Michelle-Marie Letelier: Am I ancient or a human made machine?

The Bone by Michelle-Marie Letelier Michelle-Marie Letelier courtesy of Or Gallery

Sat, 08/28/2021 -
Sat, 10/02/2021

12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Or Gallery

Guest curated with Paz Guevara
in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut Toronto and the Blue Cabin Residency.


How do exhibitions have the capacity to create moments of communality rather than objectifying the beings that enter into its modern grid? How does the exhibition become permeable to life through orality, reciprocity, and in connection with geopolitical trajectories, struggles, and potential alliances? In a partly speculative and partly documentary manner, artist Michelle-Marie Letelier weaves a series of collaborations through virtual reality, songs, crystal performances, conversations, and in-situ actions. Against the grain of extractivism, this exhibition engages the poethics of a sovereign ocean through the consciousness and memory of our fellow being, the salmon: Am I ancient or human-made machine? 

The Artist

Michelle-Marie Letelier: currently located in Berlin, she obtained her Bachelor of Arts from the Universidad Católica de Chile in 2000 and has participated in postgraduate programmes such as Goldrausch Künstlerinnenprojekt art IT (Berlin) and as guest student in the Experimental Media Design studies at the Universität der Künste (Berlin).

Her work has been shown internationally in biennials, galleries, museums and institutions, among others: Gropius-Bau (Berlin); Kunstmuseum Bonn; Stanislavsky Electrotheatre (Moscow); Screen City Biennial 2019 (Stavanger); Bienal Sur 2017 (Buenos Aires); El Museo de Los Sures (New York); Kunsthall 3,14 (Bergen); Museo de la Solidaridad Salvador Allende (Santiago); Errant Bodies (Berlin); Museum of Contemporary Art (Santiago); Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes (Santiago) and Kommunale Galerie Charlottenburg (Berlin).

Her videos and VR have been exhibited in international screenings and festivals, including: The Arctic Arts Festival (Harstad); Videonale.18 (Bonn); VRHAM! Festival; WE ARE OCEAN 2019-2021 (Berlin and Marseille); East Asia Contemporary Art Space (Shanghai); 5. Mercosur Biennial (Porto Alegre) and X Video and Media Arts Biennial (Santiago).

The Curator

Paz Guevara is a curator, researcher and author based in Berlin. Currently, she is collaborating in the long-term project Kanon-Fragen at Haus der Kulturen der Welt - HKW in Berlin, Germany. In this context, she has been one of the curators of the exhibition Parapolitics: Cultural Freedom and the Cold War (2017-2018); and curator of the Afro-Sonic Mapping project by musician and artist Satch Hoyt (2019). Also as researcher, she has contributed to the exhibition Past Disquiet: Narratives and Ghosts from the International Art Exhibition for Palestine, 1978, with research on South American artists, museums and networks involved in the Solidarity Movement. Guevara has been co-curator of the Latin American Pavilion at the 55th and 54th Venice Biennial (2013 and 2011), In Other Words at NGBK in Berlin (2012), and co- editor of the homonymous book with guest authors: Sarat Maharaj and Beatriz Sarlo, and curator of Comunidad Ficticia, in Matucana 100, Santiago (2009), among others. She has conducted several workshops and seminars on curating and exhibition histories, and she has written extensively on contemporary artistic practices, most recently, on the works of Beatriz González and Olaf Holzapfel for Documenta 14.

About Or Gallery 

The Or Gallery is an artist-run centre committed to exhibiting work by local, national, and international artists whose art practice is of a critical, conceptual and/or interdisciplinary nature. Since its inception in 1983 the gallery has acted as a space for research, proposition making, conceptual experimentation and documentation.

Back

Michelle-Marie Letelier: Am I ancient or a human made machine?

The Bone by Michelle-Marie Letelier Michelle-Marie Letelier courtesy of Or Gallery

Sa, 28.08.2021 -
Sa, 02.10.2021

12:00 Uhr - 17:00 Uhr

Or Gallery

Gastkuratiert mit Paz Guevara
in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Toronto und der Blue Cabin Residency. 

Wie gelingt es Ausstellungen, Augenblicke der Gemeinschaftlichkeit zu schaffen, anstatt die Wesen, die in ihre modernen Fänge geraten, zu verdinglichen? Wie wird eine Ausstellung durch Erzähltes, durch Wechselwirkungen und in Verbindung mit geopolitischen Entwicklungen, Auseinandersetzungen und potenziellen Allianzen empfänglich für das Lebendige? In einem teils spekulativen, teils dokumentarischen Ansatz verwebt die Künstlerin Michelle-Marie Letelier verschiedene Kollaborationen durch VR, Lieder, Crystal-Performances, Gespräche und vor Ort stattfindende Aktionen. Als Kontrapunkt zum Extraktivismus stellt diese Ausstellung die Poethik eines unabhängigen Ozeans durch das Bewusstsein und die Erinnerung von einem unserer Mitgeschöpfe, dem Lachs, in den Mittelpunkt: Stamme ich aus lang vergangenen Zeiten oder bin ich eine menschengemachte Maschine? 

DIE KÜNSTLERIN

Michelle-Marie Letelier: lebt aktuell in Berlin, schloss ihr Studium an der Universidad Católica de Chile 2000 mit dem Bachelor of Arts ab. Sie nahm an Postgraduierten-Projekten wie dem Goldrausch Künstlerinnenprojekt art IT (Berlin) teil und studierte als Gaststudentin Experimentelles Mediendesign an der Universität der Künste (Berlin).

International wurden ihre Arbeiten im Rahmen von Biennalen sowie in Galerien und Museen gezeigt, u. a. im Gropius-Bau (Berlin), im Kunstmuseum Bonn, im Elektrotheater Stanislawski (Moskau), bei der Screen City Bienniale 2019 (Stavanger) und der Bienal Sur 2017 (Buenos Aires), im Museo de Los Sures (New York), in der Kunsthall 3,14 (Bergen), im Museo de la Solidaridad Salvador Allende (Santiago), im Errant Bodies (Berlin), im Museum of Contemporary Art (Santiago), im Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes (Santiago) und in der Kommunalen Galerie Charlottenburg (Berlin).

Ihre Videos und VR-Projekte wurden bei internationalen Veranstaltungen und Festivals gezeigt, wie u. a. The Arctic Arts Festival (Harstad), Videonale.18 (Bonn), VRHAM! Festival, WE ARE OCEAN 2019-2021 (Berlin und Marseille), East Asia Contemporary Art Space (Shanghai), 5. Mercosur Biennialu (Porto Alegre), X Video and Media Arts Biennial (Santiago).

DIE KURATORIN

Paz Guevara arbeitet als Kuratorin, Forscherin und Autorin und lebt in Berlin. Am Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) in Berlin ist sie am Langzeitprojekt „Kanon-Fragen“ beteiligt. Hier co‑kuratierte sie die Ausstellung „Parapolitik: Kulturelle Freiheit und Kalter Krieg“ (2017-2018) und kuratierte das Projekt „Afro-Sonic Mapping“ des Musikers und Künstlers Satch Hoyt (2019). Durch ihre Forschungen zu südamerikanischen Künstler*innen, Museen und Netzwerken, die Teil der Solidaritätsbewegung waren, leistete sie Beiträge zur Ausstellung „Zeit der Unruhe. Über die Internationale Kunstausstellung für Palästina 1978”. Guevara war Co-Kuratorin des lateinamerikanischen Pavillons der 55. und 54. Biennale von Venedig (2013 und 2011), der Ausstellung „In anderen Worten” an der nGbK in Berlin (2012) und Mitherausgeberin der gleichnamigen Publikation mit Gastbeiträgen von Sarat Maharaj und Beatriz Sarlo. Außerdem kuratierte sie „Comunidad Ficticia“ am Matucana 100, Santiago (2009) und weitere Ausstellungen. Sie leitete diverse Workshops und Seminare zur Kurations- und Ausstellungsgeschichte und hat zahlreiche Beiträge zur zeitgenössischen Praxis in der Kunst verfasst, aktuell zu den Werken von Beatriz González und Olaf Holzapfel für die Documenta 14.

DIE OR GALLERY 

Die Or Gallery ist ein von Künstler*innen geleitetes Zentrum, an dem Arbeiten lokaler, nationaler und internationaler Künstler*innen ausgestellt werden, die in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis einem kritischen, konzeptionellen und/oder interdisziplinären Ansatz folgen. Seit ihrer Gründung 1983 bietet die Galerie Projekten einen Raum, bei denen geforscht, Ideen entwickelt, konzeptionell experimentiert und dokumentiert wird.
 

Zurück