Talk Wolfgang Bauer: crossing the sea with refugees

Photo of Wolfgang Bauer with the cover of his book © Heinz Heiss

Mon, 09/26/2016

Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec - Grande Bibliothèque

475 boul. de Maisonneuve Est
H2L 5C4 Montréal

Wolfgang Bauer - Crossing the Sea

Encounter with the author of “Crossing the sea – with Syrians on the Exodus to Europe”

The Mediterranean has now become one of the deadliest borders of history. To bear witness to this reality, German reporter Wolfgang Bauer, from the Die ZEIT weekly newspaper, secretly joined a group of Syrian refugees attempting to reach northern Europe. He suffered the anxiety of waiting, the cruelty of the smugglers and the brutality of the border guards; he saw the proximity of death, and a horizon that constantly shifts for some... while it seems so naturally gained for others.

Festival-goers are invited to meet this reporter, who has taken this experience and turned it into a powerful story, ending in a plea for a more humanitarian migration policy. The hard-hitting story of his journey is told in Crossing the sea, « a dry book, without pathos, and terribly moving », published by And Other Stories editor.

Moderation by Agnès Gruda, writer and journalist for La Presse.

This lecture is part of the global discussion/debate series « Kritikmaschine ». Organisers are the Goethe-Institut and Kursbuch, one of Germany’s leading intellectual magazines. Speakers include journalist Meredith Haaf on the new feminism, architect Friedrich von Borries on political design, historian Sabine Donauer on work in digital society, and Kursbuch editor Armin Nassehi on social criticism. Intellectuals from the respective guest countries will respond to the lectures. The event series seeks to confront mutually “otherised” perspectives with each other; it aims to search for new answer – and new questions.

In collaboration with the Festival international de la littérature and Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec.

Back

Begegnung Wolfgang Bauer: Über das Meer mit den Flüchtlingen

Photo von Wolfgang Bauer mit Einklapper des Covers der französischsprachigen Ausgabe seines Buches © Heinz Heiss

Mo, 26.09.2016

Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec - Grande Bibliothèque

475 boul. de Maisonneuve Est
H2L 5C4 Montréal

Wolfgang Bauer - Über das Meer

Begegnung mit dem Autor von "Über das Meer - Mit Syrern auf der Flucht nach Europa"

Das Mittelmeer ist aktuell zur tödlichsten Seegrenze der Welt geworden. Um dies zu dokumentieren, hat sich der deutsche Reporter Wolfgang Bauer einer Gruppe von syrischen Flüchtlingen auf ihrem Weg Richtung Nordeuropa angeschlossen. Er hat die Qualen des Wartens, die Grausamkeit der Schmuggler und die Brutalität der Grenzbeamten miterlebt; er hat die Nähe des Todes und die sich für die Flüchtlinge immer weiter vergrößernde Entfernung des Horizonts gespürt.

Die Festivalteilnehmer sind eingeladen den Autor kennenzulernen, der aus dieser Erfahrung eine mitreißende Reportage gemacht hat, die ein leidenschaftlicher Appell für eine humanitäre Flüchtlingspolitik geworden ist. Diese Reise ist in dem Buch „Über das Meer – mit Syrern auf der Flucht nach Europa“, verlegt im Suhrkamp Verlag, ergreifend aber ohne Pathos erzählt.

Präsentiert von Agnès Gruda, Schriftstellerin und Journalistin bei La Presse.

Der Auftritt von Wolfgang Bauer ist Teil der globalen Debattenreihe „Kritikmaschine“. Veranstalter sind das Goethe-Institut und das Kursbuch, eine der wichtigsten intellektuellen Zeitschriften Deutschlands. Unter anderem spricht die Journalistin Meredith Haaf über den neuen Feminismus, der Architekt Friedrich von Borries über politisches Design, die Historikerin Sabine Donauer über Arbeit in der digitalen Gesellschaft und der Soziologe und Kursbuch-Herausgeber Armin Nassehi über Gesellschaftskritik. Intellektuelle aus dem jeweiligen Gastland antworten auf den Vortrag. Die Veranstaltungsreihe will fremde Perspektiven miteinander konfrontieren, sie will nach neuen Antworten suchen – und nach neuen Fragen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Festival international de la littérature und Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec.

Zurück