​Decolonise the Internet

Decolonize the Internet At the end of August 2020, we had an Edit-A-Thon workshop to the newly launched Goethe-Institute’s programme “Decolonise the Internet” Decolonize the Internet - Goethe-Institut. After the workshop an editing and translation competition with great prizes took place. At the Goethe-Institut of addis Ababa, 14 women have participated on the workshop and five have taken part in the competition. Here is an interview of the best three who won prizes.

By Yonas Tarekegn

Mahlet Tadesse © Mahlet Tadesse


Mahlet Tadesse Gemoraw

23 Jahre alt
Jurastudentin (Abschlussjahr)



1st place

Do you have any experiences in writing prior to participating in the workshop?
Most of my experience in writing is limited to schoolwork. However, I have also had a fair amount of experience through internships and extracurricular activities.

How did you find the Workshop?
The workshop was quite interesting for me personally because I didn't know how to write on Wikipedia. The training was clear and precise and the trainers were quite friendly and helpful.
With regards to the Edit-A-Thon I found it fantastic that it is focused on writing about Ethiopian women on Wikipedia. The number of Ethiopian women on Wikipedia is low and this workshop has given me an insight into the importance of contributing to Wiki.


About whom/what is your article about and why?
My article was about Bruktawit Tigabu. When we completed the training we were given the option to choose among a list of Ethiopian women who are written in red on Wikipedia. Among these women was Bruktawit Tigabu. She is known across the country for the work she's done with regards to children's education. Moreover, she has been renowned internationally for the work she has done. Nonetheless, she was not on Wikipedia. One of my favorites of the many great works she has done is the Tibeb Girls which is a show about three girls with superpowers which is such an empowering show for young girls. Her contributions in shaping children are immense therefore when I saw her name on the list it was an easy choice. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruktawit_Tigabu_Tadesse

How do you feel about your achievement and the award?
I am very happy about the achievement. Honestly, at first, I didn't think I was going to go through the competition because I thought it would be tough. However, I convinced myself I need to write about someone and that I need to complete the workshop. With my minimal knowledge of how to write on Wikipedia, it was quite challenging to have my article published. At first, my article was taken down but I kept on improving it and uploaded it and it was finally accepted.

Have you continued writing or translating articles in Wikipedia?
As a beginner, writing on Wikipedia can be a bit time-consuming and I have been preparing for my exams as I am a graduating student. However, as I mentioned before, I believe that more should be written about Ethiopian women as there are many who have contributed a lot that is worth sharing. I believe translating articles into local languages is also important in making information accessible as well. So with the hope of writing more soon, currently I am contributing to Wikipedia by editing written articles.

What do you know about the Goethe-Institut?
As a student at Addis Ababa University, I've gotten the chance to attend various events organized by Goethe-Institut like exhibitions, film festivals, and more. I also know that they teach the German language and that they have a library.

Anything you would like to add?
I would like to thank all who were part of this workshop as it was very informative and very important in bringing change towards the online platform being more inclusive and diversified.

Eden Tesfaye © Eden Tesfaye


Eden Tesfaye

22 years old
Undergraduate Student at AAU



2nd  place
 
Do you have any experiences in writing prior to participating in the workshop?
I like writing.  I sometimes write as a hobby. I have no experience on workshops like this.
The workshop was good  .It was a great experience .


About whom/what is your article about and why?
My translated article is about Yetnebersh Nigussie. And I chose her because I believe she meets my "brave" definition. She fight for the right of disabled people, inspire them and create opportunities. She is a good example of courage. https://am.wikipedia.org/wiki/የትነበርሽ_ንጉሴ

How do you feel about your achievement and the award?
I am really happy about my achievment . I hope I can do better in the future.

Have you continued writing or translating articles in Wikipedia?
I haven´t started writing articles. I felt that I need someone to look in to my work and give me feedback so that I can do better with both the editing and creating a new article. To be honest there is a lot to write about. Am sure I will contribute my articles and play my role.

What do you know about the Goethe-Institut?
Goethe-Institut is a German cultural institute which promotes cultural exchanges between Ethiopia and Germany.

Anything you would like to add?
Finally I would like to say thank you for creating the chance for us to participate in the workshop. I get to learn something new because of this opportunity. And I really appreciate the time you took out to help us. I hope to have the opportunity to work with you in the future.

Arsema Reta © Arsema Reta

Arsema Reta

22 years old
Medical Laboratory student




3rd place
 
Do you have any experiences in writing prior to participating in the workshop? 
Writing is my hobby. However, I don't have any experience before this workshop.

How did you find the Workshop? 
It was a very great opportunity for beginners like me

About whom/what is your article about and why?
My article is about our Ethiopian President Sahlework Zewde. I thought about translating an article to Amharic about her biography gives an opportunity for a person who is an Amharic speaker to know more about her work and success story because she is an inspiration for the young generation.
https://am.wikipedia.org/wiki/አባል:Ethiopqus


How do you feel about your achievement and the award?
I am surprised and thankful.  At the same time it vividly shows there is someone out there who appreciates my work.

Have you continued writing or translating articles in Wikipedia?
I start writing a new article on Wikipedia

What do you know about the Goethe-Institut?
Goethe-Institut is an active cultural institute of Germany that encourages international cultural exchange.

Anything you would like to add?
It was a great experience to be a part of this workshop. I look forward to working with you on new projects.

​Decolonise das Internet

Decolonize the Internet Ende August 2020 hatten wir einen Edit-A-Thon-Workshop zum neu gestarteten Programm „Decolonise der Internet“ des Goethe-Instituts Decolonize the Internet - Goethe-Institut.  Nach dem Workshop fand ein Redaktions- und Übersetzungswettbewerb mit tollen Preisen statt. Am Goethe-Institut Addis Abeba, haben 14 Frauen an dem Workshop und fünf am Wettbewerb teilgenommen. Hier ist ein Interview mit den drei besten die auch Preise gewonnen haben.

Von Yonas Tarekegn

Mahlet Tadesse © Mahlet Tadesse


Mahlet Tadesse 

23 Jahre alt
Jurastudentin (Abschlussjahr)



1.Platz 

Haben Sie vor der Teilnahme am Workshop Erfahrungen mit Schreiben?
Der größte Teil meine Erfahrung beschränkt sich auf Schularbeiten. Ich habe jedoch auch eine Menge Erfahrung durch Praktika und außerschulische Aktivitäten.

Wie fanden Sie den Workshop?
Der Workshop war für mich persönlich sehr interessant, weil ich nicht wusste, wie man auf Wikipedia schreibt. Das Training war klar und präzise und die Trainer waren sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit.
In Bezug auf den Edit-A-Thon fand ich es fantastisch, dass er sich darauf konzentrierte, über äthiopische Frauen auf Wikipedia zu schreiben. Die Anzahl der äthiopischen Frauen auf Wikipedia ist gering und dieser Workshop hat mir einen Einblick in die Bedeutung eines Beitrags zum Wiki gegeben.


Über wen / worum geht es in Ihrem Artikel und warum?
Mein Artikel war über Bruktawit Tigabu. Nach Abschluss des Workshops hatten wir die Möglichkeit, aus einer Liste äthiopischer Frauen zu wählen, über die es noch keinen Artikel gab. Unter diesen Frauen war Bruktawit Tigabu. Sie ist im ganzen Land für ihre Arbeit im Bereich der Kindererziehung bekannt. Darüber hinaus ist sie international durch ihre Arbeit bekannt. Trotzdem war sie nicht auf Wikipedia. Einer meiner Favoriten unter den vielen großartigen Arbeiten, die sie gemacht hat, ist eine Show über drei Mädchen mit Superkräften, die Tibeb Girls, die für junge Mädchen eine so kraftvolle Show ist. Ihre Beiträge in der Darstellung von Kindern sind groß, daher war es eine einfache Wahl, als ich ihren Namen auf der Liste sah. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruktawit_Tigabu_Tadesse
 
Wie empfinden Sie Ihre Leistung und die Auszeichnung?
Ich freue mich sehr über die Leistung. Ehrlich gesagt dachte ich zuerst nicht, dass ich den Wettbewerb bestehen würde, weil ich dachte, dass es schwierig sein würde. Ich habe mich jedoch davon überzeugt, dass ich über jemanden schreiben und den Workshop abschließen muss. Mit meinen minimalen Kenntnissen im Schreiben auf Wikipedia war es ziemlich schwierig, meinen Artikel zu veröffentlichen. Zuerst wurde mein Artikel entfernt, aber ich habe ihn weiter verbessert und hochgeladen und er wurde schließlich akzeptiert.

Haben Sie weiterhin Artikel in Wikipedia geschrieben oder übersetzt?
Für Anfänger kann das Schreiben auf Wikipedia etwas zeitaufwändig sein, und ich muss mich als Absolvent auf meine Prüfungen vorbereiten. Wie ich bereits erwähnt habe, glaube ich jedoch, dass mehr über äthiopische Frauen geschrieben werden sollte, da es viele gibt, die viel zu sagen haben, das es wert ist, mitgeteilt zu werden. Ich glaube, dass die Übersetzung von Artikeln in lokale Sprachen auch wichtig ist, um Informationen zugänglich zu machen. In der Hoffnung, bald mehr schreiben zu können, trage ich derzeit zu Wikipedia bei, indem ich schriftliche Artikel bearbeite.

Was wissen Sie über das Goethe-Institut?
Als Studentin an der Universität Addis Abeba hatte ich die Möglichkeit, an verschiedenen vom Goethe-Institut organisierten Veranstaltungen wie Ausstellungen, Filmfestivals und vielem mehr teilzunehmen. Ich weiß auch, dass es die deutsche Sprache unterrichtet und eine Bibliothek hat.

Möchten Sie noch etwas hinzufügen?
Ich möchte allen danken, die Teil des Workshops waren, da er sehr informativ und sehr wichtig war, um Veränderungen in Richtung einer umfassenderen und vielfältigeren Online-Plattform 

Eden Tesfaye © Eden Tesfaye


Eden Tesfaye

22 Jahre alt
Studentin an der AAU



2.Platz 

Haben Sie vor der Teilnahme am Workshop Erfahrungen mit Schreiben?
Ich schreibe gerne. Ich schreibe manchmal als Hobby. Ich habe keine Erfahrung mit solchen Workshops.

Wie fanden Sie den Workshop?
Der Workshop war gut. Es war eine großartige Erfahrung.
Über wen / worum geht es in Ihrem Artikel und warum?
Meine Übersetzungsarbeit handelt von Yetnebersh Nigussie. Und ich habe sie gewählt, weil ich glaube, dass sie meiner Definition von "Mut" entspricht. Sie kämpft für das Recht behinderter Menschen, inspiriert sie und schafft Möglichkeiten. Sie ist ein gutes Beispiel für Mut. https://am.wikipedia.org/wiki/የትነበርሽ_ንጉሴ
 

Wie empfinden Sie Ihre Leistung und die Auszeichnung?
Ich freue mich sehr über meine Leistung. Ich hoffe, ich kann es in Zukunft besser machen.

Haben Sie weiterhin Artikel in Wikipedia geschrieben oder übersetzt?
Ich habe nicht angefangen Artikel zu schreiben. Ich hatte das Gefühl, dass ich jemanden brauche, der sich mit meiner Arbeit befasst und mir Feedback gibt, damit ich sowohl beim Bearbeiten als auch beim Erstellen eines neuen Artikels bessere Ergebnisse erzielen kann. Um ehrlich zu sein, es gibt viel zu schreiben. Ich bin sicher, ich werde Artikel beitragen und meine Rolle spielen.

Was wissen Sie über das Goethe-Institut?
Das Goethe-Institut ist ein deutsches Kulturinstitut, das den kulturellen Austausch zwischen Äthiopien und Deutschland fördert.

Möchten Sie noch etwas hinzufügen?
Abschließend möchte ich mich bei Ihnen dafür bedanken, dass Sie uns die Möglichkeit gegeben haben, am Workshop teilzunehmen. Durch diese Gelegenheit lerne ich etwas Neues. Und ich schätze sehr die Zeit, die Sie aufgewendet haben, um uns zu helfen. Ich hoffe, in Zukunft die Gelegenheit zu haben, mit Ihnen zusammenzuarbeiten.

Arsema Reta © Arsema Reta

Arsema Reta

22 Jahre Alt
Medizinlaborstudent




3. Platz 

Haben Sie vor der Teilnahme am Workshop Erfahrungen mit Schreiben?
Schreiben ist mein Hobby. Vor diesem Workshop hatte ich jedoch keine Erfahrung.

Wie fanden Sie den Workshop?
Es war eine sehr große Gelegenheit für Anfänger wie ich.

Über wen / worum geht es in Ihrem Artikel und warum?
Mein Artikel ist die Übersetzung eines Artikels über unsere äthiopische Präsidentin Sahlework Zewde. Ich habe ihre Biographie in Amharisch übersetzt, damit  es für die Leute, die kein English können,  eine Möglichkeit gegeben wird, mehr über ihre Arbeit und Erfolgsgeschichte erfahren können. Weil sie eine Inspiration für die junge Generation ist. https://am.wikipedia.org/wiki/አባል:Ethiopqus

Wie empfinden Sie Ihre Leistung und die Auszeichnung?
Ich bin überrascht und dankbar.  Gleichzeitig zeigt es anschaulich, dass es da draußen jemanden gibt, der meine Arbeit schätzt.

Haben Sie weiterhin Artikel in Wikipedia geschrieben oder übersetzt?
Ich habe schon begonnen einen neuen Artikel auf Wikipedia zu schreiben

Was wissen Sie über das Goethe-Institut?
Das Goethe-Institut ist ein aktives Kulturinstitut Deutschlands, das den internationalen Kulturaustausch fördert.

Möchten Sie noch etwas hinzufügen?
Es war eine tolle Erfahrung, an diesem Workshop teilzunehmen. Ich freue mich darauf, mit Ihnen an neuen Projekten zu arbeiten.