Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Encounters in Cyprus
Having a Cypriot coffee with... performance artist, Horst Weierstall

Horst Weierstall
© CIPS / Marcos Gittis

The exhibition "Crossing Line Circle (Marking Time) Markierungen der Zeit" shows notations and drawings by Horst Weierstall who was the pioneer of performance art in Cyprus during the 1980s. The Goethe-Institut met him for a coffee at the Hotel Averof in Nicosia to find out what it is that connects him to the island.

Let's start with the most important question: how do you drink your coffee?

Horst Weierstall: Metrios. The Kafeneion was always a place of inspiration for my work. I often drank my coffee and took notes as I sat amongst men who played Tavli. Every day a line, every day a drawing.
 
You came to Cyprus in 1981. How has the country influenced your artistic work?

The situation in Cyprus was extreme at that time and Germany was still divided. Nicosia was the point of view in my search for the periphery, for my research of inner feelings, and a paradigm for the complexity that we feel in the Middle East. At that time I approached the place and the situation by drawing, including large-format floor drawings. This has resulted in a cycle of actions called Momentum.
 
How was the artistic landscape in Cyprus back then?

The old town of Nicosia is and has always been a breeding ground for artists. The terms “installation“ and “interaction“ were already known because there was always a strong contact with England but I was the first in Cyprus to perform installations and actions in public spaces.
 
And the reaction of the audience?

There were many who did not understand my 1989 performance at the Green Line, but I sensed that they felt something. Not rejection, but empathy. That was my intention. I wanted to achieve exactly that with the visitors to Momentum. A work of art is not only a thing BEING somewhere, but something to feel WITH each other.
 

  • Horst Weierstall 5 © CIPS / Marcos Gittis
  • Horst Weierstall 1 © CIPS / Marcos Gittis
  • Horst Weierstall 2 © CIPS / Marcos Gittis
  • Horst Weierstall 4 © CIPS / Marcos Gittis

 
What do you like about the Cypriots?

I like their flexibility when it comes to solving problems quickly. Sometimes they even unhinge bureaucracy to get there. The beautiful thing about Cyprus is that the country, despite her complexity and difficulties, is always an inspiring platform for creative work. What I did here I could not have done anywhere else.
 
And yet for half of your time you live in Germany.

I founded TheArtSpace , a place for interdisciplinary art, in Düsseldorf in 2010 with my daughter, Alexandra and I am a babysitter for my grandson whenever I am needed.
 
Is the current exhibition a comeback to Cyprus?

Maybe, I would be delighted if it were to be. My next installation will be for Eco Art, an Akamas project set within the framework of Pafos 2017 in April. The filmmakers, Nikolas Iordanous and Sylvia Nicolaides, have produced a documentary about my work and myself. The first part of the production is being shown right now at an exhibition at the Goethe-Institute. There will be an exhibition in November in Larnaca that will show every facet of my work – pictures, diaries, videos. In the future I would like to dedicate myself to the city of Larnaca – and with that I am once again back onto my favourite topic: researching the periphery.

Every Center a Periphery, 1987 Every Center a Periphery, 1987. Charcoal and enamel on canvas. 182x182 cm | © Horst Weierstall

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Begegnungen in Zypern
Auf einen Cyprus Coffee mit... dem Performance-Künstler Horst Weierstall

Horst Weierstall
© CIPS / Marcos Gittis

Am 22. März 2017 eröffnete die Ausstellung „Crossing Line Circle (Markierungen der Zeit) Marking Time“ mit Notaten und Zeichnungen von Horst Weierstall. In den 1980er Jahren war er der Pionier der Aktionskunst in Zypern. Das Goethe-Institut wollte wissen, was ihn mit der Insel verbindet und traf sich mit ihm auf einen Kaffee im Hotel Averof in Nikosia.

Beginnen wir mit der wichtigsten Frage – wie trinken Sie Ihren Kaffee?

Horst Weierstall: Metrios. Früher war das Kafeneion immer ein Inspirationsort für meine Arbeit. Ich saß oft zwischen den Männern, die Tavli spielten, trank meinen Kaffee und machte mir Notizen. Jeden Tag eine Zeile, jeden Tag eine Zeichnung. 

Sie sind 1981 nach Zypern gekommen. Wie hat das Land Ihre künstlerische Arbeit beeinflusst?

Horst Weierstall: Die Situation in Zypern war damals extrem, Deutschland noch geteilt. Nikosia war mein Standpunkt auf der Suche nach der Peripherie, mein Forschungsgrund innerer Befindlichkeiten und ein Paradigma für die Komplexität, die wir im nahen Osten spüren. Damals habe ich mich dem Ort und der Situation durch Zeichnen genähert, aber auch schon mit großformatigen Bodenzeichnungen. Daraus hat sich ein Zyklus von Aktionen entwickelt mit dem Titel Momentum.

Wie sah damals die Kunstlandschaft in Zypern aus?

Horst Weierstall: Die Altstadt von Nikosia ist und war stets ein Nährboden für Künstler. Die Begriffe Installation und Interaktion waren damals auch schon bekannt, es gab ja immer viel Kontakt mit England. Aber ich war der erste in Zypern, der Installationen und Aktionen im öffentlichen Raum gemacht hat.

Und die Reaktion des Publikums?

Horst Weierstall: Bei der Performance 1989 an der Greenline gab es viele, die es nicht verstanden, aber die etwas dabei empfanden. Keine Ablehnung, sondern Empathie. Das war ja mein Ansinnen. Durch Momentum wollte ich im Besucher genau das bewirken. Ein Kunstwerk ist nicht nur etwas DA-seiendes, sondern etwas MIT-einander Empfindendes.

 
  • Horst Weierstall 5 © CIPS / Marcos Gittis
  • Horst Weierstall 1 © CIPS / Marcos Gittis
  • Horst Weierstall 2 © CIPS / Marcos Gittis
  • Horst Weierstall 4 © CIPS / Marcos Gittis
 

Was mögen Sie an den Zyprioten?

Horst Weierstall: Ich mag die Flexibilität, wenn es darum geht, schnell etwas zu lösen. Dabei wird manchmal die Bürokratie aus den Angeln gehoben. Das schöne an Zypern ist ja, dass das Land trotz Komplexität und Schwierigkeiten immer eine inspirierende Plattform für kreative Arbeit ist. Was ich hier gemacht habe, hätte ich nirgendwo anders machen können.

Und trotzdem leben Sie inzwischen zur Hälfte wieder in Deutschland.

Horst Weierstall: Mit meiner Tochter Alexandra habe ich 2010 TheArtSpace in Düsseldorf gegründet, einen interdisziplinären Kunstraum. Und außerdem kümmere ich mich gern um meinen Enkel, wenn ein Babysitter gebraucht wird.

Ist die aktuelle Ausstellung wieder ein Sprung zurück nach Zypern?

Horst Weierstall: Möglicherweise, es würde mich freuen. Im April folgt schon eine Installation für Eco Art, ein Akamas-Projekt im Rahmen von Pafos 2017. Die Filmemacher Nikolas Iordanous und Sylvia Nicolaides produzieren eine Dokumentation über mich und meine Arbeit, deren erster Teil übrigens auch jetzt bei der Ausstellung im Goethe-Institut vorgestellt wird. Im November wird es in Larnaka eine Ausstellung geben, die alle Medien meines Schaffens zeigt – Bilder, Tagebücher, Videos. Überhaupt möchte ich mich künftig der Stadt Larnaka widmen und damit bin ich wieder bei meinem Thema: Bei der Erforschung der Peripherie.


Every Center a Periphery, 1987 Every Center a Periphery, 1987. Charcoal and enamel on canvas. 182x182 cm | © Horst Weierstall

Top