Performance "WELCOME!” by Mulugeta Gebrekidan"

Welcome © Mulugeta Gebrekidan

Thu, 09.03.2017

Goethe-Institut Addis Abeba

The world is witnessing many tragic stories around migration unfold. However, for millennia, people have moved from place to place, making migration a shared human experience. With its inherent exchange of knowledge and culture, migration contributes to development at all levels of society and promotes unity in diversity.

After his performances on migration in Europe, Mulugeta Gebrekidan will perform in his exhibition the African counterpart in the Goethe-Institut Addis Ababa, showing the interconnection between continents, local realities, and individual stories. By including audio and visual elements in the exhibition he creates an interactive situation, making the people in the audience co-creators of his work. Mulugeta Gebrekidan aims to spark a dialogue around migration and its effect on the lives of all of us.

Mulugeta Gebrekidan is a visual artist based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. After having focused on painting for several years, his artistic practice shifted toward photography, video, and performance art. For the last four years, he has been creating a platform for visual, conceptual, and public dialogue on social issues through his site-specific works and public art interventions.

Back

Performance "WELCOME!” by Mulugeta Gebrekidan"

Welcome © Mulugeta Gebrekidan

Do, 09.03.2017

Goethe-Institut Addis Abeba

Die Welt erlebt viele tragische Geschichten, die sich um die Migration herum offenbaren. Trotzdem sind Menschen schon seit tausenden von Jahren von Ort zu Ort gezogen, was Migration zu einer gemeinsamen menschlichen Erfahrung macht. Mit sich bringt dies den Austausch von Wissen und Kultur. Migration trägt somit zur Entwicklung auf allen gesellschaftlichen Ebenen bei und unterstützt Einigkeit in Diversität.
Nach seiner Performance zu Migration in Europa wird Mulugeta Gebrekidan in seiner Performance das Afrikanische Gegenstück  präsentieren, das die gegenseitige Verbindung zwischen Kontinenten, lokalen Realitäten individuellen Geschichten zeigt.

Mulugeta Gebrekidan ist ein Visueller Künstler aus Addis Abeba, Äthiopien. Nachdem sein Fokus viele Jahre auf dem Malen lag wandelte sich seine künstlerische Praxis hin zu Fotografie, Video und Performancekunst. In den letzten Jahren entwickelte er durch seine ortsspezifischen und öffentlichen Kunstinterventionen eine Plattform für visuellen, konzeptuellen und öffentlichen Dialog zu sozialen Fragestellungen.

Zurück