Reflexion on Anglo-German relations Awkward cousins

Anne McElvoy in dialogue
Photo: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London

Enduring misunderstandings and interesting similarities: In her Brady Lecture journalist Anne McElvoy reflects on Anglo-German relations and addresses the question why “crazy Brits” and “tidy Germans” need to get along.

“We’re living in a uniquely difficult and tense time,” said Anne McElvoy about the global geopolitical landscape of today. She delivered an equal parts entertaining and insightful Brady Lecture: ‘Awkward cousins: From Deutschland 83 to Brexit and beyond. Why crazy Brits and tidy Germans need to get along’ on November 21.

Presented – along with a follow-up discussion moderated by journalist and one-time associate editor of the Financial Times Quentin Peel – the talk and discussion follows up on the surprise result from the 2016 British referendum to opt out of the European Union.

The annual event is held at the Goethe-Institut London in memory of academic and broadcaster Philip Brady whose work with BBC German and World Service, as well as British radio, contributed to the cultural exchange between Germany and the UK for over 30 years. In this tradition, McElvoy – a British journalist for The Economist and the London Evening Standard, as well as BBC broadcaster – shared her own unique experience in Anglo-German relations from the perspective of a journalist and self-described ‘Germanophile,’ reporting from East Germany during the days of the German Democratic Republic, through unification, to the present Federal Republic of Germany. Taking the 1989 fall of the Berlin wall as an example, she illustrated how quickly and unexpectedly political circumstances can change. She called for less focus on the defensive narratives of Brexit and rather a push toward the many other ties these two countries share to present a more rounded and therefore optimistic political outlook.
 
McElvoy’s discussion was as much a nostalgic trip back to the sights and sounds of ‘Deutschland 83’ – the music of Peter Schilling and Udo Lindenberg, images of the uncomfortable body language between British and German leaders – as it was an astute reflection on the enduring misunderstandings between these two nations. She characterised the insular GDR mentality of East Germany developing its image of England as “a declining country in a moribund capitalist system” from propagandist textbooks and readily circulating copies of 19th century literature like Sherlock Holmes. Meanwhile, McElvoy shared her own cultural foibles as a young student and English au pair learning to take off her shoes inside the German household and becoming comfortable with public nudity.
 



The effect of these small but fundamental differences on diplomacy was not lost on the political commentator, who then ran through the delicate relationships between leaders Helmut Kohl and Margaret Thatcher, Gerhard Schröder and Tony Blair, and finally Angela Merkel and Theresa May. It’s with this current pairing where some interesting similarities emerge in 80s and 90s Anglo-German relations. One of them being Merkel’s newly precarious position as German Chancellor and EU leader in her fourth term, which, according to McElvoy, echoes the sudden turn of events that led to Thatcher’s resignation in 1990.
 
“People really felt that they were living on the verge of disaster,” she said about the political climate of the 80s, a sentiment that very much permeates the collective psyche today. In light of acknowledging this common feeling, McElvoy proposed a pragmatic approach to moving forward with Britain’s divorce from the European Union, arguing for cooperation and breaking out of the unconstructive “Brexit sadface” she worries will only harm efforts to preserve the British-German connection. McElvoy suggests the democratic vote to leave Europe was an uprising of “the led against the leaders” and that “bad tempered Brexit doesn’t need to be a self-fulfilling prophecy, if we don’t let it adversely affect German-Anglo relations.”
 
  • Brady Lecture 2017 - Audience Photo: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London
  • Brady Lecture 2017 - Presentation Photo: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London
  • Brady Lecture 2017 Anne McElvoy and Quentin Peel Photo: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London
  • Brady Lecture 2017 - Reception Photo: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London
  • Brady Lecture 2017 - Reception II Photo: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London

Britisch-deutsche Beziehungen im Fokus Awkward cousins

Anne McElvoy im Gespräch
Foto: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London

Anhaltende Missverständnisse und interessante Gemeinsamkeiten: In ihrer Brady Lecture reflektiert Journalistin Anne McElvoy über die deutsch-britischen Beziehungen und widmet sich der Frage, warum die „verrückten Briten“ und „ordentlichen Deutschen“ miteinander auskommen müssen.

“Wir leben in außerordentlich schwierigen und angespannten Zeiten”. So beschrieb Anne McElvoy die momentane globale geopolitische Lage. Am 21. November hielt sie eine ebenso unterhaltsame wie aufschlussreiche Brady Lecture unter dem Titel: ‘Awkward cousins: From Deutschland 83 to Brexit and beyond. Why crazy Brits and tidy Germans need to get along.’

McElvoys Vortrag  und die anschließende Diskussion - moderiert von dem Journalisten und früheren Mitherausgeber der Financial Times Quentin Peel - befassten sich mit dem überraschenden Ergebnis des britischen Referendums von 2016 zum Austritt aus der Europäischen Union.

Die Brady Lecture findet alljährlich am Goethe-Institut London statt. Die Veranstaltung steht im Gedenken an den Akademiker und Rundfunksprecher Philip Brady, dessen Arbeit für BBC German, den BBC World Service und das britische Radio über 30 Jahre lang zum Kulturaustausch zwischen Deutschland und Großbritannien beigetragen hat. McElvoy – britische Journalistin für den Economist und den London Evening Standard, die auch BBC Reporterin ist – setzte diese Tradition fort, indem sie von ihrer ganz eigenen Erfahrung deutsch-britischer Beziehungen aus der Perspektive einer Journalistin und selbsterklärten ‘Germanophilen’ sprach, die während DDR Zeiten, bei der Wiedervereinigung und in der heutigen BRD aus Ostdeutschland Bericht erstattete. Am Beispiel des Mauerfalls 1989 zeigte sie auf, wie schnell und unerwartet sich politische Gegebenheiten ändern können. Sie rief dazu auf, weniger Gewicht auf die defensiven Narrativen zum “Brexit” zu legen und sich stattdessen auf die vielen anderen Verbindungen zwischen den beiden Ländern zu konzentrieren, um zu einem ganzheitlicheren und somit optimistischeren politischen Ausblick zu gelangen.
 
McElvoys Vortrag war sowohl ein nostalgischer Trip zurück zu den Bildern und Klängen aus ‘Deutschland ‘83’ – der Musik von Peter Schilling und Udo Lindenberg, Bildern der unbehaglichen Körpersprache zwischen britischen und deutschen Spitzenpolitiker*innen – wie auch eine scharfsinnige Analyse der anhaltenden Missverständnisse zwischen Deutschland und Großbritannien. Sie sprach von der insularen DDR Mentalität in Ostdeutschland, wo man sich mithilfe von propagandistischen Lehrbüchern und und leicht erhältlicher Literatur aus dem 19. Jahrhundert wie etwa Sherlock Holmes ein Bild von England machte als  “absteigendes Land in einem dem Untergang geweihten kapitalistischen System”. McElvoy erzählte auch von ihren eigenen kulturellen Schwachpunkten als junge Studentin und englisches Au-Pair - wie sie lernte, ihre Schuhe in deutschen Häusern auszuziehen und sich an Nacktheit in der Öffentlichkeit zu gewöhnen.
 



Die Auswirkung solch kleiner aber wesentlicher Unterschiede auf die Diplomatie entgeht McElvoy als politischer Berichterstatterin nicht: ihr Vortrag befasste sich im Folgenden mit den heiklen Beziehungen zwischen Helmut Kohl und Margaret Thatcher, Gerhard Schröder und Tony Blair und zuletzt Angela Merkel und Theresa May. Bei dieser letzten Koppelung lassen sich einige interessante Parallelen zu den deutsch-britischen Beziehungen der 80er und 90er Jahre ziehen. Insbesondere fühlt sich McElvoy durch Merkels neuerdings prekäre Position als deutsche Kanzlerin und führende Kraft in der EU in ihrer vierten Amtszeit an die unerwarteten Ereignisse erinnert, die 1990 zu Thatchers Rücktritt führten.
 
Über das politische Klima der 80er sagt sie, “die Menschen hatten wirklich das Gefühl, am Rande des Untergangs zu stehen”, ein Gefühl, das auch die heutige kollektive Geisteshaltung stark bestimmt. Wenn man es anerkennt, so McElvoy, dann könnte dieses gemeinsame Gefühl den Anstoß für einen pragmatischen Zugang zu Großbritanniens Austritt aus der Europäischen Union geben, bei dem ein erneuter Fokus auf Zusammenarbeit das kontraproduktive “Brexit-Trauergesicht” ersetzt. Letzteres könne, wie McElvoy befürchtet, den Bemühungen zur Erhaltung der deutsch-britischen Verbindung nur schaden. McElvoy beschrieb die demokratische Wahlentscheidung zum Austritt aus der EU als einen Aufstand “der Geführten gegen die Führenden”. Ein “missgestimmter Brexit muss keine selbsterfüllende Prophezeiung sein, solange wir es nicht zu einer Beeinträchtigung der deutsch-britischen Beziehungen durch den Brexit kommen lassen.”
 
  • Brady Lecture 2017 - Audience Foto: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London
  • Brady Lecture 2017 - Presentation Foto: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London
  • Brady Lecture 2017 Anne McElvoy and Quentin Peel Foto: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London
  • Brady Lecture 2017 - Reception Foto: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London
  • Brady Lecture 2017 - Reception II Foto: @Vayamedia © Goethe-Institut London