Discussion "We or I? Doing Good in a Digital World"

L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt. L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt.

Tue, 06/28/2016

Toronto Music Garden

479 Queens Quay W at Lower Spadina Ave
Toronto

International artists, experts & audiences in conversation about risk, resilience & resources

Presented by the Goethe-Institut & Harbourfront Centre

Global forces affect everyone – join us for an outdoor dialogue between German & Canadian thinkers & makers to explore how arts, culture and nature can help us adapt to a world in flux.

Amid increasing challenges to societal resilience in the face of global mega-trends, the Goethe-Institut Toronto is hosting a summer conversation series on three evenings at Harbourfront Centre's Yo-Yo Ma Toronto Music Garden.

The second conversation on the theme of "We or I? Doing Good in a Digital World" features Stephen Kovats, the 2012 founding director of Berlin’s r0g_agency for open culture and critical transformation, a transnational non-profit organisation that helps create open systems solutions for sustainable, innovative and hybrid forms of development in post-conflict and rapid transformation regions. They are active in peacebuilding and open technology initiatives in the new state of South Sudan as well as Pakistan, and helped launch Transformaking - the Summit of Critical Making in Yogyakarta, Indonesia.
Complementing Stephen’s presentation is Ilana Ben-Ari, founder of Toronto-based Twenty One Toys, a company that makes toys that teach empathy. Ilana will speak about socially innovative design as a pathway to helping children and adults become more open and collaborative in the face of 21st-century challenges. Their joint topic is “We or I? Doing good in a digital World."

Stephen Kovats is a Berlin-based Canadian media researcher and former artistic director of transmediale, Berlin's festival for art and digital culture. In 2011, he initiated the McLuhan in Europe Centennial Network. Previously he curated the international program at V2_Institute for the Unstable Media, Rotterdam, helped lead the development of a new urban Master Plan for the Ethiopian capital Addis Ababa, and was director of the 'ostranenie' electronic media art forum at the Bauhaus Dessau. His interests are focused on open forms of digital collaboration, exploring the dynamic relationships between technological, political, and urban space and their application on the transformation of societal and cultural landscapes. His report on 'Open Systems Solution for Peace and Development' formed a thematic session at the first UNESCO WSIS+10 Review.

Ilana Ben-Ari grew up in Winnipeg and studied design at Carleton University in Ottawa. With her company Twenty-One Toys she is revolutionizing the way toys educate both children and adults. She has invented both the Empathy Toy and the upcoming Failure Toy. Ilana is also a curator for the website Education Revolution and has presented at the TEDxConcordia conference.

With a live TweetChat by Hal Niedzviecki, author of Trees on Mars: Our Obsession with the Future. Follow #OpenMinds @halpen @goethetoronto @JuttaBrendemuhl & join in!

Followed by an open forum with the presenters and audiences.

PROGRAM: Open Minds conversation series
  • June 14, 7:30pm: ”Art as an Early Warning System” 
    Double Keynote by designer Gesche Joost (Berlin) & futurist Sanjay Khanna (Toronto)
  • June 28, 7:30pm: ”We or I? Doing Good in a Digital World” 
    Double Keynote by media researcher Stephen Kovats (Berlin) & social entrepreneur Ilana Ben-Ari (Toronto)
  • July 12, 7:30pm: "Mindful/Digital: Art & Cultural Resilience"
    Keynote by artist Annika Kahrs (Hamburg) and performance by Japanese rock band MunizO (Toronto)
Curated by Jutta Brendemühl & Sanjay Khanna 
  • Free / fully accessible
  • BYOBlanket (or chairs if needed - limited seating) 
  • Please bring government photo ID if you want to borrow an accompanying Goethe-iPad
  • Please check our social media @GoetheToronto and @HarbourfrontTO in the afternoon for possible rain check announcement
TTC directions:
  • 510 Spadina streetcar south from Spadina Station to “Queen's Quay / Spadina Loop”, then walk west to the Music Garden
  • 510 Spadina streetcar from Union Station to "Queens Quay / Spadina Loop", then walk west to the Music Garden
  • 509 Harbourfront streetcar east from Exhibition Loop to “Dan Leckie Way", then cross the street to the Music Garden
  • 509 Harbourfront streetcar from Union Station to “Dan Leckie Way", then cross the street to the Music Garden
Thank you to Lufthansa Group for flying our participants.

Back

Diskussion "We or I? Doing Good in a Digital World"

L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt. L-R: Gesche Joost, courtesy G. Joost; Stephen Kovats, copyright r0g_agency; Sanjay Khanna, copyright S. Khanna; Muniz0, copyright Muniz0; Ilana Ben-Ari, copyright I. Ben-Ari; Annika Kahrs, copyright Helge Mundt.

Di, 28.06.2016

Toronto Music Garden

479 Queens Quay W at Lower Spadina Ave
Toronto

Internationale Künstler, Experten & Publikum im Gespräch über Risiken, Resilienz & Ressourcen

Präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut & dem Harbourfront Centre Toronto

Globale Kräfte beeinflussen jeden – nehmen Sie teil an einem Dialog im Freien zwischen deutschen und kanadischen Denkern und Machern, um zu erkunden wie Kunst, Kultur und Natur dabei helfen können, sich in einer ständig wandelnden Welt zurechtzufinden.

Angesichts ständig wachsender Herausforderungen für die gesellschaftliche Resilienz gegenüber globalen Megatrends lädt das Goethe-Institut Toronto zu einer Diskussionsreihe in den Yo-Yo Ma Toronto Music Garden beim Harbourfront Centre ein.

Am zweiten Dialog nimmt Stephen Kovats Teil, Gründer und Direktor der 2012 in Berlin geschaffenen r0g_agency für offene Kultur und kritische Transformation, eine transnationale non-profit Organisation, die dabei hilft, offene Systemlösungen für nachhaltige, innovative und hybride Entwicklungsformen für Konfliktgebiete zu kreieren. Die Agentur engagiert sich in der Friedensförderung und Offene-Technologie-Initiativen in dem neuen Staat Südsudan sowie in Pakistan und hat desweiteren geholfen, Transformaking, das Gipfeltreffen der kritischen Herstellung in Yogyakarta, Indonesien, ins Leben zu rufen.
Ergänzt wird seine Präsentation von Ilana Ben-Ari, Gründerin der in Toronto ansässigen Firma Twenty-One Toys, die mit Spielsachen Kindern Empathie nahe bringt. Ilana spricht darüber, wie sozial innovatives Design der Schlüssel dazu sein kann, Ideen zu präsentieren, die Kindern wie Erwachsenen helfen, sich den Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts offen und gemeinsam zu stellen.

Stephen Kovats ist ein in Berlin lebender kanadischer Kultur- und Medienforscher und früherer künstlerischer Direktor der transmediale, Berlins Festival für Kunst und digitale Kultur. 2011 startete er das McLuhan in Europe Centennial Network. Vorher kurierte er das internationale Programm des V2_Instituts für instabile Medien in Rotterdam, half 2000 bei der Entwicklung eines urbanen Masterplans für die äthiopische Hauptstadt Addis Abeba und war Direktor des ‚Ostranenie‘-Forums für elektronische Medienkünste im Bauhaus von Dessau während der 1990er-Jahre. Sein Bericht über offene Systemlösungen für Frieden und Entwicklung formte den Überbau einer thematischen Sitzung beim ersten UNESCO WSIS+10 Referat.
Ilana Ben-Ari wuchs in Winnipeg auf und studierte Design an der Carleton Universität in Ottawa. Mit Twenty-One Toys revolutioniert sie gerade die Art und Weise, auf die Spielsachen Kindern und Erwachsenen zugleich etwas lehren können. Sie hat sowohl das Empathy-Toy wie auch das bald erscheinende Failure-Toy erfunden. Ilana ist außerdem Kuratorin der Website Education Revolution und hat ihre Spielzeuge auf der TEDxConcordia Konferenz vorgestellt.

Gefolgt von einem offenen Forum mit den Referenten und dem Publikum.

Programm: Open Minds Konversations-Reihe
  • 14. Juni, 19.30 Uhr: ”Art as an early warning system” 
    Doppel-Keynote von Designerin Gesche Joost (Berlin) & Futurist Sanjay Khanna (Toronto)
  • 28. Juni, 19.30 Uhr: ”We or I? Doing good in a digital world” 
    Doppel-Keynote von Medienforscher Stephen Kovats (Berlin) & Sozial-Unternehmerin Ilana Ben-Ari (Toronto)
  • 12. Juli, 19.30 Uhr:„Mindful/Digital: Art and Cultural Resilience"
    Keynote von Künstlerin Annika Kahrs (Hamburg) und Performance der japanischen Rockgruppe MunizO (Toronto)
Kuratiert von Jutta Brendemühl & Sanjay Khanna
  • Rollstuhlgerecht
  • Eigene Decken mitbringen (oder, falls nötig, Stühle - einige Sitzplätze sind vorhanden) 
  • Bitte bringen Sie einen offiziellen Ausweis mit, wenn Sie ein Goethe-iPad mit Begleitinformationen leihen möchten
  • Bitte erkundigen Sie sich am Nachmittag der Veranstaltung auf unseren sozialen Medien @GoetheToronto und @HarbourfrontTO über mögliche wetterbedingte Änderungen
TTC Anfahrtsbeschreibung:
  • 510 Spadina Streetcar Süd von der Spadina Station zur Haltestelle “Queen's Quay / Spadina Loop”, gehen Sie dann Richtung Westen zum Music Garden
  • 510 Spadina Streetcar von der Union Station zur Haltestelle “Queen's Quay / Spadina Loop”, gehen Sie dann Richtung Westen zum Music Garden
  • 509 Harbourfront Streetcar Ost vom Exhibition Loop zur Haltestelle “Dan Leckie Way", überqueren Sie dann die Straße zum Music Garden
  • 509 Harbourfront Streetcar von der Union Station zur Haltestelle “Dan Leckie Way", überqueren Sie dann die Straße zum Music Garden 
Thank you to Lufthansa Group for flying our participants.

Zurück