Playthrough and discussion Perfect woman

Perfect woman, Screenshot © Peter Lu & Lea Schönfelder, 2014

Wed, 02.10.2019

Goethe-Institut Nicosia

21 Markou Drakou
Next to Ledra Palace Hotel on the "Green Line"
1102 Nicosia

Games and Politics

The game Perfect Woman by Peter Lu & Lea Schönfelder produced in 2014, is the second of three games, which will be played live. Experts from Cyprus will comment the playthrough and answer audience questions.

The game Perfect Woman deals playfully with the diverse and often conflicting expectations of society towards the role of women.

The player runs through the life of a woman from birth to death, divided into different parts. At the beginning of each part the player can choose between four options with different difficulty levels. The role model proposals differ from the cliché as a princess (medium difficulty) to a more atypical role like a Pro Gamer (easy) or as a Minister of Foreign Affairs (difficult).

Next, tracked by Kinect the player must use their movements to bend into the positions required by the simulator – no easy task depending on the chosen role. Players learn the hard way: each of women's roles requires twisting and bending in order to fulfil it. Simultaneously the game allows the player to create their own version of a “Perfect Woman” – consisting of many different facets.

Moderator: Chrystalleni Loizidou
Gamer: Katrin Henn
Speakers CY: Maria Petrides, Yianna Americanou

Chrystalleni Loizidou (PhD) is a mom, a cultural theorist, and an eco-art+tech curator with a focused interest in the international zeitgeist of women's movements and free/livre technology. She has arrived at these priorities through academic research on public space, heritage, and art practices towards conflict-resolution/transformation, and a background in Philosophy, Art History, Design, Cultural Studies, and the workings of big institutions. During the day she has been teaching media studies and writing international programmes with effect on policy, and at night she has been organising and writing about hackathons and unconferences, working in support of the DIY and hackerspace community.

Maria Petrides (b. UK) is an independent writer, editor and translator. She has contributed to magazines/anthologies & art publications, and participated as writer-in-residency in NYC, Nicosia, Istanbul, Helsinki, Rio de Janeiro, Geneva. She’s translator of Wow, a political comic book by Ariadni Kousela, Patakis Publishers & co-translator of Bill Ayers’, To Teach the Journey, in Comics, contributing author for book collection, A Book of Small Things & assistant editor of Evripides Zantides’ volume, Semiotics: Visual communication II, (Cambridge Scholars). She is co-editor of Literary Agency Cyprus anthology, Nicosia beyond barriers - voices from a divided city, (Saqi Books, 2019), and co-founder of artist/research group, pick nick.

Yianna Americanou received her MA in Film and Television Production from the University of Bristol, UK and her BA (with High Honors) in Communication Studies with an emphasis on Experimental Filmmaking from the University of Iowa. She acted as Head of MEDIA (Creative Europe Programme) for over ten years, but her true passion for filmmaking and directing forced her to follow her directing path. Her short films have been screened at many important International Film Festivals such as Rotterdam IFF, Oberhausen ISFF and has received prestigious awards from Hamburg IFF, Drama IFF, etc. Her short film Lullaby was used by STOP International in Geneva (Anti Human Trafficking) to promote anti-trafficking legislations and was screened in all major military camps in Cyprus. She is a member of the Cyprus Directors Union, member of the European Women’s Audiovisual Network and President of the Committee of the International Motion Film Festival, Cyprus.

Back

Spielung und Diskussion Perfect woman

Perfect woman, Screenshot © Peter Lu & Lea Schönfelder, 2014

Mi, 02.10.2019

Goethe-Institut Nikosia

21 Markou Drakou
Neben dem alten Hotel Ledra Palace an der „Grünen Linie“
1102 Nikosia

Games and Politics

Das Spiel Perfect Woman von Peter Lu & Lea Schönfelder 2014 produziert, ist das zweite von drei Spielen, die live vorgespielt werden. Zyprische Expertinnen kommentieren den Spielverlauf und beantworten die Fragen des Publikums.

Das Spiel Perfect Woman setzt sich spielerisch mit den unterschiedlichen und oft widerstreitenden Erwartungen auseinander, die die Gesellschaft an Frauenrollen stellt.

Die Spieler*innen durchlaufen ein Frauenleben vom Mutterleib bis ins Grab, das in verschiedenen Abschnitten unterteilt ist. Zu Beginn jedes Abschnitts können die Spieler*innen aus vier Optionen mit verschiedenen Schwierigkeitsgraden wählen. Die Rollenvorschläge decken dabei eine breite Palette von Klischees wie Prinzessin (mittelschwer) bis zu eher untypischen Rollen wie Pro Gamer (leicht) oder Außenministerin (schwer) ab.

Anschließend muss der*die Spieler*in über Kinect-Erfassung mit seinen*ihren Bewegungen die gewählte Figur in die vom Simulator geforderten Positionen biegen – je nach gewählter Rolle keine leichte Aufgabe. Man erfährt am eigenen Leib: Jede Frauenrolle erfordert es, sich mehr oder weniger zu verbiegen, um sie zu erfüllen. Gleichzeitig erlaubt das Spiel jedem, seine*ihre eigene Version einer „Perfect Woman“ zu kreieren – bestehend aus vielen unterschiedlichen Facetten.

Moderatorin: Chrystalleni Loizidou
Spielerin: Katrin Henn
Rednerin CY: Maria Petrides, Yianna Americanou

Chrystalleni Loizidou ist Mutter, Gesellschafts- und Kulturtheoretikerin und Öko-Kunst + Tech Kuratorin, mit einem besonderen Interesse am internationalen Zeitgeist der Frauenbewegungen und freien Technologien. Zu diesen Prioritäten gelangte sie durch akademische Forschungen zum öffentlichen Raum, zum kulturellen Erbe und zu künstlerischen Praktiken im Hinblick auf Konfliktlösung / -transformation sowie durch einen Hintergrund in Philosophie, Kunstgeschichte, Design, Kulturwissenschaften und der Arbeit in großen Institutionen. Tagsüber unterrichtete sie Medienwissenschaften und schrieb internationale Programme mit Wirkung für die Politik. Nachts organisierte und schrieb sie über Hackathons und Unkonferenzen und arbeitete für die DIY- und Hackerspace-Community.

Maria Petrides (geb. UK) ist eine unabhängige Autorin, Herausgeberin und Übersetzerin. Sie publizierte in Magazinen/Anthologien und Kunst Veröffentlichungen und nahm als writer-in-residency in NYC, Nicosia, Istanbul, Helsinki, Rio de Janeiro und Geneva teil. Sie übersetzt das politische Comicbuch Wow von Ariadni Kousela, wirkt bei Patakis Publishers mit und ist Co-Übersetzerin von Bill Ayers To Tech the Journey. Sie trug zur Comic Buch Sammlung A Book of Small Things bei, war assistierende Herausgeberin des Bandes von Evripides Zantides, Semiotics: Visual communication II, (Cambridge Scholars) und Co-Herausgeberin von Literary Agencys Cyprus Anthologie Nicosia beyond barriers - voices from a divided city (Sagi Books, 2019). Außerdem war sie Mitgründerin der Künstler*innen- und Forschungsgruppe pick nick.

Yianna Americanou erhielt ihren Masterabschluss in Film und Fernsehen an der Universität Bristol. Ihren Bachelor absolvierte sie mit summa cum laude in Kommunikationswissenschaften mit dem Schwerpunkt in Experimentalfilm-Produktion an der Universität Iowa. Sie arbeitete als Leiterin von MEDIA (Creative Europe Programme), entschied sich jedoch ihrer Leidenschaft als Regisseurin und Filmemacherin zu folgen. Ihre Kurzfilme wurden auf vielen, wichtigen Kurzfilmfestivals – unter anderem Rotterdam IFF, Oberhausen ISFF, Hamburger IFF, Drama IFF - aufgeführt und mit angesehenen Filmpreisen ausgezeichnet.  Ihr Kurzfilm Lullaby wurde von STOP International in Genova für eine Kampagne, gegen Menschenhandel verwendet und in allen großen Militär-Stützpunkten in Zypern gezeigt. Sie ist Mitglied in der Cyprus Directors Union, sowie im European Women's Audiovisual Network und Präsidentin des Komitees für das International Motion Film Festival in Zypern.

Zurück