Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

(Re)-Collecting Europe: Journalism Residency
Christian Werthschulte

Christian Werthschulte © Anne Werthschulte

Goethe Journalism Resident 2019

The Goethe-Institut London is delighted to announce German journalist Christian Werthschulte as one of this year’s journalists-in-residence.The residency will take place from 15 March to 14 April 2019.

Against the backdrop of the UK’s departure from the EU, Werthschulte will examine the social and cultural impact of Brexit on the civil society in the UK. At the beginning, the journalist will stay at the Goethe-Institut London for a week, before embarking on his journey through the UK.
 

Christian Werthschulte will return to Rochdale to research why his former adoptive home town in England voted “Leave” in the 2016 referendum. Fifteen years ago, he worked at a comprehensive school in the small town near Manchester. Back then, Rochdale seemed to him like a good place to be: “a multicultural community that had to face the economic consequences of deindustrialisation, but otherwise seemed surprisingly intact”.

Since then, many things have changed. During his residency, Werthschulte would like to focus his research on South and West Yorkshire, Merseyside and Greater Manchester to answer questions such as: Which kind of future did the people of imagine for themselves in 2016? What ideas of being English have influenced the vote? How do they imagine their future now on the eve of Brexit? The 41 year old works as a journalist for print media and radio such as Cologne's Stadtrevue magazine and culture radio station WDR Cosmo and has an academic background in the field of British cultural studies.

Back to "Journalism-Residency"
Back to Residencies - Home

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

(Re)-Collecting Europe: Journalismus Residenz
Christian Werthschulte

Christian Werthschulte © Anne Werthschulte

Goethe Residenzjournalist 2019

Das Goethe-Institut London freut sich den deutschen Journalisten Christian Werthschulte als einen der diesjährigen Residenzjournalist*innen bekanntzugeben. Die Residenz findet vom 15. März bis 14. April 2019 statt.

Vor dem Hintergrund des Austritts Großbritanniens aus der EU wird Wertschulte die sozialen und kulturellen Auswirkungen des Brexit auf die Zivilgesellschaft in Großbritannien untersuchen. Zunächst wird der Journalist für eine Woche am Goethe-Institut London bleiben um dann anschließend seine Reise durch Großbritannien zu beginnen.
 

Christian Werthschulte wird nach Rochdale zurückkehren, um zu erforschen, warum seine ehemalige britische Wahlheimatstadt im Referendum 2016 für „Leave“ gestimmt hat. Vor 15 Jahren arbeitete er an einer Gesamtschule in der kleinen Stadt nahe Manchester. Damals erschien ihm Rochdale als ein guter Aufenthaltsort: „eine multikulturelle Gemeinschaft, die mit den ökonomischen Folgen der De-Industrialisierung zu kämpfen hatte, aber abgesehen davon überraschend intakt war“.

Seitdem haben sich einige Dinge verändert. Während seiner Residenz fokussiert Werthschulte seine Recherche auf Süd und West Yorkshire, Merseyside und die Region um Manchester, um Fragen zu beantworten wie: Welche Zukunft hatten sich die Menschen 2016 erhofft? Welche Vorstellungen vom Englisch-Sein haben die Wahl beeinflusst? Und wie stellen sie sich die Zukunft jetzt kurz vorm Brexit vor? Der 41-Jährige arbeitet als Journalist für Printmedien und Radio, zum Beispiel das Kölner Magazin Stadtrevue und das Kulturradio WDR Cosmo. Außerdem hat er einen akademischen Hintergrund im Feld der British Cultural Studies.

Zurück zur "Journalismus-Residenz"
Zurück zur Residenzseite - Home

Top