2nd place for Cameroon at the International German Olympiad from July 15 - 28, 2018 in Freiburg, Germany

ido695 © Goethe-Institut Kamerun

Congratulations, Eya'a Souga!
For the first time in the history of the International German Olympiad, a participant from Cameroon or Africa-Sub-Saharan has won second place in the A2 category!
And despite the fact that Eya'a Souga, a pupil from the scientific branch of the Government school Mefou near Yaoundé, only learned German for two years during his school career. But this was years ago at a PASCH school in West Cameroon, where his passion for the German language began alongside his penchant for computer science.
"That is really a mad success  judges the accompanying teacher, Mrs. Meyo, in view of the fact that many participants from other world regions learn under much better conditions and to them the examination format is much more familiar.
"I wanted to win," says Eya'a Souga after his return, "but when I arrived in Freiburg and saw what was expected of us, I put myself under a lot of pressure and was very nervous. He smiles shyly and adds quietly: "But at least I made it to second place".
The program of the Olympics, in which 140 students from 73 countries took part, was hard Tobago for the two participants from Cameroon. Creating wall newspapers in a short time, presenting a topic independently and working on picture stories in a group are tasks they are not used to from the Cameroonian school system and which are difficult to organise in classes of up to 120 pupils with little material and aids.
On Eya'a Souga and Dountio, the second participant from Cameroon who goes to school at Lycée de Mendong in Yaoundé, the stay in Germany and the experiences at the IDO left a lasting impression. Dountio is very excited when he talks about Freiburg: "The first time out of Cameroon, my first flight, so many bicycles in Freiburg, meeting young people from all over the world, the Europapark, pedalo riding on Lake Titi, the concerts - everything, everything was great". The accompanying teacher nods and asks: "And was there nothing that you didn't like? - No, nothing," answers Dountio like a shot from the gun. - Yes," Eya'a Souga says decidedly, "the food. "Well, I liked it," Dountio happily replies, hesitates briefly - the accompanying teacher is standing next door - and then chats with a mischievous smile from the sewing box: "I also liked the German beer - I absolutely had to try it, of course not in the youth hostel, but outside. "And", Dountio gets enthusiastic, "how did I enjoy freedom? Going out without supervision, meeting with God and the world, strolling in the city". - Words that make the accompanying teacher, Mrs. Meyo, a little nervous and make her say apologetically: "We were separated", whereupon her two students begin to grin broadly.
Both students have made many friends all over the world and Mrs. Meyo also raves about the program for the accompanying teachers and the opportunity to meet so many colleagues from all over the world.
When the language comes on the country evening, all three burst out laughing. "We couldn't even talk about it," Mrs. Meyo snorts. "Yes", Dountio agrees with her, "everything went à la camerounais: completely different than planned". Eya'a Souga nods in agreement at first, but begins to snort outraged when he remembers that the accompanying teacher had suggested performing a traditional dance. "It's like being in a box of clothes a hundred years ago," Eya'a Souga explains, "such a crazy idea - people must think that we're pretty retarded! So he put on music from "Tenor", a hip Cameroonian rap star. And Dountio, who couldn't remember the agreed programme item on stage, took advantage of the opportunity and started rapping with the words: "We like to dance in Cameroon". - The evening was really was in a cheering and dancing atmosphere, and our three protagonist agreed on it, just like the whole stay.
 

  • Eya’a Souga © Goethe-Institut Kamerun
  • Idogal2 © Goethe-Institut Kamerun
  • Idogal3 © Goethe-Institut Kamerun

2. Platz für Kamerun bei der IDO vom 15 – 28. Juli 2018 in Freiburg

ido695 © Goethe-Institut Kamerun

Herzlichen Glückwunsch, Eya’a Souga!
Zum ersten Mal in der Geschichte der Internationalen Deutsch-Olympiade hat ein Teilnehmer aus Kamerun bzw. aus Afrika-Subsahara den zweiten Platz in der Kategorie A2 gewonnen!
Und das, obwohl Eya’a Souga als Schüler des naturwissenschaftlichen Zweigs des Lycée de Mefou nahe Yaoundé in seiner Schullaufbahn nur zwei Jahre Deutsch gelernt hat. Dies aber vor Jahren an einer PASCH-Schule in Westkamerun, wo seine Passion für die deutsche Sprache neben seinem Faible für Computerwissenschaften begann.
„Das ist wirklich ein wahnsinniger Erfolg“, urteilt die Begleitlehrerin, Frau Meyo, „angesichts der Tatsache, dass viele Teilnehmer/innen aus anderen Weltregionen unter viel besseren Bedingungen lernen und ihnen das Prüfungsformat viel vertrauter ist.“
„Ich wollte gewinnen.“, sagt Eya’a Souga nach seiner Rückkehr, „aber als ich in Freiburg ankam und sah, was alles von uns erwartet wurde, habe ich mich selbst stark unter Druck gesetzt und war sehr nervös“. Er lächelt schüchtern und fügt leise hinzu: „Aber den zweiten Platz habe ich immerhin geschafft.“
Dabei war das Programm der Olympiade, an der 140 Schüler/innen aus 73 Ländern teilnahmen, für die beiden Teilnehmer aus Kamerun alles andere als einfach. In kurzer Zeit Wandzeitungen erstellen, ein Thema eigenständig präsentieren und in einer Gruppe Bildergeschichten bearbeiten, sind Aufgaben, die sie aus dem kamerunischen Schulsystem nicht gewohnt sind und die in Klassen bis zu 120 Schüler/innen mit wenig Material und Hilfsmitteln auch schwer zu organisieren sind.
Auf Eya’a Souga und Dountio, den zweiten Teilnehmer aus Kamerun, der an der Lycée de Mendong in Yaoundé zur Schule geht, hat der Aufenthalt in Deutschland und die Erfahrungen auf der IDO einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen. Dountio ist ganz aufgekratzt, als er von Freiburg erzählt: „Das erste Mal raus aus Kamerun, mein erster Flug, so viele Fahrräder in Freiburg, Jugendliche aus aller Welt treffen, der Europapark, Tretboot fahren auf dem Titi-See, die Konzerte – alles, einfach alles war toll.“ Die Begleitlehrerin nickt und fragt: „Und gab es nichts, was euch nicht gefallen hat?“ – „Nein, gar nichts.“, antwortet Dountio wie aus der Pistole geschossen. – „Doch“, meint Eya’a Souga entschieden, „das Essen“. „Also ich fand’s gut.“, erwidert Dountio vergnügt, zögert kurz – die Begleitlehrerin steht nebenan – und plaudert dann mit einem verschmitzten Lächeln aus dem Nähkästchen: „Das deutsche Bier hat mir auch geschmeckt – das musste ich unbedingt probieren, natürlich nicht in der Jugendherberge, sondern draußen. „Und“, Dountio gerät ins Schwärmen, „wie habe ich die Freiheit genossen. Ohne Aufsicht rausgehen, sich mit Gott und der Welt treffen, in der Stadt stromern.“ - Worte, die die Begleitlehrerin, Frau Meyo, etwas nervös werden und sie entschuldigend sagen lassen: „Wir waren getrennt untergebracht.“, woraufhin ihre beiden Schüler breit zu grienen beginnen.
Beide Schüler haben viele Freunde in aller Welt gewonnen und auch Frau Meyo schwärmt vom Programm für die Begleitlehrer und der Möglichkeit, so viele Kolleg/innen aus aller Welt zu treffen.
Als die Sprache auf den Länderabend kommt, brechen alle drei in Gelächter aus. „Wir konnten uns ja gar nicht absprechen“, prustet Frau Meyo. „Ja“, pflichtet Dountio ihr bei, „alles lief à la camerounais: also vollkommen anders als geplant“. Eya’a Souga nickt zunächst zustimmend, beginnt aber empört zu schnauben, als er sich daran erinnert, dass die Begleitlehrerin vorgeschlagen hatte, einen traditionellen Tanz aufzuführen. „Wie aus der Klamottenkiste von vor hundert Jahren.“, entfährt es Eya’a Souga, „so eine Schnapsidee – da müssen die Leute doch denken, dass wir ziemlich zurückgeblieben sind!“ Also legte er Musik von „Tenor“ auf, einem angesagten kamerunischen Rap-Star. Und Dountio, der sich auf der Bühne partout nicht mehr an den abgesprochenen Programmpunkt erinnern konnte, nutzte die Gunst der Stunde und fing mit den Worten: „Wir tanzen gerne in Kamerun.“, an zu rappen. – Der Abend war „chaud“, sind sich alle drei einig, genauso wie der ganze Aufenthalt.

  • Eya’a Souga © Goethe-Institut Kamerun
  • Idogal2 © Goethe-Institut Kamerun
  • Idogal3 © Goethe-Institut Kamerun