Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Scientific Storytelling

The project “Scientific Storytelling” – العلم حكاية – is a cooperation between the Goethe-Institut and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). It aims at supporting science journalism in Egypt, promoting it in the public eye, and counteracting the phenomenon of fake news.

Back to Dialogue & Transition
  • Wissenschaftsjournalismus1 Goethe-Institut Cairo / Roger Anis
  • Wissenschaftsjournalismus2 Goethe-Institut Cairo / Roger Anis

After the successful years of 2017 and 2018, the project is now entering its third round. As well as the focus country of Egypt, now for the first time the other countries of the “Dialogue & Transition” program will be involved: Morocco, Tunisia, Jordan, Lebanon and Iraq. The project fosters the relationship between science and journalism in order to bolster the transmission of scientific knowledge and achievements from all disciplines, natural sciences, and the humanities to a wide public. Serious and accessible science journalism may be found in all important print and online media of the participating countries. It significantly promotes societal debates, thereby contributing to a real dialogue in these countries.

To further this end, the Goethe-Institut (together with the DAAD)  is organising workshops and training courses for print and multimedia journalists as well as for scientists. Methods and techniques are in the foreground, as these are important both for the handling of scientific topics and for the publication of scientific knowledge. Exchanges among all participating professional groups are just as important as the technical training courses.

Following the workshops, the participating journalists will write or produce and publish an article or multimedia contribution on a scientific topic. The best results will receive a prize. The winners will have the possibility to travel to Germany at the end of August 2019, in order to get to know science journalism in a series of travelling visits to various editorial offices and publishing houses.

Focus on Exchange

In October 2019, the Goethe-Institut and the DAAD will organise a two-day symposium in which the important questions on science journalism will be discussed. The range of topics for the public event spans from comparative perspectives to questions on Big Data and Digitalisation to technical terminology and sometimes tongue-in-cheek analyses of scientific assertions in Arabic cinema.

In addition, with the Goethe Close-up program, the Goethe-Institut is organising an exchange of journalists between Egypt and Germany. German and Egyptian science journalists will get the opportunity to exchange their workplaces for two weeks, and over this period report for the science editors of their host media.


“Scientific Storytelling - العلم حكاية” is a project of the Goethe-Institut, sponsored by the Foreign Office.


Articles

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Wissenschaftliches Storytelling

Das Projekt “Wissenschaftliches Storytelling - العلم حكاية” ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Goethe-Institut und dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD). Ziel des Projekts ist, den Wissenschaftsjournalismus in Ägypten zu stärken, das Ressort des Wissenschaftsjournalismus in Ägypten populärer zu machen und dem Problem der Fake News entgegenzuwirken.

Zurück zu Dialog & Wandel
  • Wissenschaftsjournalismus1 Goethe-Institut Kairo / Roger Anis
  • Wissenschaftsjournalismus2 Goethe-Institut Kairo / Roger Anis

Nach den erfolgreichen Projektjahren 2017 und 2018 geht das Projekt nun in die dritte Runde. Neben dem Schwerpunktland Ägypten werden zum ersten Mal auch die übrigen Länder des Programms «Dialog & Wandel» miteinbezogen, namentlich Marokko, Tunesien, Jordanien, Libanon und Irak. Das Projekt fördert die Beziehung zwischen Wissenschaft und Journalismus, um die Übermittlung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse und Errungenschaften aus allen Disziplinen, Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften, an ein breites Publikum zu unterstützen. Seriöser und zugänglicher Wissenschaftsjournalismus, der in allen wichtigen Print- und Onlinemedien der beteiligten Länder zu finden ist, unterstützt nicht zuletzt gesellschaftliche Debatten und trägt so zu einem ernsthaften Dialog in den Ländern bei.

Dazu organisiert das Goethe-Institut zusammen mit dem DAAD Workshops und Trainings für Print- und Multimediajournalistinnen und -journalisten sowie für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Im Vordergrund stehen Methoden und Techniken, die sowohl für die Bearbeitung wissenschaftlicher Themen als auch für die Publizierung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in nicht-akademischen Medien wichtig sind. Ebenso wichtig wie die fachlichen Trainings ist der Austausch unter allen beteiligten Berufsgruppen.
Im Anschluss an die Workshops verfassen beziehungsweise produzieren und publizieren die teilnehmenden Journalistinnen und Journalisten einen Artikel oder einen Multimediabeitrag zu einem wissenschaftlichen Thema. Die besten Ergebnisse werden ausgezeichnet. Die Siegerinnen und Sieger haben die Möglichkeit, Ende August 2019 nach Deutschland zu reisen, um dort den Wissenschaftsjournalismus im Rahmen einer Besucherreise zu verschiedenen Redaktionen und Verlagshäusern kennenzulernen.

Austausch im Fokus

Im Oktober 2019 organisieren das Goethe-Institut und der DAAD zudem eine zweitägige Fachkonferenz, während der wichtige Fragen rund um den Wissenschaftsjournalismus diskutiert werden. Das Themenspektrum der öffentlichen Veranstaltung reicht von vergleichenden Perspektiven, über Fragen von Big Data und Digitalisierung hin zu Fachsprache und nicht immer ernsthaften Analysen wissenschaftlicher Aussagen im arabischen Kino.

Darüber hinaus organisiert das Goethe-Institut mit dem Programm Nahaufnahme einen Journalistenaustausch zwischen Ägypten und Deutschland. Deutsche und ägyptische Wissenschaftsjournalistinnen und -journalisten werden die Gelegenheit bekommen, für jeweils zwei Wochen ihre Arbeitsplätze zu tauschen und in dieser Zeit für die Wissenschaftsredaktion ihres Gastmediums berichten.


„Wissenschaftliches Storytelling - العلم حكاية“ ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt.


Artikel