Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Ensemble pour l’environnement

Mauretania’s population is strongly affected by climate change due to the geographical features and increasing desertification of their country. The project “Ensemble pour l’environnement” of the Goethe-Institut addresses these challenges and seeks to encourage the country’s public discourse on environment and climate, while enabling discussion and reflection on these issues.

Back to Dialogue & Transition
Ensemble pour l’environnementPhoto: © private

Three quarters of Mauretania are covered by the Sahara Desert, making it one of the countries most vulnerable to the effects of desertification and severe periods of drought. The loss of natural habitats and water shortage cause an exodus of people from rural areas to the capital, which faces great challenges in the shape of immigration and worsening environmental pollution.
 
The consequences of climate change and environmental pollution concern the whole of Mauretania’s population without exception. But while some local organisations and NGO’s are already committed to environmental issues, there is barely any public awareness about the urgent need to protect Mauretania’s environment. This is in part due to a lack of financial support, as the country’s struggling economy provides civil society with few opportunities to become active in this field.
 

TOGETHER FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

The project “Ensemble pour l’environnement” (Eng. Together for the Environment) supports innovative project ideas in Mauretania’s capital Nouakchott that centre around climate and environment, but also have the potential to foster exchange between different groups in society. The project seeks to instil a collective sense of responsibility for environmental topics. To this end, the Goethe-Institut establishes a development fund which organisations as well as individuals can apply to for support by submitting project ideas that address, for instance, the redevelopment of public space, the creation of green areas, or the environmental sensitisation of society. Successful applicants also benefit from training opportunities in preparation for the implementation of their projects.
 
An important goal of this project lies in stimulating a whole-of-society dialogue in Mauretania, not least through the project’s closing event which serves to present the implemented initiatives to the public and inspire Mauritanian civil society as a whole. The initiatives are meant to encourage those concerned about the environment or social issues to take action themselves. In the long term, their active role in shaping Mauretania’s living environment as well the positive outcomes of their interventions can encourage and enable civic participation in various political and decision-making processes amongst all Mauritanians.

A project of the Goethe-Institut and supported by the German Federal Foreign Office.

Projects 2021

A call for applications was opened in November 2020 for environmental projects and initiatives from the municipality of Sebkha in Nouakchott. Five of the 22 submitted applications were ultimately selected by an independent jury to receive funding enabling them to implement their diverse ideas. These projects, ranging from urban gardening to creative plastic recycling, will be carried out in the course of 2021.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Ensemble pour l’environnement

Die Bevölkerung Mauretaniens ist durch die geografischen Gegebenheiten ihres Landes und die zunehmende Wüstenbildung stark von den Folgen des Klimawandels betroffen. Mit dem Projekt „Ensemble pour l’environnement“ greift das Goethe-Institut diese Herausforderungen auf und möchte den innergesellschaftlichen Dialog bezüglich der Themen Umwelt und Klima anregen und Austausch für Diskussion und Reflexion schaffen.

Zurück zu Dialog und Wandel
Ensemble pour l’environnementFoto: © Privat

Mauretanien ist zu drei Viertel von der Sahara bedeckt und ist somit eines der Länder, das am stärksten von den Auswirkungen der Wüstenbildung und schweren Dürreperioden betroffen ist. Der Verlust natürlicher Lebensräume und die Wasserknappheit verursachen einen Exodus von ländlichen Gebieten Richtung Hauptstadt, welche durch die Zuwanderung und der ansteigenden Umweltverschmutzung vor großen Herausforderungen steht.
 
Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und die Verschmutzung der Umwelt stellen Probleme dar, welche die gesamte Bevölkerung in Mauretanien betrifft. Bereits einige lokale Organisationen oder NGOs engagieren sich für die Umwelt, ein kollektives Bewusstsein bezüglich des Umweltschutzes ist in Mauretanien jedoch kaum existent. Dies hängt unter anderem mit mangelnder finanzieller Unterstützung zusammen. Die wirtschaftliche Situation in Mauretanien lässt kaum zu, dass der Zivilgesellschaft in diesem Bereich Möglichkeiten zum Engagement geboten werden.
 

GEMEINSAM FÜR DIE UMWELT

Im Rahmen des Projekts „Ensemble pour l’environnement“ (zu Deutsch „Gemeinsam für die Umwelt“) sollen daher innovative Projektideen rund um die Themen Klima und Umwelt in Mauretaniens Hauptstadt Nouakchott gefördert werden, die gleichzeitig das Potential aufweisen, den Austausch zwischen den verschiedenen Gesellschaftsgruppen zu steigern. Durch das Projekt soll ein kollektives Verantwortungsgefühl in Bezug auf umweltbezogene Thematiken angeregt werden. Hierfür wird ein Förderfonds eingerichtet, auf den sich Organisationen sowie Einzelpersonen mit ihren Projektideen, wie beispielsweise die Aufwertung des öffentlichen Raumes, das Schaffen von Grünflächen oder die ökologische Sensibilisierung der Gesellschaft, bewerben können. Die zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteurinnen und Akteure, die in der Realisierung ihrer Projekte unterstützt werden, haben im Vorfeld die Möglichkeit, an Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen teilzunehmen, um sich auf die eigenständige Umsetzung der Projekte vorzubereiten.
 
Der Anreiz zum gesamtgesellschaftlichen Dialog wird insbesondere auch im Zuge der Abschlussveranstaltung, bei der die umgesetzten Initiativen der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt werden, an das Publikum und somit an die mauretanische Zivilgesellschaft weitergeleitet. Die Projekte sollen interessierte Personen motivieren, sich für die Umwelt oder in anderen gesellschaftsrelevanten Bereichen zu engagieren. Die aktive Gestaltung ihrer Lebenswelt und die positiven Auswirkungen der eigenen Aktivitäten können langfristig die mauretanische Bevölkerung zu einer aktiven Bürgerinnen- und Bürgerbeteiligung an verschieden politischen Prozessen und -Entscheidungsfindungen motivieren und befähigen.
 
„Ensemble pour l’environnement“ ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt.

Projekte 2021 Alex Barnica © Goethe Insitut

Projekte 2021

Mit einer öffentlichen Ausschreibung wurde im November 2020 zur Bewerbung von Umweltprojekten und -initiativen aus der Kommune Sebkha in der Hauptstadt Nouakchott aufgerufen. Fünf der 22 eingereichten Bewerbungen wurden schliesslich von einer unabhängigen Jury zur Förderung ausgewählt und werden ihre vielfältigen Projektideen, vom urbanen Gemüsegarten bis zum kreativen Plastikrecycling, im Verlaufe des Jahres 2021 umsetzen.

Top