Projects

The Wax and Gold of Hairstyles in Ethiopia

The Wax and Gold of Hairstyle in Ethiopia exhibition marks Goethe-Institut Äthiopien’s second collaboration with the Frobenius Institute since 2019. However, the exhibition is by no means the first time the Goethe-Institut has focused on photography, documentation and archiving in relation to ideas of memory, representation and cultural identity.

Tibeb Online © Goethe-Institut

Tibeb Online

In normal circumstances the Goethe-Institut hosts its many events in its compound, welcoming people to our cultural programmes, to use our modern library, to take part in German language classes and enjoy our beautiful café to gather round and catch up with friends and colleagues. But in this time of social distancing, things are very different. And we miss our many cultural activities, visual art, Gaming events, movies, lectures, you name it.

Online reading ©

"Goethe Reading Club"

The experience and feedback we get from our online events encouraged us to continue with platform.
On this platform we narrate and provide you stories of different genres, original or translated, that you can follow on a Youtube channel. The stories are accompanied by pictures with slide motion. There are also fairy tales for your children, told by a story teller

Tibeb Be Adebabay © Brook Getachew

Tibeb be Adebabay

Addis Abeba is a creative city, full of ideas, encounters and beauty. The project “Tibeb be Adebabay” brings art to public spaces of the city and into the people’s daily lives. 

SCIENCE FILM FESTIVAL © Goethe-Institut

SCIENCE FILM FESTIVAL

The Goethe-Institut in Addis Abeba in partnership with the Ethiopian Academy of Sciences, the Children’s Science Center and their networks of public, private and international schools will host the Science Film Festival 2020 from 03 December till 20 December 2020 in Addis Abeba, Ethiopia.

Decolonise the Internet © John Moore

Decolonise the Internet

At the end of August 2020, we had an Edit-A-Thon workshop to the newly launched Goethe-Institute’s programme “Decolonise the Internet” Decolonize the Internet - Goethe-Institut. After the workshop an editing and translation competition with great prizes took place. At the Goethe-Institut of addis Ababa, 14 women have participated on the workshop and five have taken part in the competition. Here is an interview of the best three who won prizes.

Enterafrica © Brook Getachew

Enterafrica

15 African countries are involved in the big project "Enter Africa". Everywhere, young teams develop local based games about the past, present and future of their city.

The Great Battle of Times Goethe-Institut

goethe.de/battleoftimes
Battle of the Times

Join us on an exciting journey through Addis Ababa, its past, present or future. Tackle different tasks on your way, meet Mighty Past, Lady Present or The Great Future, exchange information with other gamers and have a say in the future of your city. 

Music In Africa © Jabu Nkosi

goethe.de/ethiopia/musicinafrica
Music in Africa

Music In Africa is an information and exchange web portal dedicated to the African music sector. 

Henrike Grohs Award © Andreas Prossliner / Shutterstock_davorana

Henrike Grohs Art Award

In memory of Henrike Grohs, the Goethe-Institut and the Grohs family conceived a €20.000 prize dedicated to artists living and practicing in Africa.

Deutschland #nofilter © Omar Sotillo Franco/Unsplash, bearbeitet von Goethe-Institut

On the road in Germany

What’ll I cook when the fridge is empty at the end of the month? How will I save the world in the process? And how will I survive University? At goethe.de/nofilter you can find tips, curiosities and funny stories about living in Germany.

Family Matters © Gift Habeshaw

Family Matters

Family can be a blessing or a curse, joy or burden. Perceptions of the family are currently changing worldwide. Does a family consist of a man, a woman and a child? Two men or two women with children? Can a child have more than two parents? There is controversy in many countries about what a family is, including in Germany. The Goethe-Instituts abroad offer a platform for discussions, films and theatre on this issue.

Aktuelle Projekte

The Wax and Gold of Haitstyle in Ethiopia © Goethe-Institut, Frobenius Institute, Izzat Amanuel

The Wax and Gold of Hairstyles in Ethiopia

Die Ausstellung „ Wax and Gold of Hairstyle in Ethiopia“ über Haarfrisuren in Äthiopien markiert die zweite Zusammenarbeit des Goethe-Instituts mit dem Frobenius-Institut seit 2019. Die Ausstellung ist nicht das erste Mal, dass sich das Goethe-Institut mit Fotografie, Dokumentation und Archivierung im thematischen Zusammenhang von Erinnerung, Repräsentation und kultureller Identität beschäftigt. 

Tibeb Online © Goethe-Institut

Tibeb Online

Normalerweise finden die zahlreichen Veranstaltungen des Goethe-Instituts auf dem Gelände des Goethe-Instituts statt, wo Sie unsere Kulturprogramme besuchen, unsere moderne Bibliothek nutzen, an Deutschkursen teilnehmen und sich in unserem schönen Café mit Freunden und Kollegen treffen können - aber in dieser Zeit des social distancing ist das ganz anders. Und wir vermissen unsere vielen bunten kulturellen Aktivitäten

Online reading ©

"Goethe Reading Club"

Die Erfahrungen und Rückmeldungen an unserer Online-Veranstaltungen haben uns ermutigt mit der Plattform fortzufahren.
Auf dieser Plattform erzählen und präsentieren wir Ihnen Geschichten verschiedener Genres, im Original oder übersetzt, die Sie auf einem Youtube-Kanal verfolgen können. Die Geschichten werden von Bewegtbildern begleitet. 

Tibeb Be Adebabay © Brook Getachew

Tibeb be Adebabay

Nun bereits im dritten Jahr in Folge organisiert das Goethe-Institut in Addis Abeba gemeinsam mit äthiopischen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus verschiedenen Disziplinen das Straßenfestival Tibeb be Adebabay

SCIENCE FILM FESTIVAL © Goethe-Institut

SCIENCE FILM FESTIVAL

Das Goethe-Institut in Addis Abeba wird in Partnerschaft mit der Äthiopischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, dem Children's Science Center und deren Netzwerken aus öffentlichen, privaten und internationalen Schulen von Anfang Dezember bis zum 20. Dezember 2020 das Wissenschaftsfilmfestival 2020 in Addis Abeba, Äthiopien, ausrichten.

Decolonise the Internet © John Moore

Decolonise das Internet

Ende August 2020 hatten wir einen Edit-A-Thon-Workshop zum neu gestarteten Programm „Decolonise das Internet“ des Goethe-Instituts Decolonize the Internet - Goethe-Institut.  Nach dem Workshop fand ein Redaktions- und Übersetzungswettbewerb mit tollen Preisen statt. Am Goethe-Institut Addis Abeba, haben 14 Frauen an dem Workshop und fünf am Wettbewerb teilgenommen. Hier ist ein Interview mit den drei besten die auch Preise gewonnen haben.

Enterafrica © Brook Getachew

Enterafrica

15 afrikanische Länder sind beim Großprojekt „Enter Africa“ dabei. Überall entwickeln junge engagierte Leute local-based Games speziell für ihren Ort.

The Great Battle of Times Goethe-Institut

goethe.de/battleoftimes
Battle of the Times

Begleite uns auf einer spannenden Reise durch Addis Abeba, durch die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Stadt. Auf dem Weg gilt es unterschiedliche Aufgaben zu meistern, die Figuren Mighty Past, Lady Present und The Great Future kennenzulernen und mit anderen SpielerInnen Informationen auszutauschen, um die Zukunft deiner Stadt mitzubestimmen.

Music In Africa © Jabu Nkosi

goethe.de/ethiopia/musicinafrica
Music In Africa

Music in Africa ist eine auf Information und Austausch ausgerichtete Internetplattform, die dem afrikanischen Musiksektor gewidmet ist. 

Henrike Grohs Preis © Andreas Prossliner / Shutterstock_davorana

Henrike Grohs-Preis für Afrikanische Künstler

Im Andenken an Henrike Grohs, die am 13. März 2016 bei einem terroristischen Attentat in der Côte d’Ivoire ums Leben kam, haben das Goethe-Institut und die Familie Grohs einen Preis ausgerufen.
 

Deutschland #nofilter © Omar Sotillo Franco/Unsplash, bearbeitet von Goethe-Institut

Unterwegs in Deutschland

Was koche ich, wenn am Ende des Monats der Kühlschrank leer ist? Wie rette ich nebenbei die Welt? Und wie überlebe ich das Studium? Auf goethe.de/deutschlandnofilter findet Ihr Tipps, Kuriositäten und witzige Geschichten über das Leben in Deutschland.

Familiensache

Familie kann Segen oder Fluch sein, Lust oder Last. Weltweit ändern sich gegenwärtig die Vorstellungen von Familie. Besteht Familie aus Mann, Frau Kind? Aus zwei Männern oder zwei Frauen mit Kindern? Kann ein Kind mehr als zwei Eltern haben? In vielen Ländern gibt es Streit darüber, was eine Familie ist, auch in Deutschland. Die Goethe-Institute im Ausland bieten eine Bühne für Diskussionen, Filme, Theater zum Thema.