eine der EUFF-Vorführungen einen Platz sichern wollen, können Sie diesen ab November im Voraus auf der EUFF Internetseite reservieren. Bei vorab Reservierung kommen 10$ dem Festival zugute. Der reguläre Einlass für alle Filme ist weiterhin kostenfrei.

Teil des Goethe-Institut Schwerpunkts Deutscher Film 

Noch mehr Fatih Akin gibt es beim letzten Deutschen Filmklub des Jahres 2017 mit dem Dokumentar- und Musikfilm „Crossing the Bridge – the Sound of Istanbul" am 24. November. 

Zurück