Poetry StAnza Poetry Festival 2016 - Mapping the world with Poetry

Nora Gomringer and Philipp Scholz
Terry Lee

If you take the shortcut to St Andrews’ Byre Theatre, an unmistakably Scottish close leads you away from South Street, one of the main arteries of the town with its hardy-looking tourists and ice cream-wielding students. The close leads through to a garden, and in the evenings of early March, you might find yourself stopping to admire the trees, their otherwise bare silhouettes adorned with bright, white fairy lights. Alternatively, it might be the scent, surprisingly like honeysuckle, which causes you to stop and look around. Or it might be something else entirely – a rich, sonorous voice echoing through the garden, its vowels catching the meter of a language which isn’t your own.

The voice is part of Lyrikline, an audio-installation of German poems and their English translations which is an outpost of StAnza, Scotland’s international poetry festival. The festival, which took place from 2nd to 6th March 2016, had a dedicated language focus for the first time this year and turned the spotlight on German-language poetry.

The Lyrikline installation (also to be heard on headphones inside the festival hub, the Byre Theatre) in many ways highlighted the double-pronged approach of the festival in showcasing German-language poetry: the language itself, with its cadences and half-rhymes so different to English and Scots, was neither more nor less important than the translations which made the poems accessible to a whole new audience.

The interweaving of English translations with German originals became particularly clear in VERSschmuggel, one of the core events of the festival’s German focus. VERSschmuggel is an annual project carried out by StAnza’s sister festival, the poesiefestival berlin; each year, six German poets are paired with six poets from a different language or cultural region and they collaboratively translate each others’ work with the help of interlinear translators. “I like to describe the process as a six-handed translation workshop,” explains the project coordinator Aurelie Maurin, grinning. In 2014, it was the turn of Scottish poets to smuggle verses, and the StAnza event showcased the work of two of the pairs of poets involved, including Anna Crowe and her German counterpart Odile Kennel. The pair explained to the audience that they would alternate reading originals and translations first, thus blurring the boundaries between translation and original “to point out that this distinction maybe isn’t so important after all”, added Odile. Afterwards, she told me laughingly, “It worked! Someone came up to me afterwards and told me how much they liked ‘my’ poem about the fence – but that was actually by Anna!”
 

  • Anna Crowe and Odile Kennel Olivia Vitazkova
  • Anna Crowe and Odile Kennel StAnza Poetry Festival 2016 Olivia Vitazkova
  • Nora Gomringer and Philipp Scholz Terry Lee


The VERSschmuggel event highlighted that even in a country often derided for being overwhelmingly monoglot, the appetite for events about and work in translation is clearly large: “We’ve put together poetry and translation and German – three things considered very niche in the British literary market – and we ended up with a sell out event in a venue seating 150 people! How did that happen?” marvelled one of the festival organisers. The unspoken answer might be that the “international” aspect of Scotland’s international poetry festival really is key and that we can trust audiences to be interested and curious beyond the big names which are guaranteed to fill auditoriums. Above all, even while debate about Britain’s place in the EU rages in the headlines, audiences are still keen to read beyond their own borders – perhaps in an attempt, like that once suggested by Christa Wolf, to map the world with literature, rather than with military defences.

The ways in which poetry can map the world we know, and thereby rearrange it, were explored in two further events with a German focus. A session in which the translator Anne Stokes discussed and read from the work of German post-war poet Sarah Kirsch highlighted not just the lyrical beauty of Kirsch’s work but also the differences in debates in Scotland and Germany surrounding what poetry can and should do. Such debates are necessarily louder in Germany, where an ongoing confrontation with politics and the past plays an active role in cultural discourse – and there is the unspoken suggestion that, in their approach to art and its place in society, both countries might be able to learn from each other.

Meanwhile, a discussion event with the collaborators of StreetLyrics – a book and exhibition juxtaposing photographs of manhole covers with poetry responding to these in English, German and Gaelic – highlighted what poetry does best: the way it transforms our understanding of everyday objects, showing them to be rich with meaning and allusion.

The German focus ended on a high with a performance by wordsmith extraordinaire (and Ingeborg-Bachmann prize-winner) Nora Gomringer and the multi-talented jazz drummer Philipp Scholz. Scholz’s and Gomringer’s exuberant performance – in which they presented work by both Gomringer and other poets – was yet another demonstration of how poetry can cross borders: borders of language but also of media. Gomringer’s playful performances of experimental sound poetry (including one silent sound poem – a favourite with the audience) demonstrated this particularly clearly, leaving the audience unsure as to whether they were listening to music or poetry, English or German.

It is perhaps telling that the idea for a German-language focus at StAnza was prompted by an exhibition also on show at the festival, a selection of photos bringing together poets from across Europe to respond to the question, “What’s the point of poetry?” The point of poetry – the German-language events all suggested in their own way – is to take us across borders which we wouldn’t otherwise have crossed. What happens after that – it might be art, it might be understanding, it might purely be a trip to the pub – is up to us.

Lyrik StAnza Poesiefestival 2016 - Etwas Erstaunliches mit der Sprache machen

Nora Gomringer und Philipp Scholz
Terry Lee

Wenn wir eine Abkürzung zum Byre Theater in St Andrews nehmen, biegen wir in eine unverkennbar schottische Gasse ein, die uns wegführt von der South Street, einer Straße voll winterharter Touristen und Eis-essender Studierender. Die Gasse bringt uns zu einem Garten und an einem Abend Anfang März könnte es sein, dass wir kurz anhalten, um die Bäume, die zwar noch keine Blätter haben, dafür aber mit Lichterketten geschmückt sind, zu bewundern. Oder vielleicht lässt uns auch innehalten, dass es irgendwie nach Geißblatt riecht. Möglicherweise aber gibt es einen ganz anderen Grund: eine sanfte Stimme, die durch den Garten hallt und deren Vokale den Rhythmus einer Sprache auffangen, die nicht die unsere ist.

Die Stimme ist ein Teil der Lyrikline, einer Audio-Installation aus deutschen Gedichten und englischen Übersetzungen, die einen ersten Geschmack von StAnza, Schottlands internationalem Lyrikfestival, bietet. Das Festival, das vom 2. bis  6. März stattfand, legte 2016 zum ersten Mal seinen Schwerpunkt auf eine bestimmte Fremdsprache und richtete alle Aufmerksamkeit auf deutschsprachige Lyrik.

Die Lyrikline-Installation (auch über Kopfhörer im Byre Theater, dem Hauptveranstaltungsort des Festivals, zu hören) weist darauf hin, dass für diesen Schwerpunkt die deutsche Sprache selbst, deren Kadenzen und Halbreime so anders sind als im Englischen und Schottischen, genauso wichtig ist (weder mehr noch weniger) wie die englischen Übersetzungen, die den Gedichten ein neues Publikum ermöglichen.

Vor allem in einer VERSschmuggel-Lesung wurden englische Übersetzungen und deutsche Originale miteinander verwebt. VERSschmuggel ist ein jährliches Projekt, das von StAnzas deutschem Pendanten veranstaltet wird: Jedes Jahr bringt das poesiefestival berlin sechs deutsche Lyriker zusammen mit sechs Dichtern aus einer anderen Sprach- oder Kulturregion. Sie übersetzen gegenseitig ihre Texte mit Hilfe von professionellen Übersetzern. „Ich spreche gerne von einer Übersetzungswerkstatt mit sechs Händen,“ erklärt die Projekt-Koordinatorin Aurélie Maurin und lacht. Im Jahr 2014 waren schottische Lyriker an der Reihe, Verse zu schmuggeln, und die Lesung bei StAnza präsentierte das Werk von zwei Dichterpaaren, u.a. die schottische Lyrikerin Anna Crowe und ihre deutsche Kollegin, Odile Kennel. Die Lyrikerinnen erklärten dem Publikum, dass sie abwechselnd zuerst Übersetzung und Original lesen würden, damit die Grenzen zwischen Übersetzung und Original verschwinden und um „damit zu zeigen, dass dieser Unterschied vielleicht doch nicht so wichtig ist“, fügte Odile hinzu. Nachher erzählte sie mir schmunzelnd: „Es hat geklappt! Jemand kam danach zu mir und hat mir erzählt, wie schön er ‚mein‘ Gedicht zum Zaun fand – aber das Gedicht ist eigentlich von Anna!“
 

  • Anna Crowe und Odile Kennel Olivia Vitazkova
  • Anna Crowe und Odile Kennel beim StAnza Poetry Festival 2016 Olivia Vitazkova
  • Nora Gomringer und Philipp Scholz Terry Lee


Während der VERSschmuggel-Lesung wurde klar, dass – sogar in einem Land, das oft als überwiegend einsprachig belächelt wird – die Lust auf Veranstaltungen über und das Interesse am Werk in Übersetzung doch sehr groß ist: „Wir haben Lyrik und Übersetzung und Deutsch kombiniert – drei Dinge, die in der britischen Buchbranche als Nische gelten – und wir hatten eine ausverkaufte Veranstaltung mit 150 Besuchern! Wie ist das denn passiert?“ staunte eine der Organisatorinnen. Eine Antwort wäre vielleicht, dass der „internationale“ Aspekt von Schottlands internationalem Lyrikfestival sehr geschätzt ist und wir dem Publikum vertrauen können, Neugierde und Interesse zu zeigen, auch wenn es nicht um bekannte Namen geht. Während in den Schlagzeilen über die Stellung von Großbritannien in der EU gestritten wird, zeigt StAnza, dass das Publikum gerne über die eigenen Grenzen hinausliest – vielleicht in einem Versuch, wie Christa Wolf es einmal vorschlug, durch Literatur, statt durch militärische Auseinandersetzung, eine Karte der Welt zu erschaffen.

In zwei weiteren Veranstaltungen mit deutschem Fokus wurde ebenso überlegt, wie Lyrik die Welt, wie wir sie kennen, aufzeichnen und dadurch auch neu gestalten kann. Eine Veranstaltung, in der die Übersetzerin Anne Stokes aus dem Werk der Nachkriegslyrikerin Sarah Kirsch las und diese diskutierte, betonte nicht nur Kirschs lyrische Ästhetik, sondern deutete auch auf die Unterschiede zwischen Debatten über die Rolle von Lyrik in Deutschland und Schottland hin. Solche Debatten sind selbstverständlich prägender in einem Land wie Deutschland, wo die stete Auseinandersetzung mit Politik und der Vergangenheit eine aktive Rolle in kulturellem Diskurs spielt. Die Lesung warf die Frage auf, ob beide Länder nicht voneinander lernen können, was ihre Einstellung zur Kunst und deren Position in der Gesellschaft angeht.

Währenddessen präsentierten die Mitarbeiterinnen von Streetlyrics in einer Diskussionsveranstaltung die Ausstellung zum Buch StreetLyrics, das Fotos von Gullydeckeln englischer, deutscher und gälischer Lyrik gegenüberstellt. Eine reiche Metapher für Lyrik entstand, v.a. für die Art, wie Lyrik unser Verständnis von alltäglichen Gegenständen verwandelt und wie sie zeigt, dass diese unterschiedliche Ebenen von Bedeutung und Anspielungen besitzen.

Höhepunkt des deutschen Fokus bildete eine Aufführung von der Sprachjongleurin (und Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preisträgerin) Nora Gomringer und dem vielseitig begabten Schlagzeugspieler Philipp Scholz. Scholz‘ und Gomringers ausgelassene Aufführung – in der sie Texte von Gomringer sowie auch von anderen Autoren präsentierten – zeigte noch einmal, wie Lyrik Grenzen überschreiten kann: Grenzen von Sprache sowie auch die des Mediums. Das war vor allem der Fall bei Gomringers spielerischem Vortrag von experimenteller Klangpoesie (mitunter ein stilles Klanggedicht, das vom Publikum besonders gefeiert wurde), wobei die Zuhörer nicht hätten sagen können, ob sie Musik oder Lyrik, Englisch oder Deutsch lauschten.

Bemerkenswert ist, dass die Idee für einen deutschsprachigen Fokus bei StAnza durch eine Ausstellung, die auch beim Festival zu sehen war, angeregt wurde. In der Foto-Ausstellung wurden Lyriker aus ganz Europa zusammengebracht, um sich mit der Frage „Wozu Poesie?“ auseinanderzusetzen. Die deutschsprachigen Veranstaltungen bei StAnza deuteten alle darauf hin, dass Poesie dazu da ist, um uns über Grenzen zu führen, die wir ansonsten nicht überquert hätten. Was danach passiert – sei es Kunst, sei es Verständnis, sei es einfach ein Besuch in der Kneipe – ist dann uns überlassen.