Film Screening Deutscher Filmklub:
People on Sunday

Film Still of People on Sunday © Still courtesy of Janus Films

Fri, 04/26/2019

Goethe-Institut Toronto

100 University Ave, North Tower, 2nd Floor
Toronto

People on Sunday

Join us this month for our #DeutscherFilmklub. We will be showing People on Sunday by Robert Siodmak and Edgar G. Ulmer from a screenplay by Billy Wilder.

The German silent drama film People on Sunday not only is a work of the New Objectivity, but it is also one of the first independent films and an example of neorealism. This lightly scripted, loosely observational collage follows the life of four young Berliners on a Sunday in the late 1920s. The actors were amateurs, performing for the first time. The film is notable not only for its portrayal of daily life and employment culture in Berlin, but is pivotal as a historical document of the Weimar Republic.

Billy Wilder was an Austrian born American screenwriter, filmmaker and producer. In 1933, immediately after the rise of Adolf Hitler, Wilder left for Paris and later immigrated to the States. He is regarded as one of the most versatile filmmakers, stylistically shaping the comedy and drama genres. As director and screenwriter, he created timeless comedies like Some Like It Hot and One, Two, Three but also dramas such as Double Identity, Sunset Boulevard or Witness for the Prosecution.

2019 marks the centenary of Bauhaus, a German art school that was famous for its approach to design. To mark its history and significance, this year's #DeutscherFilmklub theme is, "Bauhaus and beyond." You are cordially invited to the screening and the discussion afterwards.

The film is in German with English subtitles. The event is free but space is limited, RSVP by emailing bib-toronto@goethe.de    
 

Back

Filmvorführung Deutscher Filmklub:
Menschen am Sonntag

Schwarz-weiß Filmfoto Menschen am Sonntag © Still courtesy of Janus Films

Fr, 26.04.2019

Goethe-Institut Toronto

100 University Ave, North Tower, 2. Stock
Toronto

Menschen am Sonntag

Diesen Monat zeigen wir in unserem #DeutscherFilmklub Menschen am Sonntag von Robert Siodmak, Edgar G. Ulmer, nach einem Drehbuch von Billy Wilder.

Der deutsche Stummfilm Menschen am Sonntag ist nicht nur ein Vertreter der Neuen Sachlichkeit im Film, sondern auch einer der ersten Independentfilme und Vorläufer des Neoliberalismus. Die halbdokumentarische Collage aus gespielten Szenen und sozialer Reportage zeigt das Leben von vier jungen Berlinern Ende der 1920er Jahre. Die Hauptdarsteller waren Amateure, die das erste Mal vor der Kamera standen. Der Film porträtiert einen alltäglichen Sonntagsausflug in Berlin, aber er bietet auch einen Einblick in die zu der Zeit typische Angestelltenkultur und ist ein historisches Dokument der Weimarer Republik.

Billy Wilder war ein US-amerikanischer Drehbuchautor, Filmregisseur und Filmproduzent österreichischer Herkunft. 1933, unmittelbar nach der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten, emigrierte Wilder zunächst nach Paris und schließlich in die USA. Wilder wirkte stilbildend für die Genres Filmkomödie und -drama und schuf als Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Komödien wie Manche mögen’s heiß und Eins, Zwei, Drei, aber auch dramatische Filme wie Frau ohne Gewissen, Sunset Boulevard oder Zeugin der Anklage.

2019 markiert das hundertjährige Bestehen von Bauhaus, einer deutschen Kunstschule, die für ihren Umgang mit Design bekannt wurde. Um seine Geschichte und Bedeutung zu betonen, wird das Thema des diesjährigen #DeutscherFilmklub „Bauhaus and Beyond“ sein. Sie sind herzlich eingeladen zur Filmvorführung und anschließenden Diskussion.

Der Film wird auf Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt. Der Eintritt ist frei, allerdings ist die Platzanzahl begrenzt, bitte melden Sie sich deshalb unter bib-toronto@goethe.de
 

Zurück