Brady Lecture 2016 “An equally valued coexistence of all world cultures”

Brady Lecture 2016: Neil MacGregor
Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya

Neil MacGregor, one of three founding directors of Berlin’s Humboldt Forum, spoke at the Goethe-Institut London’s annual Brady Lecture about the previous buildings on the site of the Berlin Stadtschloss, the Humboldt brothers, ‘Denkmalkultur’ (‘memorial culture’) in Germany, and colonialism.
 

On October 13th, Neil MacGregor gave his Brady Lecture talk entitled ‘One castle, one palace, two brothers, many museums: Berlin’s Humbolt Forum’. He described the Humboldt Forum as ‘one of the most exciting current big museum projects in Europe’, and presented some early glimpses into the museum’s future.  Its foundation on the site of the former Berlin Stadtschloss (city palace) has already caused much discussion and speculation.

At this sold-out event in the auditorium of the Goethe-Institut London, its director, Angela Kaya, and the German Ambassador to London, Dr Peter Ammon, greeted the audience before Neil MacGregor, former director of the British Museum, delivered his eagerly awaited Brady Lecture.

MacGregor’s talk spanned the history of the architecture of the Berlin Stadtschloss, its location at the site of political world events in the centre of Berlin, and the lives of the Forum’s namesakes: Wilhelm and Alexander von Humboldt.  He said that the Berlin Stadtschloss ‘…has always been a building of special meaning and symbolism’.  For example it was the balcony of the Berlin Stadtschloss from where Karl Liebknecht proclaimed his vision of a ‘Socialist Republic’ on November 9, 1918.
 

  • (From left) German Ambassador Dr. Ammon (German Embassy London), Goethe-Institut London director Angela Kaya and Head of Humboldt Forum Neil MacGregor. Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Head of Humboldt Forum Neil MacGregor presenting the future plans. Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Audience of the live streaming event in the library Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Neil MacGregor presenting the Brady Lecture 2016 Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • There was a huge level of interest in this event. Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Brady Lecture 2016 im Goethe-Institut london Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Reception at the Brady Lecture 2016 Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Guests at the Brady Lecture Foto: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya

 
With regard to the Forum’s future MacGregor said: ‘If the Humboldt Forum shows that there are no simple answers to our complex world, of which we are all citizens, then I think it will have achieved its purpose.’  The museum project is unique in that it aims to connect all world cultures with one another and give them equal ranking.  And Berlin, according to MacGregor, is the best place for such a global museum to exist, possibly because of the legacy of German history.  The Humboldt brothers, as two of the first ‘world citizens’, are for this reason appropriate namesakes.
 
The Goethe-Institut London holds its Brady Lecture every year in memory of the achievements of the academic and broadcaster Philip Brady (1932-97) who contributed remarkably to cultural exchange between Germany and Great Britain.  Angela Kaya emphasised the importance of Anglo-German cultural exchange in her welcoming speech: ‘During times in which cultural cooperation and mutual understanding are no longer to be taken for granted, enterprises such as the ‘Brady Lecture’ are more vital than ever before.’
 
There was a huge level of interest in this event, and so the talk was livestreamed into the Library of the Goethe-Institut London and also to the Goethe-Institut Glasgow where a big audience had gathered to follow this year’s Brady Lecture.

Brady Lecture 2016 „Eine gleichrangige Zeitgenossenschaft der Weltkulturen“

Brady Lecture 2016: Neil MacGregor
Foto: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya

Neil MacGregor, einer von drei Gründungsintendanten des Humboldt-Forums, sprach bei der Brady Lecture am Goethe-Institut London über die Vorgängerbauten des Berliner Stadtschlosses, die Brüder Humboldt, Denkmalkultur in Deutschland und Kolonialismus.
 

Am 13. Oktober sprach Neil MacGregor im Rahmen der Brady Lecture „One castle, one palace, two brothers, many museums: Berlin's Humboldt Forum“ über eines der derzeit spannendsten Museumsgroßprojekte in Europa. Dabei präsentierte er erste Einblicke in die Zukunft des Humboldt Forums, über dessen Gründung auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Berliner Stadtschlosses bereits viel diskutiert und spekuliert worden ist.

Im ausverkauften Veranstaltungssaal des Goethe-Instituts London begrüßten Angela Kaya, Institutsleiterin, und Dr. Peter Ammon, deutscher Botschafter in London, das Publikum, bevor Neil MacGregor, ehemaliger Direktor des British Museums und Gründungsintendant des Humboldt Forums, seine mit Spannung erwartete Brady Lecture hielt.

MacGregor gelang es dabei einen Bogen zwischen der Architekturgeschichte des Berliner Stadtschlosses, als Schauplatz von politischen Weltereignissen im Berliner Zentrum, als auch zu den zukünftigen Namensgebern Wilhelm und Alexander von Humboldt zu spannen. Das Berliner Stadtschloss sei „schon immer ein Gebäude von besonderer Bedeutung und Symbolik“ gewesen. So wurde der Balkon des Stadtschlosses zum Beispiel zu einem Traum für eine bestimmte politische Zukunft als Karl Liebknecht von dort aus am 9. November 1918 die „Sozialistische Republik“ proklamierte.
 

  • (Von links) Deutscher Botschafter in UK Dr. Ammon, Institutsleitung des Goethe-Institut London  Angela Kaya und Gründungsintendant Humboldt Forum Neil MacGregor. Foto: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Gründungsintendant Humboldt Forum Neil MacGregor präsentierte die zukünftigen Pläne. Foto: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Publikum bei der Liveübertragung in der Bibliothek Foto: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Neil MacGregor präsentiert die Brady Lecture 2016 Foto: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Das Interesse an der Veranstaltung war immens. Foto: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Brady Lecture 2016 at the Goethe-Institut london Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Empfang bei der Brady Lecture 2016 Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya
  • Gäste bei der Brady Lecture Foto: Goethe-Institut London/Rajvi Vaya

 
Im Hinblick auf die Zukunft des Forums sagte MacGregor: „Das Humboldt Forum wird dann ein Erfolg, wenn es dort gelingt, keine einfachen Antworten auf unsere komplexe Welt zu geben.“ Das Museumsprojekt sei in dieser Art einzigartig, da es alle Weltkulturen miteinander verbindet und gleichwertig gegenüberstellt. Und Berlin sei möglicherweise gerade aufgrund der deutschen Geschichte der beste Ort für ein solch weltumspannendes Museum. Die Brüder Humboldt seien als zwei der ersten „Weltbürger“ aus diesem Grund auch die passenden Namensgeber.
 
In Gedenken an die Errungenschaften des Dozenten und Rundfunksprechers Philip Brady (1932-97) im Kulturaustausch zwischen Deutschland und Großbritannien, organisiert das Goethe-Institut London die alljährliche Brady Lecture. Den Stellenwert des deutsch-britischen Austausches betonte auch Angela Kaya in ihrer Begrüßung: „In Zeiten, in denen kulturelle Zusammenarbeit und gegenseitiges Verständnis keine Selbstverständlichkeit mehr sind, sind  Formate wie die Brady Lecture notwendiger als jemals zuvor.“
 
Das Interesse an der Veranstaltung war immens, sodass es sowohl einen Livestream in der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts London, als auch eine Liveübertragung in das Goethe-Institut Glasgow gab, in dem sich ebenfalls viele Zuschauer versammelt hatten, um die diesjährige Brady Lecture zu verfolgen.