Brady Lecture 2018 Germany and England in the Age of Schism

Brady Lecture Brendan Simms 2
Photo: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London

Europe is facing a new age of schism as it grapples with the enormous challenges brought about by Brexit, Trump and economic crisis. In this year’s Brady Lecture, Brendan Simms, professor of History of International Relations at Cambridge University, explained how Europe arrived at this point by discussing the key roles played by Germany and England.

 

“As the European crisis deepens, politicians, commentators and academics have reached for historical analogies to explain the present turbulence,” Simms said, in reference to commentators and politicians such as Boris Johnson who believe that the populism of the 1930s has resurfaced across the continent. Simms delivered an eloquent and insightful lecture at the Goethe-Institut London entitled “Germany and England in the Age of Schism” on November 27, and discussed how both nations have fared during periods of legal, religious and political turbulence during the past five centuries. The annual Brady Lecture is held at the Goethe-Institut London in memory of Philip Brady (1932-1997), an inspiring broadcaster, writer and lecturer.
 
Professor Brendan Simm's contribution to cultural exchange between Great Britain and Germany allowed him to offer a sharp analysis of Germany and England in the age of Putin, Trump and Brexit. His reflections emerged from his work at the Forum on Geopolitics at Cambridge University, as well as several books he has written on the subject.

The differing historical trajectories between England and Germany after the 1500s explain their contrasting approach to the European order today

Brendan Simms



During the lecture, Simms spelled out why it is foolish to equate the EU, which generally tries to safeguard human rights and the rule of law, with either the Soviet Union or the genocidal dictatorship of Adolf Hitler. “In fact, Hitler was exclusively and vigorously opposed to the concept of European integration,” he said. Dismissing most of the comparisons between Brexit and Nazi Germany, he instead cited the Reformation as a more valid analogy, which could help explain why Europe is facing such an uncertain future.

His analysis drew on both German and English examples of political tensions and their relevance to modern-day Europe: “The differing historical trajectories between England and Germany after the 1500s explain their contrasting approach to the European order today.”

Simms went on to explain that in Germany sovereignty was largely diffused and that religious strife ended in a compromise. “The contrasting German and English experiences since the Reformation also explain their fundamentally different attitudes to sovereignty within Europe. If the UK has been one of the great ordering powers in Europe, Germany has - with some spectacular exceptions - been a space to be ordered,” Simms added.

Due to its troubled history, Germany has, at best, been a co-ordering power over the past few decades, according to Simms. Britain, by contrast, has been the most central European actor which has helped to end world conflicts and negotiate crucial agreements.

Will the original clash of authority be furthered by a deepening cultural divide on the scale of the Reformation?

Brendan Simms


 
Through its EU membership, the UK remained closely involved in the political management of Europe, while also maintaining control of its borders and currency, Simms explained. “Some of the longstanding conflicts seemed to have been pacified by devolution settlements. In Northern Ireland, for example, the power-sharing assembly created under the Good Friday Agreement appeared stable,” he added.
 
In the present day, Germany maintains some influence in the EU, Simms pointed out. It is England, though, that has been one of the main drivers of the severe crisis facing the EU today, he added, largely due to its desire for more control over immigration and trade. As Brexit looms, it is less clear how England and the rest of the UK now fits into Europe.
Simms acknowledged that we have been left with more questions than answers. He stressed that although nobody can know the full implications of Brexit, we should always be wary of such a significant change in the order. “Will the Brexit project endure or will it be reversed?” he asked in conclusion. “Will the original clash of authority be furthered by a deepening cultural divide on the scale of the Reformation? History does not answer those questions, but it does give us a sense of the price to be paid if we get it wrong.”

Brady Lecture 2018 Germany and England in the Age of Schism

Brady Lecture Brendan Simms 2
Foto: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London

Ein neues Zeitalter der Spaltung steht Europa bevor: die Auswirkungen von Brexit, Trump, und der Wirtschaftskrise stellen gewaltige Herausforderungen dar. Anhand der Schlüsselrollen von Deutschland und England erläuterte Brendan Simms, Professor für History of International Relations an der Universität Cambridge, in der diesjährigen Brady Lecture wie Europa an diesem Punkt angelangt ist.

 

“Im Zuge der Verschärfung der europäischen Krise bemühten Politiker, Kommentatoren und Akademiker historische Vergleiche, um die aktuellen Schwierigkeiten zu erklären”. Simms bezog sich dabei auf Kommentatoren und Politiker wie etwa Boris Johnson, denen zufolge der Populismus der 1930er Jahre auf dem Kontinent wieder erwacht ist. Simms hielt am 27. November 2018 einen aufschlussreichen Vortrag mit dem Titel “Germany and England in the Age of Schism” am Goethe-Institut London. Darin besprach er die Auswirkungen der religiösen und politischen Unruhen während der letzten 500 Jahre auf beide Nationen. Die Brady Lecture findet jährlich am Goethe-Institut London statt, zum Andenken an den inspirierenden Rundfunksprecher, Autor und Dozent Philip Brady (1932-1997).
 
Professor Brendan Simms’ Beteiligung am kulturellen Austausch zwischen Großbritannien und Deutschland ermöglichte seine scharfe Analyse von Deutschland und England im Zeitalter von Putin, Trump und Brexit. Seine Ideen fundieren auf seiner Tätigkeit für das Forum on Geopolitics bei Cambridge University, sowie auf mehreren Büchern, die er zu dem Thema verfasst hat.

Die unterschiedlichen historischen Entwicklungen in England und Deutschland nach dem Jahr 1500 erklären ihre heutigen, entgegengesetzten Ansichten über die europäische Ordnung.

Brendan Simms


In seinem Vortrag kritisierte Simms jegliche Vergleiche zwischen der Sowjetunion oder Hitler und der EU, die versuchen die Menschenrechte und Rechtsstaatlichkeit zu gewährleisten. So sagte er: “Hitler trat dem Konzept der europäischen Integration energisch entgegen.” Simms lehnte auch die Vergleiche zwischen Brexit und Nazideutschland größtenteils ab und berief sich stattdessen auf die Reformation als nützlichere Analogie, um den Ursachen für die unsichere Zukunft Europas auf die Spur zu kommen.
 
Seine Analyse bezog sich auf frühere politische Unruhen in Deutschland und England sowie auf deren Bedeutung für das heutige Europa: “Die unterschiedlichen historischen Entwicklungen in England und Deutschland nach dem Jahr 1500 erklären ihre heutigen, entgegengesetzten Ansichten über die europäische Ordnung.”
 
Simms führte aus, dass Souveränität in Deutschland meist abgeschwächt und religiöse Unruhen stets mit Kompromissen beendet wurden. “Die gegensätzlichen Entwicklungen in Deutschland und England seit der Reformation dienen auch als Erklärung für ihre grundlegend unterschiedlichen Einstellungen zur Frage der Souveränität innerhalb Europas. Wenn das Vereinigte Königreich eine der wichtigsten Ordnungsmächte in Europa war, dann war Deutschland – von einigen eklatanten Ausnahmen abgesehen – ein Land, das geordnet werden musste.”
 
Laut Simms habe Deutschland wegen seiner bewegten Geschichte in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten bestenfalls als teilhabende Ordnungsmacht agiert. Dagegen habe Großbritannien in Europa eine entscheidende Rolle gespielt, und dabei geholfen, globale Konflikte zu lösen und wichtige Abkommen zu verhandeln

Wird der ursprüngliche Konflikt um Autorität sich durch eine tiefreichende kulturelle Spaltung vom Ausmaß der Reformation verschärfen?

Brendan Simms

 
Durch die EU-Mitgliedschaft habe das Vereinigte Königreich wesentlich an der politischen Gestaltung Europas mitgewirkt, gleichzeitig aber die Kontrolle über seine Grenzen und Währung beibehalten, erklärte Simms. “Einige lang währende Konflikte schienen durch die Einigungen zur Devolution beigelegt zu sein. Das machtteilende nordirische Parlament etwa, welches als Teil des Karfreitagsabkommens gegründet wurde, machte einen stabilen Eindruck.”
 
Simms zufolge nehme Deutschland heutzutage weiterhin einen gewissen Einfluss auf die EU. England jedoch sei, hauptsächlich wegen dem Wunsch nach größerer Kontrolle über Einwanderung und Handel, einer der Hauptverursacher der schweren Krise, mit der die EU jetzt konfrontiert ist. Nun da der Brexit bevorsteht, sei nicht mehr klar, wie England und der Rest des Vereinigten Königreichs in das europäische Konstrukt passen werden, so Simms.
Er räumte ein, dass am Ende mehr Fragen als Antworten offen bleiben. Er betonte aber, dass man bei einer so grundlegenden Veränderung der Ordnung immer vorsichtig sein muss, auch wenn die Auswirkungen von Brexit bisher unklar sind. “Wird das Projekt Brexit bestehen oder wieder zurückgefahren?” fragte er zum Schluss. “Wird der ursprüngliche Konflikt um Autorität sich durch eine tiefreichende kulturelle Spaltung vom Ausmaß der Reformation verschärfen? Die Geschichte beantwortet diese Fragen nicht, aber sie lässt uns ahnen, was auf dem Spiel steht, wenn wir es falsch angehen.”