Awards

Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation

The Society of Authors and the Goethe-Institut London are delighted to present the Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation, which is awarded every two years.  This translation prize, originally launched in 2010, was previously named the German Embassy Award for Translators.

The translation competition is open to British translators of literature who translate from German into the English language, including translators who have been resident in the UK for the past three years.

The 2016 Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation went to Imogen Taylor for her translation of an extract from Momente der Klarheit by Jackie Thomae.  The winner received an award of €1,000 and attended the 2016 Leipzing Book Fair which included a place at the International Translators' meeting.

Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation 2018

Entries for the 2018 Award are now closed.

The €1,000 prize will be awarded to the best translation of an extract from Unterleuten by Juli Zeh. Please download the extract here.

APPLICATION FORM


For further information please contact Jens Boyer via email.

 

The Schlegel-Tieck Prize for German translation

The 2016 Schlegel-Tieck Prize was presented by the judges at the Society of Authors’ Translation Prizes on 22 February 2017, and hosted at the Knowledge Centre, British Library.

Since 1965 the Schlegel-Tieck Prize has been awarded to the best translation into English from German, published by a British publishing house in the year prior to the award date. The prize is named after two important German writers of the Romantic period, namely August Wilhelm Schlegel (1767-1845) and Ludwig Tieck (1773-1853). Both are known for their excellent translations into German of Shakespeare's work.  

The prize is awarded in February each year at an awards ceremony in London, organised by the Society of Authors. The winner receives £3,000.  

The Goethe-Institut London and the German Embassy have sponsored the prize, which is administered by the Society of Authors, for many years. 

Up to three judges are appointed each year. Together with the Translators' Association of the Society of Authors, and in collaboration with the prize’s sponsors, they decide on the winner, taking into account the original German works and their translations.

The Schlegel-Tieck prizewinner 2016: 

Iain Galbraith won the Schlegel-Tieck Prize 2016 for his translation of Jan Wagner's collection of poems Selbstporträt mit Bienenschwarm - Self-portrait with a Swarm of Bees, published by Arc Publications in April 2015.

Special commendation of the jury 2016:

Anthea Bell was commended for the translation of Walter Kempowski's novel Alles umsonst - All for Nothing, published by Granta in November 2015.

The 2017 Schlegel-Tieck Prize, for books published in 2016, will be awarded in 2018.

APPLICATION FORM

Übersetzerpreise

The Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation

Der Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation wird gemeinsam vom Goethe-Institut und der Society of Authors alle zwei Jahre verliehen. Seit 2010 zeichnet der Preis Übersetzer aus, deren Arbeit noch nicht veröffentlicht wurde. 

Der Übersetzungswettbewerb ist offen für britische Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer, die deutschsprachige Literatur ins Englische übersetzen, einschließlich nicht-britischer Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern, die in den letzten drei Jahren ihren Wohnsitz im Vereinigten Königreich hatten.

Preisträger 2018:

Der mit 1.000 EUR dotierte Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation für das Jahr 2018 wurde an Mandy Wight für ihre Übersetzung von Juli Zehs Unterleuten verliehen. Der Gewinn umfasst auch den Besuch der Leipziger Buchmesse 2018 und die Teilnahme am International Translators' Meeting, das vom Literarisches Colloquium Berlin organisiert wird.


 

Schlegel-Tieck Preis für literarische Übersetzungen

Mit dem Schlegel-Tieck Preis wird seit 1965 jährlich die beste englische Übersetzung aus dem Deutschen ausgezeichnet, die in einem britischen Verlag im vorausgegangenen Jahr erstmals erschienen ist. Der Name des Preises leitet sich ab aus den Namen zweier bedeutender deutsche Dichter der Romantik, August Wilhelm Schlegel (1767-1845) und Ludwig Tieck (1773-1853). Beide sind als hervorragende deutsche Shakespeare-Übersetzer bekannt.

Der Preis ist mit 3.000 £ dotiert und wird im Rahmen der jährlich von der Society of Authors organisierten Übersetzerpreiszeremonie in der Regel im Februar/März des Folgejahres in London verliehen.

Das Goethe-Institut London und die Deutsche Botschaft London unterstützen den von der Society of Authors verwalteten Übersetzerpreis seit vielen Jahren.

Jährlich werden bis zu drei Jurymitglieder ernannt, die auf der Basis des Originaltitels und der Übersetzung in Zusammenarbeit mit den Sponsoren sowie der Translators Association der Society of Authors den Preisträger auswählen.

Der Schlegel-Tieck Preis 2018 wurde im Rahmen der Translation Prizes von der Jury der Society of Authors am 1. März 2018 im Knowledge Centre der British Library verliehen.

Preisträger 2018:

Allan Blunden für die Übersetzung von Hans Falladas 1947 erstmals erschienenen Roman AlpdruckNighmare in Berlin (Scribe).

Empfehlung der Jury 2018:

Katy Derbyshire für die Übersetzung von Clemens Meyers Roman Im Stein - Bricks and Mortar, erschienen bei Fitzcarraldo Editions.