Visual arts in the public space Cultural identity or mere decoration?

In the public space of the city of Ouagadougou are located several monuments. These works of visual and architectural arts, for the vast majority of people, are requests of the government or private companies. We also notice some initiatives of some artists, notably, graffiti. Are these works related to a story or are they just for the beautification of the city?

The concept of visual arts in the public space began a long time ago; the presence of different monuments in Egypt or ancient Greece is proof of this. This situation has not changed over time. In Burkina Faso, the visual arts have largely found their place in the public and architectural spaces. Thus, several works acquired by the Burkinabe state or private investors find their roles in cities.
This concept went through a period of grace during the August 1983 Revolution, notably with the construction of several monuments. Examples of these are the Square or the Monument of African Filmmakers; The Battle of the Rails "Kon-menem Moogho, the Square "Naaba Koom" or the Monument of Hospitality and Welcome, the Yennenga Princess Square, etc.

These works made up of various materials: bronze, concrete, iron, etc. convey messages, the most recurrent being solidarity, forgiveness, hospitality, friendship, politics or events. The monuments are also raised to honour the memory of illustrious personalities of the country’s past and recent history. Primarily, all these monuments address the question of identity. They are also the expression of creativity, even if they are often produced on command.

Prosper Tiendrebéogo, director of the department of Fine and Applied Arts in Burkina Faso (DAPA)(1)  explained that ‘Art in public space is both a question of identity and especially an artistic expression, as well as for decoration. But here in Burkina, the works seem to be more a quest for identity, for affirmation.’ There is therefore an artistic expression in these works. Some are decorative and give a beauty, an emblem to the city. As such, Ouagadougou is recognized by the Monument of African Filmmakers or Naaba Koom.

Graffiti, often a favorite practice of the younger generation, are works of protest, which are not always meant to please and sometimes even scare the older generation. Here, the artist is an avant-gardist and he sets the tone with the chisel or the brush. The advent of the popular uprising in October 2014 (2)  resulted in a flourishing of these kinds of works in Ouagadougou.We must therefore say that in addition to being simply for embellishment or cultural identity, visual art in public space can also be a tool for protest.

Brief presentation and the history of some works in public spaces in Ouagadougou

A- Le Panthéon des martyrs

Constructed in Ouaga 2000 at the end of the Muammar Gaddafi Boulevard, this monument was raised to honour the memory of Burkinabes who had been particularly illustrious in the service of their motherland. Originally called Memorial to National Heroes, it was renamed on May 30, 2015 during the ceremony in which homage was paid to the victims of the popular uprising in Burkina in memory of those who died.

B- The Square or the Monument of AfricanFilmmakers
‘A dynamic shape, a rocket ready to fly to victory’, is the description given to this monument by the artist who designed it. Next to the central Town Hall of Ouagadougou, this monument, which was built in 1987 symbolizes the importance of the works of filmmakers. It was erected in their honour.

C- The Square “Naaba Koom” or the Monument of Hospitality and Welcome
Situated opposite the train station, it is a six-metre high domineering monument representing a woman carrying water to welcome foreigners arriving in Ouagadougou by train. This monument was erected in honour of Naaba Koom, one of the kings of Mossés (3), whose name it bears and under whose reign the railroad, built from Côte d'Ivoire, gets to Ouagadougou. It was in 1986 that this monument, named ‘Welcome Monument’, was erected.



1) Direction des arts plastiques et appliqués (DAPA) (= Directorate of Visual and Applied Arts) of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism of Burkina Faso. New management was born in 2012 from the split of a general direction, namely that of the performing arts, visual and applied arts. It contributes to the emergence of the visual arts sector by the implementation of a national policy on visual and applied arts. The authorities in charge of culture want to focus on some aspects of this sector. Management is considering a favouring of artistic creation, support for the structuring of this sector and the professionalization of its actors. Moreover, its goal is the promotion of the consumption of works of arts in and out of Burkina Faso.

2)  The popular uprising of 30th and  31th October 2014 against the former burkinabe President, Blaise Compaoré, which lead to his fleeing.

3)From the 11th until the 12th century, the first kingdoms of Mossis were built. The kingdom of Ouagadougou was the most influential and  its leader was the Mogho Naba, descendant of princesse Yennenga, mother of the mossi people. In French, it is called “Mossi”, while in the moré (mooré)- language you say “Moossé” (“moose” ; plural of “moaga”).

Bildende Kunst im öffentlichen Raum Kulturelle Identität oder einfach nur Dekoration?

Im öffentlichen Raum von Ouagadougou stehen einige Denkmäler, von denen die meisten Auftragsarbeiten der öffentlichen Verwaltung und von privaten Unternehmen sind. Einige davon gehen auf die Initiative gewisser Künstler zurück, vor allem die Graffitis. Haben diese Werke eine Verbindung zur Geschichte oder sind sie ganz einfach ein Versuch der Stadtverschönerung?

Wie man am Beispiel des antiken Ägyptens oder Griechenlands erkennen kann, ist das Konzept von bildender Kunst im öffentlichen Raum schon sehr alt. Daran hat sich im Laufe der Zeit nichts geändert. Auch in Burkina Faso haben Arbeiten von Künstlern längst ihren Platz im öffentlichen Raum gefunden. Vom Staat oder von privaten Investoren erworbene Werke gehören seit längerer Zeit zum Erscheinungsbild der Städte.
Gerade die Zeit während der Revolution im August 1987 war für die Umsetzung dieses Konzepts sehr günstig. Es entstanden vor allem mehrere Denkmäler, wie zum Beispiel das Monument zu Ehren afrikanischer Filmemacher; die „Schlacht der Schienen“ bzw. „Kon menem-moogho“, der Platz „Naaba Koom“; auch genannt das Denkmal der Gastfreundschaft und des Willkommens, der Square Princesse Yennenga usw.

Wiederkehrende Themen dieser aus Bronze, Beton oder Eisen hergestellten Werke sind Solidarität, Vergebung, Freundschaft, Politik oder auch historische Ereignisse. Mit ihnen soll außerdem das Andenken an herausragende Persönlichkeiten aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart in Ehren gehalten werden. Gemeinsam ist allen diesen Arbeiten, dass sie sich mit dem Thema Identität beschäftigen. Doch obwohl sie oft von den besonderen Auflagen ihrer Auftraggeber beeinflusst sind, zeugen sie zugleich auch von künstlerischer Kreativität.

„Die Kunst im öffentlichen Raum“, so der Direktor der Abteilung für bildende und angewandte Kunst von Burkina Faso (DAPA)(1) , Prosper Tiendrebéogo, „beschäftigt sich mit der Frage nach Identität und ist gleichzeitig vor allem Ausdruck künstlerischer Kreativität und des Bemühens um Verschönerung des öffentlichen Raums. Allerdings scheinen die Werke hier in Burkina Faso eher eine Suche nach Identität, nach Bestätigung darzustellen“. Diese Arbeiten zeugen demnach von einer künstlerischen Ausdruckskraft. Einige unter ihnen haben einen stark dekorativen Charakter und dienen als Wahrzeichen der Stadt. Typisch für die Stadt Ouagadougou ist zum Beispiel das Denkmal zu Ehren der Afrikanischen Filmemacher oder auch der Platz Naaba Koom. 

Die Wandmalereien oder Graffitis, eine bevorzugte Ausdrucksform vor allem der jüngeren Generation, können als Werke engagierter und fordernder Kunst bezeichnet werden, denn sie sollen nicht nur einfach gefallen. Diese moderne Ausdrucksform wird von der älteren, an konventioneller Kunst orientierten Generation, oft sehr kritisch beurteilt und manchmal sogar gefürchtet. In ihr drücken sich avantgardistische Künstler mit Meißel oder Pinsel aus. Die Volksaufstände vom Oktober 2014 (2)  haben zur Verbreitung solcher Kunstwerke in Ouagadougou sehr viel beigetragen.

Zusammenfassend wäre zu sagen, dass Werke der bildenden Kunst nicht nur gefallen oder zu einer nationalen und kulturellen Identität beitragen sollen, sondern zugleich auch eine besondere Form des künstlerischen Engagements darstellen. 

Geschichtliche Informationen zu einigen der Werke im öffentlichen Raum von Ouagadougou

A-    Das Pantheon der Märtyrer 
Dieses im Stadtviertel Ouaga 2000 am Ende des Boulevard Mouammar Kadhafi errichtete Denkmal wurde zu Ehren der Burkiner konzipiert, die sich im Dienste für ihr Land besonders ausgezeichnet haben. Das zuerst als Gedenkstätte für die Nationalhelden von Burkina Faso benannte Werk wurde am 30. Mai 2015 während der Feierlichkeiten zu Ehren der Opfer des Volksaufstandes von Burkina umbenannt. 

B-      Der Platz bzw. das Denkmal der Afrikanischen Filmemacher 
Mit einer dynamischen Form; wie eine Rakete, startbereit zum Sieg. So beschreibt der Künstler selbst das von ihm geschaffene Werk. Das 1987 neben dem Rathaus im Zentrum von Ouagadougou erbaute Denkmal soll die Werkzeuge der Filmemacher symbolisieren, die mit diesem Denkmal geehrt werden. 

C-     Der Platz „Naaba Koom“ oder das Denkmal der Gastfreundschaft und des Willkommens
Dieser Platz gegenüber dem Bahnhof wird dominiert von diesem sechs Meter hohen Denkmal. Es stellt eine Frau dar, die die Reisenden bei ihrer Ankunft in Ouagadougou mit Wasser empfängt. Der Platz entstand zu Ehren von Naaba Koom, einem der Mossi-Könige(3) , dessen Namen er trägt. Während seiner Regierungszeit erreichte die von der Elfenbeinküste ausgehende Eisenbahnlinie Ouagadougou. Dieses Empfangs-Denkmal wurde 1986
errichtet. 



1) Direction des arts plastiques et appliqués (DAPA) (= Direktion für bildende angewandte Künste) des Ministeriums für Kultur und Tourismus von Burkina Faso. Die DAPA entstand 2012 nach der Umstrukturierung der Generaldirektion für Bühnenkunst, bildende und angewandte Künste. Sie trägt zur Entwicklung auf diesem Gebiet durch die Einführung einer nationalen Politik im Bereich der bildenden und angewandten Künste beitragen. Die Beauftragten für Kulturpolitik wollen diesen Sektor mit verschiedenen Maßnahmen unterstützen, so durch eine Förderung des künstlerischen Schaffens, durch stärkere Strukturierung dieses Bereichs und durch die Professionalisierung seiner Akteure. Ihr Ziel ist außerdem die Förderung der Künste und die Unterstützung bei der Vermarktung von Kunstwerken in und außerhalb von Burkina Faso ganz allgemein. 

2) Der Volksaufstand vom 30. und 31. Oktober 2014 gegen den ehemaligen Präsidenten von Burkina Faso, Blaise Compaoré, der zu dessen Flucht geführt hat. 

3) Die ersten Königreiche der Mossis entstanden ab dem XI. und bis zum XII. Jahrhundert. Das Königreich Ouagadougou war das einflussreichste unter ihnen und stand unter der Herrschaft von Mogho Naba, einem Nachkömmling der Prinzessin Yennenga, Mutter des Volkes der Mossi. Im Französischen verwendet man „Mossi“,  in der Sprache moré (mooré) heißt es „Moossé“ („moose“, pl. von „moaga“).