Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Berlinale Selection 2020 – Banner

Film Series: 14.–22.11.2020
Berlinale Selection 2020

In addition to the Venice International Film Festival and Cannes Film Festival, the Berlinale is one of the most famous European film festivals. Over the years, the Berlinale has developed into a place for intercultural encounters and a platform for critical cinematic discussion of social issues. Even this year, on its 70th anniversary, the Berlinale has made advances in the area of diversity and equality. The Berlinale is now the first film festival to introduce gender-neutral awards and to bring parity into the newly arranged management level.

With the Berlinale Selection 2020, the Goethe-Institut Cyprus is continuing a film series presenting a selection of the best new German language films of the year every autumn. You will have the opportunity to watch films that were produced in Germany and offer an insight into social issues through the medium of film.

The six films that the Goethe-Institut Cyprus selected this year are presented on three different theme nights on the weekends as well as throughout the week.

On the first evening, the films Sisters Apart (German: Im Feuer) and House Without Roof (German: Haus ohne Dach) show stories about siblings who grew up in Germany instead of their country of birth, because of their parents flight to Germany. Family ties and loyalty lead them into tricky situations and they discover hidden family secrets.

The theme night with No Hard Feelings (German: Futur Drei) and Cocoon (German: Kokon) addresses the self-discovery of homosexual teenagers as well as the refugee issue.

Finally, on the third theme night, the documentaries Walchensee Forever and Automotive show women in very different working environments. In the 100-year-old excursion café at Lake Walchensee, which has been run by the women of one family for several generations, we take a look back at their family history throughout the change of time. The film Automotive looks into the future, into the working world of the fully automated and rapidly developing automotive industry and shows two dissimilar women of a generation in which everyone will sooner or later become replaceable.


Movies

Scene from the film "Sisters Apart" © Pallas Film, Match Factory Productions, View Master Films

Drama
Sisters Apart

93 minutes // 2020 // Director: Daphne Charizani

Scene from the film "House Without Roof" © missingFILMs

Drama
House Without Roof

117 minutes // 2016 // Director: Soleen Yusef

Scene from the film "No Hard Feelings" © Edition Salzgeber, Jünglinge Film

Coming-of-Age
No Hard Feelings

92 minutes // 2020 // Director: Faraz Shariat

Scene from the film "Cocoon" © Edition Salzgeber, DFF

Coming-of-Age
Cocoon

95 minutes // 2020 // Director: Leonie Krippendorff

Scene from the film "Walchensee Foreve" © Flare Film

Documentary
Walchensee Forever

110 minutes // 2020 // Director: Janna Ji Wonders

Scene from the film "Automotive" © Jonas Heldt

Documentary
Automotive

80 minutes // 2020 // Director: Jonas Heldt


Tickets and Program


Archive


Social Media

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Berlinale Selection 2020 – Banner

Filmreihe: 14.–22.11.2020
Berlinale Selection 2020

Neben den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Venedig und Cannes ist die Berlinale eines der bekanntesten Europäischen Filmfestivals. Über die Jahre hat sich die Berlinale zu einem Ort der interkulturellen Begegnung und zu einer Plattform kritischer filmischer Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftlichen Themen entwickelt. Auch dieses Jahr hat sich die Berlinale zu ihrem 70. Jubiläum im Bereich Diversität und Gleichstellung weiterentwickelt. Als erstes Film Festival hat die Berlinale geschlechtsneutrale Preise eingeführt und die Führungsebene wurde paritätisch besetzt.

Mit der Berlinale Selection 2020 setzt das Goethe-Institut Zypern eine Filmreihe fort, die jedes Jahr im Herbst eine Auswahl der besten neuen deutschsprachigen Filme des Jahres zeigt. Zu sehen sind Filme, die in Deutschland entstanden sind und aktuelle gesellschaftliche Themen durch das Medium Film erlebbar machen.

Die sechs Filme, die das Goethe-Institut Zypern in diesem Jahr ausgewählt hat, werden an drei Themenabenden an den Wochenenden und über eine Woche hinweg präsentiert.

Am ersten Abend werden mit Im Feuer und Haus ohne Dach Geschichten über Geschwister gezeigt, die auf Grund der Flucht ihrer Eltern nicht in ihrem Geburtsland sondern in Deutschland aufgewachsen sind. Familiäre Verbundenheit und Treue bringt sie in heikle Situation und lässt sie verborgene Familiengeheimnisse entdecken.

Der Filmeabend mit Futur Drei und Kokon spricht die Selbstfindung von homosexuellen Jugendlichen und das Flüchtlingsthema an.

Schließlich werden am dritten Abend mit den Dokumentarfilmen Walchensee Forever und Automotive‚ Frauen in sehr unterschiedlichen Arbeitswelten gezeigt. Im 100 Jahre alten Ausflugcafés am Walchensee, das über mehrere Generationen von den Frauen einer Familie geführt wird, werfen wir einen Blick zurück auf ihre Familiengeschichte im Wandel der Zeit. Automotive wirft einen Blick nach vorne, in die Arbeitswelt der voll automatisierten und sich rasant entwickelnden  Automobilindustrie und zeigt zwei ungleiche Frauen einer Generation, in der früher oder später jede*r ersetzbar wird.


Filme

Szene aus dem Film „Im Feuer“ © Pallas Film, Match Factory Productions, View Master Films

Drama
Im Feuer

93 Minuten // 2020 // Regie: Daphne Charizani

Szene aus dem Film „Haus ohne Dach“ © missingFILMs

Drama
Haus ohne Dach

117 Minuten // 2016 // Regie: Soleen Yusef

Szene aus dem Film „Futur Drei“ © Edition Salzgeber, Jünglinge Film

Coming-of-Age
Futur Drei

92 Minuten // 2020 // Regie: Faraz Shariat

Szene aus dem Film „Kokon“ © Edition Salzgeber, DFF

Coming-of-Age
Kokon

95 Minuten // 2020 // Regie: Leonie Krippendorff

Szene aus dem Film „Walchensee Foreve“ © Flare Film

Dokumentarfilm
Walchensee Forever

110 Minuten // 2020 // Regie: Janna Ji Wonders

Szene aus dem Film „Automotive“ © Jonas Heldt

Dokumentarfilm
Automotive

80 Minuten // 2020 // Regie: Jonas Heldt


Tickets und Programm


Archiv


Soziale Medien

Top