Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Horst Weierstall – Exhibition
The Book of Tides

Horst Weierstall – Exhibition
Photo: Goethe-Institut

The wall installation is a contribution to the artistic examination of the theme Space, Interspace, Line and the Ambivalence of Division.

By Horst Weierstall

The project consists of two parts:

  • Painting and aphorisms
  • Text transcriptions from diaries from 2019/20

The flexible arrangement of the pictorial elements allows participatory perception and reading, and can thus be experienced as a walk-through book. It is timeless, but it is also, through its form, content and the open design, of temporary duration.

The basic idea of a formal reduction in my work goes back to early actions and drawings in which the cross, circle and line functioned as form and symbol carrier. See my publication From Sign to Action, Moufflon Pubications 2004.

How to reassemble the divided, the broken, the crack? This question came up for me in the working process of this project. Like borders, cracks and edges are also parts of the whole. In Japanese, the filling of shards or cracks is called 'Kintsugi'. "Are perhaps the shards the symbolism of all symbolisms?" asks Miko Sophie Kuehmel. And Gustave Flaubert wrote in 1876 in reference to literature, "After all, I believe that form and background are two intricacies, two entities that never exist without each other."

The aphorisms in the exhibition, like the motifs, are closely linked to my diaries, notations and drawings. In March 2017, the Goethe-Institut Nicosia showed Markings of Time ­­­– crossing, line, circle, a selection of these diary works.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Horst Weierstall – Ausstellung
Das Buch der Gezeiten

Horst Weierstall – Ausstellung
Foto: Goethe-Institut

Die Wandinstallation ist ein Beitrag zur künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Raum, Zwischenraum, Linie und die Ambivalenz von Spaltung.

Von Horst Weierstall

Das Projekt besteht aus zwei Teilen:

  • Malerei und Aphorismen
  • Texttranskriptionen aus Tagebüchern von 2019/20

Die flexible Anordnung der Bildelemente ermöglicht eine partizipierende Wahrnehmung und Lesart und kann somit als ein begehbares Buch erfahren werden. Es ist zeitlos aber auch durch Form, Inhalt und durch die offene Gestaltung von temporärer Dauer.

Die Grundidee einer formalen Reduzierung in meinen Arbeiten geht auf frühe Aktionen und Zeichnungen zurück, in denen Kreuz Kreis Linie als Form und Symbolträger fungierten, siehe meine Publikation Vom Zeichen zur Aktion, Moufflon Pubications 2004.

Wie das Geteilte, Zerbrochene, den Riss wieder zusammenfügen? Diese Frage stellte sich für mich im Arbeitsprozess dieses Projektes: Wie Grenzen sind auch Risse und Ränder Teil eines Ganzen. Im Japanischen heißt das Kitten von Scherben oder Rissen ‚Kintsugi‘. „Sind vielleicht die Scherben die Symbolik aller Symbolik?“, Miko Sophie Kuehmel. Gustave Flaubert schrieb 1876 bezogen auf die Literatur „Schließlich glaube ich, dass Form und Hintergrund zwei Feinheiten sind, zwei Einheiten, die niemals ohne einander existieren.“

Die Aphorismen in der Ausstellung sind wie die Motive eng mit meinen Tagebüchern, Notationen und Zeichnungen verbunden. Im März 2017 zeigte das Goethe-Institut Nikosia unter dem Titel Markierungen der Zeit – crossing, line, circle, eine Auswahl dieser Tagebucharbeiten.

Top