Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Civic Education

The Goethe Institut’s Civic Education project strengthens structures of civil society in Egypt and other countries in the MENA Region. It focuses on the provision of training opportunities for civil society actors and trainers from the MENA region, and promotes local, national, and regional networking activities.

Back to Dialogue & Transition
  • SEKEM Goethe-Institut Cairo / Roger Anis
  • SEKEM II Goethe-Institut Cairo / Roger Anis

Training of Trainers as Multipliers

 
In cooperation with the Center for Applied Policy Research (C A P) of the Ludwig Maximilian University Munich, the Goethe-Institut Cairo launched a training-of-trainers programme on civic education in 2014. Held annually, it initially addressed actors of Egypt’s civil society who had received their certification as trainers under the Civic Education project. In 2017, the programme was made available to civil society actors already working as trainers, and expanded to Jordan, Morocco, and Tunisia, enabling representatives of civic education institutions to connect on a regional level.
 
Tolerance, social diversity, human rights, and democracy are key concepts of the training, which participants are encouraged to explore and evaluate using different methods. The training sessions follow a participatory approach, which creates a realistic experience of the challenges and opportunities of applying democratic principles in decision-making processes and conflict situations within a group context.
 
More than 70 women and men have already completed the programme and certified as trainers. They receive varied follow-up support in the context of the project: The Goethe-Institut Cairo provides alumni with funds to implement workshops, trainings, or project ideas of their own. The project further offers them the possibility to make use of experienced local coaches in order to advance their own professional development. They may also participate in regular Goethe alumni events to connect and exchange ideas with alumni from other projects.
 

Civic Education “Open Source”

 
Based on the training-of-trainers programme, four manuals have been developed that detail and explain the approaches, methods and tools tested in the programme. They serve trainers of the MENA region and beyond as a reference when implementing seminars and workshops on civic education. The materials are available in Arabic and English, open-source, and therefore free to download:
   

Civic Education Conferences I-III

 
The Goethe-Institut and partners planned and implemented two Civic Education Conferences (CEC), which took place in 2013, in Egypt (Alexandria), and 2016, in Tunisia (Hammamet). The conferences brought together more than 200 actors from Europe and the Arab region to draft recommendations for action to support civil society in the MENA region.
 
The third Civic Education Conference will take place in December 2018, in Morocco (Casablanca). The organisation of this year’s conference will be the responsibility of Networking Arab Citizenship Education (hereinafter “the NACE Network”), in partnership with the Goethe-Institut Cairo, the Federal Agency for Civic Education (bpb), and the Danish Egyptian Dialogue Institute (DEDI).
 

Networking and Consolidation

 
Regional networking events aim at strengthening and expanding civil society networks on regional as well as national levels in order to tie together competencies and resources, and to provide lasting support to individuals and institutions of the MENA region working in the field of civic education. The Goethe alumni and their networks are systematically included in considerations for all national and regional networking activities.
 
The Goethe-Institut Cairo is a member of the NACE network, which was initiated by the bpb and officially introduced at the CEC 2016 in Tunisia. As a platform for civic education actors and institutions from the MENA region, NACE aims at strengthening and promoting civic education in the region, on the one hand, while seeking the exchange with existing networks in Europe, on the other. The Goethe-Institut Cairo, as a member and with its own networks in mind, intends to make use of synergies in its regional networking efforts. It can capitalise on its local expertise and network of relationships on the ground.
 
In this context, the Goethe-Institut Cairo, in cooperation with Haus am Maiberg – Academy for Political and Social education of the Diocese of Mainz, organised a one-week study trip to Germany in 2017. This gave training multipliers of the NACE Network the opportunity to delve into the history, approaches, and challenges of civic education in Germany, and to connect and exchange ideas with German colleagues in the field.

A project of the Goethe-Institut and supported by the German Federal Foreign Office.
 


Articles

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung

Mit dem Projekt Zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung stärkt das Goethe-Institut zivilgesellschaftliche Strukturen in Ägypten und anderen Ländern der MENA-Region. Dies geschieht insbesondere im Rahmen eines Weiterbildungsangebots für zivilgesellschaftliche Akteurinnen und Akteure, Trainerinnen und Trainer aus der MENA-Region sowie durch die damit verbundene lokale, nationale und regionale Netzwerkarbeit.

Zurück zu Dialog & Wandel
  • SEKEM Goethe-Institut Kairo / Roger Anis
  • SEKEM II Goethe-Institut Kairo / Roger Anis

Trainerinnen und Trainer zu Multiplikatorinnen und Multiplikatoren ausbilden

In Kooperation mit dem Centrum für angewandte Politikforschung der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (CAP) organisiert das Goethe-Institut Kairo seit 2014 jährlich ein Training-of-Trainers-Programm (ToT) zu zivilgesellschaftlicher Bildung. Es richtete sich zunächst an Akteurinnen und Akteure der ägyptischen Zivilgesellschaft, die im Rahmen des Trainings zu zertifizierten Trainerinnen und Trainern ausgebildet wurden. Seit 2017 adressiert das Programm außerdem zivilgesellschaftliche Akteurinnen und Akteure, die bereits als Trainerinnen und Trainer tätig sind. Zusätzlich dehnte sich der Länderfokus des Programms auf Jordanien, Marokko und Tunesien aus. Vertreterinnen und Vertreter von Institutionen im Feld der zivilgesellschaftlichen Bildung können sich so auch auf regionaler Ebene vernetzen.
 
Toleranz, gesellschaftliche Vielfalt, Menschenrechte und Demokratie sind dem Trainingskonzept zu Grunde liegende Schlüsselkonzepte, die gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmenden in verschiedenen Methoden erprobt und evaluiert werden. Die Trainings verfolgen einen partizipativen Ansatz, der die Herausforderungen und Chancen demokratischer Prinzipien in Entscheidungsprozessen und in Konfliktsituationen im konkreten Gruppenkontext erfahrbar macht.
 
Bisher haben mehr als 70 Trainerinnen und Trainer dieses Programm erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Die Alumni werden im Rahmen des Projektes in vielfältiger Weise unterstützt: Das Goethe-Institut Kairo stellt Fördermittel zur Verfügung, die den Alumni die Umsetzung eigener Workshops, Trainings oder weiterführender Projektideen ermöglichen. Zusätzlich bietet es ihnen die Möglichkeit, im eigenen beruflichen Kontext Coachings durch erfahrene lokale Trainerinnen und Trainer zur persönlichen Professionalisierung zu nutzen. Regelmäßig organisierte Alumniveranstaltungen bieten ihnen zudem eine Plattform zur Vernetzung und zum Austausch mit Alumni aus anderen Projekten des Goethe-Instituts.

Zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung „Open Source“

Im Rahmen der Training-of-Trainers-Programme sind bislang vier Handbücher entstanden, in denen die erprobten Ansätze, Methoden und Werkzeuge ausführlich dargestellt und erläutert werden. Sie sollen Trainerinnen und Trainer in der NANO-Region, aber auch darüber hinaus, bei der Durchführung von Seminaren und Workshops im Themenfeld „Zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung“ unterstützen. Die Handbücher stehen in arabischer und englischer Sprache als „Open Source“-Materialien zum kostenlosen Download bereit:
   

Civic Education Conferences I-III

Darüber hinaus konzipierte und implementierte das Goethe-Institut Kairo gemeinsam mit Partnern zwei Civic Education Conferences (CEC), die 2013 in Ägypten (Alexandria) und 2016 in Tunesien (Hammamet) stattfanden. Über 200 Akteurinnen und Akteure aus Europa und dem arabischen Raum kamen anlässlich dieser Konferenzen zusammen und formulierten Handlungs­empfehlungen zur Unterstützung der Zivilgesellschaft in der MENA-Region.
 
Die dritte Civic Education Conference wird im Dezember 2018 in Marokko (Casablanca) stattfinden. Die Organisation liegt erstmalig maßgeblich in den Händen des Netzwerks NACE (Networking Arab Citizenship Education). Partner sind das Goethe-Institut Kairo, die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) und das Danish Egyptian Dialogue Institute (DEDI).

Vernetzung und Konsolidierung

Ziel des regionalen Vernetzungsangebots ist die Stärkung und Erweiterung der zivilgesellschaftlichen Netzwerke auf sowohl regionaler als auch nationaler Ebene, um Kompetenzen und Ressourcen zu bündeln und Akteurinnen und Akteure sowie Institutionen der zivilgesellschaftlichen Bildung in der NANO-Region nachhaltig zu unterstützen. Die Alumni und ihre Netzwerke werden systematisch in allen nationalen und regionalen Netzwerkaktivitäten mitgedacht.
 
Das Goethe-Institut Kairo ist Mitglied im Netzwerk NACE (Networking Arab Citizenship Education), das auf eine Initiative der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) zurückgeht, und im Rahmen der CEC 2016 in Tunesien offiziell vorgestellt wurde. NACE zielt als Plattform für Akteurinnen und Akteure und Institutionen der zivilgesellschaftlichen Bildung in der MENA-Region auf die Stärkung und Verankerung zivilgesellschaftlicher Bildung in der Region einerseits und den Austausch mit bestehenden Netzwerken in Europa andererseits ab. Das Goethe-Institut Kairo strebt in diesem Kontext und mit Blick auf die eigenen Netzwerke die Nutzung von Synergien in der regionalen Netzwerkarbeit an. Das Goethe-Institut bringt hierbei seine Lokalkompetenz und die Vernetzung vor Ort ein. 
 
In diesem Kontext führte das Goethe-Institut Kairo in Kooperation mit dem Haus am Maiberg, der Akademie für politische und soziale Bildung der Diözese Mainz, im Jahr 2017 eine einwöchige Studienreise nach Deutschland durch. Die im Rahmen von NACE aktiven Multiplikatorinnen und Multiplikatoren erhielten so die Möglichkeit, sich vertieft mit Geschichte, Ansätzen und Herausforderungen der zivilgesellschaftlichen Bildung in Deutschland auseinanderzusetzen sowie sich mit deutschen Fachkolleginnen und -kollegen auszutauschen und zu vernetzen.

Ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt.
 


Artikel