Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


The rather different training approach

In November the participants met for the third and last module of this year’s “Civic education” project.
Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir

The participating trainers of this year’s “civic education” project met at the beginning of November for their third training module. The first two modules of the “Training of Trainers” programme were held in Egypt in May and in Bayern in June. The experienced participants then had about four months before the third module to organise their own training courses.

The civic education project strengthens the informal civic education work in the countries of Egypt, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia, and is aimed at professional trainers in the domain of civic education. The experienced participants already function as multipliers in NGOs and independent initiatives in Egypt, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia. They could all identify with their own personal training approach. They were ready to discuss the topic in a democratic fashion with themselves and the others, in order to better understand the themes of the training course and learn outside the box. The topics included power, identity, and conflict resolution. In the group context of the workshops, the challenges and opportunities of democratic principles, such as tolerance, societal diversity and human rights, could be concretely experienced and perceived in decision-making processes and conflict situations.

All the participants are already professional trainers and work in NGOs or for independent initiatives.Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir
 
The trainers, from Egypt, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia, brought many questions resulting from their experience for the third module, for example: “How far can I go?” “How can I convince more people to come to my training courses” or “How far can I encourage young people to stand up for their rights, when this might bring them into difficulties?”

Neutral and non-judgemental reflection

The workshop offered the 15 participants plenty of space for reflection on these topics. An important impulse of the German trainer team (comprised of Susanne Ulrich and Florian Wenzel, both from the Centre for Applied Policy Research (CAP) at Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich) is also not to limit themselves too much to problems and challenges in the discussions and reflection. “We want to try to see the glass as half-full and to talk about motivation, resources and strengthening,” reports Florian Wenzel, also a trainer of the CAP. And so the trainers had the possibility of creating a little piece of reality themselves. For this purpose, the trainer team used innovative methods such as the appreciative interview, systematic coaching or coaching by colleagues. For Susanne Ulrich, who participated as a colleague, this coaching was a real highlight of the workshop. According to Florian Wenzel, not seeing yourself as “only” an expert is an integral part of the training approach to civic education.
Over the course of the project, the participants also became good friends.Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir
 
A further important component of the workshop is discussion of your own experiences and behavioural patterns, in a non-judgemental manner. “I thought that I would simply get to know a few new methods and people, but over the training course I learned so much about my own personality and behaviour - and that without being judged,” says participant Safa from the Egyptian organisation Sofaraa Selmiyah. Trust is a key factor for the success of the workshop. A further central element is also that the trainers create an atmosphere of trust in their own training courses.
 

Intensive exchange of experience

Shams, of the Justice and Peace-Building Organization, which works with Syrian refugees, knows how to achieve this confidence-building amongst trainers on the one hand and the participants on the other. In one training course, he encountered tensions within the group. Over the module he was able to discuss in detail his own experiences and problems with his colleagues. “When we look deep into our societies, we see that every society is comprised of a multiplicity of communities. Each community has their own identity, traditions and culture,” says the Egyptian. “Civic education helps us all to learn how to better live together. We can test out and reset our tolerance limits.”

Different contexts with a common core

The Moroccan participant Abderrazak, from the organisation Tiza, also found it to be a great experience to share the workshops with colleagues from various countries of the region. “That made the course into a real centre of diversity, with different people of different backgrounds, cultures and nationalities,” says Abderrazak. To accept diversity, it is ultimately important to strengthen democracy, societal participation and community spirit.
The trainers discussed among themselves their experiences in the implementation of their own training courses. Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir
 
“Even though we all work in different contexts, there is something that unites us all: we think in the same way and we have the same dreams for our community,” adds the Jordanian Bushra, of the NGO NAYA for Training and Community Development. Now she has good and close friends in Egypt, Tunisia and Morocco. “And I know that someone will always be there for me if I have a problem in a training course,” relates Bushra, who would like to continue to work as a trainer for civic education themes, at both a national and international level. The participants in the project are aware of the significance of the network that they’ve built, and the value of the network for them both personally and for the strengthening and anchoring of civic education in the MENA region.

The right methods at hand

Particularly in the first two modules, the newly-learned methods and instruments such as “´theme-centred interaction” helped the trainers in their own training courses. The Egyptian trainer Basher found that the methods for diversity and decision-making assisted him in his work with children. “It’s unbelievable what happens when children learn decision-making competences,” he says with a laugh. “Then they suddenly say that they have the right to take this or that decision themselves,” he adds. As a next step he wants to document and develop a training manual using the progress that the training course (on how civic education can be used in the raising of children) achieved in his social enterprise Greenish.
A little fun must also be had!Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir
 
In her own training course, the Tunisian trainer Syrine combined some methods from the project with instruments she had known previously. Between the second and third module the Tunisian, who alongside her work in the NGO Inno-PEACE also works as a doctor, held a one-and-a-half-day course on identity and diversity. The course was aimed at enabling the participants to get to know and question themselves.  The identity of the other participants and diversity were also thematised, for example different kinds of intelligences as an aspect of diversity. “In a further phase, the challenges and dynamics of diversity will be discussed,” relates Syrine. “In theory, it all sounds simple. But when we do practical exercises on the balancing of values and dynamics, we find ourselves once more in a dilemma,’ the Tunisian continues.

Multiplying the training approaches

The trainers from Egypt, Tunisia, Jordan and Morocco brought along a lot of practical experience to the training course. “Nevertheless, it remains challenging,” remarks Susanne Ulrich, with regard to the qualification of trainers for civic education. “It’s down to the fact that all trainers work in their society with people who would not expect or be used to such types of training,” she continues.
 
Abderrazak knows that they must all train more people in civic education. In Morocco, in particular, this is however a new experience which is not always accepted. “We have to ensure that more people talk about civic education,” the Moroccan is convinced.
In November the participants met for the third and last module of this year’s “civic education” project.Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir

Back to Dialogue & Transition

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)


Der etwas andere Trainingsansatz

Im November trafen sich die Teilnehmenden zum dritten und letzten Modul des diesjährigen Projektes „Zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung“.
Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir

Die teilnehmenden Trainerinnen und Trainer des diesjährigen Projektes „Zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung“ trafen sich Anfang November zu ihrem dritten Trainingsmodul. Nachdem die ersten beiden Module des Training-of-Trainers-Programms in Ägypten im Mai und in Bayern im Juni stattfanden, hatten die erfahrenen Teilnehmenden danach rund vier Monate vor dem dritten Modul Zeit, eigene Trainings zu realisieren.

Das Projekt zu Zivilgesellschaftlicher Bildung stärkt die non-formale zivilgesellschaftliche Bildungsarbeit in den Ländern Ägypten, Jordanien, Marokko sowie Tunesien und richtet sich an professionelle Trainerinnen und Trainer im Bereich Civic Education. Die erfahrenen Teilnehmenden fungieren alle bereits als Multiplikatorinnen und Multiplikatoren in NGOs und unabhängigen Initiativen in Ägypten, Jordanien, Marokko und Tunesien. Und sie konnten sich alle mit dem persönlichen Trainingsansatz identifizieren – sie waren bereit, sich auf demokratische Weise miteinander und mit sich selbst auseinanderzusetzen, um dadurch die Themen des Trainings, zum Beispiel Macht, Identität und Konfliktlösung, besser verstehen und über den Tellerrand hinaus lernen zu können. Denn im Gruppenkontext der Workshops werden die Herausforderungen und Chancen demokratischer Prinzipien – wie Toleranz, gesellschaftliche Vielfalt und Menschenrechte – in Entscheidungsprozessen und in Konfliktsituationen konkret erfahrbar und erlebbar gemacht.

Alle Teilnehmenden sind bereits professionelle Trainerinnen und Trainer und arbeiten in NGOs oder unabhängigen Initiativen.Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir
 
Aus ihren vielfältigen Praxiserfahrungen haben die Trainerinnen und Trainer aus Ägypten, Tunesien, Jordanien und Marokko viele Fragen für das dritte Modul mitgebracht – beispielsweise „Wie weit darf ich gehen?“, „Wie schaffe ich es, dass mehr Leute zu meinen Trainings kommen?“ oder „Inwiefern darf ich Jugendliche dazu ermutigen, für ihre eigenen Rechte einzutreten, wenn sie dies womöglich in eine schwierige Situation bringt?“.

Urteils- und wertfreie Reflektion

Der Workshop bot den 15 Teilnehmenden daher viel Raum für Reflektion. Ein wichtiger Anreiz seitens des deutschen Trainerteams – bestehend aus Susanne Ulrich und Florian Wenzel vom Centrum für angewandte Politikforschung der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (CAP) – ist aber auch, sich im Austausch und der Reflektion nicht zu sehr auf Probleme und Herausforderungen zu beschränken. „Wir wollen versuchen, das Glas halb voll zu sehen, und über Motivation, Ressourcen und Stärken zu reden“, berichtet Florian Wenzel. So hätten die Teilnehmenden die Möglichkeit, die Realität selbst ein Stück weit mit zu kreieren. Dazu wendet das deutsche Trainerteam innovative Methoden an, wie das wertschätzende Interview, das systematische Coaching oder Coaching by Colleagues. Für Susanne Ulrich war dieses Coaching, bei dem sie einfach als eine Kollegin mitmachen konnte, ein echtes Highlight des Workshops. Und laut Florian Wenzel ist genau dies auch Teil des Trainingsansatzes zu zivilgesellschaftlicher Bildung – sich selbst nicht immer als einzige Expertin oder einzigen Experten zu sehen.
Im Verlauf des Projektes sind die Teilnehmenden auch gute Freunde geworden.Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir
 
Ein weiterer wesentlicher Bestandteil des Workshops ist der Austausch über eigene Erfahrungen und Verhaltensmuster – ganz urteilsfrei. „Ich dachte, dass ich einfach ein paar neue Methoden und Menschen kennenlernen würde, aber ich habe während des Trainings auch so viel über meine eigene Persönlichkeit und mein eigenes Verhalten gelernt – und das, ohne dabei verurteilt zu werden“, sagt Teilnehmerin Safa von der ägyptischen Organisation Sofaraa Selmiyah. Vertrauen in die Gruppe zu haben, ist wichtig für den Erfolg des Workshops. In einem weiteren Schritt geht es für die Trainerinnen und Trainer auch darum, ein vertrauensvolles Umfeld in ihren eigenen Trainings zu schaffen.

Intensiver Erfahrungsaustausch

Um diesen Vertrauensaufbau zwischen Trainerin und Trainer auf der einen und den Teilnehmenden auf der anderen Seite weiß auch Shams von der Justice and Peace-Building Organization, der mit syrischen Geflüchteten arbeitet. Bei einem Training ist er nämlich auf Spannungen innerhalb der Gruppe gestoßen. Im Verlauf des Moduls konnte er sich genau darüber, über seine Erfahrungen und Probleme intensiv mit seinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen austauschen. „Wenn wir tief in unsere Gesellschaften blicken, sehen wir, dass jede Gesellschaft aus einer Vielzahl von Gemeinschaften besteht. Jede Gemeinschaft wiederum hat ihre eigene Identität, Traditionen und Kultur“, sagt der Ägypter. „Durch zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung können wir alle lernen, besser zusammenzuleben. Wir können unsere Toleranzgrenzen austesten und neu ausrichten“.

Verschiedene Kontexte aber mit einem gemeinsamen Kern

Auch daher war es für Abderrazak von der marokkanischen Organisation Tizia eine tolle Erfahrung, dass er die Workshops gemeinsam mit Trainerinnen und Trainern aus verschiedenen Ländern der Region erleben konnte. „Das hat das Training zu einem echten Ort von Diversität gemacht – mit verschiedenen Menschen mit verschiedenen Hintergründen, verschiedenen Kulturen und verschiedenen Nationalitäten“, so Abderrazak. Denn Vielfalt zu akzeptieren, ist schließlich wichtig, um Demokratie, gesellschaftliche Teilhabe und Gemeinsinn zu stärken.
Die Trainerinnen und Trainer tauschen sich über ihre Erfahrungen bei der Durchführung eigener Trainings aus. Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir
 
„Auch wenn wir alle in unterschiedlichen Kontexten arbeiten, gibt es etwas, das uns alle verbindet – dieselbe Art und Weise zu denken und unsere Träume für unsere Gemeinschaften“, fügt die Jordanierin Bushra von der NGO NAYA for Training and Community Development hinzu. Jetzt habe sie gute und enge Freunde in Ägypten, Tunesien und Marokko. „Und ich weiß, dass immer jemand für mich da sein wird, wenn ich einmal ein Problem bei einem Training haben sollte”, so Bushra, die als Trainerin zu zivilgesellschaftlicher Bildung nicht nur national sondern auch regional arbeiten möchte, weiter. Die Teilnehmenden des Projektes wissen um die Bedeutung des Netzwerkes, das sie aufgebaut haben – um den Wert, den das Netzwerk für sie persönlich bietet, aber auch um die Stärkung und Verankerung zivilgesellschaftlicher Bildung in der MENA-Region.

Die richtigen Methoden an der Hand

Vor allem die in den ersten beiden Modulen neu erlernten Methoden und Instrumente, wie die „Themenzentrierte Interaktion“, haben die Teilnehmenden bei ihren eigenen Trainings unterstützt. Dem ägyptischen Trainer Basher haben die Methoden zu Vielfalt und Entscheidungsfindung besonders in seiner Arbeit mit Kindern geholfen. „Es ist unglaublich, was passiert, wenn Kinder Entscheidungskompetenz erlernen“, sagt er und lacht. „Denn dann sagen sie nämlich auf einmal, dass sie das Recht haben, eine bestimmte Entscheidung nun selbst zu treffen“, fügt er hinzu. Als nächsten Schritt will er die Fortschritte, die das Training in seinem Sozialunternehmen Greenish gebracht haben, dokumentieren und anschließend ein Trainings-Manual entwickeln, wie zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung in der Erziehung mit Kindern genutzt werden kann.
Eine Portion Spaß darf ebenfalls nicht fehlen.Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir
 
Die tunesische Trainerin Syrine hat in ihrem eigenen Training einige Methoden aus dem Projekt mit Instrumenten, welche sie bereits vorher kannte, kombiniert. Zwischen dem zweiten und dritten Modul bot die Tunesierin, die neben ihrer Arbeit bei der NGO Inno-PEACE auch als Ärztin arbeitet, ein anderthalbtägiges Training zu Identität und Diversität an. Dabei sollten sich die Teilnehmenden selbst besser kennenlernen und hinterfragen. Zusätzlich wurden auch die Identitäten der anderen Teilnehmenden und Diversität thematisiert – beispielsweise unterschiedliche Intelligenzen als ein Aspekt von Diversität. „In einem weiteren Schritt ging es dann auch darum, die Herausforderungen und Dynamiken von Diversität anzusprechen“, berichtet Syrine. „In der Theorie klingt alles einfach. Aber wenn wir praktische Übungen zur Balance von Werten und Dynamiken machen, finden wir uns auf einmal in einem Dilemma wieder“, so die Tunesierin weiter.

Den Trainingsansatz multiplizieren

Die Trainerinnen und Trainer aus Ägypten, Tunesien, Jordanien und Marokko brachten bereits viel Praxiserfahrung mit ins Training. „Trotzdem bleibt es eine Herausforderung“, sagt Susanne Ulrich in Bezug auf die Qualifizierung von Trainerinnen und Trainern zu zivilgesellschaftlicher Bildung. „Denn alle Trainerinnen und Trainer arbeiten in ihren Gesellschaften mit Leuten zusammen, die so eine Art Training nicht erwarten oder nicht gewohnt sind“, erzählt sie weiter.
 
Abderrazak weiß, dass sie alle mehr Menschen zu zivilgesellschaftlicher Bildung fortbilden müssen. Vor allem in Marokko sei dies noch eine neue Erfahrung, die nicht immer auf Akzeptanz stößt. „Wir müssen aber dafür sorgen, dass mehr Menschen über zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung reden“, ist sich der Marokkaner sicher.
Im November trafen sich die Teilnehmenden zum dritten und letzten Modul des diesjährigen Projektes „Zivilgesellschaftliche Bildung“.Goethe-Institut Tunis / Zayene Bechir

Zurück zu Dialog & Wandel

Top