Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
DAOWO© Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

DAOWO Global Initiative

The DAOWO Global Initiative forges a transnational network of arts and blockchain cooperation with leading international arts and technology institutions and communities in cities around the world.

Together with Furtherfield and the Serpentine Galleries, the Goethe-Institut initiated a global collaboration examing blockchain technolgies' potential for the arts and civil society by convening transnational networks of of leading international arts and technology institutions and communities. Our ambition is to seed a new decentralised ecology of open source cultural organisations, built by artists embedded in distributed global communities. Designed to activate collaboration across communities, disciplines and sectors, DAOWO (Decentralised Autonomous Organisation With Others) events enable participants to interrogate the benefits and pitfalls of blockchain developments for arts, culture and wider society from local perspectives. Events connect visionary artists, cultural workers and blockchain entrepreneurs, together with local initiatives, communities, institutions and businesses to seek new transnational systems and approaches.

Podcast: Talking Culture, Episode 5 Images: © private; Skye Bougsty-Marshall (Laura Lotti)

Talking Culture - Podcast
Podcast-Episode: "Why Artists work with Blockchain Technologies (to Reinvent the Arts)“

In this Talking Culture episode, we exchange about the potential of blockchain and Decentralised Autonomous Organisations (DAOs) for the arts, culture and civil society.
 

Audio wird geladen

Now, as the world is facing a new economic crisis, how could the arts and civil society benefit from blockchain technologies? Hear from artists, curators, technologists and researchers who are using blockchain to revolutionise their way of working. This episode features Ruth Catlow, artistic director of Furtherfield, Ben Vickers, CTO at the Serpentine Galleries, and collectives from Berlin to Moscow (Laura Lotti, Calum Bowden, Dzina Zhuk and Nicolay Spesivtsev) and who are part of the DAOWO Global Initiative.

>> All episodes of our podcast Talking Culture

The DAOWO Global Initiative Network

In February 2020, we invited cultural practitioners and representatives of non-profit arts and technology organisations from around the world to participate in the Artworld DAO – A 52hr** Gathering. Together we discussed, analysed and mapped the obstacles, opportunities, and implications for progressive, decentralised artworld automation.

This intense learning session and retreat in an English countryside estate allowed cultural community activists to host their own events in their localities and organisations and prototype a DAO. Participants dissected the “old artworld” and drew on the emerging blockchain artsspace to prototype DAOs as art and for art, to increase solidarity, strangeness, and freedom to take collective action – to create new arts ecologies. A jury of experts awarded funding to prototype progressive art DAOs and artworld DAOs to four successful teams. The teams will soon present their projects in a series of events (more information to follow).

In addition, a publication will accompany the series: 'Open sourcing the Philosopher's Stone - An Artworld DAO Reader' is the culmination of four years of cross-disciplinary practice focusing on the phenomenon of Artworld DAOs (Decentralised Autonomous Organisations) as apparatus and stimulus for experimentation between artists, engineers, and mystics who are rebuilding global artworld imaginaries in a cooperative vein to shape new cultural value systems. The book contains contributors by leading thinkers and practitioners in the field, and is a collection of essays and artworks, along with interviews, conversations, blueprints, exercises and practices. It is intended as an informed archive and a toolkit for further use. 

Black Swan © Black Swan

Berlin: Black Swan DAO

Black Swan DAO capacitates cultural practitioners to collaboratively organise and share resources.

Hong Kong DAOs Samson Young (left) & Debbie Blockchain (right)

Hong Kong: Debbie Blockchain & Interdisciplinary Musical Composition DAO

Two local teams work on a publishing DAO and a DAO to create a platform for the management of distribution rights in interdisciplinary musical composition.

Covalence Studios © Covalence Studios

Johannesburg: Covalence Studios

Covalence Studios creates networks of resources, skills and support for artists and creative practitioners.

DAOWO - Minsk © eeefff

Minsk: DAO As Chimera

DAOs have already become fossils and are mere traces of financial technologies. A network of ten people is working on and taking care of the museal Warm House of Blockchains Relics.

Past DAOWO Activations

The DAOWO blockchain laboratory and debate series for reinventing the arts has been running since 2017. Following the 2017-18 DAOWO series, the 2019 DAOWO UK Summits brought together the worlds of art and blockchain, and laid the foundations for a global transnational network.

Focused on establishing greater cooperation between the arts and blockchain industry, leading researchers and key artworld actors convened in a series of events. Discussions focus on potential cultural and social impacts, technical affordances and opportunities for developing new blockchain technologies for fairer, more dynamic and connected cultural ecologies and economies.

DAOWO Summit UK © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

28 May 2019
The 2019 blockchain & art knowledge sharing summit

Bringing together the worlds of art and blockchain the DAOWO Summits UK laid the foundations for a global transnational network.

Reinventing the Art Lab (on the blockchain) © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

26 October 2017
Reinventing the Art Lab (on the blockchain)

The first workshop of the series Reinventing the Art Lab aimed to birth a new set of experimental initiatives that can contribute towards reinventing the future of the arts.

DAOWO - Identity Trouble © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

23 November 2017
Identity Trouble (on the blockchain)

The second workshop of the series explored questions of identity in the context of the arts-blockchain ecosystem.

Doing Good (on the blockchain) © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

25 January 2018
Doing Good (on the blockchain)

In the third workshop of the series participants examined the dichotomy between informal citizen groups and the formalisation through the introduction of technical systems.

Artists Organise (on the blockchain) © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

16 February 2018
Artists Organise (on the blockchain)

The fourth workshop of the series explored the potential value of blockchain technologies to instigate collaboration between networks of cultural players.

DAOWO - What will it be like when we buy an island? © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

29 March 2018
What Will It Be Like When We Buy An Island (on the blockchain)?

In this Live Action Role Play (LARP) participants embodied the values and beliefs of a cast of crypto billionaires to establish infrastructure, communities and culture on four imaginary islands.
 

Curatorial Team

The DAOWO blockchain laboratory and debate series and the DAOWO UK Summits were developed by Ruth Catlow and Ben Vickers in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut. Penny Rafferty joined the curatorial team to co-develop the Artworld DAO – A 52hr** Gathering and DAOWO Global Initiative together with the Goethe-Institut.

DAOWO GIF
© DAOWO | Studio Hyte


Ruth Catlow © Ruth Catlow Ruth Catlow is an artist, curator and researcher of emancipatory network cultures, practices and poetics that embrace more than human interests. She is artistic director of Furtherfield, a hub for critical explorations in art and technology, a community of radical friends who carry out fieldwork in human and machine imagination, founded with Marc Garrett in London, in 1996. She co-edited Artists Re:Thinking the Blockchain(2017). Ruth is director of DECAL Decentralised Arts Lab, a Furtherfield initiative which mobilises research and development by artists, using blockchain and web 3.0 technologies for fairer, more dynamic and connected cultural ecologies and economies.

Penny Rafferty © Hannah Rumstedt Penny Rafferty, a writer and visual theorist based in Berlin, is one of the co-founders of the blockchain-based micro-economy-in-the-arts platforms Ishtar Gate and The Black Swan DAO. Her theoretical essays and creative texts have been commissioned for Cura, Kaleidoscope Magazine, Keen on, Taz.de, NRW Düsseldorf, Flash Art and Elephant Magazine amongst others. She co-developed the think tank series Artworld DAO’s with Ruth Catlow in coordination with The Serpentine and Futherfield and continues to work as both an auditor and researcher in the tech cultural field.

 

   

Ben Vickers © Ben Vickers
Ben Vickersis a curator, writer, publisher, technologist and luddite. He is CTO at the Serpentine Galleries in London, co-founder of Ignota Books and an initiator of the open-source monastic order unMonastery.

Partners

                         Serpentine Galleries Furtherfield Logo

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
DAOWO© Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

DAOWO Global Initiative

Die DAOWO Global Initiative bildet ein transnationales Kooperationsnetzwerk im Bereich der Künste und Blockchain-Technologien, dem führende internationale Kunst- und Technologieeinrichtungen und ‑gemeinschaften in Städten in aller Welt angehören.

Gemeinsam mit Furtherfield und den Serpentine Galleries initiierte das Goethe-Institut eine globale Zusammenarbeit, in der das Potenzial von Blockchain-Technologien für Kunst und Zivilgesellschaft untersucht wird, indem transnationale Netzwerke führender internationaler Kunst- und Technologieinstitutionen und -gemeinschaften zusammengebracht wurden. Unser Anliegen ist es ein neues dezentrales Umfeld für Open-Source-Organisationen im Kulturbereich schaffen, das von Künstler*innen aus Gemeinschaften in aller Welt errichtet wird. DAOWO (Decentralised Autonomous Organisation With Others – Dezentrale Autonome Organisation mit anderen) soll die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Gemeinschaften, Disziplinen und Sektoren aktivieren. Die Teilnehmenden der DAOWO-Veranstaltungen sollen Gelegenheit haben, die Vor- und Nachteile von Blockchain-Technologien für Kunst, Kultur und die Gesellschaft im Allgemeinen aus lokaler Perspektive zu hinterfragen. Bei den Veranstaltungen werden Bildende Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffende und Blockchain-Unternehmer*innen mit lokalen Initiativen, Gemeinschaften, Einrichtungen und Unternehmen in Kontakt gebracht, um neue transnationale Systeme und Ansätze zu entwickeln.

Podcast: Talking Culture, Episode 5 Fotos: © privat; Skye Bougsty-Marshall (Laura Lotti)

Talking Culture - Podcast
Podcast-Episode: „Why Artists work with Blockchain Technologies (to Reinvent the Arts)“

In dieser Episode von Talking Culture sprechen wir über das Potential von Blockchain und dezentralisierten autonomen Organisationen (DAOs) für Kunst, Kultur und Zivilgesellschaft.
 

Audio wird geladen

Wie könnten die Kunst und Zivilgesellschaft jetzt, da die Welt einer neuen Wirtschaftskrise gegenüber steht, von Blockchain-Technologien profitieren? Erfahren Sie von Künstler*innen, Kutaror*innen, Technolog*innen und Forscher*innen, die mit Blockchain ihre Arbeit revolutionieren. Mit Beiträgen von Ruth Catlow (Furtherfield), Ben Vickers (Serpentine Galleries) und Künstlerkollektiven aus Berlin und Moskau (Dzina Zhuk, Nicolay Spesivtsev, Calum Bowden und Laura Lotti), die Teil der DAOWO Gobal Initiative sind.

>> Alle Folgen unseres Podcasts Talking Culture

Das Netzwerk der DAOWO Global Initiative

Im Februar 2020 luden wir Kulturschaffende und Vertreter*innen von gemeinnützigen Kunst- und Technologie-Organisationen aus aller Welt zur Teilnahme am Artworld DAO – A 52hr** Gathering ein. Gemeinsam erörterten, analysierten und erfassten wir die Hindernisse, Chancen und Auswirkungen einer schrittweisen, dezentralen Automatisierung der Kunstwelt.

Im Rahmen dieser intensiven Schulung und Klausur auf einem englischen Landsitz konnten Akteur*innen aus Kulturgemeinschaften eigene Veranstaltungen in ihren Regionen und Organisationen planen und einen DAO-Prototyp entwickeln. Die Teilnehmenden stellten die „alte Kunstwelt“ auf den Prüfstand und nutzten die neuen Blockchain-Kunsträume, um DAO-Prototypen als Kunst und für die Kunst zu entwerfen, die Solidarität, Fremdheit und Freiheit zu stärken, um gemeinsame Maßnahmen zu ergreifen und neue Umfelder für die Künste zu schaffen. Eine Fachjury vergab Fördermittel zur Entwicklung von Prototypen für progressive Kunst- und Kunstwelt DAO an vier erfolgreiche Teams. Die Teams werden ihre Projekte bald in einer Serie von Veranstaltungen präsentieren (weitere Informationen folgen).

Darüber hinaus wird eine Publikation die Reihe begleiten: "Open sourcing the Philosopher's Stone - An Artworld DAO Reader" ist der Höhepunkt von vier Jahren interdisziplinärer Praxis, die sich auf das Phänomen der Artworld DAOs als Apparat und Stimulus zum Experimentieren zwischen Künstler*innen, Ingenieur*innen und Mystiker*innen konzentriert, die globale Kunstwelt-Imaginäre kooperativ erneuern, um zukünftige kulturelle Wertesysteme mitzugestalten. Das Buch enthält Beiträge führender Denker*innen und Praktiker*innen auf diesem Gebiet und enthält eine Sammlung von Aufsätzen und Kunstwerken sowie Interviews, Gespräche, Blaupausen, Übungen und Praktiken. Es ist als informiertes Archiv und Toolkit zur weiteren Verwendung gedacht.
 

Black Swan © Black Swan

Berlin: Black Swan DAO

Black Swan DAO befähigt Kulturschaffende, kollaborativ Ressourcen zu organisieren und zu teilen.

Hong Kong DAOs Samson Young (links) & Debbie Blockchain (rechts)

Hongkong: Debbie Blockchain & Interdisciplinary Musical Composition DAO

Zwei lokale Teams arbeiten an einer DAO für Publikationen und einer Plattform für die Verwaltung von Vertriebsrechten von interdisziplinären Musikkompositionen.

Covalence Studios © Covalence Studios

Johannesburg: Covalence Studios

Covalence Studios schaffen Netzwerke von Ressourcen, Fähigkeiten und Unterstützung für Künstler*innen und Kreativ-Praktiker*innen.

DAOWO - Minsk © eeefff

Minsk: DAO As Chimera

DAOs sind bereits zu Fossilien und lediglich Spuren von Finanztechnologien geworden. Ein Netzwerk von zehn Personen arbeitet im und kümmert sich um das museale Warm House of Blockchains Relics.

Bisherige DAOWO-Aktivierungen

Die DAOWO Blockchain-Labor- und Diskussionsreihe zu neuen Denkansätzen in der Kunstwelt läuft seit 2017. Im Anschluss an die DAOWO-Reihen 2017-18 wurden auf zwei DAOWO-Konferenzen in Großbritannien 2019 die Welt der Künste und der Blockchain-Technologien zusammengeführt und der Grundstein für ein weltweites transnationales Netzwerk gelegt.

Führende Wissenschaftler*innen und zentrale Akteur*innen aus der Kunstwelt nahmen gemeinsam an mehreren Veranstaltungen teil, in deren Mittelpunkt ein Ausbau der Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Kunst- und der Blockchain-Industrie stand. Dabei wurden mögliche kulturelle und soziale Auswirkungen, technische Anforderungen und Möglichkeiten der Entwicklung neuer Blockchain-Technologien für gerechtere, dynamischere und verknüpfte Kulturökologien und -wirtschaften erörtert.

DAOWO Summit UK © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

28. Mai 2019
The 2019 blockchain & art knowledge sharing summits

Die DAOWO Summits UK brachten die Welten der Kunst und Blockchain Technolgie zusammen und legten den Grundstein für ein globales transnationales Netzwerk.
 

Reinventing the Art Lab (on the blockchain) © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

26. Oktober 2017
Reinventing the Art Lab (on the blockchain)

Im ersten Workshop der Reihe Reinventing the Art Lab (Das Kunstlabor Neu Denken) sollten die Voraussetzungen für eine Serie experimenteller Initiativen geschaffen werden, die einen Beitrag dazu leisten, die Zukunft der Künste neu zu denken.

DAOWO - Identity Trouble © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

23. November 2017
Identity Trouble (on the blockchain)

Im zweiten Workshop der Reihe wurden Fragen um Identität im Kontext des Künste-Blockchain-Ökosystems erkundet.

Doing Good (on the blockchain) © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

25. Januar 2018
Doing Good (on the blockchain)

Im dritten Workshop der Reihe untersuchten die Teilnehmenden die Dichotomie zwischen informellen Bürger*innen-Bewegungen und einer Formalisierung durch die Einführung technischer Systeme.

Artists Organise (on the blockchain) © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

16. Februar 2018
Artists Organise (on the blockchain)

Im vierten Workshops wurde der mögliche Beitrag von Blockchain-Technologien zur Entwicklung von Kooperationen zwischen Netzwerken von Kulturakteur*innen erkundet.

DAOWO © Goethe-Institut | Studio Hyte

29. März 2018
What Will It Be Like When We Buy An Island (on the blockchain)?

In diesem Live Action Role Play (LARP) verkörperten die Teilnehmer*innen die Werte und Überzeugungen einer Gruppe von Krypto-Milliardären, um Infrastruktur, Gemeinschaften und Kultur auf vier imaginären Inseln zu etablieren.

Kuratorische Leitung

Die DAOWO Blockchain-Labor- und Diskussionsreihe und die DAOWO UK Summits wurden von Ruth Catlow und Ben Vickers in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut entwickelt. Penny Rafferty schloss sich dem Kuratorenteam an, um gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut das Artworld DAO - A 52hr ** Gathering und die DAOWO Global Initiative zu entwickeln.

DAOWO GIF
© DAOWO | Studio Hyte


Ruth Catlow © Ruth Catlow Ruth Catlow ist Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Forscherin im Bereich emanzipatorische Netzwerkkulturen, -praktiken und -poetik. Weiter ist sie künstlerische Leiterin von Furtherfield, einem gemeinnützigen, internationalen Community-Zentrum für Kunst, Technologie und sozialen Wandel, das sie 1996 zusammen mit Marc Garrett in London gründete. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von Artists Re:Thinking the Blockchain (2017) und Kuratorin der Wanderausstellung New World Order (2017-18). Zudem ist sie Direktorin von DECAL Decentralised Arts Lab, einer Initiative von Furtherfield, die sich der Mobilisierung von Forschung und Entwicklung durch führende Künstler verschrieben hat und Blockchain- und Web-3.0-Technologie für gerechtere, dynamischere und mehr vernetzte kulturelle Umweltforschung und Wirtschaftssysteme einsetzt.

Penny Rafferty © Hannah Rumstedt Penny Rafferty ist eine in Berlin lebende Schriftstellerin und Theoretikerin im Bereich der Bildwissenschaft. Ihre theoretischen Essays und kreativen Texte wurden unter anderem von Cura, Kaleidoscope Magazine, Keen on, Taz.de, NRW Düsseldorf, Flash Art und Elephant Magazine publiziert. Sie ist Mitbegründerinnen von Ishtar Gate und The Black Swan DAO. Gemeinsam mit Ruth Catlow entwickelte sie 2019/2020 die Think-Tank-Reihe Artworld DAOs und arbeitet auch weiterhin als Auditorin und Forscherin im Bereich der technischen Kultur.

 

   

Ben Vickers © Ben Vickers
Ben Vickers ist Kurator, Autor, Verleger und Technologe. Er ist CTO der Serpentine Galleries in London, Mitbegründer von Ignota Books und ein Initiator der Open-Source-Ordensgemeinschaft unMonastery.

Partner

                         Serpentine Galleries Furtherfield Logo

Top