Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

A conversation with Cathy Milliken & Lucia Duchoňová
Looking at each other on the same level

Partitur „Ode an die Freude“
Partitur „Ode an die Freude“ | Photo (Detail): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Loucaides

On Sunday morning, 24 November 2019, Cathy Milliken, Lucia Duchoňová and the Amalgamation choir met at the Goethe-Institut Nicosia to work on the "Ode for All". In an interview with Elli Michael, Cathy Milliken and Lucia Duchoňová explain how the idea for this cross-border project was born and what we can look forward to. 

The project is called “Ode For All” and is inspired by Schiller’s poem “Ode to Joy”. What was your inspiration in creating this project?

Cathy Milliken: There was a call from the Goethe-Institut Istanbul and I actually took part in a workshop to brainstorm ideas to celebrate the Beethoven year. I have always loved choirs and I have always loved the voice. And I work a lot doing creative collaborations with people, sort of composing together with others – that’s actually part of my compositional process often. So in this proposal I put the two together: working with choirs and working creatively. Very often, choir work is all about learning pieces of other composers – in our western tradition, at least, there is not a lot of improvisation. But in this project I was looking at the diaspora of choirs, with an interest in different traditions. So my flash idea was: imagining all of these choirs singing their own songs according to joy, but also according to “all people will become brothers and sisters” – an idea of joy and peace. 

What were the criteria for choosing the choirs that would participate in this project? 

Cathy Milliken: We chose a different sort of diaspora of choirs; on one hand some of them bring traditional music, but on the other hand some have more of a western classical tradition. We really wanted to bring different traditions together. So we actually chose the choirs according to that: how can we bring different traditions in South-East Europe together that could be very interesting voice-wise too.

What exactly does each phase of the project entail?

Cathy Milliken: First we meet with each choir singly in each particular city and we create new words that have to do with joy but also with unity. We also create music to these words. So far we have gotten very different views about joy and how we feel joy, what joy means for us, what we are going through to feel joy, when do we feel joy and also what does it mean to be together – because of course a choir is a very unified group. In a later stage there will be the second workshop, where we are all going to meet together.

Cathy Milliken und Lucia Duchoňová bei der Chorprobe Cathy Milliken und Lucia Duchoňová bei der Chorprobe | Photo (Detail): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Loucaides

What are your expectations from the meeting in Istanbul, when all choirs will come together?

Lucia Duchoňová: I think it will be a big joy! When we put the choirs together we have to learn all the songs that each choir has created, all in different languages. Each choir has created their words in their local language. The music is actually much richer when sung in different languages. Cathy will also compose another piece that we will all sing together. And each choir is expected to perform a piece on their own too, in order to introduce themselves. The performance will take place at the Radialsystem in Berlin in 2020.

In which way was Beethoven's work and ideas an inspiration for your project?

Cathy Milliken: The Schiller poem was written in the 1780s and Beethoven then composed [the 9th Symphony] in 1884 reflecting about the whole idea of freeing the [lower] classes from the tyranny of the ruling classes and thinking in the spirit of the French Revolution – equality, fraternity and liberty. In that sense, Beethoven was an innovator who really wanted to have democracy and equality of speech and he took that whole idea on board. That is why our workshops are also very democratic and equal. There is that whole sense of liberty of ideas – of everybody discussing in a sort of collaborative idea and event. Besides, I will certainly be treating the musical idea of Beethoven's “Ode to Joy” to provide a chorus piece that will go through the whole concert evening. In each workshop we do sing “Ode to Joy”, we look at the Schiller poem and the structure of the poetry as well as at the idea of the revolution towards equality. Having introduced that very broad spirit of the work, I think that all of those layers then fit in to everyone’s compositions. Thus the result is a layered reference to Beethoven.

Do you really believe that through music we can convey this message of unity and of becoming brothers and sisters?

Lucia Duchoňová: I believe it. As musicians we need to use music to send this message to the world. I also work with an international choir, with people of different nationalities but also different religions. And it’s very interesting to see that after one week these people sing all together but also sit after the rehearsals or concerts and discuss how they can do things better. Because they want to be together and to destroy these borders that are mostly in our heads. It would be very nice if we could see this also in our project, when we all meet together in Istanbul. We will make the workshops, but the women will not stay only as single groups but they will mix and discuss with each other.

Cathy Milliken: We must not give up the hope that a meeting through music can provide some platform where we can all meet looking at each other on the same level – not one above the other, but absolutely in equality, liberty and fraternity. And so we do expect that the issues of nationality will not matter. The people in each choir seem to have nothing to do with national lines or national issues. It has much more to do with issues of being a woman, or a mother or a scientist, an engineer, a sociologist or whatever. I believe it is a very forward thinking project in the same attitude and sphere that Beethoven thought.

Cathy Milliken Cathy Milliken | Photo (Detail): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Loucaides Cathy Milliken (project lead) completed her music degree in Australia majoring in performance (piano and oboe) and continued her studies in Europe under Heinz Holliger and Maurice Bourgue as well as completing her studies in the Dalcroze Method of teaching music. As a founding member of the renowned group for contemporary music, Ensemble Modern Germany, she has worked with leading composers and conductors of this century including Pierre Boulez, Peter Eötvös, Frank Zappa, György Ligeti and Karlheinz Stockhausen. She was director of the Education Program of the Berliner Philharmoniker from 2005 to 2012. She has composed for theatre, opera, radio, film as well as created sound installations and commissioned compositions for, among others, the Berliner Staatsoper, Staatstheater Darmstadt, Southbank Centre London, the ZKM Karlsruhe (Centre for Art and Media) as well as by several broadcasting stations. Cathy Milliken is internationally recognized as a leading creative director and composer. She performs regularly with voice and oboe and is a member of Ensemble Extrakte, a Berlin based group noted for its diverse musical cultural practice. Positions held now include being part of the creative team for the Munich Biennale for Music Theatre as well as honorary member of advisory boards for the German Music Council and the Goethe-Institut. She lives in Berlin as a freelance performer, composer, creative director and educational program consultant.

Lucia Duchoňová Lucia Duchoňová | Photo (Detail): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Loucaides Lucia Duchoňová is a vocal coach and accomplished mezzo-soprano with international performing experience. Her discography comprises Händel's Judas Maccabäus (DHM), Canciones & Conciertos (2012, Hänssler Classic), Melancholy (2014, Capriccio / Deutschlandradio Kultur) and Alexander's Feast (Hänssler Classic). Her first solo record "Canto a Sevilla" (Hänssler Classic) was nominated for a Grammy Award 2010 for Best Classical Vocal Solo. In addition to various international commitments as a concert and oratorial singer, Lucia Duchoňová gives master classes to young singers. She develops musical and pedagogical concepts, e.g. for the Lübeck International Choral Academy and for the Canto em Trancoso Academy in Brasil. Furthermore, she is an organizer of the international A Capella Festival ZOOM+ in Trnava, Slovakia.

Amalgamation Choir Amalgamation Choir | Photo (Detail): Goethe-Institut/Elli Michael The Amalgamation choir is an all-women group that was created by Vasiliki Anastasiou in 2014. Their repertoire revolves around polyphonic adaptations of traditional Mediterranean music through a modern approach and original songs. Important recent performances for the group include Arrée Voce festival in France, Rialto Jazz and World Music showcase in Cyprus.  The conductor has been awarded with the Cyprus Youth Organization Culture Award for the year 2016 for her work with the choir.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Gespräch mit Cathy Milliken und Lucia Duchoňová
Begegnung auf Augenhöhe

Partitur „Ode an die Freude“
Partitur „Ode an die Freude“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Loucaides

Am Sonntagmorgen den 24. November 2019 haben sich Cathy Milliken, Lucia Duchoňová und der Amalgamation Choir im Goethe-Institut Nikosia getroffen und an der „Ode for All“ gearbeitet. Im Gespräch mit Elli Michael erzählen Cathy Milliken und Lucia Duchoňová wie es zu der Idee für dieses länderübergreifende Projekt kam und auf was wir uns bei diesem Projekt freuen dürfen. 

Ihr Projekt heißt „Ode for All“ und ist angelehnt an Friedrich Schillers Gedicht “Ode an die Freude”. Woher kam die Inspiration für dieses Projekt?

Cathy Milliken: Das Goethe-Institut Istanbul gab mir die Möglichkeit, an einem Workshop und Brainstorming zu kreativen Ideen für die Feier des Beethoven-Jahres teilzunehmen. Chöre und Stimmen mochte ich schon immer. Ein Bestandteil meiner Arbeit ist die kreative Zusammenarbeit mit Menschen, die für mich wie ein gemeinsamer Kompositionsprozess ist. In diesem Projekt fügt sich nun beides zusammen: die Arbeit mit Chören und das kreative Arbeiten. Für einen Chor geht es hauptsächlich darum, die Stücke anderer Komponisten zu interpretieren – in unserer westlichen Tradition gibt es kaum Raum für Improvisation. In diesem Projekt bot sich mir jedoch eine besondere kulturelle Vielfalt an Chören aus den verschiedensten Traditionen. Deswegen war mein erster Impuls mir vorzustellen, wie alle diese Chöre ihre eigenen Lieder zur Freude und Menschlichkeit interpretieren - ein Bild von Freude und Frieden.

Nach welchen Kriterien haben Sie die Chöre, die am Projekt teilnehmen, ausgewählt?

Cathy Milliken: Wir wählten ein unterschiedliches Portfolio an Chören: einige mit sehr traditionellem Hintergrund, aber auch einige eher westliche, klassischen Chöre. Die Auswahl trafen wir unter der Fragestellung: Wie können wir unterschiedliche Traditionen in Südosteuropa zusammenbringen, die von ihren Stimmen her sehr interessant sind.

Was genau passiert in den einzelnen Phasen des Projekts?

Cathy Milliken: Zunächst treffen wir jeden Chor einzeln in seiner Stadt. Gemeinsam suchen wir Worte, die mit Freude zu tun haben, aber auch mit Gemeinsamkeit. Zu diesen Worten kreieren wir dann Musik. Wir konnten schon aus den unterschiedlichsten Perspektiven sehen, wie Freude empfunden wird, was sie bedeutet und wann wir Freude empfinden. Dabei haben wir auch erfahren, welche Bedeutung das Zusammensein hat – denn ein Chor ist natürlich eine sehr einheitliche Gruppe. Später wird es einen zweiten Workshop geben, bei dem alle zusammen treffen.

Cathy Milliken und Lucia Duchoňová bei der Chorprobe Cathy Milliken und Lucia Duchoňová bei der Chorprobe | Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Loucaides

Welche Erwartungen haben Sie an das Treffen in Istanbul, bei dem alle Chöre zusammen kommen?

Lucia Duchoňová: Ich denke es wird allen eine große Freude sein! Wenn wir die Chöre zusammen bringen, müssen wir alle Lieder lernen, die jeder Chor in seiner Landessprache erschaffen hat. Die Musik wird tatsächlich viel reicher, wenn sie in verschiedenen Sprachen gesungen wird. Cathy wird auch noch ein Stück komponieren, das wir alle zusammen singen werden. Und jeder Chor soll ein Stück selbst vortragen, um sich vorzustellen. Die Performance wird 2020 im Radialsystem in Berlin stattfinden.

Inwieweit war Beethovens Arbeit und seine Ideen eine Inspiration für Ihr Projekt?

Cathy Milliken: Das Gedicht von Schiller wurde in den 80er Jahren des 18. Jahrhunderts geschrieben, und Beethoven komponierte dann 1884 seine 9. Symphonie. Diese hat die Befreiung der unteren Klassen von der Tyrannei der herrschenden Klasse zum Thema und steht im Geiste der Französischen Revolution – Freiheit, Gleichheit, Brüderlichkeit. Beethoven war also ein Erneuerer, ein Befürworter von Demokratie und Gleichheit, der diese gesamte Idee mit in sein Werk aufnahm. Deswegen sind unsere Workshops auch sehr demokratisch und gleichberechtigt. Die Gedanken sollen frei sein, jeder kann in der Gemeinschaft Ideen frei und offen diskutieren. Darüber hinaus werde ich die musikalische Idee von Beethovens Ode an die Freude aufnehmen, um eine Art Refrain zu schaffen, der sich durch den ganzen Konzertabend ziehen wird. In jedem Workshop singen wir die Ode an die Freude, schauen uns dazu nicht nur das Gedicht von Schiller im Detail an, sondern auch seine Vorstellungen von einer Revolution für mehr Gleichheit. Nach dieser gemeinsamen Einführung können im Anschluss alle diese Impulse in die individuellen Kompositionen einfließen. Somit ist das Resultat ein sehr vielschichtiger Bezug zu Beethoven.

Denken Sie wirklich, dass man durch Musik diese Vorstellung von Einheit und Brüderlichkeit vermitteln kann?

Lucia Duchoňová: Ich glaube fest daran. Als Musiker müssen wir unsere Musik nutzen, um diese Werte zu verbreiten. Ich arbeite auch mit einem internationalen Chor zusammen, in dem die verschiedensten Nationalitäten und Religionen zusammen kommen. Es ist sehr interessant zu sehen, dass nicht nur gemeinsam gesungen wird, sondern dass alle auch nach der Probe zusammen sitzen und diskutieren, wie man verschiedene Dinge verbessern kann. Sie möchten zusammen sein und Grenzen überwinden, die in unseren Köpfen existieren. Es wäre schön, wenn wir so etwas auch bei unserem Projekt sehen können, wenn wir dann in Istanbul zusammen kommen. Wir werden die Workshops machen, aber die Frauen werden nicht in ihrer ursprünglichen Gruppe bleiben, sondern sie werden sich auch mit den anderen mischen und gemeinsam diskutieren.

Cathy Milliken: Wir dürfen die Hoffnung nicht aufgeben, dass ein Zusammentreffen über die Musik einen Raum schaffen kann, in dem wir uns auf Augenhöhe begegnen, wo keiner auf den anderen herabschaut, wo Freiheit, Gleichheit und Brüderlichkeit herrscht. Wir hoffen sehr, dass die Nationalität nicht von Bedeutung sein wird. Die Mitglieder der Chöre scheinen sehr unabhängig und nicht von nationalen Denkweisen beeinflusst. Es geht hier um viel mehr, nämlich um die persönliche Identität als Frau, als Mutter oder als Wissenschaftlerin, Ingenieurin oder Soziologin. Ich denke, dass es ein sehr fortschrittliches Projekt ist, das im Geiste Beethovens steht.

Cathy Milliken Cathy Milliken | Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Loucaides Cathy Milliken (Projektleitung) studierte Klavier und Oboe in Australien und setzte ihr Instrumentalstudium in Europa bei Heinz Holliger und Maurice Bourgue fort. Darüber hinaus studierte sie Musikpädagogik nach der Dalcroze-Methode. Cathy Milleken ist Gründungsmitglied des Ensemble Modern und hat dort mit Komponisten und Dirigenten wie Pierre Boulez, Peter Eötvös, Frank Zappa, György Ligeti und Karlheinz Stockhausen gearbeitet. Von 2005 bis 2012 war sie Leiterin des Bildungsprogramms der Berliner Philharmoniker. Als Komponistin hat sie Werke für Theater, Oper, Rundfunk und Film geschrieben sowie Klanginstallationen geschaffen und Auftragswerke komponiert u.a. für die Berliner Staatsoper, das Staatstheater Darmstadt, das South Bank Centre London, das ZKM Karlsruhe sowie für diverse Rundfunkanstalten. Cathy Milliken ist eine international gefragte Kreativdirektorin und Komponistin. Zudem konzertiert sie regelmäßig als Vokalistin und Oboistin und ist Mitglied des Ensemble Extrakte, einer Berliner Formation, die bekannt für ihre vielfältige musikkulturelle Praxis ist. Sie ist Mitarbeiterin im Kreativteam der Münchener Biennale für Musiktheater sowie Ehrenmitglied der Beiräte des Deutschen Musikrates und des Goethe-Instituts. Sie lebt als freischaffende Performerin, Komponistin, Kreativdirektorin und Programmberaterin in Berlin.

Lucia Duchoňová Lucia Duchoňová | Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut/Andreas Loucaides Lucia Duchoňová ist Gesangspädagogin und Mezzosopranistin mit internationaler Konzerterfahrung. Ihre Diskographie umfasst Händels Judas Maccabäus (DHM), Canciones & Conciertos (2012, Hänssler Classic), Melancholie (2014, Capriccio / Deutschlandradio Kultur) und Alexanders Fest (Hänssler Classic). Ihre erste Solo-CD Canto a Sevilla (Hänssler Classic), wurde für den Grammy Award 2010 nominiert in der Kategorie „The Best Vocal Performance“. Neben zahlreichen internationalen Verpflichtungen als Opern- und Konzertsängerin gibt Lucia Duchoňová Meisterkurse für junge Sängerinnen und entwickelt musikalische und pädagogische Konzepte, u.a. für die Internationale Chorakademie Lübeck und die Co-Akademie Canto em Trancoso in Brasilien. Lucia Duchoňová organisiert darüber hinaus auch das internationale A-Cappella-Festival ZOOM + in Trnava, Slowakei.

Amalgamation Chor Amalgamation Chor | Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut/Elli Michael Der Amalgamation Chor ist ein reiner Frauenchor, der 2014 von Vasiliki Anastasiou gegründet wurde. Sein Repertoir umfasst polyphonische Adaptionen traditioneller mediterraner Musik mit einer modernen Herangehensweise sowie eigene Lieder. Aktuelle bedeutende Auftritt des Chors fanden bei dem Voce festival in Frankreich, Rialto Jazz und World Music showcase in Zypern statt. 2016 wurde die Chorleiterin Vasiliki Anastasiou mit dem Cyprus Youth Organization Culture Award ausgezeichnet.

Top