Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Gender Awareness

Sexual harassment, violence, genital mutilation: According to a 2013 study by the Thomas Reuter Foundation, women’s rights are being violated in Egypt more than in any other Arabic country. At the same time, public awareness of this injustice is growing. The fight against sexual harassment has entered public discourse in recent years thanks to courageous campaigns such as HarassMap, and is being fought from many different sides.
 

Back to Dialogue & Transition
  • Gender Workshop University Assiut Goethe-Institut Cairo / Nadia Mounir
  • First Day Gender Trainings Luxor Goethe-Institut Cairo / Sabry Khaled

The Goethe-Institut and its local partners offer diverse training opportunities, workshops and a digital repository of information that aim at strengthening the confidence and role of Egyptian women in civil society. In addition, regular meetings between representatives of organisations concerned with gender issues and women’s empowerment serve to connect local actors and offer room for discussion.

Awareness Raising and Empowerment

The Goethe-Institut promotes the growing public awareness of gender issues, as well as the fight against discrimination and outdated social roles through training and workshops that provide for intensive and long-term qualification of a focus group of women and men from the region. This includes a series of gender awareness trainings facilitated with the support of local experts for school students in Cairo and the Nile Valley, as well as for young women and men in Upper Egypt. In the training of students, the Goethe-Institut builds on a new cooperation agreement with the Ministry of Education starting from autumn 2018.

The Institute’s workshops in Upper Egypt seek to encourage participants, including professional women and university students, to analyse their environment according to gender specific-aspects. This enables them to reflect on their own position and biography within their societal context, and helps to overcome the ascription of outdated social roles. In training-of-trainers workshops, where the stimulation of dialogue between men and women about gender issues is of key importance, participants obtain qualification to work as training instructors themselves, and thus become multipliers of knowledge on gender.

Room for Discussion

Regular meetings at the premises of the Goethe-Institut offer local actors a platform for exchange and discussion. Networking events were expanded in 2017 to Egypt’s disadvantaged regions in order to connect resident organisations and Goethe alumni and create room for discussion about gender issues. The here established contacts will advance the development and implementation of project ideas for the long-term benefit of the target groups. Furthermore, the collaborative knowledge platform Wiki-Gender, whose core element is a gender-themed encyclopaedia in Arabic, has been a key tool since 2015 in connecting NGOs and activists advocating for gender equality across the region and to support awareness-raising efforts among the broader public.

A project of the Goethe-Institut, funded by the Federal Foreign Office.
 
 
 


Articles

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Gender-Bewusstsein

Um das Selbstbewusstsein und -verständnis ägyptischer Frauen auf zivilgesellschaftlicher Ebene zu stärken, bietet das Goethe-Institut gemeinsam mit lokalen Partnern verschiedene Trainings, Workshops und einen Fundus digitalen Wissens an. Regelmäßige Treffen von Vertreterinnen und Vertretern von Organisationen, die sich mit Genderfragen und Women Empowerment auseinandersetzen, dienen zudem der Vernetzung von lokalen Akteuren und bieten Raum zur Diskussion. 

Zurück zu Dialog & Wandel
  • Gender Workshop University Assiut Goethe-Institut Kairo / Nadia Mounir
  • First Day Gender Trainings Luxor Goethe-Institut Kairo / Sabry Khaled

Sexuelle Belästigung, Gewalt und Genitalverstümmelung: Nach einer 2013 veröffentlichten Studie der Thomas Reuter Foundation haben die Frauen Ägyptens mit mehr Problemen zu kämpfen als in jedem anderen arabischen Staat. Gleichzeitig wächst aber das Bewusstsein für die bestehenden Probleme: Das Problem der sexuellen Belästigung ist in den letzten Jahren dank mutiger Kampagnen wie HarassMap in den öffentlichen Diskurs eingegangen und wird von verschiedensten Seiten aktiv bekämpft.

Sensibilisierung und Stärkung

Das Goethe-Institut unterstützt das erwachte Bewusstsein für Genderfragen und für die Bekämpfung von Diskriminierungen und überholten Rollenzuschreibungen durch Trainings- und Workshopangebote, in denen auf die längerfristige und intensive Ausbildung einer Fokusgruppe von Akteurinnen und Akteuren in einer Region abgezielt wird. So werden in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Expertinnen und Experten eine Reihe von Gender Awareness-Trainings für Schülerinnen und Schüler in Kairo und im Nildelta sowie für junge Männer und Frauen in Oberägypten angeboten.

Die Workshops in Oberägypten ermutigen die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer, unter anderem engagierte berufstätige Frauen und Studierende, ihr Umfeld nach genderrelevanten Gesichtspunkten zu analysieren. So können sie die eigene Position und Biografie im gesellschaftlichen Kontext reflektieren und überholte Rollenzuschreibungen abgebaut werden. In einer Reihe von Train-the-Trainer-Programmen werden die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer als Multiplikatoren für Genderwissen ausgebildet. Dabei wird besonders Wert auf einen Dialog zwischen Männern und Frauen zu genderrelevanten Fragen gelegt. Es bietet den jungen Frauen und Männern in Oberägypten die Möglichkeit, zukünftig selbst Trainings anbieten zu können. 

Raum für Diskussionen

Bei regelmäßigen Treffen in den Räumlichkeiten des Instituts wird lokalen Akteurinnen und Akteuren eine Plattform gegeben, sich auszutauschen und zu diskutieren. Vernetzungstreffen wurden seit 2017 auch auf strukturschwache Regionen Ägyptens ausgeweitet, um in diesen Regionen Organisationen und Goethe-Alumni zu vernetzen und Raum für Diskussionen Gender-relevanter Fragen zu bieten. Die hier identifizierten Schnittstellen helfen dabei, weitere Projektideen zu entwickeln und diese langfristig zur Stärkung der Zielgruppen umzusetzen. Durch die partizipative Wissensplattform Wiki-Gender, deren Kernelement ein Lexikon auf Arabisch zum Thema Gender ist, wird zudem seit 2015 angestrebt, Gender-NGOs sowie Aktivistinnen und Aktivisten zu vernetzen und die Bewusstseinsbildung in der breiteren Öffentlichkeit zu unterstützen.

Ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt.
 


Artikel