Beethoven 250: Kuss String Quartet

Kuss Quartet Photo: Rüdiger Schestag
Founder members Jana Kuss and Oliver Wille (violin); William Coleman (bratsche); Mikayel Hakhnazaryan (cello)

Two memorable concerts in Nicosia

The Goethe-Institut Cyprus and the Pharos Arts Foundation celebrate the 250th anniversary of the birth of Ludwig van Beethoven. Ludwig van Beethoven (* 1770 in Bonn, + 1827 in Vienna) – the composer and pianist who developed Viennese Classic and paved the way for the music of the Romantic period – is known all over the world. Influenced by the French Revolution, he dreamt of a society "which was no longer structured hierarchically but was conceived from the point of view of the individual, its aim being the development of a community of free individuals."

The well-known Kuss Quartet from Berlin will perform Beethoven's string quartets on two evenings in November at The Shoe Factory. The Kuss Quartet with Jana Kuss (Violin), Oliver Wille (Violin), William Coleman (Viola) and Mikayel Hakhnazaryan (Violoncello) are one of the most established ensembles in the world and gives concerts in Europe, the USA, South America and Japan. With its unique approach to music-making, their international career has taken them from New York's Carnegie Hall to Amsterdam's Concertgebouw, from London's Wigmore Hall to the Philharmonie in Berlin, their home city.

Since their inception, in 2002, the Kuss String Quartet was awarded first prizes by the German Music Council, the International String Quartet Competition "Premio Paolo Borciani" and the Borletti-Buitoni Award and was a “Rising Star” of the European Concert Hall Organization.

Beethoven 250: Kuss Streichquartett

Ein Portrait des Kuss Quartetts Foto: Rüdiger Schestag
Gründungsmitglieder Jana Kuss und Oliver Wille (Violine); William Coleman (Bratsche); Mikayel Hakhnazaryan (Cello)

Zwei unvergessliche Konzerte in Nikosia

Das Goethe-Institut Zypern und die Pharos Arts Foundation feiern den 250. Geburtstag von Ludwig van Beethoven. Ludwig van Beethoven (* 1770 in Bonn, + 1827 in Wien) – der deutsche Komponist und Pianist, der die Wiener Klassik zur höchsten Entwicklung führte und Wegbereiter für die Musik der Romantik war, ist weltweit bekannt. Geprägt von der französischen Revolution träumte er von einer Gesellschaft, „die nicht mehr hierarchisch strukturiert, sondern vom einzelnen her gedacht war, hatte sie doch dessen Entfaltung in einer Gemeinschaft freier Individuen zum Ziel“.

An zwei Abenden im November wird das etablierte Kuss Quartett aus Berlin Beethovens Streichquartette in der Shoe Factory spielen. Mit Jana Kuss (Violine), Oliver Wille (Violine), William Coleman (Viola) und Mikayel Hakhnazaryan (Violoncello) gehört das Kuss Quartett zu den bekanntesten Ensembles der Welt und konzertiert in Europa, den USA, Südamerika und Japan. Mit ihrer einzigartigem Herangehensweise an Musik, brachte sie ihre internationale Karriere von New Yorks Carnegie Hall zu Amsterdams Concertgebouw und von Londons Wigmore Hall zur  Philharmonie in Berlin, ihrer Heimatstadt.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2002 wurde das Kuss Streichquartett jeweils mit dem ersten Preis vom Deutschen Musikrat, der International String Quartet Competition „Premio Paolo Borciani“ und dem Borletti-Buitoni Preis ausgezeichnet und war „Rising Star“ der European Concert Hall Organization.