Myths and Tales from across the Divide

We thought you were monsters

A Theatre Workshop with Unknown Dimensions

They all live on the same small island and yet they are worlds apart. Not because some speak Greek and some speak Turkish. Not because some live in the south and some live in the north of the divided country. But because there is a wall existing in their minds.

Aufmacher Myths and Tales © CIPS / Marcos Gittis

Turkish-Greek-Cypriot balancing act

Behind the scenes

Myths and Tales Video Preview © CIPS / Marcos Gittis


The Making of Myths and Tales from Across the Divide

The Feature

The Project

The idea arose from the collaboration between director, Achim Wieland, actor, Marios Ioannou, and the former director of the Goethe Institute of Cyprus, Dr. Johannes Dahl. As a contribution to “Pafos 2017”, the program of the European Capital of Culture, there will be performances that feed from traditional Cypriot storytelling and will grow to bring together the young people from both parts of Cyprus
Myths and tales usually have double meanings. Folk tales and fairy tales are ancient stories that have been preserved in the history of a society and passed down through the generations to teach and retain culture. Modern myths are slightly different and are created to control attitudes towards historical events and project the political dimension from one generation to the next
There was a public audition in which any interested parties were encouraged to introduce themselves. Young adults who are open to listening and communicating were required – those who could bring their own stories and are also interested in theatre. They should be amateurs – “real people with real stories”
During the twelve workshops the participants will get to know each other, bring their own stories and work out a form of presentation and these narratives will be given a frame of action
The young people will learn that they are all very similar to each another and any in-built negative feelings such as hate or prejudice will fade
Performances will be shown in school yards. “Schools are temples for programming humans. Here the kids are taught whom they should hate, love or reject. Schools manufacture brains.” (Marios Ioannou)
Pafos Premiere
Saturday, June 24th 2017, 20:30h
5th Elementary School Moutalos (Outdoor Basketball Court)
Kiamil Tazian, Neas Synoikeas, Pafos
 
Nicosia Performances
Sunday July 2nd 2017
, 20:30h
Lefkoşa türk lisesi (Outdoor Basketball Court)
FREE ENTRANCE
 
Thursday, July 6th 2017, 20:30h
B Elementary School Kaimakli (Outdoor Basketball Court)
Arrenagogeiou 31 Kaimakli

The Project Leaders

Achim Wieland and Marios Ioannou © CIPS / Marcos Gittis

Achim (artist/designer, director) and Marios (actor, director), the founders of the Theater Collective SRSLYyours, have collaborated on various stage projects for eight years and their plays, “Woyzeck” and “Fear Industry”, attract international attention. "Myths and Tales from across the Divide" is their first project with theatrical laymen.  mehr ...

Selfie Interviews

Social Media

The Goethe-Institut Zypern in social media

Icon

Myths and Tales from across the Divide

Wir dachten, ihr seid Monster

Ein Theaterworkshop mit ungeahnter Dimension

Sie leben alle auf der gleichen kleinen Insel, und doch liegen Welten zwischen ihnen. Nicht, weil die einen griechisch und die anderen türkisch sprechen. Nicht, weil die einen im Süden und die anderen im Norden des geteilten Landes leben. Sondern weil in ihren Köpfen eine Mauer existiert.
 

Aufmacher Myths and Tales © CIPS / Marcos Gittis

Türkisch-Griechisch-Zyprischer Balanceakt

Hinter den Kulissen

Myths and Tales Video Vorschau © CIPS / Marcos Gittis


The Making of Myths and Tales from Across the Divide

Die Reportage

Das Projekt

Die Idee entstand in der Zusammenarbeit von Regisseur Achim Wieland und Schauspieler Marios Ioannou mit dem vormaligen Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Zypern, Dr. Johannes Dahl. Als Beitrag zu „Pafos 2017“, dem Programm der Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt, soll eine Performance entstehen, die sich aus der Tradition des Geschichtenerzählens speist und junge Menschen von beiden Teilen Zyperns zusammenbringt.
Mythen und Geschichten, die der Titel meint, haben eine doppelte Bedeutung. Es sind einerseits Volkssagen oder Märchen, die in einer Gesellschaft bewahrt werden. Anderseits moderne Mythen, die geschaffen werden, um die Rezeption von historischen Ereignissen zu lenken und deren politische Dimension zu bewahren.
Es gab ein öffentliches Vorsprechen, bei dem sich Interessenten vorstellen konnten. Gesucht waren junge Erwachsene, die offen sind zuzuhören und sich mitzuteilen. Die eigene Geschichten einbringen können und Interesse am Theater haben. Es sollten Amateure sein, „echte Menschen mit echten Storys“. 
In zwölf Workshops lernen sich die Teilnehmer kennen, bringen ihre eigenen Geschichten mit und erarbeiten eine Form der Darstellung, mit der diesen Erzählungen ein Handlungsrahmen gegeben wird.
Wenn Menschen lernen, dass sie einander ähnlich sind, verblassen negative Gefühle wie Hass oder Vorurteile. 
Aufgeführt wird die Performance auf Schulhöfen. „Schulen sind Tempel, in denen Menschen programmiert werden. Hier wird ihnen beigebracht, wen sie hassen, lieben oder ablehnen sollen. Hier wird der Verstand produziert.“ (Marios Ioannou)
Pafos Premiere
Samstag, 24. Juni 2017, 20:30 Uhr
5. Elementary School Moutalos (Outdoor Basketball Court)
Kiamil Tazian, Neas Synoikeas, Pafos
 
Nikosia Performances
Sonntag, 2. Juli 2017, 20:30 Uhr
Lefkoşa türk lisesi (Outdoor Basketball Court)
 
Donnerstag, 6. Juli 2017, 20:30 Uhr
B Elementary School Kaimakli (Outdoor Basketball Court)
Arrenagogeiou 31 Kaimakli

Die Projektleiter

Achim Wieland und Marios Ioannou © CIPS / Marcos Gittis

Seit acht Jahren arbeiten die Gründer des Theaterkollektivs SRSLYyours Achim (Künstler/Designer, Regisseur) und Marios (Schauspieler, Regisseur) bei verschiedenen Bühnenprojekten zusammen. Ihre Stücke „Woyzeck“ und „Fear Industry“ finden auch international Beachtung. "Myths and Tales from across the Divide" ist ihr erstes Projekt mit Laien. mehr ...

Selfie-Interviews