Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Interview
Chelsea Leventhal, sound artist

Chelsea Leventhal
Photo: Douglas Henderson

Interview with Chelsea Leventhal, 33 years old, sound artist

You have lived in the USA, in Paris, in Germany; you travel a lot- does a change of location help you be creative?

That’s actually crucial for me, for two reasons. On the one hand, as a composer, it is always important to visit various institutions in order to get an overview of different approaches, techniques and technological possibilities. On the other hand, my works are often more location-specific and therefore much more inspired by new environments and situations than by a studio practice.

You are a composer for electro-acoustic music-can you describe visually what lies beneath? Perhaps with an example?

Most of the time, I record sounds and develop multichannel fixed-media compositions. These are then presented in a public space as installations. A recent example is a sound installation of new chamber music for the Wittener Tage, which deals with sounds of fire and flame. For example, I have used recordings of a fireplace, sparklers or a casserole for the composition. In addition, for a section, I recorded and edited certain playing techniques of a double bass, trumpet and flute in order to recreate the sound of a slow burning fire. This 6 channel composition was played by custom-made speakers equipped with infrared light and placed outside in a circle.

What inspires you in unknown or new places?

Every place, every community, has a very distinctive sound. This can be something like the ringing of church bells, but also very unique sounds, which are necessary for different types of communication or are part of the rhythm of everyday life. The sound researcher R. Murray Schafer calls these “keynote sounds,” which are heard daily by all people who live in an “acoustic arena”. Also, these sounds are different in every society and in every city.

In July you are a guest of the “Interfaces Residency” in Nicosia. What did you set as an artistic goal for this period?

I am currently very interested in the connection between sound installations in public spaces, and specifically the work with “field recordings”, and the psycho-geographic approach developed by Guy Debord.  It is about the influence of the architectural or geographical environment on the perception and behaviour of people. This research approach has been used by several writers and visual artists. I want to reinforce this connection in my work, and I think Nicosia is a fascinating place to undertake such a compositional reflection.

Have you been to Cyprus before?

I have never been to Cyprus and so far I have only researched it and talked to a few people. It is very important to me that I keep an open mind and really take the time to discover the city of Nicosia. I will certainly have my recording device with me.

Within only four weeks, how can you capture the sound of a city and turn it into a work of art?

From my experience, you need to get a full picture of the city as quickly as possible, but then focus on a smaller but essential aspect, and in particular a location, in the city.

Where and when can we hear the result?

All works that will be created during the residency will be played at different locations on 26 July, 2018.

Interfaces Residency for Electronic Music Artists

The project is organized by the Interfaces Network and the European University Cyprus. There are a total of 10 composers/musicians/sound artists participating in the residency in July 2018, creating new works in Nicosia.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Interview
Chelsea Leventhal, Klangkünstlerin

Chelsea Leventhal
Chelsea Leventhal | Foto: Douglas Henderson

Interview mit Chelsea Leventhal, 33 Jahre, Klangkünstlerin

Du hast in den USA gelebt, in Paris, in Deutschland, bist viel unterwegs – hilft ein Ortswechsel, um kreativ zu sein?

Das ist sogar entscheidend für mich und zwar aus zwei Gründen. Zum einen ist es als Komponistin immer wichtig, verschiedene Institutionen zu besuchen, um sich einen Überblick über unterschiedliche Ansätze, Techniken und technologische Möglichkeiten zu verschaffen. Zum anderen sind meine Arbeiten selbst öfter ortsbezogen und daher viel eher von neuen Umgebungen und Situationen inspiriert als von einer Studiopraxis.

Du bist Komponistin für elektroakustische Musik – kannst du bildhaft beschreiben, was sich dahinter verbirgt? Vielleicht mit einem Beispiel?

Meistens nehme ich Klänge auf und entwickle mehrkanalige fixed-media Kompositionen daraus. Diese werden dann im öffentlichen Raum als Installationen aufgeführt. Ein jüngeres Beispiel ist eine Klanginstallation für die Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik, die sich mit Klängen von Feuer und Flamme beschäftigten. Ich habe beispielsweise Aufnahmen von einem Kamin, Wunderkerzen oder einem Schmortopf für die Komposition verwendet. Außerdem habe ich aber auch für einen Abschnitt bestimmte Spieltechniken von Kontrabass, Trompete und Flöte aufgenommen und bearbeitet, um den Klang eines langsam ausgehenden Lagerfeuers nachzubauen. Diese 6-Kanal Komposition wurde durch speziell angefertigte Boxen abgespielt, die mit Infrarotlicht ausgestattet waren und draußen in einem Kreis standen.

Was inspiriert dich an unbekannten oder neuen Orten?

Jeder Ort, jede Gemeinschaft hat einen ganz speziellen Klang. Das kann sowas sein wie das Läuten von Kirchenglocken, aber auch ganz einzigartige Klänge, die für unterschiedliche Arten von Kommunikation oder den Rhythmus des Alltags nötig sind. Der Klangforscher R. Murray Schafer nennt das „keynote sounds“, also „Schlüsselklänge“, die von allen Menschen, die eine „Acoustic Arena“ bewohnen, täglich gehört werden. Und diese Klänge sind in jeder Gesellschaft und in jeder Stadt anders.

Im Juli bist du als Teilnehmerin der „Interfaces Residency“ in Nikosia zu Gast. Was hast du dir für diesen Zeitraum als künstlerisches Ziel gesetzt?

Gerade bin ich sehr interessiert an der Verbindung zwischen Klanginstallationen im öffentlichen Raum bzw. der Arbeit mit „Field Recordings“ und dem psychogeographischen Ansatz, der von Guy Debord entwickelt wurde. Dabei geht es um den Einfluss der architektonischen oder geografischen Umgebung auf die Wahrnehmung und das Verhalten der Menschen. Dieser Forschungsansatz wurde schon von mehreren Schriftstellern und bildenden Künstlern verwendet. Ich möchte diese Verbindung in meiner Arbeit verstärken und ich finde, Nikosia ist ein faszinierender Ort, um so eine kompositorische Betrachtung vorzunehmen.

Warst du bereits vorher in Zypern?

Ich war noch nie in Zypern und habe bis jetzt nur recherchiert und mit ein paar Leuten gesprochen. Sehr wichtig ist für mich, meine Erwartungen ziemlich offen zu halten und mir wirklich die Zeit zu nehmen, um die Stadt Nikosia zu entdecken. Ganz sicher mit einem Aufnahmegerät in der Hand.

Wie kann es gelingen, innerhalb von nur vier Wochen den Sound einer Stadt einzufangen und zu einem Kunstwerk zu verarbeiten?

Aus meiner Erfahrung heraus muss man sich so schnell wie möglich ein Gesamtbild von der Stadt machen, sich aber dann auf einen kleineren, aber wesentlichen Aspekt bzw. einen bestimmten Ort in der Stadt konzentrieren.

Wo und wann können wir das Ergebnis hören?

Alle Werke, die während der Residency entstehen, werden am 26. Juli 2018 an verschiedenen Orten zu hören sein.

Interfaces Residency for Electronic Music Artists

Das Projekt wird von dem Interfaces Network und der European University Cyprus organisiert. Es gibt insgesamt 10 Komponisten/Musiker/Klangkünstler, die im Juli 2018 an der Residency teilnehmen und neue Arbeiten in Nikosia schaffen.

Top