Berlinale Bloggers 2018 MAYA/MATANGI/M.I.A. - Portrait of the artist never quite reveals the whole M.I.A

MAYA/MATANGI/M.I.A
© Courtesy of Cinereach

Artist. Mother. Activist. The British/Sri Lankan musician M.I.A. has many personas. This film doc attempts to encompass all of them.

Born Mathangi “Maya” Arulpragasam, M.I.A. is a British/Sri Lankan musician and artist. She is an activist. She causes controversy. She is a mother. While it would be easy for director Steve Loveridge to pick and choose just one fact of M.I.A.’s being for his film, he attempts to blend all of these together to create an engaging and honest depiction of M.I.A., whilst documenting her life.

MAYA

MAYA/MATANGI/M.I.A. is an engaging watch, due largely to Loveridge’s access to years’ worth of Arulpragasam’s video archives, spanning her childhood having moved from Sri Lanka to Britain, her friendship with Elastica’s Justine Frischmann and the genesis of her own music career. Loveridge is clearly a talented filmmaker, who pieces together Arulpragasm’s life story compellingly to create a multi-layered portrait that also serves as a critique of both the Sri Lankan crisis and the modern world of journalism.

MATANGI

Of all the roles Arulpragasm plays as M.I.A., it’s that of her as a rebel, anarchist and activist that easily comes to the forefront. Throughout the film she is frank and unflinching in her stance about the mistreatment of Tamil people in Sri Lanka, even when she considers herself to be treated as a laughing matter by the press. It’s fascinating to see a depiction of a strong woman of colour who believes in herself and her roots in film.
 
However, the M.I.A. that we see in the film seems a little at odds with the M.I.A. that we’ve seen in recent years. She is an activist, this has made clear. Yet her critiques about Black Lives Matter, one of the most high-profile activist groups of recent years, are completely missing from the film. So too is the recent controversy around the London branch of Afropunk festival choosing her as a headliner for their first festival.
 
 
MAYA/MATANGI/M.I.A © Courtesy of Cinereach

M.I.A.

Perhaps this is the trouble with Loveridge making a film about someone he is so close to - he presents his M.I.A. to us. And while there’s nothing wrong with sharing a personal portrait of your best friend, true documentary filmmaking (at least to this writer anyway) should seek to give a fair, unbiased portrait of your subject.

Berlinale Blogger 2018 MAYA/MATANGI/M.I.A. – Ein Porträt zeigt nie die ganze Künstlerin

MAYA/MATANGI/M.I.A
© Courtesy of Cinereach

Künstlerin, Mutter, Aktivistin. Die in Sri Lanka geborene britische Musikerin M.I.A. hat viele Gesichter. Diese Dokumentation versucht, ihnen allen gerecht zu werden.

Mathangi Maya Arulpragasam, besser bekannt als M.I.A., ist eine britische Musikerin und Künstlerin, die in Sri Lanka geboren wurde. Sie ist eine Aktivistin. Sie sorgt für Kontroversen. Sie ist eine Mutter. Es wäre sicherlich leichter für Regisseur Steve Loveridge gewesen, wenn er sich für seine Dokumentation auf nur ein Detail aus M.I.A.‘s Dasein gestürzt hätte, aber er hat versucht, alle Facetten zusammen abzubilden, um ein ehrliches Porträt von ihr zu zeigen.

MAYA

MAYA/MATANGI/M.I.A. ist ein fesselnder Film. Das liegt zum großen Teil daran, dass Loveridges Zugang zum Videoarchiv von Arulpragasam hatte. Alles wurde aufgezeichnet – ihre Kindheit, wie sie von Sri Lanka nach Großbritannien zieht, ihre Freundschaft mit Justine Frischmann von [der Britpop-Band] Elastica und die Geschichte ihrer eigenen musikalischen Karriere. Loveridge ist mit Sicherheit ein talentierter Filmemacher, der sich Stück für Stück der Lebensgeschichte der Künstlerin nähert und ein vielschichtiges Porträt liefert. Er kritisiert auch den Konflikt in Sri Lanka und die Welt des modernen Journalismus.

MATANGI

Von allen Rollen, die Arulpragasam als M.I.A. einnimmt, ist die von ihr als Rebellin, Anarchistin und Aktivistin am einprägsamsten. Im Film redet sie offen und unerschrocken darüber, wie schlimm aus ihrer Sicht die tamilische Bevölkerung in Sri Lanka behandelt wird, selbst wenn sie durch solche Reden von der Presse verspottet wird. Es ist faszinierend, auf der Leinwand eine starke schwarze Frau zu sehen, die an sich selbst und ihre Wurzeln glaubt.
 
Allerdings ist die M.I.A., die wir im Film sehen, nicht dieselbe, die wir in den vergangenen zwei Jahren gesehen haben. Sie ist eine Aktivistin, aber ihre Kritik an der Bewegung Black Life Matters, einer der wichtigsten aktuellen sozialen Bewegungen, fehlt im Film. Auch dass sie wegen dieser Kritik 2016 vom Afropunk-Festival als Headlinerin wieder ausgeladen wurde.
 
MAYA/MATANGI/M.I.A © Courtesy of Cinereach

M.I.A.

Es ist vielleicht der Knackpunkt, dass Loveridge einen Film über jemanden gemacht hat, der ihm sehr nahe steht. Er präsentiert uns hier seine M.I.A.. Es ist natürlich nichts falsch daran, ein persönliches Porträt über seine beste Freundin mit anderen zu teilen, aber ein echter Dokumentarfilm (jedenfalls für die Autorin dieses Texts) sollte immer versuchen, ein faires und unvoreingenommenes Porträt einer Person zu zeigen.