TELEVISION IN PUBLIC INTEREST

INTRODUCTION GOETHE-INSTITUT

The Goethe-Institut has been a firm supporter of the idea of public television and of INPUT, the annual INternational PUblic Television conference, for a long time. That’s why our local institutes, literally on each corner of the globe, undertake to organize and host numerous conferences, called Mini-INPUT or Best-of-INPUT.

INPUT is a non-profit organisation of public television programme makers and broadcasters founded in 1977, with the goal of organizing this important annual conference, which is the biggest global showcase of television productions with the motto «Storytelling in the Public Interest». The programmes include TV shows, documentaries and dramas, sometimes made according to traditional “recipes”, sometimes challenging the traditions of TV making. INPUT is not a conference where “The Best” is celebrated – instead, solutions and ideas around Television as a medium is shared.

The Corona-Pandemic put INPUT conferences like this on hold, the last three INPUTs took place in Thessaloniki in 2017, in Brooklyn in 2018 and in Bangkok in 2019. Now, in 2021 the Goethe-Institut would like to connect Ethiopia to this global network by organizing a Best of INPUT 2017-2019. In essence, a conference for local TV-experts, filmmakers and film students where, as at the main conference, productions are screened, discussed and debated, which have been selected from the last three INPUTs.

Judy Tam – INPUT President, challenged the public broadcasting community to be the best at content creation, leadership, journalism, reporting, and broadcast distribution. INPUT always wants to challenge the delegates ‘to come up with ideas, meet friends, make friends, feel aspirational, and feel inspired to remember why it is that they chose to work in public service broadcasting.’

We are delighted to share 16 international TV-productions with you in ten sessions of different genres, formats and topics to give you the opportunity to discuss relevant questions about public service broadcasting. Our two INPUT experienced moderators, François Smit and Shurekha Singh from South Africa, will guide you through the programme. The only requirement to you as a participant is to be active and share your perspectives of the screened productions.

We hope that this event encourages Ethiopian TV directors and producers to generate content for the next INPUT conference in Barcelona, Spain, which will be held in May 2022, so that Ethiopia will be represented with own TV productions for the first time.
We wish you all delegates an inspirational time at the Goethe-Institut.

Best of Input Brocheur
Best of Input events 2017 - 2019 

Best of Input © Goethe-Institut

Best of Input

The Goethe-Institut has been a firm supporter of the idea of public television and of INPUT, the annual INternational PUblic Television conference, for a long time.

2019
INPUT BANGKOK

In 2019 INPUT will travel to Bangkok upon the invitation of Thai PBS, Thailand’s young public broadcaster founded in 2008. 

2018
INPUT BROOKLYN

The colleagues from Forest Creatures Foundation and the Goethe-Institut New York have presented a terrific concept for the next conference which will be opened on April 30, 2018 at the Williamsburg Cinemas in Brooklyn.

2017
INPUT THESSALONIKI

81 productions, 39 participating countries, 33 sessions: The INPUT 2017 occurred in the heart of the Greek city Thessaoliniki. The Goethe-Insitut was, in cooperation with Municipalty TV 100 and public broadcaster ERT, part of the organising team. 

INPUT

The INternational PUblic Television is an annual conference and NGO, whose international members are TV personalites from the public broadcasting industry.

Best Of Input © Goethe-Institut

TELEVISION IN PUBLIC INTEREST

EINLEITUNG GOETHE-INSTITUT

Das Goethe-Institut ist seit langem ein entschiedener Befürworter der Idee des öffentlichen Fernsehens und von INPUT, der jährlichen INternational PUblic Television Konferenz. Dazu organisieren unsere lokalen Institute buchstäblich an jeder Ecke der Welt zahlreiche Konferenzen, sogenannte Mini-INPUT oder Best-of-INPUT.

INPUT ist eine 1977 gegründete Non-Profit-Organisation öffentlich-rechtlicher Fernsehmacher und -sender, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, diese wichtige jährliche Konferenz zu organisieren, die unter dem Motto "Storytelling in the Public Interest" die weltweit größte Leistungsschau von Fernsehproduktionen darstellt. Die Programme umfassen TV-Shows, Dokumentar- und Spielfilme, die manchmal nach traditionellen "Rezepten" hergestellt werden, manchmal die Traditionen des Fernsehens in Frage stellen. INPUT ist keine Konferenz, auf der "das Beste" gefeiert wird, sondern es werden Lösungen und Ideen rund um das Medium Fernsehen ausgetauscht.

Die Corona-Pandemie hat INPUT-Konferenzen wie diese auf Eis gelegt, die letzten drei INPUTs fanden 2017 in Thessaloniki, 2018 in Brooklyn und 2019 in Bangkok statt. Jetzt, im Jahr 2021, möchte das Goethe-Institut Äthiopien mit diesem globalen Netzwerk verbinden, indem es eine Best of INPUT 2017-2019 Konferenz organisiert. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Konferenz für lokale TV-Experten, Filmemacherinnen und Filmstudenten, bei der, wie bei der Hauptkonferenz, Produktionen gezeigt, diskutiert und debattiert werden, die aus den letzten drei INPUTs ausgewählt wurden.

Judy Tam, die Präsidentin von INPUT, forderte die öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunkanstalten auf, bei der Erstellung von Inhalten, der Vorbildhaftigkeit, dem Journalismus, der Berichterstattung und der Reichweite von Sendungen die Besten zu sein. INPUT möchte die Delegierten immer dazu herausfordern, "Ideen zu entwickeln, Freunde zu treffen, Freundschaften zu schließen, sich ehrgeizig zu fühlen und sich daran zu erinnern, warum sie sich entschieden haben, im öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunk zu arbeiten".

Wir freuen uns, 16 internationale TV-Produktionen in zehn Sitzungen mit unterschiedlichen Genres, Formaten und Themen vorzustellen, um Ihnen die Möglichkeit zu geben, relevante Fragen zum öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunk zu diskutieren. Unsere beiden INPUT-erfahrenen Moderatoren, François Smit und Shurekha Singh aus Südafrika, führen durch das Programm. Die einzige Anforderung an Sie als Teilnehmer ist, aktiv zu sein und Ihre Sichtweise der gezeigten Produktionen mitzuteilen.
Wir hoffen, dass diese Veranstaltung äthiopische Fernsehregisseure und -produzenten dazu ermutigt, Inhalte für die nächste INPUT-Konferenz in Barcelona, Spanien, zu erstellen, die im Mai 2022 stattfinden wird, damit Äthiopien zum ersten Mal mit eigenen Fernsehproduktionen vertreten sein wird.

Best of Input Brocheur
Best of Input events 2017 - 2019 

Best of Input

Das Goethe-Institut ist seit langem ein entschiedener Befürworter der Idee des öffentlichen Fernsehens und von INPUT, der jährlichen INternational PUblic Television Konferenz.
 

INPUT BANGKOK 2019 © Goethe-Institut Tailand

2019
INPUT BANGKOK

Im Jahr 2019 wird INPUT auf Einladung von Thai PBS, Thailands jungem öffentlich-rechtlichem Sender, der 2008 gegründet wurde, nach Bangkok reisen.

INPUT BROOKLYN 2018 © Goethe-Institut New York

2018
INPUT BROOKLYN

Die Forest Creatures Foundation und das Goethe-Institut New York stellten ihr spannendes Konzept für die nächste INPUT Konferenz, die am 30. April 2018 im Kino Williamsburg Cinemas in Brooklyn eröffnet wird, vor.

INPUT THESSALONIKI 2017 © Goethe-Institut

2017
INPUT THESSALONIKI

Die Forest Creatures Foundation und das Goethe-Institut New York stellten ihr spannendes Konzept für die nächste INPUT Konferenz, die am 30. April 2018 im Kino Williamsburg Cinemas in Brooklyn eröffnet wird, vor.

INPUT © Goethe-Institut

INPUT

Die INternational PUblic Television ist eine jährlich stattfindende TV-Konferenz und NGO, deren internationale Mietglieder Persönlichkeiten des öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernesehens sind.