Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Festival Banner© Goethe-Institut

Fokus – Films From Germany

Welcome to the sixth edition of Fokus – Films from Germany!

We are delighted that, despite the uncertain situation, the festival will take place this year from the 3rd to the 17th of December 2020. It will be an all-digital, online affair and a bit shorter and smaller than in previous years, but we still aim to present a diverse and engaging selection of recent German cinema, covering a particular range of exciting and eclectic snapshots from the contemporary film scene in Germany.

We hope you enjoy the selection as much as we enjoyed choosing it - and stay safe!

Fokus Trailer Karte
Goethe-Institut

Movies

Leif in concert (c)MatchFactory

Feature Film | 115 min. | Germany, 2019
LEIF in concert

After having taken a long time off work, Lena returns for her first shift in the Jazz Blues Bar: deliveries arrive and musicians, friends and acquaintances stop by, as do the more illustrious regulars. And in the evening, the Danish musician Leif (a.k.a. Poorboy) is going to be playing. A declaration of love to the microcosm that is the 'pub', with its stories and figures filmed from the neighbouring table.

Coup (c)Sven O. Hill

Docu/Feature Film | 81 min. | Germany, 2020
Coup

As a lowly bank employee, what do you do when you discover a security vulnerability in the bank's financial transaction system? You pinch 2.5 million German marks and disappear to Australia. That's what supposedly happened in the summer of 1988 – and now onscreen in this as entertaining as raucous melange of documentary, animation and feature film.

Cleo (c)Global Screen

Feature Film | 101 min. | Germany, 2020
CLEO

What Amélie was to Paris, so Cleo is for Berlin: Bursting with ideas, treasure hunter Cleo wanders an enchanted city in search of master criminals the Sass Brothers’ treasure. A big city fairytale full of wit and bizarre supporting characters from the past, it’s romantic, playful, and, at the same time, a love letter to Berlin. 

Sisters Apart (c)The Match Factory

Feature Film | 93 min. | Germany, Greece, 2020
Sisters Apart

Rojda, a German soldier and native Kurd, volunteers for a mission to train female Kurdish soldiers in Iraq to fight ISIS. No one must know that she is actually looking for her missing sister.

What might have been (c) Flare Film Reinhold Vorschneider

Feature Film | 90 min. | Germany, 2019
What might have been

Astrid is in her late forties and has her life firmly under control. She has fallen in love with Paul, and their first weekend trip together takes them to Budapest for a few romantic days, just the two of them. Together with Paul, Astrid looks back at her past, and suddenly everything could be as it had never been.

Sag Du es mir (c)MissingFILMs

Feature Film | 104 min. | Germany, 2019
You tell me

Due to an unexplicable act the destinies of three people collapse and dissolve into a dramaturgical dance about victims, offenders and the truth that lays between the lies.

Ein Fisch der auf dem Rücken schwimmt © MissingFILMs

Feature Film | 103 min. | Germany, China 2020
A fish swimming upside down

A love triangle filled with expectations, longing and fears leaves open the speculation of who knows what about whom.

Marthe Cohn Zunge (c)MissingFILMs

Docu | 86 min. | Germany/France 2019
Chichinette

The film tells the untold story of a French Jewish spy, Marthe Cohn - aka Chichinette. After keeping silent for almost 60 years, she shares her extraordinary story of a 4.5 feet high woman who managed to beat the odds and fight the Nazis as a spy. At the age of nearly 100, she tours the world, promoting her message to people of all generations.

Naked Animals (c) Media Luna

Feature Film | 83 min. | Germany, 2020
Naked Animals

Five friends growing up in a small town in Germany, have to decide whether leave or stay after they finished school. They seek each other, they run away from each other as they kiss and brawl deciding what it seems to be the rest of their lives.


Further information

calendar Free for commercial use - no attribution required

Programme

Please find here the programme for the 2020 Fokus edition with all dates, screenings and film talks!


#FokusFilms


Partner

Fokus 2020

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Festival Banner© Goethe-Institut

Filmfestival
Fokus – Films From Germany

Willkommen zur sechsten Ausgabe von Fokus – Films from Germany! 

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass das Festival trotz der unsicheren Situation dieses Jahr vom 3. bis zum 17. Dezember 2020 stattfindet. Es wird ein rein digitales Online-Ereignis und etwas kürzer und kleiner als in den Vorjahren, aber wir möchten weiterhin eine vielfältige und ansprechende Auswahl des aktuellen deutschen Kinos präsentieren, ein Spektrum spannender und vielseitiger Schnappschüsse aus der zeitgenössischen Filmszene in Deutschland.

Wir hoffen, dass Ihnen die Auswahl genauso gefällt wie uns das Aussuchen - und bleiben Sie gesund!

Fokus Trailer Karte
Goethe-Institut

Filme

Leif in concert (c)MatchFactory

Spielfilm | 115 Min. | Deutschland, 2019
LEIF in concert

Nach einer längeren Auszeit ist dies Lenes erster Arbeitstag in der Jazz-Blues-Bar, in der sie früher schon gearbeitet hatte: Lieferanten, Musiker, Freunde und Bekannte kommen ebenso vorbei wie das illuster besetzte Stammpublikum; und am Abend spielt der dänische Musiker Leif (aka Poorboy). Eine Liebeserklärung an den Mikrokosmos Kneipe, sein Geschichten und Gestalten, gefilmt vom Nachbartisch.

Coup (c)Sven O. Hill

Doku/Spielfilm | 81 Min. | Deutschland, 2020
Coup

Was macht man als kleiner Bankangestellter, wenn man eine Sicherheitslücke im Finanztransaktionssystem entdeckt? Man schnappt sich zweieinhalb Millionen Mark und setzt sich nach Australien ab. So angeblich geschehen im Sommer 1988 und nun in einem so amüsanten wie wilden Mix aus Dokumentar-, Animations- und Spielfilm auf die Leinwand gebracht. 

Cleo (c)Global Screen

Spielfilm | 101 Min. | Deutschland, 2020
CLEO

Was die Die fabelhafte Welt der Amélie für Paris war, das ist Cleo für Berlin: Geradezu vor Ideen überbordend, folgen wir Schatzsucherin Cleo durch eine wie verzaubert wirkende Stadt, auf der Suche nach dem Schatz der Meisterkriminellen Gebrüder Sass. Ein mit viel Humor und skurrilen Nebenfiguren aus der Vergangenheit erzähltes Großstadtmärchen, romantisch, verspielt und zugleich eine Liebeserklärung an Berlin.

Im Feuer (c)The Match Factory

Spielfilm | 93 Min. | DEU, GRC, 2020
Im Feuer

Rojda ist gebürtige Kurdin und Soldatin bei der deutschen Bundeswehr. Als ihre Mutter aus dem Irak flieht und ihre Schwester dort vermisst wird, lässt sie sich in ihre alte Heimat versetzen, um ihre Schwester zu suchen.

What might have been (c) Flare Film Reinhold Vorschneider

Spielfilm | 90 Min. | Deutschland, 2019
Was gewesen wäre

Seit rund zwei Monaten sind die beiden Endvierziger Astrid und Paul ein glückliches Paar. Als Paul Astrid auf ein romantisches Wochenende nach Budapest einlädt, ahnt er jedoch nicht, was der Aufenthalt dort für ihre relativ junge Liebe bedeuten wird.

Sag Du es mir (c)MissingFILMs

Spielfilm | 104 Min. | Deutschland, 2019
Sag Du es mir

Aufgrund einer unerklärlichen Tat treffen die Schicksale von drei Personen aufeinander und lösen sich auf in einen dramaturgischen Tanz über Opfer, Täter und die Wahrheit zwischen den Lügen.

Ein Fisch der auf dem Rücken schwimmt © MissingFILMs

Spielfilm | 103 Min. | Deutschland, China 2020
Ein Fisch der auf dem Rücken schwimmt

Eine Liebesgeschichte über eine ungewöhnliche Dreiecksbeziehung, in der sich die Beteiligten mehr zumuten als sie zu ertragen fähig sind.

Marthe Cohn Zunge (c)MissingFILMs

Doku | 86 Min. | DEU/FR, 2019
Chichinette

Der Film erzählt die bisher unerzählte Geschichte von der französich judischen Spionin Marthe Cohn - aka Chichinette.Nachdem sie für 60 Jahre geschwiegen hat, erzählt sie nun ihre Geschichte. Im Alter von fast 100 tourt sie um die Welt.

Naked Animals (c) Media Luna

Spielfilm | 83 Min. | Deutschland, 2020
Nackte Tiere

Fünf Freunde, die in einem kleinen Dorf in  deutschen Provinz leben, verbringen einen letzten gemeinsamen Winter bis zum Schulabschluss, danach sollen sie wissen, was sie wollen: bleiben oder gehen. Sie suchen sich, verstecken sich, küssen und schlagen sich, während sie sich entscheiden müssen, wie sie ihr restliches Leben leben wollen.


Weiterführende Informationen

Kalender Frei zur öffentlichen Nutzung

Programm

Hier finden sie unser aktuelles Fokus 2020 Programm mit allen Terminen, Aufführungen und Filmgesprächen.


#FokusFilms


Partner


Fokus 2020

Top