Film Screenings Goethe films: Schlingensief: Approach those you fear

Volksbühne Berlin Hara Schlingensief Schütz Hermann Beyer Grassmann Schreibkraft - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0

Thu, 05/10/2018 -
Thu, 05/17/2018

TIFF Bell Lightbox

350 King St. W.
Toronto

Series co-presented with the Laser Blast Film Society & KinoVortex

Iconoclast, enfant terrible, agent provocateur. While many would call German filmmaker-performer-activist Christoph Schlingensief (1960-2010) fearless, he himself said shortly before his untimely death that to make good work, “I have to approach those I fear”. GOETHE FILMS features core Schlingensief projects that tackle the ghosts of Europe's past, present and future – fascism, capitalism, division and reunification – in his signature no-holds-barred splatter style.       


10 May 2018, 6:30 PM
THE 120 DAYS OF BOTTROP (Germany 1997, 60 min) directed by Christoph Schlingensief and Oskar Roehler (screenplay), starring Margit Carstensen, Irm Hermann, Volker Spengler, Udo Kier, Sophie Rois, Martin Wuttke, with music by Helge Schneider.
An eccentric homage to Rainer Werner Fassbinder, declaring the end of New German Cinema.
Introduced by Bruce LaBruce.

15 May 2018, 6:30 PM
FOREIGNERS OUT! SCHLINGENSIEF'S CONTAINER (Austria 2002, 90 min) documentary directed by Paul Poet, with Christoph Schlingensief, Luc Bondy, Daniel Cohn-Bendit, Einstürzende Neubauten, Elfriede Jelinek, Peter Sellars, Peter Sloterdijk, on Schlingensief’s famous anti-fascist intervention in Vienna

17 May 2018, 6:30 PM
GERMAN CHAINSAW MASSACRE: THE FIRST HOUR OF REUNIFICATION (Germany 1990, 63 min) directed by Christoph Schlingensief, starring Irm Hermann, Udo Kier (assistant director), production design by Uli Hanisch (The International, Perfume).
Schlingensief’s breakthrough cult film exposing the free market as (literally) a meat market.
+
THE HOLDING OF SKULLS IS NOT MY THING! (Germany 2001, 45 min) directed by Alexander Kluge. Cultural theorist A. Kluge in a phone conversation with C. Schlingensief against the backdrop of a controversial Hamlet production in Zurich, in which Schlingensief played Fortinbras and caused a sensation by casting breakaway right-wing extremists.
 
Restored and digitized original versions. Viewer discretion advised.
 
From killing his darlings (Fassbinder) to engaging with the enemy (Nazis), Schlingensief referenced European cultural history and its cinema canon (Pasolini, Riefenstahl, Emmerich ...) in wild and daring works, directing Wagner in Bayreuth and at Teatro Amazonas, getting himself arrested at an art action at documenta, and working with some of the best artists, like frequent collaborators Udo Kier and Irm Hermann.
 
“Herr Schlingensief, do you need a psychiatrist?” – BILD German tabloid newspaper
 
Christoph Schlingensief worked feverishly across opera, installation, theatre, film, political activism, radio play, TV, and writing; immersing himself and his open-mouthed audiences in horror, trash, satire, and the experimental, being honoured for it at ICA London, the Venice Biennial (winning the Golden Lion posthumously), MoMA PS1, Centre Pompidou and other prestigious institutions, Christoph Schlingensief was an ogre as well as an oracle of things to come, from new media movements to right-wing resurgence.
 
Born in 1960 in West Germany, Schlingensief made his first 8mm film at the age of eight. Since then he created more than 20 films, many with the support of the Goethe-Institut. After learning he had lung cancer in 2008, Schlingensief wrote about his illness and published his diary. He died in 2010. His legacy is the Opera Village Africa, an international art and educational project in Burkina Faso, which he realized together with award-winning Berlin architect Francis Kéré.
 
The program title "Approach those you fear" references a quote by Christoph Schlingensief in a 3sat TV video interview 2008.


All GOETHE FILMS are open to audience 18+

Part of the Goethe Institut's focus on German film


 

Back

Filmvorführungen Goethe films: Schlingensief: Approach those you fear

Volksbühne Berlin Hara Schlingensief Schütz Hermann Beyer Grassmann Schreibkraft - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0

Do, 10.05.2018 -
Do, 17.05.2018

TIFF Bell Lightbox

350 King St. W.
Toronto

Filmreihe ko-präsentiert mit der Laser Blast Film Society & KinoVortex

Bilderstürmer, Enfant terrible, Agent Provocateur. Während viele den deutschen Filmemacher und Performance-Aktivisten Christoph Schlingensief (1960-2010) furchtlos nennen würden, sagte er kurz vor seinem vorzeitigen Tod selbst, dass er, um gute Filme machen zu können, sich denen annähern müsse, die er fürchtet. GOETHE FILMS zeigt zentrale Schlingensief-Projekte, die sich mit den Geistern von Europas Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft auseinandersetzen – Faschismus, Kapitalismus, Teilung und Wiedervereinigung. Und dies in seinem gewohnten, rückhaltlosen Splatter-Style.

10. May 2018, 18:30 Uhr
DIE 120 TAGE VON BOTTROP (Deutschland 1997, 60 min) Regie Christoph Schlingensief und Oskar Roehler (Buch), mit Margit Carstensen, Irm Hermann, Volker Spengler, Udo Kier, Sophie Rois, Martin Wuttke; mit Musik von Helge Schneider.
Eine exzentrische Hommage an Rainer Werner Fassbinder, die das Ende des Neuen Deutschen Films ausruft.
Eingeführt von Bruce LaBruce

15. Mai 2018, 18:30 Uhr
AUSLÄNDER RAUS! SCHLINGENSIEFS CONTAINER (Österreich 2002, 90 min) Dokumentarfilm, Regie Paul Poet, mit Christoph Schlingensief, Luc Bondy, Daniel Cohen-Bendit, Einstürzende Neubauten, Elfriede Jelinek, Peter Sellars, Peter Sloterdijk.
Ein Film über Schlingensiefs berühmte Antifaschismus-Intervention in Wien.

17. May 2018, 18:30 Uhr
DAS DEUTSCHE KETTENSÄGENMASSAKER (Deutschland 1990, 63 min), Regie Christoph Schlingensief, mit Irm Hermann, Udo Kier (Regieassistenz), Produktionsdesign von Uli Hanisch (The International, Das Parfüm).
Schlingensiefs Kultfilm, der ihm den Durchbruch brachte, entlarvt den freien Markt als (buchstäblichen) Fleischmarkt. 
+
DAS HALTEN VON TOTENSCHÄDELN LIEGT MIR NICHT! (Deutschland 2001, 45 min) Regie Alexander Kluge. Kulturtheoretiker Kluge in einem Telefonat mit Schlingensief über die Hintergründe einer kontroversen Hamlet-Produktion in Zürich, in der Schlingensief Fortinbras spielt und für eine Sensation sorgte, indem er Rollen mit reformierten Rechtsextremisten besetzte. 

Restaurierte und digitalisierte Originalversionen. Provozierendes Bildmaterial!

Vom Töten seiner Lieblinge (Fassbinder) über die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Feind (Nazis) – Schlingensief bezieht sich auf die europäische Kulturgeschichte und Europas Filmkanon (Pasolini, Riefenstahl, Emmerich ...) in wilden und kühnen Arbeiten; er dirigiert Wagner in Bayreuth und im Teatro Amazonas; er lässt sich in einer Kunstaufführung auf der Documenta verhaften und er arbeitet mit einigen der besten Künstler/innen wie zum Beispiel häufigen Partnern Udo Kier und Irm Hermann.

"Herr Schlingensief, brauchen Sie einen Psychiater?" - BILD

Christoph Schlingensief arbeitete fieberhaft über alle Genre-Grenzen hinweg: Oper, Installationskunst, Theater, Film, politischer Aktivismus, Radio, Fernsehen, und als Autor. Indem Schlingensief sowohl sich selbst in Horror, Trash, Satire und Experimentalfilm vertieft als auch sein erstauntes Publikum darin eintauchen lässt, macht er sich selbst zum Spuk als auch zum Orakel kommender Dinge – von neuen Medien-Formaten bis zum Wiederaufleben der Rechten. Hierfür wurde er bei der ICA London, der Biennale di Venezia (posthume Verleihung des Goldenen Löwen), MoMA PS1, Centre Pompidou und von anderen prestigeträchtigen Institutionen geehrt.
 
Geboren 1960 in Westdeutschland, schuf Schlingensief seinen ersten 8mm Film im Alter von acht Jahren. Seitdem produzierte er über 20 Filme, von denen mehrere in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut entstanden. Nachdem bei ihm 2008 Lungenkrebs diagnostiziert wurde, begann Schlingensief über seine Krankheit zu schreiben und veröffentlichte sein Tagebuch. Er starb 2010. Zu seinem Vermächtnis gehört das Operndorf Afrika, ein internationales Kunst- und Bildungsprojekt, das er zusammen mit dem preisgekrönten Berliner Architekten Francis Kéré ins Leben rief.
 
Der Titel des Programms „Approach those you fear“ bezieht sich auf ein Zitat von Christoph Schlingensief in einem 3sat-Fernsehinterview 2008. 
 

Alle GOETHE FILMS sind freigegeben ab 18 Jahren.

Teil des Goethe-Institut Schwerpunkts Deutscher Film


 

Zurück