Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Social Sculptures
Beuys100

From April to October 2021 the Goethe-Institut Cyprus is celebrating Beuys' 100th birthday with an event series curated by Marina Christodoulidou, consisting of a workshop for artists, an exhibition, film screenings and a discussion with Rhea Thönges-Stringaris, art historian and friend of Beuys.

Banner Social Sculptures BEUYS100

Joseph Beuys: Campaign 7000 oaks. documenta 7 (1982) © documenta archiv /Photo: Dieter Schwerdtle / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021 Joseph Beuys (12 May 1921 – 23 January 1986) is widely regarded as one of the most important and influential artists of the second half of the 20th century. He was a German Fluxus, happening, and performance artist as well as a painter, sculptor, installation artist, graphic artist, art theorist, and pedagogue. His extensive work is grounded in concepts of humanism, social philosophy and anthroposophy; it culminates in his "extended definition of art" and the idea of social sculpture as a Gesamtkunstwerk, for which he claimed a creative, participatory role in shaping society and politics. His career was characterized by open public debates on a very wide range of subjects including political, environmental, social and long-term cultural trends.

Workshop

The Social Sculptures event series kicked off with a workshop for local artists, which started in April and continued in September 2021. The impactful term social sculpture, which Beuys developed in the early 1970s, is centred on the belief that art could include the entire process of living – thoughts, actions, conversation, and objects – and could be enacted collectively by a wide range of people, beyond artists.

Social Sculptures: 10-day workshop for artists

Exhibition

The exhibition features the practices of artists Spyros Anastasiou, Mehveş Beyidoğlu, Stella N. Christou, Eirene Constantinou, Rafaella Constantinou, Marietta Mavrokordatou, Andreas Papamichael, Simone Philippou, Zoe Polycarpou, Korallia Stergides and Nicolina Stylianou. Their artistic approaches employ different media, comprising of sound, sculpture, engraving, photography, installation, performance, some of which are participatory, and so forth. Yet they share a departure from the concept of ‘artwork’, unveiling within and drifting throughout hybrid forms and processes of art-making.

The works and actions created for the exhibition present social sculpture in its diversity and plurality, as acted and mediated through the participants' encounter and exchange. Sculpture is explored as a metaphor of movement, a metaphor we live by as society. Metaphor in its etymological sense to “transfer”, or “carry across”, seems to rearticulate the relationship between plurality and discursive practices through which the idea of movement occurs.  Social Sculptures’ movement carries across compositions of reality, not because it reflects the aim or will of an individual and a singular artistic act, but because it derives from collaborative praxis, which is enacted and restaged. By sharing ways to get closer to the unceasingly forming and reforming of social compositions we are part of, the featuring artists grasp the notions of ‘social’ and ‘sculpture’ in their plasticity and resilience.

Social Sculptures: Exhibition

Beuys in Film

Audiences will have the opportunity to get to know Beuys and his work through a selection of films.

More information on the screening programme and the films

A black&white photo. From left to right Rudolf Bahro, Joseph Beuys and Rhea Thönges-Stringaris are seated on a stage. In the background you can see the rear part of a grand piano. © Archiv Rhea Thönges-Stringaris

Art historian Rhea Thönges-Stringaris on Joseph Beuys

Social sculpture is the groundwork of an ongoing research that adapts to the political, social, and environmental situation of a given time and place. In between chaos and structure, there is movement; this movement was mediated by Beuys as the theory of sculpture, mentions Rhea Thönges-Stringaris in a recent discussion with curator Marina Christodoulidou. Movement in sculpture was shaped by social compositions and his belief that everyone is an artist and can react and move creatively. Reflecting on the social sculpture term, Thönges-Stringaris suggests: artists and creatives carry means to observe and respond to situations, and can practise and do it well, but the awareness of what surrounds us, is necessary to be present within ourselves and outside of our bodies.


Video series: #aboutbeuys

International artists deal with the heritage of Joseph Beuys.

Screenshot  © Armin Mühsam

#aboutbeuys
Armin Mühsam

“Marcel Duchamp's silence is overrated”. Beuys wrote this sentence on a sheet of paper during a live television broadcast in 1964. The action was part of a Fluxus performance and referred to the Fluxus artists' debate on ''Duchamp's concept of art''. In his video, Armin Mühsam contrasts the legacy of the two artists.
 


More about Joseph Beuys

Joseph Beuys (left, with felt hat) at the 1980 Green Party convention in Dortmund. Photo (detail): © picture-alliance / Sven Simon

Joseph Beuys
“Beuys wanted democracy to be effective”

Joseph Beuys’ art was often political, as was the artist himself. What exactly was his stance though? Beuys co-founded the Green Party, but also met up with former Nazi comrades. Above all, he was a pragmatist, according to Bettina Paust, head of the city of Wuppertal’s cultural office and author of a new handbook on Beuys’ work.

7000 Oaks – City Forestation Instead of City Administration: Dennhäuser Strasse, a social sculpture by Joseph Beuys, presented in 1982 at the documenta 7 in Kassel Photo (detail): Baummapper (CC-BY-SA-3.0)

Joseph Beuys and the Will to Act
What if chopping down a tree were tantamount to murder?

Joseph Beuys was a multi-faceted artist whose ideas still have an impact today. We talked to a Beuys expert, Eugen Blume, about the artist’s interventions to promote the environmental movement and show us humans that every one of us can take action. 

Never without a hat: Joseph Beuys at the documenta 7 in Kassel, 1982. Photo (detail): © picture-alliance / akg-images / Niklaus Stauss

Joseph Beuys
Fat, felt and legends

In May 2021, Germany is celebrating a special art centenary on what would have been legendary artist Joseph Beuys’ 100th birthday. We look at what made the provocative lateral thinker tick.

Joseph Beuys pushed boundaries – as here at a 1972 protest against his own art academy – and influenced the generations of artists that followed. Photo (detail): © picture alliance/dpa/Bernd Müller

The art of Joseph Beuys
Shaping society like a sculpture

Joseph Beuys was a draftsman, sculptor, performance and installation artist, teacher, politician, and activist – and one of the most important artists of the 20th century. His art continues to have an impact today.


Goethe-Institut projects worldwide

Beuys will be Beuys © Eugen Korda

Slovakia
Beuys will be Beuys

Joseph Beuys is a special chapter in art history, and in 2021 we will celebrate the 100th anniversary of the birth of one of the most influential and controversial artists of the 20th century. Who was and who is Beuys today?

The exhibition “Beuys verstehen” (“Understanding Beuys”) will be presented by the Goethe-Institutes of Warsaw and Prague. Illustration (detail): © ZAUBAR/Imago

Polen und Tschechien
Beuys verstehen

Der von Joseph Beuys entwickelte erweiterte Kunstbegriff ist für die Arbeit der Goethe-Institute weltweit ein Maßstab der internationalen Kulturarbeit und eine Inspiration, über den ästhetischen Rahmen einer virtuellen Ausstellung zum Verständnis von politischen, sozialen und ökologischen Inhalten und Fragestellungen des Künstlers im Jubiläumsjahr beizutragen.

Joseph Beuys © Courtesy Video Data Bank of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago

USA
100 Years of Joseph Beuys

Joseph Beuys would have turned 100 in 2021. In celebration, we’ve gathered events on Beuys from our colleagues and partners in the region — and included some 2021 perspectives on the artist’s work.

100 Years Joseph Beuys © Mimmo Jodice and the CODA Museum, CC BY 3.0, Detail and Sepia

Tokyo
100 Years Joseph Beuys

On the occasion of the 100th birthday and 35th anniversary of the death of Joseph Beuys, the Goethe-Institut Tokyo is exploring the question in events and projects: What is the significance of the artist's work and agenda today?

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Social Sculptures
Beuys100

Von April bis Oktober 2021 feiert das Goethe-Institut Zypern Beuys´ 100. Geburtstag mit einer von Marina Christodoulidou kuratierten Veranstaltungsreihe, bestehend aus einem Künstlerworkshop, einer Ausstellung, Filmvorführungen und einem Gespräch mit Rhea Thönges-Stringaris, Kunsthistorikerin und Freundin von Beuys.

Banner Social Sculptures BEUYS100

Joseph Beuys: Aktion 7000 Eichen. documenta 7 (1982) © documenta archiv / Foto: Dieter Schwerdtle / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021 Joseph Beuys (12. Mai 1921 – 23. Januar 1986) gilt als einer der bedeutendsten und einflussreichsten Künstler der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Bekannt als ein deutscher Fluxus-, Happening- und Performance-Künstler sowie Maler, Bildhauer, Installationskünstler, Grafiker, Kunsttheoretiker und Pädagoge. Seine umfangreiche Arbeit basiert auf Konzepten des Humanismus, der Sozialphilosophie und der Anthroposophie. Ihren Höhepunkt findet diese in der „erweiterten Definition von Kunst“ und der Idee, der sozialen Skulptur als Gesamtkunstwerk, für die er eine kreative und partizipative Rolle bei der Gestaltung von Gesellschaft und Politik beanspruchte.

Workshop

Die Eventserie Social Sculptures, startete im April mit einem Workshop mit lokalen Künstlern, der im September 2021 fortgesetzt wurde. Der einflussreiche und von Beuys in den 1970ern geprägte Begriff der sozialen Skulptur, beruht auf der Überzeugung, dass Kunst den gesamten Lebensprozess – Gedanken, Verhalten, Unterhaltungen und Objekte – umfasst und kollektiv von einer Vielzahl von Menschen und nicht nur von Künstlern entstehen kann.

Social Sculptures: 10-Tage Workshop für Künstler*innen

Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung zeigt die Arbeiten folgender Künstler: Spyros Anastasiou, Mehveş Beyidoğlu, Stella N. Christou, Eirene Constantinou, Rafaella Constantinou, Marietta Mavrokordatou, Andreas Papamichael, Simone Philippou, Zoe Polycarpou, Korallia Stergides und Nicolina Stylianou. Ihre künstlerischen Ansätze bedienen sich unterschiedlicher Medien, darunter Ton, Skulptur, Gravur, Fotografie, Installation, Performance und mehr. Manche dieser gewählten Ansätze sind partizipatorisch. Gemeinsam ist ihnen jedoch, dass sie sich vom Konzept des „Kunstwerks“ entfernen und sich in hybriden Formen und Prozessen des Kunstschaffens entfalten und treiben lassen.

Die für die Ausstellung geschaffenen Werke und Aktionen zeigen die soziale Skulptur in ihrer Vielfalt und Pluralität, wie sie durch die Begegnung und den Austausch der Teilnehmer entwickelt wurde. Die Skulptur wird als Metapher der Bewegung erforscht, eine Metapher, mit der wir als Gesellschaft leben. Die Metapher in ihrer etymologischen Bedeutung von „übertragen“ oder „herübertragen“ scheint die Beziehung zwischen Pluralität und diskursiven Praktiken, durch die die Idee der Bewegung entsteht, neu zu artikulieren.  Die Bewegung von Social Sculptures überträgt Kompositionen der Realität, nicht weil sie das Ziel oder den Willen eines Individuums und eines singulären künstlerischen Akts widerspiegelt, sondern weil sie aus einer kollaborativen Praxis stammt, die inszeniert und neu inszeniert wird. Indem sie Wege aufzeigen, wie wir uns den sozialen Kompositionen, deren Teil wir sind, annähern können, begreifen die beteiligten Künstler die Begriffe „sozial“ und „Skulptur“ in ihrer Plastizität und Widerstandsfähigkeit.

Social Sculptures: Ausstellung

Beuys im Film

Das Publikum hat die Möglichkeit, Beuys und sein Werk anhand einer Auswahl von Filmen kennenzulernen.

Weitere Informationen zum Vorführungsprogramm und den Filmen

Ein schwarz-weißes Foto. Von links nach rechts Rudolf Bahro, Joseph Beuys und Rhea Thönges-Stringaris sitzen auf einer Bühne. Im Hintergrund erkennt man den hinteren Teil eines Flügels. © Archiv Rhea Thönges-Stringaris

Die Kunsthistorikerin Rhea Thönges-Stringaris über Joseph Beuys

Social Sculpture ist die Grundlage einer kontinuierlichen Forschung, die sich an die politische, soziale und ökologische Situation einer bestimmten Zeit und eines bestimmten Ortes anpasst. Zwischen Chaos und Struktur gibt es Bewegung; diese Bewegung wurde von Beuys als Theorie der Skulptur vermittelt, erwähnt Rhea Thönges-Stringaris in einem kürzlich geführten Gespräch mit der Kuratorin Marina Christodoulidou.

Die Bewegung war geprägt von sozialen Kompositionen und seiner Überzeugung, dass jeder Mensch ein Künstler ist und kreativ reagieren und sich bewegen kann. Mit Blick auf den Begriff der sozialen Skulptur meint Thönges-Stringaris: „Künstler und Kreative verfügen über die Mittel, Situationen zu beobachten und darauf zu reagieren, und können dies auch gut praktizieren, aber das Bewusstsein für das, was uns umgibt, ist notwendig, um in uns selbst und außerhalb unseres Körpers präsent zu sein.“


Videoreihe: #aboutbeuys

Internationale Künstler*innen beschäftigen sich mit dem Erbe von Joseph Beuys.

Screenshot  © Armin Mühsam

#aboutbeuys
Armin Mühsam

„Das Schweigen von Marcel Duchamps wird überbewertet“. Diesen Satz schrieb Beuys auf einem Papierbogen während einer Live-Sendung im Fernsehen 1964. Die Aktion war ein Teil einer Fluxus - Vorführung und bezog sich auf die Auseinandersetzung der Fluxus-Künstler*innen mit Duchamps Kunstbegriff. In seinem Video stellt Armin Mühsam das Vermächtnis der beiden Künstler gegenüber.
 
 


Mehr über Joseph Beuys

Joseph Beuys (links mit Filzhut) beim Parteitag der Grünen 1980 in Dortmund. Foto (Detail): © picture-alliance / Sven Simon

Joseph Beuys
„Beuys wollte, dass Demokratie wirksam wird“

Joseph Beuys’ Kunst war oft politisch, und er selbst war es auch. Doch welche Haltung vertrat er? Beuys gründete die Partei Die Grünen mit, zeigte sich aber zugleich mit alten Nazi-Kämpfern. Vor allem war er Pragmatiker, sagt Bettina Paust, die das Kulturbüro der Stadt Wuppertal leitet und gerade ein Handbuch zu Beuys’ Wirken herausgegeben hat.

7000 Eichen – Stadtverwaldung statt Stadtverwaltung - Dennhäuser Straße, eine Soziale Plastik von Joseph Beuys, gestartet 1982 auf der documenta 7 in Kassel Foto (Detail): Baummapper (CC-BY-SA-3.0)

Joseph Beuys und der Wille zu handeln
Was wäre, wenn das Fällen eines Baumes einem Mord gleichkommen würde?

Joseph Beuys hatte viele Facetten und seine Ideen wirken bis heute. Mit dem Beuys-Experten Prof. Dr. Eugen Blume reden wir über Beuys‘ Willen, die ökologische Bewegung voranzubringen und uns Menschen zu zeigen: Wir alle können handeln.

Künstler mit Hut: Joseph Beuys auf der documenta 7 in Kassel, 1982. Foto (Detail): © picture-alliance / akg-images / Niklaus Stauss

Joseph Beuys
Fett, Filz und Mythen

2021 feiert Deutschland ein besonderes Kunst-Jubiläum: Der legendäre Künstler Joseph Beuys wäre in diesem Mai 100 Jahre alt geworden. Was den provokanten Querkopf ausmachte.

Joseph Beuys ging an Grenzen – wie hier 1972 beim Protest gegen die eigene Kunsthochschule – und beeinflusste damit die Künstler*innengenerationen nach ihm. Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/dpa/Bernd Müller

Die Kunst des Joseph Beuys
Die Gesellschaft wie eine Plastik formen

Joseph Beuys war Zeichner, Bildhauer, Aktions- und Installationskünstler, Lehrer, Politiker, und Aktivist – und einer der bedeutendsten Künstler*innen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Wie seine Kunst bis heute nachwirkt.


Projekte der Goethe-Institute

Beuys will be Beuys © Eugen Korda

Slowakei
Beuys will be Beuys

Joseph Beuys ist ein besonderes Kapitel der Kunstgeschichte, im Rahmen dessen wir in 2021 das 100. Geburtstagsjubiläum eines der einflussreichsten und kontroversesten Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts feiern. Wer war und wer ist Beuys heute?

„Beuys verstehen“ ist der Titel einer virtuellen Galerie der Goethe-Institute Warschau und Prag. Grafik (Ausschnitt): © ZAUBAR/Imago

Polen und Tschechien
Beuys verstehen

Der von Joseph Beuys entwickelte erweiterte Kunstbegriff ist für die Arbeit der Goethe-Institute weltweit ein Maßstab der internationalen Kulturarbeit und eine Inspiration, über den ästhetischen Rahmen einer virtuellen Ausstellung zum Verständnis von politischen, sozialen und ökologischen Inhalten und Fragestellungen des Künstlers im Jubiläumsjahr beizutragen.

Joseph Beuys © Courtesy Video Data Bank of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago

USA
100 Jahre Joseph Beuys

2021 wäre Joseph Beuys 100 Jahre alt geworden. Wir haben Veranstaltungen zu Beuys von unseren Kolleg*innen und Partnern in der Region gesammelt – und einige Perspektiven aus 2021 auf das Werk des Künstlers zusammengestellt.

100 Jahre Joseph Beuys © Mimmo Jodice and the CODA Museum, CC BY 3.0, Ausschnitt und Sepia

Tokyo
100 Jahre Joseph Beuys

Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstags und 35. Todestags von Joseph Beuys geht das Goethe-Institut Tokyo in Veranstaltungen und Projekten der Frage nach: Welche Bedeutung haben Werk und Agenda des Künstlers heute?

Top