Film screening Bauhaus - model and myth

Bauhaus building, Walter Gropius, Dessau, 1925-26 Photo: absolut Medien GmbH https://absolutmedien.de/

Thu, 28.03.2019

Goethe-Institut Nicosia

21 Markou Drakou
Next to Ledra Palace Hotel on the "Green Line"
1102 Nicosia

Directed by: Niels Bolbrinker/Kerstin Sutterheim | 104 min.

Even today it remains the basic building block of modern architecture and design: Bauhaus. But there's more to “Bauhaus” than just the cubic white house with its flat roof, the cantilever chair and the Bauhaus lamp. The Bauhaus was an educational institution which still serves as a model today. Among the world-renowned artists who taught there are Johannes Itten, Wassily Kandinsky, Lyonel Feininger, Paul Klee, Oskar Schlemmer, Walter Gropius and Mies van der Rohe.

The film presents a picture of this unique institution of artistic modernism; from the revolutionary outburst following the First World War to disbandment, emigration and professional advancement, or, for some Bauhaus artists, becoming entangled in Nazi Germany. It is former Bauhaus students, both male and female, who tell most of the story, recalling these phases in history; their teachers themselves have their chance to speak via archive material.

This critical account of the artistic and political objectives of the Bauhaus is perhaps the most comprehensive to be portrayed on film. It provides an insight into the essence of Bauhaus principles, the conflicts which led to the Bauhaus's relocation from Weimar to Dessau, the disbandment of the school during the Nazi period, the construction activity in the young Israeli state, and the emergence of the “Bauhaus myth” in the USA.

Back

Filmvorführung Bauhaus – Modell und Mythos

Meisterhaus, Walter Gropius, Dessau, 1925-26 Foto: absolut Medien GmbH https://absolutmedien.de/

Do, 28.03.2019

Goethe-Institut Nikosia

21 Markou Drakou
Neben dem alten Hotel Ledra Palace an der „Grünen Linie“
1102 Nikosia

Regie: Niels Bolbrinker/Kerstin Sutterheim | 104 Min.

Bis heute gilt es als Urzelle der modernen Architektur und des Designs – das Bauhaus. Doch „Bauhaus“ meint nicht nur das kubische weiße Haus mit flachem Dach, den Stahlrohrstuhl oder die Bauhaus-Lampe. Das Bauhaus war auch eine Ausbildungsstätte, die bis heute als Modell fungiert. Gelehrt haben dort weltbekannte Künstler wie Johannes Itten, Wassily Kandinsky, Lyonel Feininger, Paul Klee, Oskar Schlemmer, Walter Gropius und Mies van der Rohe.

Der Film zeichnet ein Bild von dieser einmaligen Institution der künstlerischen Moderne – vom revolutionären Ausbruch nach dem Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs bis zur Auflösung und der Emigration, der beruflichen Weiterreise oder auch der Verstrickung einiger Bauhäusler im nationalsozialistischen Deutschland. Erinnert werden diese Etappen vor allem von einigen ehemaligen Bauhaus-Studenten beiderlei Geschlechts, die Meister kommen über Archivmaterial zu Wort.

Diese wohl umfassendste kritische Darstellung der künstlerischen und politischen Ziele des Bauhauses in einem Filmporträt gibt Einblicke in die Essenz der Bauhaus-Prinzipien, die Konflikte, die zur Verlegung des Bauhauses von Weimar nach Dessau führten, die Auflösung der Schule in der Nazi-Zeit, die Bautätigkeit im jungen Staat Israel und die Entstehung des Mythos vom „Bauhaus“ in den USA.

Zurück