Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

In conversation with Jens Georg Bachmann
From the heart may it go to the heart

Jens Georg Bachmann
Jens Georg Bachmann | Photo (Detail): Alex Phenlon

His works are still omnipresent and continuously topical even 250 years after his birth. The Cyprus Symphony Orchestra is celebrating this important anniversary for the music world and mankind with a series of concerts of Beethoven’s works in 2020. On this occasion we had the opportunity to talk to the director and chief conductor of the CySO, Jens Georg Bachmann.

How could Beethoven be described in 3 words?

Visionary, revolutionary, humanist.

In what sense was Beethoven innovative for his time?

After Haydn and Mozart, he was the one who, on the one hand, radically expanded the use of instruments (e.g. on the piano or: the kettledrum had never had such a relevant role in music history). On the other hand, he placed human emotions at the centre of musical expression in a universally valid way. He connected music and humanism forever.

What significance does Beethoven have for us today?

Beethoven’s music is an integral, central component of our classical music culture. His musical language is universal. He is a musical globalist in the best sense. This means that 250 years after his birth, the emotional message and meaning of his music has remained relevant and timeless.

How will the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra celebrate Beethoven’s 250th birthday?

With a complete cycle: we will perform all 9 symphonies in the calendar year 2020, all piano concertos, the violin concerto, triple concerto and at Easter, in association with all music high schools in the country, the Choral Fantasy!

In addition to the performance of Beethoven’s symphonies, your programme also includes a family concert and the project with the music students. What is the best way to bring the music of Beethoven and other classical composers closer to the young generation?

By opening up to them the universal language of music and showing them the emotional relevance his music has for everyone. More specifically, we want to share Beethoven’s passion and our passion with young people. Or, as Beethoven said, “From the heart may it go to the heart.”

How do Cypriot audiences react to or receive Beethoven’s music?

No more differently than anywhere else. His music remains a magnet for audiences, and with the international and Cypriot soloists, we are delighted to be able to offer something exciting, varied and always stimulating for one and all at every concert. We are all very much looking forward to these concerts and I hope you are too!

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Gespräch mit Jens Georg Bachmann
Von Herzen möge es zu Herzen gehen

Jens Georg Bachmann
Jens Georg Bachmann | Foto (Ausschnitt): Alex Phenlon

Noch 250 Jahre nach seiner Geburt sind seine Werke allgegenwärtig und anhaltend aktuell. Das Cyprus Symphony Orchestra feiert dieses wichtige Jubiläum für die Musikwelt und die Menschheit, mit einer Konzertreihe von Beethovens Werken im Jahr 2020. Aus diesem Anlass waren wir mit dem Intendanten und Chefdirigenten des CySO – Jens Georg Bachmann – im Gespräch.

Wie könnte man Beethoven mit drei Wörtern beschreiben?

Visionär, revolutionär, humanistisch.

In welchem Sinn war Beethoven innovativ für seine Zeit?

Nach Haydn und Mozart war er derjenige, der einerseits den Umgang mit den Instrumenten radikal erweiterte (z. B. auf dem Klavier oder: die Pauke hatte nie eine so relevante Rolle in der Musikgeschichte) sowie andererseits die menschlichen Emotionen auf allgemeingültige Weise in das Zentrum des musikalischen Ausdrucks stellte. Er hat Musik und Humanismus für immer verbunden.

Welche Bedeutung hat Beethoven für uns heute?

Beethovens Musik ist ein integraler, zentraler Bestandteil unserer klassischen Musikkultur. Seine musikalische Sprache ist universal. Er ist ein musikalischer Globalist im besten Sinne. Das bedeutet, dass 250 Jahre nach seiner Geburt die emotionale Botschaft und Aussage seiner Musik aktuell und zeitlos gültig bleibt.

Wie wird das Cyprus Symphony Orchestra den 250. Geburtstag Beethovens feiern?

Mit einem kompletten Zyklus: wir führen im Kalenderjahr 2020 alle 9 Sinfonien auf, alle 5 Klavierkonzerte, das Violinkonzert, Tripelkonzert und zu Ostern sogar -im Verbund mit allen Musikgymnasien im Land- die Chorfantasie!

Neben der Aufführung von Beethovens Symphonien, beinhaltet Ihr Programm auch ein Familienkonzert, sowie das Projekt mit den Musikstudenten. Wie kann man die Musik von Beethoven, sowie anderer klassischer Komponisten, der jungen Generation am besten näher bringen?

Indem man ihnen die universale Sprache der Musik erschließt und die emotionale Relevanz aufzeigt, die seine Musik für alle hat. Genauer gesagt: Wir wollen Beethovens Leidenschaft und unsere Leidenschaft mit den jungen Menschen teilen. Oder, wie Beethoven es sagte: „von Herzen möge es zu Herzen gehen.“

Wie reagiert oder rezipiert das zyprische Publikum die Musik Beethovens?

Nicht unterschiedlicher als anderswo. Seine Musik bleibt ein Publikumsmagnet und mit den internationalen und zyprischen Solisten freuen wir uns, für jedes Konzert etwas Spannendes, Abwechslungsreiches und stets Anregendes für alle und jeden bieten zu können. Wir freuen uns alle sehr auf diese Konzerte und ich hoffe, Sie auch!

Top