Cultural Partnerships in 2016
Goethe-Institut Toronto

Toronto Program Partners © Goethe-Institut Toronto

Many thanks to our outstanding Canadian partners!

Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, the world’s largest photography event with 1,500 artists and more than 200 exhibitions every year. It presented the exhibitions Unseen, To Be Seen by Tong Lam at the Goethe-Institut and Refugees in a State Apartment by Jens Ullrich in the public space in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut. Both artists attended discussions and guided tours.
 
Hot Docs Film Festival, the largest North American documentary film festival with more than 200,000 visitors and 200 films from around the world. Together with the Goethe-Institut, it presented the North American premiere of the film WHEN THE EARTH SEEMS TO BE LIGHT. Berlin director Salome Machaidze was the guest of the Goethe-Institut for this event. Hot Docs and the Goethe-Institut also jointly presented the film TRANSIT CAMP FRIEDLAND as part of the GOETHE FILMS series in March 2016.
 
Luminato Festival, a comprehensive art festival that brings together visual art, music, theatre, dance and more. With nearly one million visitors, 11,000 artists and 3,000 events, it is one of the most important cultural events in North America. Together with the Goethe-Institut, the festival presented the North American premiere of the multiple award-winning, interactive performance art Situation Rooms by the Berlin collective Rimini Protokoll as well as a workshop for professional performers.
 
Harbourfront Centre, a diversified cultural organization that gives a home to a wide variety of events and activities in the cultural sector. Together with the Goethe-Institut it organized the lecture series Open Minds with guests like Gesche Joost. It also presented the photography performance Portraits in Motion by the German artist Volker Gerling as part of its World Stage Festival, which showcases new and innovative performances. Volker Gerling was the guest of the Goethe-Institut.
 
Images Festival, founded in 1987, is the largest North American festival for experimental video and film art that offers space for installations and live performances by hundreds of artists every year. Together with the Goethe-Institut it showed the video work Kingdom Come: Rituals by the German artists Vika Kirchbauer and Martin Sulzer. Martin Sulzer was the guest of the Goethe-Institut.
 
Canadian Stage, one of the country’s leading theatres, specializes in contemporary drama that incorporates other media such as dance and film. In cooperation with the Goethe-Institut, it presented the North American premiere of the play Das Ding (The Thing), for which the Goethe-Institut also funded the translation. Along with the theatre manager and the director, playwright Phillip Löhle attended the production and answered the audience’s questions at Culture talks @ Goethe at the Goethe-Institut.
 
Theatre Smash is a young theatre ensemble that brings contemporary plays from around the world to Canada. In cooperation with the Goethe-Institut it produced the North American premiere of the play Das Ding (The Thing). Theatre manager Ashley Corcoran was a former Goethe intern at the Gorki Theater in Berlin.
 
Thousand Islands Playhouse, a theatre in Gananoque, Ontario that addresses a primarily younger audience with the aim of bringing high-quality plays to eastern Ontario. It staged the North American premiere of the play Das Ding (The Thing) in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut.
 
Istituto Italiano di Cultura & Consolato Generale d’Italia Toronto. Together with our European partners, the exhibition Refugees in a State Apartment by Jens Ullrich was shown on the fence of the Italian Consulate General.
 
Contemporary Art Gallery Vancouver, Vancouver’s oldest independent art gallery that presents ten to twenty exhibitions each year. Together with the Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, the Goethe-Institut presented the first Canadian solo exhibition by the German photographer Jochen Lempert entitled Field Guide. In the previous year, Lempert was the guest of the Goethe-Institut at the Villa Toronto art fair.

Le Labo, a Toronto-based francophone media art group. It presented the sculpture and video installation Monologues: De l'essence d'un langage esthétique by Quebec artist Francis Montillaud about intercultural communications and corresponding the Culture talks @ Goethe in the Goethe Media Space.
 
Gallery TPW, an art centre for time-based media that emphasizes the moving picture. Together with the Goethe-Institut, it conducted the residency of the two Berlin artists Jared Gradinger and Angela Schubot and presented their performance All my holes are theirs with Canadians Aleesa Cohene and Eric Cazdyn.
 
School of Creative and Performing Arts (University of Calgary). Together with the Goethe-Institut, the school held the world premiere of Imaginary Garden II by Canadian composer Hope Lee performed by the German musicians Kristina Schoch and Simon Höfele on recorder and trumpet. The two musicians also held a master class.
 
Progress Festival, an international performance and ideas festival presented jointly by the SummerWorks performance festival and the Theatre Centre. The Theatre Centre is a nationally well-known promoter of the arts dedicated, among other things, to research and development in the cultural sector. The festival is organized by ensembles dealing with contemporary themes and performances based in Toronto. Together with the Goethe-Institut it presented the audio-nonvisual cinematic experiment Blind Cinema by Britt Hatzius.
 
Canadian Art Foundation, a non-profit organization that supports artists from Canada and is dedicated to spreading and advancing the fine arts. In conjunction with the Goethe-Institut it presented two artist discussions with the photographer Wolfgang Tillmans and the writer and critic Tom McDonough in Toronto and Vancouver.  
 
Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), one of the most significant and influential film festivals worldwide. It is known as a springboard for filmmakers’ careers and is an ideal platform for movie premieres. In conjunction with the Goethe-Institut, it presented the GOETHE FILMS series A LONG WAY, CAN YOU HACK IT, and fHEISTy WOMEN ROBBING BANKS.
 
WNDX, the Festival of Moving Images draws special attention to the most innovative and ground-breaking works by film and video artists from all over the world with a focus on works from Manitoba and by artists from the prairie provinces and all of Canada. Another focus is the celebration of the drive to create moving pictures for the sake of the art and to put works in the spotlight that are not taken into account by general trends. Together with the Goethe-Institut it presented an installation by filmmaker Isabell Spengler.

Western Front Vancouver, an artist-founded and operated centre in Vancouver that organizes exhibitions by national and international artists and promotes dialogue between local and international art communities. It presented the exhibition Asymmetrical Response by the artists Olia Lialina and Cory Arcangel together with the Goethe-Institut. Olia Lialina was the guest of the Goethe-Institut.
 
The Liaison of Independent Filmmakers of Toronto (LIFT) is a non-profit artist organization and important platform that supports independent filmmakers and artists. It conducted Elke Marhöfer's artist residency and showed her films in conjunction with the Goethe-Institut. 
 
The Koffler Centre of the Arts is a Jewish cultural organization that presents contemporary interdisciplinary art programs. In conjunction with the Goethe-Institut it held a talk with the Yazidi Nobel Peace Prize candidate Nadia Murad. Nadia Murad was the guest of the Goethe-Institut.
 
The Power Plant, a gallery for contemporary art that envisions itself as a forum for the culture of our times. In conjunction with the Goethe-Institut, it showed the exhibitions Call to Action by Franz Erhard Walther and It Has a Golden Red Sun and an Elderly Green Moon by Ulla von Brandenburg.
 
Presentation at the European Union Film Festival Toronto: HEAD FULL OF HONEY as well as the encore performance of ELTERN. The European Union Film Festival is a unique collaboration by consulates and cultural institutions of the EU that celebrates European cinema. Every year is shows 28 selected current films that represent the different countries of the EU. The Goethe-Institut founded the festival in 2005, is part of the supervisory board and programs Germany’s contribution every year.
 
Co-presentation with the Toronto Jewish Film Festival: SARA STEIN – SHALOM BERLIN. North American premiere of the Berlin-Tel Aviv crime drama. The Toronto Jewish Film Festival is the world’s largest Jewish film festival.
 
Co-presentation with the Italian Contemporary Film Festival: LABYRINTH OF LIES. The Italian Contemporary Film Festival is Canada’s only and one of the world’s leading Italian film festivals.
 
Co-presentation with the Christie Pits Film Festival: NOSFERATU with a live-score performance by Del Bel. The Christie Pits Film Festival shows films free of charge every summer outdoors in Toronto parks. The very large audience is shown a mixture of classics and popular films.
 
Co-presentation with the Canadian Sports Film Festival: BAMBOULE. The Canadian Sports Film Festival combines sports and film to tell unique, provocative and passionate human stories from all over the world.
 
Co-presentation with the Toronto Korean Film Festival: GET UP. The Toronto Korean Film Festival’s objective is to promote cultural diversity in Toronto and present authentic Korean films and co-productions to the Canadian audience.
 
Co-presentation with the Rendezvous with Madness Film Festival: 4 KINGS. The Rendezvous with Madness Festival is a festival with a unique thematic focus. Dedicated to films about mental illness, it motivates the audience to grapple with the facts and myths surrounding it.
 
Co-presentation with the Holocaust Education Week: THE LAST MENTSCH. The aim of the Holocaust Education Week is to sensitize people to the Holocaust by means of films, literature, art and new historic analyses. The 2016 theme, “The Future of Memory,” was dedicated to the question of how future generations will carry on and re-shape the field of teaching about and remembering the Holocaust.
 
Co-presentation with Planet in Focus: 10 BILLION: WHAT'S ON YOUR PLATE?, COAL INDIA, and MAGICAL MOORS. Planet in Focus is Canada’s largest environmental film festival that is held every autumn in Toronto and shows feature and short films from all over the world, including many German productions.
 
Co-presentation with the Toronto Black Film Festival (TBFF): THE BODA BODA THIEVES. The Toronto Black Film Festival was founded in 2013 by the Fabienne Colas Foundation, a non-profit, professional organization of artists that has set the goal of promoting cinema, art and culture in Canada and the world. The Fabienne Colas Foundation also founded the very successful Montreal International Black Film Festival (MIBFF). The Toronto Black Film Festival offers unique voices in cinema the opportunity to present new worldviews to the audience. It promotes the development of the independent film industry as well as films about the realities of black people around the globe.
 
Co-presentation with the Syria Film Festival (SYFF) at GOETHE FILMS: AFTER SPRING COMES FALL. The Syria Film Festival focuses on presenting the aspirations of Syrians and the difficulties they encounter. It also wants to build bridges, encourage dialogue and involve the audience in questions about social justice, human rights and global community and to enrich Toronto’s multicultural identity by supporting young film talent and artists.
 
Co-presentation with Jayu (Human Rights Film Festival) at GOETHE FILMS: WE ARE YOUNG. WE ARE STRONG. The Jayu Film Festival uses art to draw attention to human rights stories and thus offers people a platform where they can share their narratives.  
 
Co-presentation with the Monthly Underground Female Film (MUFF) Society at GOETHE FILMS: Goethe Films series fHEISTy WOMEN ROBBING BANKS. The Muff Society is a feminist film society that supports and promotes women in film and television.
 
Co-presentation with Point of View Magazine (POV) at GOETHE FILMS: TRANSIT CAMP FRIEDLAND. POV Magazine is a magazine about documentary films.
 
Networking and presentations with the Input Festival, a non-profit organization of television makers and broadcasting companies that holds an annual conference about the limits of television under the motto “storytelling in the public interest.” In 2016, the conference took place in Calgary, Alberta. The Goethe-Institut is an official partner of the Input Festival.

Kulturpartnerschaften
Goethe-Institut Toronto 2016

Toronto Program Partners © Goethe-Institut Toronto

Vielen Dank an unsere herausragenden kanadischen Partner!

Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival, das größte Fotografie-Event der Welt mit 1500 Künstlern und mehr als 200 Ausstellungen pro Jahr. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut wurden die Ausstellungen „Unseen, to be seen“ von Tong Lam im Goethe-Institut und “Refugees in a State Apartment“ von Jens Ullrich im öffentlichen Raum präsentiert. Beide Künstler waren zu Gesprächen und Führungen anwesend.
 
Hot Docs Film Festival, das größte nordamerikanische Dokumentarfilmfestival mit mehr als 200.000 Besuchern und 200 Filmen aus aller Welt. Zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die nordamerikanische Premiere des Films „When the Earth Seems to be Light“ präsentiert. Gast des Goethe-Instituts war hierbei die Berliner Regisseurin Salome Machaidze. Im Rahmen der Goethe Films Reihe im März 2016 wurde außerdem gemeinsam der Film „Transit Camp Friedland“ präsentiert.
 
Luminato Festival, ein umfassendes Kunst-Festival, das visuelle Kunst, Musik, Theater, Tanz und mehr zusammenbringt. Mit knapp einer Million Besuchern, 11.000 Künstlern und 3.000 Veranstaltungen, eines der wichtigsten Kultur-Ereignisse Nordamerikas. Zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die nordamerikanische Premiere der mehrfach preisgekrönten interaktiven Performance-Art „Situation Rooms“ des Berliner Kollektivs „Rimini Protokoll“ sowie ein Workshop für professionelle Performer präsentiert.
 
Harbourfront Centre, eine diverse Kulturorganisation, die verschiedensten Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten im Kulturbereich ein zu Hause gibt. Zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die Vortragsreihe „Open Minds“ mit den Gästen Gesche Joost et al. veranstaltet. Im Rahmen des World
Stage Festivals, das neue und innovative Performances zeigt, wurde außerdem die Fotografie-Performance „Portraits in Motion“ des deutschen Künstlers Volker Gerling präsentiert. Volker Gerling war Gast des Goethe-Instituts.
 
Images Festival, 1987 gegründet, ist das größte nordamerikanische Festival für experimentelle Video- und Filmkunst und bietet jedes Jahr hunderten Künstlern Platz für Installationen und Live-Performances. Zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die Videoarbeit „Kingdom Come: Rituals“ der deutschen Künstler Vika Kirchbauer und Martin Sulzer gezeigt. Martin Sulzer war Gast des Goethe-Instituts.
 
Canadian Stage, eines der führenden Theaterhäuser Kanadas. Spezialisiert auf neuere Dramatik, die andere Medien wie Tanz oder Film einbezieht. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die nordamerikanische Premiere des Stücks „Das Ding“ gezeigt, für das das Goethe-Institut auch Übersetzungsförderung leistete. Autor Phillip Löhle war anwesend und stellte sich bei einem Culture Talk im Goethe-Institut gemeinsam mit dem Theaterintendanten und der Regisseurin den Fragen des Publikums.
 
Theatre Smash, eine junge Theater-Compagnie, die zeitgenössische Theaterstücke aus der ganzen Welt nach Kanada bringt. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die nordamerikanische Premiere des Stücks „Das Ding“ entwickelt. Die Theaterleiterin Ashley Corcoran war ehemals Goethe-Theaterhospitantin am Gorki Theater Berlin.
 
Thousand Islands Playhouse, ein Theater in Gananoque, Ontario, das sich vor allem an ein jüngeres Publikum richtet und zum Ziel hat, hochkarätige Theaterstücke in den Osten Ontarios zu bringen. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die nordamerikanische Premiere des Stücks „Das Ding“ gezeigt.
 
Istituto Italiano di Cultura & Consolato Generale d’Italia Toronto. Zusammen mit unseren europäischen Partnern wurde die Ausstellung „Refugees in a State Apartment“ von Jens Ullrich am Zaun des italienischen Generalkonsulats gezeigt.
 
Contemporary Art Gallery Vancouver, die älteste unabhängige Kunstgalerie Vancouvers, die jährlich zehn bis zwanzig Ausstellungen präsentiert. Zusammen mit dem Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen präsentierte das Goethe-Institut die erste kanadische Einzelausstellung des deutschen Fotographen Jochen Lempert – „Field Guide“. Lempert war im Vorjahr Gast des Goethe-Instituts zur Kunstmesse Villa Toronto.

Le Labo, eine in Toronto ansässige frankophone Medienkunstgruppe. Zusammen mit dem Goethe Media Space wurde die Skulpturen- und Videoinstallation „Monologues: De l'essence d'un langage esthétique“ des Quebecer Künstlers Francis Montillaud über interkulturelle Kommunikation und ein dazugehöriger Culture Talk präsentiert.
 
Gallery TPW, ein Kunstzentrum für zeitbasierte Medien, das die Rolle der Bewegtbilder betont. Zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die Residenz der beiden Berliner Künstler Jared Gradinger und Angela Schubot durchgeführt und die Performance „All my holes are theirs“ der beiden mit den Kanadiern Aleesa Cohene und Eric Cazdyn präsentiert.
 
School of Creative and Performing Arts (University of Calgary), Fachbereich der Universität Calgary für Musik, Tanz und Theater. Zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die Weltpremiere des Werkes „Imaginary Garden II“ der kanadischen Komponisten Hope Lee von den deutschen Musikern Kristina Schoch und Simon Höfele auf Blockflöte und Trompete aufgeführt. Die beiden gaben zudem einen Meisterkurs.
 
Progress Festival, ein internationales Performance- und Ideen-Festival, das vom SummerWorks Performance Festival gemeinsam mit The Theatre Centre präsentiert wird. The Theatre Centre ist ein national bekannter Kunstförderer und widmet sich u.a. der Forschung und Entwicklung im kulturellen Sektor. Gestaltet wird das Festival von in Toronto ansässigen Compagnien, die sich mit zeitgenössischen Themen und Performances befassen. Zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde das audio-nonvisuelle Kino-Experiment „Blind Cinema“ von Britt Hatzius präsentiert.
 
Canadian Art Foundation, eine non-profit Organisation, die Künstler aus Kanada unterstützt und sich der Verbreitung und Förderung der Bildenden Künste widmet. Gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut wurden zwei Künstlergespräche mit dem Fotografen Wolfgang Tillmans und dem Schriftsteller und Kritiker Tom McDonough in Toronto und Vancouver präsentiert.  
 
Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), eines der wichtigsten und einflussreichsten Film-Festivals weltweit. Es gilt als Karrieresprungbrett für Filmemacher und stellt eine ideale Plattform für Filmpremieren dar. Gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut wurden die Goethe Films Reihen „A long way“, „Can you hack it“ und „fHEISTy Women Robbing Banks“ präsentiert.
 
WNDX, das Festival of Moving Images Winnipeg richtet spezielle Aufmerksamkeit auf die innovativsten und bahnbrechendsten Arbeiten von Film- und Videokünstlern aus der ganzen Welt, wobei der Fokus auf Arbeiten aus Manitoba und auf jene von Künstlern aus den Prärie-Provinzen und ganz Kanada liegt. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Feier des Elans, Bewegtbilder zu Zwecken der Kunst zu kreieren und Werke ins Scheinwerferlicht zu rücken, die von generellen Trends nicht berücksichtigt werden. Zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die Installation der Filmemacherin Isabell Spengler präsentiert.

Western Front Vancouver, ein von Künstlern gegründetes und geleitetes Zentrum in Vancouver, das u.a. Ausstellungen von nationalen und internationalen Künstlern ausrichtet und den Dialog zwischen lokalen und internationalen Kunst-Communities fördert. Zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die Ausstellung „Asymmetrical Response“ der Künstler Olia Lialina und Cory Arcangel präsentiert. Olia Lialina war Gast des Goethe-Instituts.
 
The Liaison of Independent Filmmakers of Toronto (LIFT), ist eine gemeinnützige Künstlerorganisation und wichtige Plattform, die unabhängige Filmemacher und Künstler unterstützt. Gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde die Residenz der Künstlerin Elke Marhöfer durchgeführt und ihre Filme gezeigt. 
 
The Koffler Centre of the Arts ist eine jüdische Kulturorganisation, die zeitgenössische fachübergreifende Kunstprogramme präsentiert. Gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut wurde ein Gespräch mit der jesidischen Friedensnobelpreiskandidatin Nadia Murad veranstaltet. Nadia Murad war Gast des Goethe-Instituts.
 
The Power Plant, eine Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst, die sich als Forum für die Kultur unserer Zeit versteht. Gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut wurden die Ausstellungen „Call to Action“ von Franz Erhard Walther und „It has a golden red sun and an elderly green moon“ von Ulla von Brandenburg gezeigt.
 
Präsentation im European Union Film Festival Toronto: „Honig im Kopf“ sowie die Encore-Vorstellung von „Eltern“. Das European Union Film Festival ist eine einzigartige Kollaboration der Konsulate und kulturellen Institutionen der EU, die das europäische Kino feiert. Jedes Jahr werden 28 ausgewählte aktuelle Filme gezeigt, die die verschiedenen Länder der EU repräsentieren. Das Goethe-Institut hat das Festival 2005 gegründet, ist im Aufsichtsrat vertreten und programmiert jedes Jahr den deutschen Beitrag.
 
Präsentation mit dem Toronto Jewish Film Festival: „Sara Stein – Shalom Berlin“. Nordamerikanische Premiere des Berliner-Tel Aviver Krimis. Das Toronto Jewish Film Festival ist das größte jüdische Filmfestival der Welt.
 
Präsentation mit dem Italian Contemporary Film Festival: „Im Labyrinth des Schweigens“. Das Italian Contemporary Film Festival ist Kanadas einziges italienisches Filmfestival und eines der wichtigsten italienischen Filmfestivals der Welt.
 
Präsentation mit dem Christie Pits Film Festival: „Nosferatu“ mit einer live-score Performance von Del Bel. Das Christie Pits Film Festival ist ein Festival, das im Sommer kostenlos Open-Air-Filme in Torontoer Parks zeigt. Dabei wird dem regelmäßig sehr großen Publikum eine Mischung aus Klassikern und populären Filmen gezeigt.
 
Präsentation mit dem Canadian Sports Film Festival: „Bamboule”. Das Canadian Sports Film Festival vereint Sport und das Medium Film, um einzigartige, provokative und leidenschaftliche menschliche Geschichten aus der ganzen Welt zu erzählen.
 
Präsentation mit dem Toronto Korean Film Festival: „Get Up“. Das Toronto Korean Film Festival setzt
sich zum Ziel, die kulturelle Diversität in Toronto zu fördern und der kanadischen Bevölkerung authentisches koreanisches Kino und Co-Produktionen zu präsentieren.
 
Präsentation mit dem Rendezvous with Madness Film Festival: „4 Könige“. Das Rendezvous with Madness Festival ist ein in seinem Themenschwerpunkt einzigartiges Festival: Es ist Filmen gewidmet, die sich mit psychischen Erkrankungen auseinandersetzen und motiviert das Publikum, sich mit Fakten und Mythen, die diese umgeben, auseinanderzusetzen.
 
Präsentation mit der Holocaust Education Week: „The Last Mentsch". Die Holocaust Education Week setzt sich zum Ziel, Menschen über Filme, Literatur, Kunst und neue historische Analysen für den Holocaust zu sensibilisieren. Das Thema 2016, „The Future of Memory“, widmete sich der Frage, wie zukünftige Generationen das Feld der Vermittlung und Erinnerung an den Holocaust fortführen und neu gestalten können.
 
Präsentation mit Planet in Focus: „10 Billion: What's on your plate?”, „Coal India” und „Magical Moors”. Planet in Focus ist Kanadas größtes Umwelt-Filmfestival, das jeden Herbst in Toronto stattfindet und Features und Kurzfilme aus der ganzen Welt, darunter zahlreiche deutsche Produktionen, zeigt.
 
Präsentation mit dem Toronto Black Film Festival (TBFF): „The Boda Boda Thieves”. Das Toronto Black Film Festival wurde 2013 von der Fabienne Colas Foundation gegründet, einer gemeinnützigen, professionellen Künstlerorganisation, die es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, Kino, Kunst und Kultur in Kanada und in der Welt zu fördern. Die Fabienne Colas Foundation gründete ebenfalls das sehr erfolgreiche Montreal International Black Film Festival (MIBFF). Das Toronto Black Film Festival gibt einzigartigen Stimmen im Kino die Möglichkeit, dem Publikum neue Weltanschauungen zu präsentieren. Dabei fördert es die Entwicklung der Independent-Film Industrie sowie Filme, in denen es um die Realität schwarzer Menschen weltweit geht.
 
Präsentation mit Syria Film Festival (SYFF) in GOETHE FILMS: „After Spring comes Fall”. Das Syria Film Festival richtet seinen Fokus darauf, die Bestrebungen von Syrern und die Schwierigkeiten, auf die sie stoßen, zu zeigen. Dabei möchte es auch Brücken bauen, Dialoge anregen und das Publikum in Fragen zu sozialer Gerechtigkeit, Menschenrechten und globalem Miteinander einbinden und durch die Unterstützung junger Filmtalente und Künstler die multikulturelle Identität Torontos bereichern.
 
Präsentation mit Jayu (Human Rights Film Festival) in GOETHE FILMS: „We are young. We are strong.”. Das Jayu Film Festival macht durch Kunst auf Menschenrechts-Stories aufmerksam und bietet so Menschen eine Plattform, um ihre Geschichten zu teilen.   
 
Präsentation mit Monthly Underground Female Film Society in GOETHE FILMS: Goethe Films Reihe „fHEISTy Women Robbing Banks”. Die Muff society versteht sich als feministische Film-Gesellschaft und unterstützt und fördert Frauen in Film & Fernsehen.
 
Präsentation mit Point of View Magazine (POV) in GOETHE FILMS: „Transit Camp Friedland”. Das POV Magazine ist ein  Magazin über Dokumentarfilme in Kanada.
 
Networking und Präsentation im Input Festival, einer gemeinnützigen Organisation von Fernseh-Programmmachern und Sendeanstalten, die jedes Jahr eine Konferenz über die Grenzen des Fernsehens unter dem Motto „storytelling in the public interest“ veranstaltet. 2016 fand die Konferenz in Calgary, Alberta, statt. Das Goethe-Institut ist offizieller Partner des Input Festivals.