Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
UnmannedMolleindustria & No Media Kings, 2012

Games and Politics

Games and Politics is a series of events by the Goethe-Institut Cyprus, which deals with the role and relevance of games and gaming in society.


A game is always more than just a game. Without considering the influence of the society that plays it, it remains just as impossible to understand as without considering its influence on that society. Just among Germans, 42% of the population now regularly click their way through digital game worlds, of which 53% are men and 47% women. Revenues in the computer games sector now far surpass those in the film industry.


The effects of this development are becoming apparent: Like other media, computer games permit themselves to be harnessed by the political interests of any faction. Game designers are turning toward new themes and target audiences. Artists are using the medium in order to open its functions up to scrutiny and to explore where the boundary of games now lie. And the big museums are discovering computer games as cultural property, which is meant to be collected and preserved. Reflections on the phenomenon of computer games from the perspective of cultural sciences, however, continue to be few and far between in the discourse of art institutions.


Exhibition "Games and Politics"

The Goethe-Institute´s exhibition Games and Politics is intended to close this gap, at least in part. Games and Politics was produced in 2016 and is based on the exhibition Global Games by the ZKM (Zentrum für Kunst und Medien) in Karlsruhe, Germany. The exhibition curators selected politically ambitious computer games, created between 2004 and 2016, and which explore the limits and possibilities of the genre. Computer games conceive of themselves not merely as a (re-)presentation of social conditions and conflicts, but attempt to simulate the processes and rules that give rise to these conflicts.

The interactive exhibition Games and Politics includes eighteen computer games, of which sixteen can be played. Visitors become players and experience firsthand how the games affect them. The games deal with topics such as media criticism, migration, power relations, gender roles and militarism on an artistic level. They are complemented by three documentaries on the subject.


Playthroughs and Discussion

What a reading is for literature, a "playthrough" is for computer games. On three evenings, selected games are played live, the course of the game is classified and commented on by Cypriot and German experts, and questions from the audience are answered. The award-winning games Papers, Please! and Orwell as well as Perfect Woman are presented and discussed. While the simulation of bureaucracy, Papers, Please!, deals with working at the border crossing of a dictatorial regime, Orwell deals with the dystopic consequences of digital surveillance technology and Perfect Woman humorously investigates the question of what distinguishes a perfect woman.

Osmotic Studios I 2016

The video game Orwell: Keeping an Eye on You by Osmotic Studios throws the player into a world where surveillance is part of everyday life. In the fictional state "The Nation", which is led by the dictatorial regime called “The Party”, citizens are spied on by the surveillance system “Orwell". Through this surveillance system, so-called “Investigators” and their "Advisors" filter and evaluate the communication of suspected persons. The particular twist: The Investigators sit outside of “The Nation”, as spies recruited abroad. The player takes on the role of an investigator who should analyze the data of suspects after a terror attack. In the process the player is never fully aware of all the incidents, but is dependent on the information and instructions given by the advisor. Quickly the question arises: who is spying on whom.

Peter Lu & Lea Schönfelder | 2014

The game Perfect Woman deals playfully with the diverse and often conflicting expectations of society towards the role of women.

The player runs through the life of a woman from birth to death, divided into different parts. At the beginning of each part the player can choose between four options with different difficulty levels. The role model proposals differ from the cliché as a princess (medium difficulty) to a more atypical role like a Pro Gamer (easy) or as a Minister of Foreign Affairs (difficult).

Next, tracked by Kinect the player must use their movements to bend into the positions required by the simulator – no easy task depending on the chosen role. Players learn the hard way: each of women's roles requires twisting and bending in order to fulfil it. Simultaneously the game allows the player to create their own version of a “Perfect Woman” – consisting of many different facets.

Lucas Pope I 2013

In the videogame Papers, please! the player takes the role of a border guard in the dictatorial regime Arstotzka. People are waiting in long queues at the border to enter Kolechia. Based on a rulebook the player has to decide who to allow and who to deny entry. The player must verify whether the information given on the papers is true, whether the people are lying or could pose a terrorist threat. Should the player make a mistake, this could lead to sanctions like wage deductions, resulting to starvation and illness for their family. In the course of the game its rules become more complicated and the histories of those wishing to enter Kolechia more complex. Is the man with the expired work visa really just a harmless family man? Does the woman with the invalid passport really just want to visit her sick mother? The guard, in a position of power, is torn between their consciousness and fear for their existence.


Programme

Due to unforeseen circumstances that resulted in significant delays in the delivery of the Games and Politics exhibition in Cyprus, the opening event is postponed from Wednesday 18th September to Thursday 19th  September at 7:30 p.m. We apologize for any inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you at our events.

19.09.2019, 7:30 pm
Opening

With guided tour and introductory film

20.09.–16.10.2019
Interactive exhibition

Opening hours: Mon.–Fri. 10 am–8 pm
Closed: 1st and 3rd October 2019

20.09.2019, 7:30 pm
Returning Fire

The limits of reality and play
Film screening

25.09.2019, 7:30 pm
Orwell

Playthrough and discussion

02.10.2019, 7:30 pm
Perfect Woman

Playthrough and discussion

04.10.2019, 7:30 pm
GTFO

Women and video games
Film screening

10.10.2019, 7:30 pm
Papers, Please!

Playthrough and discussion

16.10.2019, 7:30 pm
Finissage

Finissage and Film screening WarGames

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
UnmannedMolleindustria & No Media Kings, 2012

Games and Politics

Games and Politics ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe des Goethe-Instituts Zypern, die sich mit der gesellschaftlichen Rolle und Relevanz von Games und Gaming beschäftigt.


Denn ein Spiel ist nie bloß ein Spiel. Es ist ebenso wenig ohne den Einfluss der Gesellschaft zu verstehen, die spielt, wie ohne die Einwirkung auf diese Gesellschaft. Allein in Deutschland klicken sich 42 Prozent der Einwohner*innen regelmäßig durch digitale Spielwelten, davon sind 53 Prozent Männer und 47 Prozent Frauen. Inzwischen haben die Umsätze der Computerspielbranche jene der Film-Industrie weit übertroffen.


Nicht ohne Folgen: Computerspiele lassen sich – wie andere Medien auch – als willige Zugpferde politischer Interessen aller Lager vor den Karren spannen. Gamedesigner*innen wenden sich neuen Themen und Zielgruppen zu. Künstler*innen nutzen das Medium, um seine Funktionsweise zur Beobachtung freizugeben und die Grenzen des Spiels auszuloten. Die großen Museen entdecken das Computerspiel als Kulturgut, das es zu sammeln und zu bewahren gilt. Kulturwissenschaftliche Reflektionen über das Phänomen „Computerspiel“ sind aber im Diskurs der Kunstinstitutionen noch immer rar gesät.


Ausstellung „Games and Politics“

Mit der Ausstellung Games and Politics möchte das Goethe-Institut diese Lücke zumindest teilweise schließen. Games and Politics entstand 2016 und basiert auf der Ausstellung Global Games des ZKM (Zentrum für Kunst und Medien) Karlsruhe. Die Ausstellungskuratoren wählten politisch ambitionierte Computerspiele aus, die zwischen 2004 und 2016 entstanden sind und die Grenzen und Möglichkeiten des Genres ausschöpfen. Computerspiele verstehen sich nicht nur als Bildfläche gesellschaftlicher Zu- und Missstände, sondern versuchen mit einer Simulation der Prozesse und Regeln, diese Missstände hervorbringen.

Die interaktive Ausstellung Games and Politics beinhaltet achtzehn Computerspiele, von denen sechzehn gespielt werden können. Die Besucher werden zu Spielern und machen ihre eigene Erfahrung, wie die Spiele auf sie wirken. Die Spiele setzen sich auf künstlerischer Ebene mit Themen wie Medienkritik, Migration, Machtverhältnissen, Geschlechterrollen und Militarismus auseinander. Ergänzt werden sie durch drei Dokumentationen zu dem Thema.


Spielungen und Diskussionen

Was eine Lesung für Literatur ist, ist eine „Spielung“ für Computerspiele. An drei Abenden werden ausgewählte Spiele live vorgespielt, der Spielverlauf von zyprischen und deutschen Experten eingeordnet und kommentiert sowie die Fragen des Publikums beantwortet. Gezeigt und diskutiert werden die preisgekrönten Spiele Papers, Please! und Orwell sowie Perfect Woman. Während die Bürokratie-Simulation Papers, Please! die Arbeit am Grenzübergang eines diktatorischen Regimes thematisiert, setzt sich Orwell mit den dystopischen Folgen digitaler Überwachungstechnologie auseinander und Perfect Woman geht auf humorvolle Weise der Frage nach, was eine perfekte Frau auszeichnet.

Osmotic Studios I 2016

Das Videospiel Orwell: Keeping an Eye on You wirft die Spieler*innen in eine Welt, in der Überwachung Alltag ist. Im fiktiven Staat „Die Nation“, der von einer autoritären Regierung namens „Die Partei“ geführt wird, werden über das nationale Überwachungssystem „Orwell“ Bürger von sogenannten „Investigators“, die die Kommunikation von verdächtigen Personen filtern und auswerten, und ihren „Advisors“ ausspioniert. Der besondere Twist: Die Investigators sitzen außerhalb von „The Nation“, als im Ausland angeworbene Spione. Die Spieler_innen schlüpft in die Rolle eines Investigators, der nach einem Terroranschlag die Daten von Verdächtigen auswerten soll. Dabei ist er nie voll im Bilde über die Ereignisse, sondern von den Anweisungen und Informationen seines Advisors abhängig. Schnell stellt sich die Frage, wer wen überwacht.

Peter Lu & Lea Schönfelder | 2014

Das Spiel Perfect Woman setzt sich spielerisch mit den unterschiedlichen und oft widerstreitenden Erwartungen auseinander, die die Gesellschaft an Frauenrollen stellt.

Die Spieler*innen durchlaufen ein Frauenleben vom Mutterleib bis ins Grab, das in verschiedenen Abschnitten unterteilt ist. Zu Beginn jedes Abschnitts können die Spieler aus vier Optionen mit verschiedenen Schwierigkeitsgraden wählen. Die Rollenvorschläge decken dabei eine breite Palette von Klischees wie Prinzessin (mittelschwer) bis zu eher untypischen Rollen wie Pro Gamer (leicht) oder Außenministerin (schwer) ab.

Anschließend muss der*die Spieler*in über Kinect-Erfassung mit seinen Bewegungen die gewählte Figur in die vom Simulator geforderten Positionen biegen – je nach gewählter Rolle keine leichte Aufgabe. Man erfährt am eigenen Leib: Jede Frauenrolle erfordert es, sich mehr oder weniger zu verbiegen, um sie zu erfüllen. Gleichzeitig erlaubt das Spiel jedem, seine eigene Version einer „Perfect Woman“ zu kreieren – bestehend aus vielen unterschiedlichen Facetten.

Lucas Pope I 2013

Im Videospiel Papers, please! schlüpft der*die Spieler*in in die Rolle eines Grenzbeamten des autoritären Staates Arstotzka. In einer langen Schlange warten Menschen am Grenzübergang zu Kolechia darauf, einreisen zu können. Anhand eines Regelhandbuchs muss der Spieler entscheiden, welche Personen er einreisen lässt und welche er abweist. Er muss überprüfen, ob die Angaben in den Papieren stimmen, ob die Leute lügen oder gar eine Gefahr als Terroristen darstellen könnten. Irrt er sich, kann das zu Sanktionen wie Lohnabzügen und als Folge davon Hunger und Krankheit für seine Familie bedeuten. Im Verlauf des Spieles werden die Regeln immer komplizierter, die Geschichten der Einreisenden immer komplexer. Ist der Mann mit dem abgelaufenen Arbeitsvisum wirklich nur ein harmloser Familienvater? Will die Frau mit dem ungültigen Pass wirklich nur ihre kranke Mutter besuchen? Der Beamte in seiner Machtposition wird hin- und hergerissen zwischen seiner Menschlichkeit und der Angst um die eigene Haut.


Rahmenprogramm

Auf Grund von unvorhersehbaren Verzögerungen bei der Lieferung der Games and Politics Ausstellung in Zypern wird die Eröffnung von Mittwoch, den 18. September, auf Donnerstag, den 19. September, verschoben und startet um 19:30 Uhr. Wir bitten Sie, die Unannehmlichkeiten zu entschuldigen und freuen uns, Sie bei unseren Veranstaltungen begrüßen zu können.

19.09.2019, 19:30 Uhr
Eröffnung

Mit Führung und Einleitungsfilm

20.09.–16.10.2019
Interaktive Ausstellung

Öffnungszeiten: Mo.–Fr. 10:00–20:00 Uhr
Geschlossen: 1. und 3. Oktober 2019

20.09.2019, 19:30 Uhr
Returning Fire

Die Grenzen von Realität und Spiel
Filmvorführung

25.09.2019, 19:30 Uhr
Orwell

Spielung und Diskussion

04.10.2019, 19:30 Uhr
GTFO

Frauen und Computerspiele
Filmvorführung

16.10.2019, 19:30 Uhr
Finissage

Finissage und Filmvorführung WarGames

Top