Recognition of African Art Practices
Art Philosophy and Its (Post)Colonial Criticism

Ivory Coast's artist Jems Koko Bi sits with Senegalese artist Soly Cisse at the exhibition “Prete-moi ton reve” in Dakar, Senegal.
Ivory Coast's artist Jems Koko Bi sits with Senegalese artist Soly Cisse on one of his cedar sculptures exhibited at “Prete-moi ton reve” (Lend Me Your Dream), an itinerant exhibition of 33 African artists currently displayed at the Museum of Black Civilizations (MCN) in Dakar, Senegal. Photo taken on 13 January 2020. | Photo (detail): Zohra Bensemra © picture alliance / Reuters

How can the cultural otherness of African art and culture practices be given space to develop whilst not over-alienating it from the West? Philosopher Michaela Ott is campaigning for cooperation between people of equal status, to allow new strategies for aesthetic inclusion.

Thanks to the heightened awareness of the (post)colonial situation, it’s now clear to the Western consciousness that the factors influencing philosophy and art include positions contingent on culture and context. Art philosophy reveals its identity through historical anthropologies of the individual, through aesthetic norms, popular conventions of art production and reception, as well as being conditional on assumptions regarding the extent to which a generalisation of judgments of taste is possible.
 
Back in 2005 (post)colonial critics Nikita Dhawan and María do Mar Castro Varela questioned the contradiction between enlightenment philosophy, its demand for universal human rights and the simultaneous climax of the African slave trade. In view of this genocidal crime they, like many theorists in the Global South, are now calling for the delegitimisation of Western European knowledge sovereignty and looking for a platform on which to start up a transcultural dialogue. Their postulation of absolute decolonisation refers in this context not just to Western European colonialism at the end of the 19th century and the term “Scramble for Africa” used by Thomas Pakenham, it also encompasses the general prevalence of Western schools of thought and their aesthetic and philosophical basis. As a result there is increased criticism of Kant’s statements that brought him under suspicion of racial prejudice, for instance his discriminatory qualification of Caribs and Iroquois in the Critique of Judgment – after all he denies that they have the capacity of judgments of taste and even a sensus communis (Gemeinsinn, common sense).

For this reason the Ghanaian-British art historian Korbena Mercer recommends techniques for “delearning” Western philosophemes, but also for researching artistic momentum. In this context many Western theorists today are committed to an inclusive approach to “other” art forms and cultural interpretations, while African philosophers state that the capacity for aesthetic judgment attributed to all cannot be generalised, as art does not always serve the purpose of a distanced contemplation of individual consideration but instead assumes specific functions in community rituals.

Consideration of Overlooked Forms of Expression

The well-intentioned goodwill of (post)colonial critique does not meet with favour everywhere, it is more likely to receive a sceptical response from members of the former colonies. The fact is that even through Western communication or rescue efforts they do not wish to become alienated yet again. That’s why certain African philosophers with a stronger sense of self-awareness emphasise their cultural otherness, demanding that their notoriously overlooked forms of expression and poorly regarded African languages are noticed. Art philosophers like Abiodun Akande from Nigeria or Babacar Mbaye Diop from Senegal vehemently lament the decontextualisation of African artefacts in the exhibition and reception business, which is still Western-dominated, calling for full restitution of art objects looted at different times in history. Although there are also philosophers like Paulin Hountondji from Benin, who advocates deconstructing the “Myth of Africanness” and rejects Léopold Sédar Senghor’s Négritude agenda and ethnocentric ideologies.

In a perspective critical of the Western world, art curators and theorists like Okwui Enwezor and Olu Oguibe were already favouring decentralisation of the art scene at the start of the new millennium, advocating more of a transcultural orientation. Their reason was that because of the digitally globalised mediation of the “in-vogue” artists it was no longer possible to view art production as an ethnocentric creation anyway. They considered non-Western art practices in particular, which faced even more of a dichotomy between local cultural traditions and globalised standards, to have been forced into innovative hybrid forms. These practices were inevitably subject to the rule of aesthetic (de-in)dividuation if they were to find recognition on the international art market. 

“The intention of philosophical-artistic decolonisation has now turned out to be a highly complex undertaking in view of the Global South’s increased desire to decolonise.”

In collaboration with the Congolese philosopher V. Y. Mudimbe, Enwezor sought to grasp the composite cultural disposition of African art practices through the concept of Reprendre, by which he understood the revival of African and Western traditions, merging them into a formal amalgam. Questions of origin, ethnicity, religion and language should as micro-narratives generate aesthetically diverse art practices. At the same time he viewed African art biennales like Dak‘Art in Dakar (Senegal) or the film festival FESPACO in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) both as safe spaces for African and Afro-diasporic art, and as a steppingstone for international visibility.

Decolonising Perspectives

The intention of philosophical-artistic decolonisation has now turned out to be a highly complex undertaking in view of the Global South’s increased desire to decolonise. Where on the one hand equal acceptance of all art productions is called for, on the other hand there is emphasis on pursuing a special path for cultural reasons, as well as the need for unique expression. The fact that such distinctions between “own” and “other” frequently invoke the risk of a “cultural racism” is underscored by American culture theorist Rey Chow. The Berlin art lab savvy contemporary put on an exhibition entitled Dis-Othering as Method in 2018 because of this. 

For the purposes of overcoming this dilemma, the philosopher Achille Mbembe is now demanding the replacement of neoliberal globalisation with “world thought”. The truth is that even “self-referral is only possible in the in-between, in the gap between mark and demark, in the co-constitution” of different cultures. You can only arrive at decolonised perspectives by moving within a variety of contexts and attempting to internalise them en masse. His concept of Afropolitanism as the name of a multi-ethnic combination of the individual and the artistic artefact should not remain confined to African contexts; instead it should refer to a general way of “being in the world”.

“The concept of (post)colonialism in itself indicates that colonisation is not a thing of the past, because the political and economic relations – whilst dependent on each other – are too inequal. The recognition of the historical interrelationship should be accompanied by a resolute dismantling of the exploitation circumstances in order for cooperation between equals to become conceivable.”

Today numerous European and African initiatives are committed to the restitution of looted artworks and artefacts – of which there are 75,000 in Germany alone – and critically examine plans to exhibit them, for instance in the Humboldt Forum in Berlin. Senegalese philosopher Felwine Sarr and French art historian Bénédicte Savoy notoriously advocate a step-by-step, but complete, non-temporary return of objects of colonial “cultural extraction”, but also careful handling of archives, which will create global and permanent relationships between museums and libraries. 

In Algerian-French artist Kader Attia’s sculptural ensembles and audiovisual research projects, he expresses the physical injuries and psychological traumas of colonised individuals – but also of the colonising soldiers and consequently their shared suffering. He collects documentary evidence of a (post)colonial “counter-knowledge” and presents an argument for the “abolition of distances” and a programme of “repair” within the context of artistic epistemology.

The concept of (post)colonialism in itself indicates that colonisation is not a thing of the past, because the political and economic relations – whilst dependent on each other – are too inequal. The recognition of the historical interrelationship should be accompanied by a resolute dismantling of the exploitation circumstances in order for cooperation between equals to become conceivable. Today it is not only essential to encourage collaborative research and shared art practices, but above all to encourage policies that have clearly involved other countries and continents in their definitions, connecting with them on an equal level to enable the continued development and rebalancing of participation strategies, including in an aesthetic capacity.

Anerkennung afrikanischer Kunstpraktiken
Kunstphilosophie und ihre (post-)koloniale Kritik

Der ivorische Künstler Jems Koko Bi zusammen mit dem senegalesischen Künstler Soly Cisse in der Ausstellung „Prete-moi ton reve“ in Dakar, Senegal.
Der ivorische Künstler Jems Koko Bi sitzt mit dem senegalesischen Künstler Soly Cisse auf einer seiner Zedernskulpturen, die bei der Ausstellung „Prete-moi ton reve“ (Leih mir deinen Traum) zu sehen ist. Es handelt sich um eine Wanderausstellung von 33 afrikanischen Künstler*innen, die derzeit im Museum of Black Civilizations (MCN) in Dakar, Senegal, gezeigt wird. Fotoaufnahme vom 13. Januar 2020. | Foto (Detail): Zohra Bensemra © picture alliance / Reuters

Wie kann der kulturellen Andersheit afrikanischer Kunst- und Kulturpraktiken Raum zur Entfaltung gegeben werden, ohne sie gleichzeitig westlich zu überfremden? Die Philosophin Michaela Ott plädiert für eine Kooperation zwischen Gleichrangigen, sodass neue ästhetische Teilhabeweisen entstehen.

Dank der gesteigerten (post-)kolonialen Achtsamkeit wird dem westeuropäischen Bewusstsein heute klar, dass Philosophie und Kunst durch kultur- und kontextbedingte Setzungen mitgeprägt sind. Kunstphilosophie erkennt sich durch historische Anthropologien der Person, durch ästhetische Normen, bürgerliche Konventionen von Kunstproduktion und -rezeption sowie Annahmen zur Verallgemeinerbarkeit von Geschmacksurteilen mitbedingt.
 
Schon 2005 erfragten die (post-)kolonialen Kritiker*innen Nikita Dhawan und María do Mar Castro Varela den Widerspruch zwischen aufklärerischer Philosophie, ihrer Forderung nach universellen Menschenrechten und der zeitgleichen Klimax des afrikanischen Sklav*innenhandels. Angesichts dieses genozidalen Verbrechens fordern sie heute wie viele Theoretiker*innen des globalen Südens die Delegitimierung westeuropäischer Wissenshoheit und suchen nach einer Plattform für einen neu zu beginnenden transkulturellen Dialog. Ihr Postulat umfassender Entkolonisierung bezieht sich dabei nicht nur auf den westeuropäischen Kolonialismus Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts und den von Thomas Pakenham genutzten Begriff „Scramble for Africa“, sondern auf die allgemeine Vorherrschaft westlicher Denkmodelle und ihr ästhetisch-philosophisches Fundament. Im Hinblick darauf werden verstärkt jene Kant‘schen Aussagen kritisiert, die ihn rassistischer Vorurteile verdächtig machen, wie etwa seine diskriminierende Qualifizierung von Karaiben und Irokesen in der Kritik der Urteilskraft – erkennt er ihnen doch die Fähigkeit zu ästhetischen Geschmacksurteilen und just den Gemeinsinn ab.

Der ghanaisch-britische Kunsthistoriker Korbena Mercer empfiehlt daher Arten des „delearning“ westlicher Philosopheme, aber auch der Erforschung künstlerischer Eigendynamiken. In diesem Sinn widmen sich heute zahlreiche westliche Theoretiker*innen der inkludierenden Berücksichtigung „anderer“ Kunstformen und Kulturverständnisse, während afrikanische Philosoph*innen anführen, dass die allen zugesprochene ästhetische Urteilsbildung eben nicht generalisierbar sei, da Kunst nicht überall der kontemplativ-distanzierten Einzelbetrachtung dient, sondern spezifische Funktionen in Gemeinschaftsritualen übernimmt.

Beachtung übersehener Ausdrucksformen

Das wohlmeinende Entgegenkommen der (post-)kolonialen Kritik stößt nicht überall auf Wohlwollen, vielmehr auf Skepsis bei den ehemals Kolonisierten. Denn selbst durch eine westliche Verständigungs- oder Rettungsanstrengung möchten sie nicht noch einmal überfremdet werden. Daher betonen gewisse afrikanische Philosoph*innen mit gestärktem Selbstbewusstsein ihre kulturelle Andersheit, fordern die Beachtung ihrer notorisch übersehenen Ausdrucksformen und der gering geschätzten afrikanischen Sprachen. Kunstphilosophen wie Abiodun Akande aus Nigeria oder Babacar Mbaye Diop aus dem Senegal beklagen mit Vehemenz die Entkontextualisierung afrikanischer Kunstobjekte im nach wie vor dominanten westlichen Ausstellungs- und Rezeptionsbetrieb und fordern die vollständige Restitution der zu verschiedenen historischen Zeitpunkten geraubten Kunstobjekte. Allerdings gibt es auch Philosoph*innen wie Paulin Hountondji aus Benin, die den „Mythos der Afrikanität“ zu dekonstruieren und sich von Léopold Sédar Senghors Négritude-Programm und von ethnozentrischen Denkansätzen zu verabschieden empfiehlt.

Kunstkuratoren und -theoretiker wie Okwui Enwezor und Olu Oguibe sprachen sich bereits um die Jahrtausendwende für eine westkritische Dezentrierung des Kunstgeschehens und dessen verstärkt transkulturelle Orientierung aus. Denn aufgrund der digital-globalisierten Aushandlung des künstlerisch „Angesagten“ könne sowieso keine Kunstproduktion mehr als ethnozentrierte Schöpfung verstanden werden. Gerade nicht-westliche Kunstpraktiken, verstärkt in die Schere zwischen lokalkulturellen Traditionen und globalisierten Standards gestellt, seien zu innovativen Hybridbildungen gezwungen. Sie seien zwangsläufig dem Gesetz ästhetischer (Ent-In)Dividuierung unterstellt, so sie Beachtung auf dem internationalen Kunstmarkt finden wollten. 

„Das Vorhaben philosophisch-künstlerischer Entkolonisierung erweist sich heute, angesichts des gestärkten Entkolonialisierungswillens des globalen Südens, als höchst kompliziertes Unterfangen.“

Gemeinsam mit dem kongolesischen Philosophen V. Y. Mudimbe suchte Enwezor die komposit-kulturelle Verfasstheit afrikanischer Kunstpraktiken im Konzept des „reprendre“ zu fassen, worunter er die Wiederaufnahme afrikanischer und westlicher Traditionen und ihre Zusammenführung zu einem formalen Amalgam verstand. Fragen von Herkunft, Ethnizität, Religion und Sprache sollten als Mikro-Narrative ästhetisch diverse Kunstpraktiken generieren. Afrikanische Kunstbiennalen wie die Dak‘Art in Dakar (Senegal) oder das Filmfestival FESPACO in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) verstand er zugleich als Schutzräume für afrikanische und afrodiasporische Kunst wie als Sprungbrett zu internationaler Sichtbarkeit.

Entkolonisierende Perspektiven

Das Vorhaben philosophisch-künstlerischer Entkolonisierung erweist sich heute, angesichts des gestärkten Entkolonialisierungswillens des globalen Südens, als höchst kompliziertes Unterfangen. Wo einerseits die Gleichanerkennung aller Kunstproduktionen gefordert wird, wird andererseits der kulturbedingte Sonderweg und das eigenwillige Ausdrucksbegehren akzentuiert. Dass derartige Unterscheidungen zwischen Eigenem und Anderem immer wieder die Gefahr eines „cultural racism“ heraufbeschwören, unterstreicht die amerikanische Kulturtheoretikerin Rey Chow. Das Berliner Kunstlabor savvy contemporary stellte daher 2018 eine Ausstellung unter den Titel Dis-Othering as Method

Im Sinne der Überwindung dieses Dilemmas fordert der Philosoph Achille Mbembe heute, die neoliberale Globalisierung durch ein „Weltdenken“ zu ersetzen. Denn selbst „der Rückbezug auf sich selbst sei nur im Dazwischen möglich, im Spalt zwischen Markierung und Demarkierung, in der Ko-Konstitution“ verschiedener Kulturen. Zu entkolonisierenden Perspektiven gelange man nur, wenn man sich zugleich in verschiedenen Kontexten zu bewegen und diese sperrig in sich zu verfugen suche. Sein Begriff des Afropolitanismus als Name einer multi-ethnischen Kombinatorik der Person und des künstlerischen Artefakts solle nicht auf afrikanische Kontexte beschränkt bleiben; vielmehr bezeichne er eine allgemeine Weise des „In-der-Welt-Seins“.  

„Der Begriff des (Post-)Kolonialen zeigt bereits an, dass die Kolonisation nicht vorüber ist, da die politisch-ökonomischen Verhältnisse, obwohl aufeinander verwiesen, zu ungleichgewichtig sind. Die Anerkennung der historischen Verflechtung müsste von dem entschlossenen Rückbau der Ausbeutungsverhältnisse begleitet sein, auf dass eine Kooperation zwischen Gleichrangigen denkbar werde.“

Heute engagieren sich zahlreiche europäische und afrikanische Initiativen für die Rückgabe der geraubten Kunstwerke und Artefakte – 75.000 allein in Deutschland – und problematisieren deren geplante Zurschaustellung etwa im Berliner Humboldt Forum. Der senegalesische Philosoph Felwine Sarr und die französische Kunsthistorikerin Bénédicte Savoy plädieren bekanntlich für eine schrittweise, aber vollständige, nicht-temporäre Rückgabe der Objekte der kolonialen „Kulturextraktion“, aber auch für einen überlegten Umgang mit den Archiven, was Museen und Bibliotheken weltweit und dauerhaft zueinander in Beziehung versetzen wird. 

Der algerisch-französische Künstler Kader Attia bringt in seinen skulpturalen Ensembles und audiovisuellen Recherchen die körperlichen Verletzungen und psychischen Traumatisierungen kolonisierter Personen, aber auch der kolonisierenden Soldaten und mithin ihr gemeinsames Leid zur Expression. Er sammelt dokumentarische Zeugnisse für ein (post-)koloniales „Gegenwissen“, plädiert seinerseits für die „Abschaffung von Entfernungen“ und ein künstlerisch-epistemologisches Programm des „Repair“.

Der Begriff des (Post-)Kolonialen zeigt bereits an, dass die Kolonisation nicht vorüber ist, da die politisch-ökonomischen Verhältnisse, obwohl aufeinander verwiesen, zu ungleichgewichtig sind. Die Anerkennung der historischen Verflechtung müsste von dem entschlossenen Rückbau der Ausbeutungsverhältnisse begleitet sein, auf dass eine Kooperation zwischen Gleichrangigen denkbar werde. Heute gilt es nicht nur wissenschaftliche Kooperationen und geteilte Kunstpraktiken, sondern vor allem Politiken zu befördern, die sich als durch andere Länder und Kontinente mitbedingte erkennen und sich mit ihnen als gleichrangigen verbinden, auf dass fortgesetzt neu auszutarierende, auch ästhetische Teilhabeweisen entstehen.