Lecture Whose cheese is it anyway?

Prof. Welz © Uwe Dettmar

Mon, 19.09.2016

Goethe-Institut Nicosia

21 Markou Drakou
Next to Ledra Palace Hotel on the "Green Line"
1102 Nicosia

Traditional food, European Union regulation, and economic competition

The Goethe-Institut Cyprus in cooperation with Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Cyprus cordially invite to the lecture by Gisela Welz (Goethe University, Frankfurt Germany)  on the topic “Whose cheese is it anyway? - Traditional food, European Union regulation, and economic competition” in the exhibition hall of the Goethe-Institut in Nicosia (next to the old Palas Hotel) on September 19 2016 at 7.00 p.m.
 
 
This is not Cypriot halloumi This is not Cypriot halloumi. In Cyprus, understandings of what constitutes local tradition, let alone national heritage, are always complicated by the history of the island. However, many food items traditionally produced and consumed in Cyprus are shared by all groups of the island's population, irrespective of their religion or language. For instance, halloumi - called hellim in Turkish - has been an element of the habitual diet of both the Greek Cypriot and Turkish Cypriot communities on the island for centuries. Two years ago, the Republic of Cyprus applied to the EU for halloumi and hellim to be jointly awarded the “Protected Designation of Origin” as a unique food product. The application is still pending. In her lecture, German anthropologist Gisela Welz will take a closer look at the conflicts over market shares and authenticity claims that come up before and during the application process. Against the backdrop of her research, she warns that the traditional quality of halloumi is at risk, due to European Union regulatory interventions and heightened economic competition.
 
The event is supported by the Cyprus Food and Nutrition Museum.
 
 
Gisela Welz is a Professor at Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany. As a cultural anthropologist, she has been doing fieldwork in Cyprus since the 1990s. The debate over the proper ingredients of halloumi cheese is one of seven in-depth case studies of the cultural and natural heritage of Cyprus in her book “European Products. Making and Unmaking Heritage in Cyprus” (New York/Oxford: Berghahn Books 2015). Earlier this year, the book received the prestigious PROSE award as “best book in anthropology” published in the United States in 2015.
 
A reception will follow.

 

Back

Vortrag Whose cheese is it anyway?

Prof. Welz © Uwe Dettmar

Mo, 19.09.2016

Goethe-Institut Nikosia

21 Markou Drakou
Neben dem alten Hotel Ledra Palace an der „Grünen Linie“
1102 Nikosia

Traditional food, European Union regulation, and economic competition

Das Goethe-Institut Zypern und die Friedrich-Ebert Stiftung laden zum Vortrag von Gisela Welz (Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main)  über das Thema „Whose cheese is it anyway?- Traditional food, European Union regulation, and economic competition”, am 19. September 2016 um 19:00 Uhr im Veranstaltungsaal des Goethe-Instituts in Nikosia (neben dem alten Ledra Palas Hotel) ein.
 
Das ist kein zyprischer Halloumi Das ist kein zyprischer Halloumi. Die wechselvolle Geschichte  Zyperns bringt es mit sich, dass um die Herkunft von Traditionen gerungen wird und nach wie vor umstritten ist,  ob es ein gemeinsames Kulturerbe aller Zyprer gibt. Aber tatsächlich wurden seit alters her die gleichen Nahrungsmittel von allen Gruppen der Bevölkerung hergestellt, zubereitet und gegessen, unabhängig davon, was ihre Religion oder Muttersprache war. So ist beispielsweise der Halloumi-Käse - auf Türkisch “hellim” genannt - seit Jahrhunderten  ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Ernährungsgewohnheiten von griechischen und türkischen Zyprern gleichermaßen. Vor zwei Jahren beantragte die Republik Zypern bei der Europäischen Union das Qualitätssiegel “Geschützte Ursprungsbezeichnung”, um sowohl Halloumi als auch Hellim  als einzigartige Produkte unter Schutz zu stellen. Der Antrag ist zurzeit noch in Bearbeitung. In ihrem Vortrag nimmt die deutsche Kulturanthropologin Gisela Welz die heftige Konkurrenz um Marktanteile unter die Lupe ebenso wie die Streitigkeiten darum, welcher nun der echte Halloumi ist. Vor dem Hintergrund ihrer Forschungsergebnisse warnt sie davor, dass EU-Regelungen und wirtschaftliche Interessen die einzigartige Qualität des traditionellen  Halloumi-Käses bedrohen.
 
Die Veranstaltung wird vom Cyprus Food and Nutrition Museum unterstützt. 
 
Gisela Welz ist Professorin für Kulturanthropologie und Europäische Ethnologie an der Goethe Universität Frankfurt und forscht seit den 1990er Jahren in Zypern. Der andauernde Streit über den Halloumi-Käses ist Thema eine von sieben Fallstudien, die in ihrem Buch “European Products. Making and Unmaking Heritage in Cyprus” (New York: Berghahn Books 2015) versammelt sind. Zu Beginn dieses Jahres wurde das Buch in den USA mit dem wichtigen Buchpreis PROSE als bestes Buch in der Kategorie Anthropologie ausgezeichnet.
 
 
Im Anschluss an den Vortrag findet ein kleiner Empfang statt.

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Logo

Zurück