Discussion "Mindful/Digital: Art and Cultural Resilience"

L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt. L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt.

Tue, 07/12/2016

Toronto Music Garden

479 Queens Quay W at Lower Spadina Ave
Toronto

International artists, experts & audiences in conversation about risk, resilience & resources

Presented by the Goethe-Institut & Harbourfront Centre

Global forces affect us all – join us for an outdoor dialogue between German & Canadian thinkers & makers to explore how arts, culture and nature can help us adapt to a world in flux.

Amid increasing challenges to societal resilience in the face of global mega-trends, the Goethe-Institut Toronto is hosting a summer conversation series on three evenings at Harbourfront Centre's Yo-Yo Ma Toronto Music Garden.

An artistic dialogue on "Mindful/Digital: Art & Cultural Resilience" closes this conversation series. Hamburg-based visual, media, sound and performance artist Annika Kahrs, who has recently completed a residency at the Cité Internationale des Arts in Paris discusses this topic.

Annika Kahrs was born in 1984, and studied fine arts in Hamburg, Braunschweig and Vienna, among others with Harun Farocki. Kahrs works in photography, film, music, and even with live animals in “A Song for the Birds” in commission for Situations' Bristol Art Weekender. In her video works on the dwarf planet Pluto she expressed an interest in how objects in a seemingly stable orbit are still subject to change. Her works have been exhibited at numerous prestigious arts exhibitions and museums, such as the Hamburger Bahnhof Berlin, the 5th Thessaloniki Biennale of Contemporary Art and the United Art Museum in Wuhan, China.

Open Minds will go out with a bang courtesy of award-winning Japanese rock band MunizO. The gifted 3-piece ensemble was formed in 2015 by Taro (vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboard), Jiro (vocals, acoustic guitar) and Yuta (drums). Their music touches on relationships amid societal fragmentation. Sample lyrics from "When I am on top of the world": "I know you inside out / 'Cause you read me upside down / Another reason why / we can never close this gap." You won't want to miss this high-energy pairing of mindful/digital artistic and musical practice.

Followed by an open forum with the presenters and audiences.

PROGRAM: Open Minds conversation series
  • June 14, 7:30pm: ”Art as an Early Warning System” 
    Double Keynote by designer Gesche Joost (Berlin) & futurist Sanjay Khanna (Toronto)
  • June 28, 7:30pm: ”We or I? Doing Good in a Digital World” 
    Double Keynote by media researcher Stephen Kovats (Berlin) & social entrepreneur Ilana Ben-Ari (Toronto)
  • July 12, 7:30pm: "Mindful/Digital: Art & Cultural Resilience"
    Keynote by artist Annika Kahrs (Hamburg) and performance by Japanese rock band MunizO (Toronto)
Curated by Jutta Brendemühl & Sanjay Khanna 
  • Free / fully accessible
  • BYOBlanket (or chairs if needed - limited seating) 
  • Please bring government photo ID if you want to borrow an accompanying Goethe-iPad
  • Please check our social media @GoetheToronto and @HarbourfrontTO in the afternoon for possible rain check announcement
TTC directions:
  • 510 Spadina streetcar south from Spadina Station to “Queen's Quay / Spadina Loop”, then walk west to the Music Garden
  • 510 Spadina streetcar from Union Station to "Queens Quay / Spadina Loop", then walk west to the Music Garden
  • 509 Harbourfront streetcar east from Exhibition Loop to “Dan Leckie Way", then cross the street to the Music Garden
  • 509 Harbourfront streetcar from Union Station to “Dan Leckie Way", then cross the street to the Music Garden
Thank you to Lufthansa Group for flying our participants.

Back

Diskussion "Mindful/Digital: Art and Cultural Resilience"

L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt. L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt.

Di, 12.07.2016

Toronto Music Garden

479 Queens Quay W at Lower Spadina Ave
Toronto

Internationale Künstler, Experten & Publikum im Gespräch über Risiken, Resilienz & Ressourcen

Präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut & dem Harbourfront Centre Toronto

Globale Kräfte beeinflussen jeden – nehmen Sie teil an einem Dialog im Freien zwischen deutschen und kanadischen Denkern und Machern, um zu erkunden wie Kunst, Kultur und Natur dabei helfen können, sich in einer ständig wandelnden Welt zurechtzufinden.

Ein Kunst-Wissenschafts-Dialog zum Thema "Mindful/Digital: Art and Cultural Resilience" schließt die Reihe ab. Die in Hamburg lebende Bild-, Ton-, Medien- und Performancekünstlerin Annika Kahrs, die gerade eine Residenz an der Cité des Arts in Paris abgeschlossen hat, spricht über dieses Thema.

Annika Kahrs, Jahrgang 1984, studierte bildende Kunst in Hamburg, Braunschweig und Wien, unter anderem bei Harun Farocki. Kahrs arbeitet mit Photographie, Film, Musik und sogar mit lebenden Tieren. In ihrer Videoarbeit über den Zwergplaneten Pluto offenbart sie Interesse daran, wie sich scheinbar in stabilen Bahnen befindliche Objekte doch verändern. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem im Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin, bei der 5. Biennale zeitgenössischer Kunst von Thessaloniki und im United Art Museum in Wuhan, China, ausgestellt.

Das Abschlussprogramm von Open Minds wird von der preisgekrönten japanischen Rockband MunizO gestaltet. Die Musik der begabten dreiköpfige Gruppe wurde 2015 von Taro (Vocals, Akustikgitarre, Keyboard), Jiro (Vocals, Akustikgitarre) und Yuta (Percussion) gegründet. Ihre Musik berührt soziale Themen wie Beziehungen vor dem Hintergrund gesellschaftlicher Fragmentierung. Text des Lieds "When I am on top of the world" als Beispiel: "I know you inside out / 'Cause you read me upside down / Another reason why / we can never close this gap." Diese dynamische Paarung achtsamer/digitaler künstlerischer und musikalischer Praxis ist nicht zu verpassen.

Gefolgt von einem offenen Forum mit den Referenten und dem Publikum.

Programm: Open Minds Konversations-Reihe
  • 14. Juni, 19.30 Uhr: ”Art as an early warning system” 
    Doppel-Keynote von Designerin Gesche Joost (Berlin) & Futurist Sanjay Khanna (Toronto)
  • 28. Juni, 19.30 Uhr: ”We or I? Doing good in a digital world” 
    Doppel-Keynote von Medienforscher Stephen Kovats (Berlin) & Sozial-Unternehmerin Ilana Ben-Ari (Toronto)
  • 12. Juli, 19.30 Uhr:„Mindful/Digital: Art and Cultural Resilience"
    Keynote von Künstlerin Annika Kahrs (Hamburg) und Performance der japanischen Rockgruppe MunizO (Toronto)
Kuratiert von Jutta Brendemühl & Sanjay Khanna
  • Rollstuhlgerecht
  • Eigene Decken mitbringen (oder, falls nötig, Stühle - einige Sitzplätze sind vorhanden) 
  • Bitte bringen Sie einen offiziellen Ausweis mit, wenn Sie ein Goethe-iPad mit Begleitinformationen leihen möchten
  • Bitte erkundigen Sie sich am Nachmittag der Veranstaltung auf unseren sozialen Medien @GoetheToronto und @HarbourfrontTO über mögliche wetterbedingte Änderungen
TTC Anfahrtsbeschreibung:
  • 510 Spadina Streetcar Süd von der Spadina Station zur Haltestelle “Queen's Quay / Spadina Loop”, gehen Sie dann Richtung Westen zum Music Garden
  • 510 Spadina Streetcar von der Union Station zur Haltestelle “Queen's Quay / Spadina Loop”, gehen Sie dann Richtung Westen zum Music Garden
  • 509 Harbourfront Streetcar Ost vom Exhibition Loop zur Haltestelle “Dan Leckie Way", überqueren Sie dann die Straße zum Music Garden
  • 509 Harbourfront Streetcar von der Union Station zur Haltestelle “Dan Leckie Way", überqueren Sie dann die Straße zum Music Garden 
Thank you to Lufthansa Group for flying our participants.

Zurück