Film Aghet – A Genocide

Aghet © Studio / Verleih

Fri, 24.04.2015

Goethe-Institut Nicosia

21 Markou Drakou
Next to Ledra Palace Hotel on the "Green Line"
1102 Nicosia

About the backgrounds of the Armenian genocide and the reasons for denying historical facts

Germany, 2010, TV-documentary film; director Eric Friedler; 90 min.; original version with English subtitles

On the occasion of the centenary of the beginning of the  Armenian genocide the Goethe-Institut in Nicosia will show the documentary film “Aghet” (Armenian word for “catastrophy”) by Eric Friedler, made in 2010. The genocide, which Raphael Lemkin, the creator of the  “Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide” (CPPCG), adopted by the UN in 1948, called the first systematic genocide of the 20th century,   is still being denied by Turkey until today.  The film sheds light on the backgrounds and reasons for denying historical facts and illustrates the steps of the genocide by using numerous historical sources.

The film, which has received numerous international awards (Grimme Preis, Deutscher Fernsehpreis, Gold Medal New York Festival, et al.), is based on research in many international archives (Political Archive of the German  Foreign Ministry, Johannes-Lepsius-Archiv, Library of Congress, National Archives et al.), reconstructs from a multitude of historical sources, how the genocide happened. The documents used are very detailed reports of German and American Diplomats, but also descriptions of Swiss, Danish, Swedish doctors, social workers, teachers, engineers, missionary, correspondents and nurses, who were living in Turkey at the beginning of the last century and also kept notes of their observations in writing.

Well-known actors gave these eye witnesses, who are dead since many years, a new voice. 100 years after the genocide their disturbing testimonies can be heard again, bringing to light tragic fates,  heroes and heroines who have been unknown hitherto, as well as the systematic road leading  to an incomprehensible crime.

Back

Film Aghet - Ein Völkermord

Aghet © Studio / Verleih

Fr, 24.04.2015

Goethe-Institut Nikosia



Über die Hintergründe des armenischen Völkemords und über die Beweggründe für das Verschweigen historischer Tatsachen

Deutschland 2010, TV-Dokumentarfilm; Regie Eric Friedler;  90 min.; Orginalfassung mit englischen Untertiteln

Anlässlich   des 100. Jahrestags des Beginns des armenischen  Völkermordes zeigt das Goethe-Institut in Nikosia den Dokumentarfilm „Aghet“ (armenisch für „Katastrophe) von Eric Friedler aus dem Jahre 2010. Der  Genozid, der von Raphael Lemkin, dem Schöpfer der 1948 von der UN verabschiedeten Anti-Genozid-Konvention, als der erste systematisch ausgeführte Völkermord des 20. Jahrhunderts bezeichnet wurde,  wird von offizieller Seite in der Türkei bis heute abgestritten.  Der Film beleuchtet die  Hintergründe und Beweggründe für das Verschweigen historischer Tatsachen und zeichnet den Verlauf des Völkermords auf der Grundlage zahlreicher historischer Quellen nach.

Für den international preisgekrönten Film (u.a. Grimme Preis, Deutscher Fernsehpreis, Gold Medal New York Festival) wurde in vielen internationalen Archiven (u. a. dem Politischen Archiv des Auswärtigen Amtes, dem Johannes-Lepsius-Archiv, Library of Congress, den National Archives) geforscht und so der Verlauf des Völkermordes aus zahlreichen historischen Quellen rekonstruiert. Die Dokumente sind detaillierte Lageberichte deutscher und US-amerikanischer Diplomaten, aber auch Schilderungen Schweizer, dänischer und schwedischer Ärzte, Sozialhelfer, Lehrer, Ingenieure, Missionare, Korrespondenten und Krankenschwestern, die zu Beginn des vergangenen Jahrhunderts in der Türkei lebten und ihre Beobachtungen festhielten.

In einer minimalistischen Inszenierung verleiht ein hochkarätiges Schauspielerensemble diesen vor langem verstorbenen Zeitzeugen wieder eine Stimme. 100 Jahre nach dem Völkermord sind ihre Aussagen von beklemmender Authentizität noch einmal zu hören, werden bis heute unbesungene Heldinnen und Helden entdeckt, tragische Schicksale und die strikte Systematik eines unfassbaren Verbrechens offenbar. 

Zurück