Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

(Re)-Collecting Europe: Journalism Residency
Francesca Benedetti

Francesca de Benedetti Foto: Francesca de Benedetti © Goethe-Institut London

Goethe Journalism Resident 2019

The Goethe-Institut London is delighted to announce Italian journalist Francesca De Benedetti as one of this year’s journalists-in-residence.The residency will take place from 15 March to 14 April 2019.

Against the backdrop of the UK’s departure from the EU, De Benedetti will examine the social and cultural impact of Brexit on the civil society in the UK. At the beginning, the journalist will stay at the Goethe-Institut London for a week, before embarking on her journey through the UK.

Francesca De Benedetti is a 35-year-old Italian journalist with European background and international vocation. During her residency, she is especially interested in investigating the impact of Brexit on young people, given that most British millennials voted in favor of the EU and they are in danger of being notably affected by Brexit. “How is Brexit going to affect their lives? What are young people’s fears and hopes? Is the pro-European culture going to outlast Brexit?” the journalist wonders.

Francesca studied the EU policies and the European public opinion at Bologna University and at Sciences Po (Paris), also doing research for the European Journalism Observatory. As a journalist, she has been working for Italy’s leading newspaper La Repubblica since 2013: six years ago, Francesca won a journalistic competition called “Formenton fellowship”. Since then, she has been a staff reporter for the newspaper, working both for the digital branch (Repubblica.it, Repubblica TV) and for the newspaper itself (foreign news, business news, cultural magazine, weekly magazine). She has been a staff reporter for the foreign desk, covering European policies, international trade and tech in particular, paying attention to emerging issues such as Brexit, international trade agreements, EU youth unemployment, EU digital strategy, hacking and fake news, gender inequalities, and inequalities in general. In the last few months, the Rome-based journalist has covered Italian elections and politics for the UK newspaper “The Independent” and she continues writing for La Repubblica and its inserts such as the news weekly magazine “il Venerdì di Repubblica”.

Back to "Journalism-Residency" Back to Residency - Home

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

(Re)-Collecting Europe: Journalismus Residenz
Francesca De Benedetti

Francesca de Benedetti Foto: Francesca de Benedetti © Goethe-Institut London

Goethe Residenzjournalistin 2019

Das Goethe-Institut London freut sich die italienische Journalistin Francesca De Benedetti als eine der diesjährigen Residenzjournalist*innen bekanntzugeben. Die Residenz findet vom 15. März bis 14. April 2019 statt.

Vor dem Hintergrund des Austritts Großbritanniens aus der EU wird de Benedetti die sozialen und kulturellen Auswirkungen des Brexit auf die Zivilgesellschaft in Großbritannien untersuchen. Zunächst wird die Journalistin für eine Woche am Goethe-Institut London bleiben um dann anschließend ihre Reise durch Großbritannien zu beginnen.

Francesca De Benedetti ist eine 35-jährige italienische Journalistin mit europäischen Wurzeln und internationaler Berufung. Vor dem Hintergrund, dass die meisten britischen Millennials 2016 für die EU gestimmt haben und trotzdem Gefahr laufen stark vom Brexit beeinträchtigt zu werden, wird sich Francesca während ihrer Residenz vor allem mit dem Einfluss des Brexits auf junge Menschen beschäftigen. Dabei fragt sie sich: Wie wird der Brexit das Leben der jungen Menschen verändern? Was sind ihre Ängste und Hoffnungen? Und wird die pro-europäische Kultur den Brexit überstehen? 

Francesca hat sich während ihres Studiums an der Universität Bologna und der Science Po in Paris mit EU-Politik und der öffentlichen Meinung zu Europa beschäftigt. Außerdem hat sie für das European Journalism Observatory recherchiert. Sie arbeitet als Journalistin für die führende, italienische Zeitung La Repubblica: 2013 gewann sie das journalistische „Formenton fellowship“, seitdem arbeitet sie als feste Mitarbeiterin sowohl für die digital Sparte (Repubblica.it, Repubblica TV), als auch für die Printausgaben der Zeitung (Auslandsnachrichten, Wirtschaftsnachrichten, Kultur-Magazin, wöchentliches Magazin). Als feste Mitarbeiterin der Auslandsredaktion schreibt sie über Bereiche wie europäische Politik, internationalen Handel und Technik im Speziellen. Dabei beschäftigt sie sich immer wieder mit aktuellen Themen wie Brexit, internationalen Handelsabkommen, Jugendarbeitslosigkeit in der EU, Digital-Strategien der EU, Hacking und Fake News, sowie Geschlechterungleichheit und Ungleichheit im Allgemeinen. In den letzten Monaten hat die in Rom-ansässige Journalistin für die britische Zeitung The Independent über die Wahlen und politischen Entwicklungen in Italien berichtet. Sie schreibt jedoch auch weiterhin für La Repubblica und deren Beilagen, wie beispielsweise das wöchentliche Magazin “il Venerdì di Repubblica”.

Zurück zur "Journalismus-Residenz" Zurück zur Residenzseite - Home

Top