Goethe-Institut Toronto x Canada at Frankfurt Book Fair 2021

graffiti Frankfurt © Alex Lazich

Fri, 10/01/2021 -
Mon, 01/31/2022

Online

The eyes of the literary world are on Canada as the guest of honour country at the Frankfurt Book Fair in October 2021, with a delegation of authors, artists and publishers travelling to Germany. Each year, the Frankfurt Book Fair names as its guest of honour a country whose literature and culture are showcased during the fair as well as throughout the preceding months. The Guest of Honour country participates during the entire year leading up to the book fair in various cultural events and projects in Frankfurt and Germany, including literary activities, art and culture exhibitions, and music, dance, theatre and film programs to celebrate the talent and diversity of Canadian creators. 

The Goethe-Institut Toronto is accompanying CFBM 2021 with a number of initiatives in Frankfurt, Toronto and online.


Frankfurt-Toronto Street Art Exchange

In 2019, the Goethe-Institut Toronto and the partner cities of Toronto and Frankfurt brought Frankfurt street artist Justus Becker to Toronto to create a downtown mural in collaboration with Toronto street artist Alexander "Bacon" Lazich.
2019 Sister Cities Artist Exchange Program - Justus Becker

In 2020, Lazich headed to Frankfurt to create a mural with Becker at “Messe" subway station to mark Canada as guest of honour at the Frankfurt Book Fair 2021/21.  
Frankfurt-Toronto Street Art Project: Goethe-Institut interview with Alex Lazich

Making of Mural, Stadt Frankfurt am Main

The artists’ work and exchange will be reflected at the Goethe-Institut booth at the fair.


Schöneberg: A Meditation by André Alexis

A literary exploration in four parts, Berlin 2021

Commissioned & presented by the Goethe-Institut Toronto
with the Berliner Künstlerprogramm of the DAAD


Join Giller Prize winning Canadian author André Alexis, part of the official CFBM delegation, for an audio-visual exploration of Berlin-Schöneberg, the neighbourhood he got to know during his DAAD artist residency in 2020/21. In a series of IGTV videos launched on the Goethe-Institut Toronto's Instagram each Tuesday in October, Alexis invites the audience into a literary mediation on arrivals and departures, real and imagined/interior and exterior spaces, Schöneberg and Alexis’ home in Toronto’s Parkdale, and the traces artists leave behind and take with them when they change places.

 
Writing the Land: A Celebration of Canada’s Writers, Poets and Storytellers

German-Canadian documentarian Stephanie Weimar produced the four-part TV series Writing the Land for ARTE and the CBC in 2020. From October 2019 to October 2020, German Film @ Canada checked in with director Weimar as she developed and realized the series and let us in on her treatment, funding, the beauty and challenges of Canada's vast geography and diverse literatures and their intersections.

Introducing Stephanie Weimar & WRITING THE LAND at German Film @ Canada - Goethe-Institut Toronto

The Making of: "Writing the Land" premiere - German Film @ Canada - Goethe-Institut Toronto

In a follow-up conversation, we spoke with Weimar and CanLit authors Catherine Hernandez (Scarborough; Crosshairs) and Uzma Jalaluddin (Hana Khan Carries On) about being part of Writing the Land as well as both authors’ forthcoming film adaptations, Scarborough’s TIFF 2021 world premiere and Hana Khan’s Amazon Prime adaptation by Mindy Kaling


#Booktofilm People: Frankfurt book fair Edition

Jumping off our popular #BerlinalePeople series of portraits of media industry movers and shakers, we are shining a light on three book and media industry leaders who shape the Frankfurt Book Fair's extensive global Arts+ and cross-over intiatives. Posted on the Goethe-Institut Toronto's German Film @ Canada blog throughout October 2021.

The Jemand Society: Interventions from Futures

Developed & presented by the Goethe-Institut North America with Rosy DX, Dusseldorf
A new hybrid project exploring artistic utopias and dystopias then and now. The Machine Age (1889) by Nobel Peace Price winning pacifist author Bertha von Suttner serves as a launchpad for the creation of global art interventions —or Zukunftsvorlesungen— by three invited artists: Jeremy Bailey (Toronto), Lucie Freynhagen (Dresden), Sam Lavigne (New York). How do we reconcile our fragmented selves in the digital age? Can art and literature revive emotions in our digitised and atomised bodies?

 The Jemand Society, based on von Suttner’s anonymized pen name, stands for the awakening of the self in the digital sphere, for a new sensual age of hybrid living.

 Oct 2021-Jan 2022
 


 

Back

Goethe-Institut Toronto x Canada at Frankfurt Book Fair 2021

Fr, 01.10.2021 -
Mo, 31.01.2022

Online

Die Augen der Literaturwelt richten sich im Oktober 2021 auf Kanada als dem Ehrengastland der Frankfurter Buchmesse, das eine Delegation von Autor*innen, Künstler*innen und Verlagen nach Deutschland entsendet. Jedes Jahr ernennt die Frankfurter Buchmesse ein Land zum Ehrengast, dessen Literatur und Kultur während der Messe und auch bereits in den Monaten davor präsentiert werden. Das Ehrengastland nimmt während des gesamten laufenden Jahres vor der Buchmesse an verschiedensten Kulturveranstaltungen und Projekten in Frankfurt und Deutschland teil. Dazu gehören Lesungen, Kunst- und Kulturausstellungen sowie ein Rahmenprogramm mit Musik, Tanz, Theater und Film, die das Talent und die Diversität kanadischer Kulturschaffender ins Rampenlicht stellen.

Das Goethe-Institut Toronto begleitet die CFBM 2021 mit einer Reihe von Initiativen in Frankfurt, Toronto und online.


STREET-ART-AUSTAUSCH ZWISCHEN FRANKFURT UND TORONTO

2019 reiste der Frankfurter Street-Art-Künstler Justus Becker auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts Toronto und der Partnerstädte Toronto und Frankfurt nach Toronto, um in der Innenstadt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Torontoer Street-Art-Künstler Alexander „Bacon“ Lazich ein Wandbild (Mural) zu schaffen.
Partnerstädtisches Künstler-Austauschprogramm 2019 - Justus Becker

Im Gegenzug reiste Lazich 2020 nach Frankfurt, um gemeinsam mit Becker ein Wandbild an der U-Bahn-Station „Messe“ zu erstellen, das den Auftritt Kanadas als Ehrengast der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2021 zum Thema hat.  
Frankfurt-Toronto Street Art Project: Interview des Goethe-Instituts mit Alex Lazich

Entstehung des Wandbildes, Stadt Frankfurt am Main

Die Arbeiten der Künstler sowie deren Austausch wird am Messestand des Goethe-Instituts vorgestellt.


SCHÖNEBERG: EINE MEDITATION VON ANDRÉ ALEXIS

Eine literarische Erkundungstour in vier Kapiteln, Berlin 2021

In Auftrag gegeben und präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut Toronto
in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD


Unternehmen Sie gemeinsam mit dem kanadischen Autor und Giller-Preis-Gewinner André Alexis, Mitglied der offiziellen CFBM-Delegation, eine audiovisuelle Erkundungstour durch Berlin-Schöneberg, den Bezirk, den er während seines DAAD-Residenzaufenthaltes 2020/21 kennenlernte. In einer Reihe von IGTV-Videos, die das Goethe-Institut Toronto jeden Dienstag im Oktober auf Instagram präsentiert hat, lädt Alexis das Publikum zu einer literarischen Meditation ein. Es geht um Ankunft und Abreise, Realität und Phantasie, Innen und Außen, Schöneberg und Alexis‘ Wohnung in Toronto-Parkdale – und um die Spuren, die Künstler hinterlassen und wieder mitnehmen, wenn sie gehen.

KANADA - LITERATUR IM AUFBRUCH (WRITING THE LAND): KANADISCHE SCHRIFTSTELLER*INNEN, DICHTER*INNEN UND ERZÄHLER*INNEN IM FOKUS

Die deutsch-kanadische Dokumentarfilmemacherin Stephanie Weimar produzierte die vierteilige TV-Reihe „Kanada: Literatur im Aufbruch“ 2020 für ARTE und das CBC. Von Oktober 2019 bis Oktober 2020 begleitete German Film @ Canada die Regisseurin Weimar bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung der Reihe, die uns Einblicke in ihre Arbeit, in die Filmförderung, in die Schönheit und die Herausforderungen der endlosen Weiten Kanadas und in verschiedene Literaturwerke sowie deren Überschneidungen gab.

Vorstellung von Stephanie Weimar und WRITING THE LAND unter German Film @ Canada - Goethe-Institut Toronto

The Making of: Premiere von "Writing the Land" - German Film @ Canada - Goethe-Institut Toronto

In einer Nachlese sprachen wir mit Weimar und den CanLit-Autorinnen Catherine Hernandez (Scarborough; Crosshairs) und Uzma Jalaluddin (Hana Khan Carries On) über ihre Teilnahme an der Dokureihe und ihre demnächst erscheinenden Filmadaptionen: Die Weltpremiere von „Scarborough“ beim TIFF 2021 und die Hana Khan-Adaption für Amazon Prime von Mindy Kaling.

#BOOKTOFILM PEOPLE: EDITION FRANKFURTER BUCHMESSE

Als Variation zu unserer beliebten Reihe #BerlinalePeople, in der wir Menschen und Macher aus der Medienbranche vorstellen, beschäftigen wir uns mit drei führenden Persönlichkeiten aus der Verlags- und Medienbranche, die hinter den großen globalen Initiativen der Frankfurter Buchmesse stehen: THE ARTS+ und Digital Cross Over. Veröffentlichung im gesamten Monat Oktober 2021 im Rahmen des German Film @ Canada Blogs.

THE JEMAND SOCIETY: INTERVENTIONS FROM FUTURES

Entwickelt und präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut Nordamerika mit Rosy DX, Düsseldorf
Ein neues Hybrid-Projekt, das sich mit künstlerischen Utopien und Dystopien damals und heute beschäftigt. Das Werk „Das Maschinenzeitalter” (1889) der Pazifistin und Friedensnobelpreisträgerin Bertha von Suttner dient als Ausgangspunkt für die Entstehung globaler Kunstinterventionen – oder Zukunftsvorlesungen – von drei geladenen Künstler*innen: Jeremy Bailey (Toronto), Lucie Freynhagen (Dresden), Sam Lavigne (New York). Wie bringen wir die Fragmente unseres Ich im digitalen Zeitalter in Einklang? Können Kunst und Literatur die Emotionen in unseren digitalisierten und atomisierten Körpern zu neuem Leben erwecken?

The Jemand Society, eine Anspielung auf von Suttners Pseudonym als Schriftstellerin, steht für den Aufbruch des Ich im digitalen Zeitalter, für ein neues sinnliches Zeitalter einer hybriden Lebensform.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Finnland präsentieren wir eine internationale Online-Podiumsdiskussion über Diversität im Kinderbuchmarkt mit Gayna Theophilus, Acquiring Director bei  Annick Press (Toronto). Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Erweiterung der Liste Kulturschaffender aus unterrepräsentierten gesellschaftlichen Gruppen und der Entwicklung von Titeln, die BIPoC-Stimmen mehr Gehör verschaffen.


 

Zurück